Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Park Foot Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Ullswater > Park Foot Caravan And Camping Park Reviews

Park Foot Caravan And Camping Park
(lake District)
Howtown Road, Pooley Bridge
Ullswater
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA10 2NA
Tel: 01768 486309
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 324 Reviews
                8/10 from 324 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 5 miles 
 Horse Riding On Site   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   Tennis On Site 
 Beach On Site   Watersports 1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  324 in total, now showing 251 to 260                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27   28   29   30   31   32   33  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tulipcat 13 reviews from this member

We visited this site and although we had pre booked, the field where we had been allocated was NOT suitable-there were no pitches left except on a rather steep slope. This was easily rectified as we returned to reception and requested to be re located, and were sent to the large field over the road which was much more suitable- nice & flat area with plenty of space. This is a very lively site well suited to families- club house entertainment& play areas a bit like butlins for tents! The noise rule was not really respected and people were partying into the small hours, but we did not mind at all, as it meant we could sit by our tent having a couple of drinks & listening to quiet music without bothering anyone.The toilets were more like portaloos and had flooded, although this was soon sorted out! You can have a nice walk down to the lake. Very large site, a bit pricey, but we enjoyed our weekend.

Date of Visit: September 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Laura31 20 reviews from this member

This site is in a great location on the banks of Ullswater. It is a lovely walk into the village where you can catch the steamer and visit other places. There are a couple of nice pubs with beer gardens in the village.
The site was very busy. Our pitch was fairly near reception and had EHU. It was also handy for the play areas which suited us and our two children. The pitches are very close together. The first night the pitch on either side of us was unoccupied. Unfortunately on the second night a couple pitched next to us and played awful music all the time, I was also awoken by the man chatting loudly to a friend at past midnight (there is nothing worse than inconsiderate selfish campers!).
The site does have a club and we ate there one night, the food was not great. The children quite enjoyed the disco (but I didn't!).
The shower block was clean and pleasant and we did not have to queue, however It was very annoying to have to pay 20p to have a short shower, particularly as the site fees are high. A word of warning if you camp on the field by the lake. When we visited there was a large group of young people playing loud music every time we passed and there seemed to be lots of young people camping in that field and it was very rowdy. There was no evidence of any noise control anywhere on the site. I would not recommend this site for anyone wanting peace and tranquility, it is OK for families with good play areas and a club, if that is your thing. Best thing about the site is the location.

Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Goosegog 1 review from this member

Good location, about 15 min stroll from the pubs and quite a nice view over the lake. This is a HUGE family site with many facilities and probably great for families but if you're after a serene and pleasant stay, look elsewhere. Very low quality food and naff northern entertainment. I don't have kids and I like my peace and quiet so I won't be returning to this expensive and crowded camp site!

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Paul Pearson 9 reviews from this member


There is literally nowhere to park your unit whilst you check in at reception. Once booked in, the pitch had electric and water at the back of it which was good, but other kids and adults used our pitch as a shortcut to reach the camping area next door, VERY annoying. The toilets near us were actually a portacabin. The main shower block had a queue a mile long waiting for showers, once you actually reached the shower you had to PAY to have one, this is after paying £30 a night to stay onsite.
This site is very big but crams caravans, log cabins and tents into every corner. The bar entertainment area was filled to capacity with 11 to 15 year old girls all dancing with glow sticks, and the music was heavy house music all night, it never changed the style of music in the 2 hours we were there. All in all, Pontins by the lake and the worst site we have encountered all year.

Date of Visit: September 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mawbes 5 reviews from this member

After reading some of the reviews on this site we decided to give it a try. We arrived mid dayish and was pleasantly surprised. The shop on site was well stocked and the club house was adequate, views of the lake were great as well. This is a very clean and well maintained site but it does get very busy at the weekends. The draw backs of our stay was the long walk (mainly up hill) to the toilet /shower block and the fact it costs 20p for 6mins in the shower (wouldn't of been so bad if it lasted 10mins?). Its not like its a cheap campsite to stay on. All in all though its a good site.

Date of Visit: September 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: JayMac25 12 reviews from this member

Our second visit to Park Foot and the only complaint I can possibly have for the weekend was the weather (nothing Park Foot can do about that). Like last year we were pitched in the lower field beside the lake and five minutes after pitching the heavens opened.and stayed opened for two days ! Took a boat trip to Glenridding on the Saturday where we found the Travellers Rest Pub up the hill to be a great place to take refuge from the elements. Both Friday and Saturday we ate in the site club and like last year the food didn't disappoint. Still cant grudge the 20p for the showers, a lot of folks have a real hang-up with this but it's well worth it for my money. The site was also well patroled by security and staff for any noisy neighbours and the like. Great place for the kids who can disappear quiet safely for ages. Should be back again next year but may go just bit earlier to try and beat the weather :-)))

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lisa marie 2 reviews from this member

We had good time went to pub in evening, children enjoyed dance on disco floor also played game in games room. Through day time children played in the small river try catch fish (but not to keep it). Small river in main area where put tent up. We loved this site, it is really big place and the shop got everything what we need - foods, equipment for tent etc and more things. The toilet and shower block is very clean. The staff are very friendly and helpful also patience with us because our group are deaf with hearing children. We all like go there again, hopefully next year.

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Firsttimecamper 1 review from this member

Went August bank holiday & camped in the lake field. Location is great, Pooley Bridge is 5 mins walk away which is handy.
Club, shop & take away are good.
 
Only criticism would be of the facilities on the lake field:-
3 washing up sinks for two large fields (100+ tents), when we finished queueing there was no hot water, so we wasted our time queueing.
5 or 6 showers for the 2 fields, wait could be significant, particularly for ladies.
Electric points in the ladies, where either tripping continuously or not working - you don't want to encounter my wife when she hasn't been able to dry her hair!
 
For the price, which is top end, I would have expected more facilities, the park either need to take less bookings for the lake fields or significantly improve what is there. 

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jonnynostars 1 review from this member

Despite the appalling weather the place itself was very good, the facilities were clean and the staff helpful, however it did become a little crowded in the area we where in and at some points the noise in the evening was a little to loud, even after the midnight noise curfew.
If your looking for a peaceful time try and book an area away from the club house.
I would return as the overall facilities are good and the access to the lake is excellent.

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Goofyden 6 reviews from this member

So many people loved this site so I decided to take my family for 6 nights (wife, 2 boys ages 2&4). Unfortunately it was 5 nights too long. From a business point of view it is one of the best run sites I have ever visited, ever penny is accounted for (sign on side of take away basket of forks "only give out plastic forks if customer asks"), showers were coin operated (20p for 6 mins) on the outside of the shower, so you either get undressed then go back out and put coin in or waste 3 mins getting undressed by putting coin in first. But that aside that's just business.
The reasons I didn't like the site were contrary to what others have said I found the reception staff to be cold, unfriendly and bored. The noise on the site (main field) was quite intrusive sometimes until 1 in the morning. The campsite could be at best be described as "Chav City" which is a shame considering the location. The views were stunning, the walks were plenty but if you have a young family this is not the site you think it might be, if you have teenages then this will be right up your street.

Previous     324 Reviews in total, now showing 251 to 260      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Ullswater      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...



Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park 14/09 to 15/09, Kent
Enjoy two days access to the dog show, free parking, free evening entertainment and a campsite right next to the showground ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4830 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019