Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Rivendale Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Ashbourne > Rivendale Holiday Park Reviews

Rivendale Holiday Park
Buxton Rd
Alsop En Le Dale
Ashbourne
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE6 1QU
Tel: 01335 310311
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 120
Open: 1 Feb - 2nd Jan

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 267 Reviews
                8/10 from 267 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 1 mile   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  267 in total, now showing 251 to 260                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Reviewer: SEAN RAFFERTY 1 review from this member

June 2003
What an excellent site, possibly the cleanest toilet / shower block ever.
Definatly going back in a few weeks and recommend it to any one.

Reviewer: olilew 9 reviews from this member

April 2004
Just had a week-end at this site in our tent. We thought the site was very well set out and the backdrop to it was very scenic with the cliffs on 3 sides, this also cut out virtually all the wind! Toilets were just as everyone else has said; excellent. My only little niggles were the pitch we were allocated was a half hard standing, half grass. The stones on the hard standing were quite large and therefore quite uncomfortable to walk on, and the grass area, we struggled to get our tent on due to the width, our tent is 4.2 metres wide. I would recommend telling the staff when you phone if you have a large tent. The pitch was plenty long enough though. On the whole we liked the site and will definately be going again. I would recommend it for long week-ends, not for any longer.

Reviewer: fulford 1 review from this member

July 2003

On the whole, an excellent site. Unreasonable and VERY drunk neighbours were well dealt with by warden / staff who were prompt to evict on one Friday night during our stay...

Reviewer: Lynn 32 reviews from this member

August 2003
Just returned from 2 nights at this site.
The toilet and shower block is spotless amd lovely and warm (especially on a chilly morning).
The showers are free, and if anything they were too hot!
The playground was disappointing, the equipment seems to be aimed at older children (ours are aged between 3 and 12), and to be honest there isn't enough for the children to play on.
The shop closes quite early - between 5 and 6 pm, and is quite small.
The main drawback is the fact that the ground is very stony - although I do appreciate the site is in a disused quarry - and we got through quite a lot of pegs trying to peg the tent out. Also there isn't much privacy, the pitches are quite open and there are lots of strange size pitches, you're probably best to mention it if you need a larger pitch.
The pub is quite small, but has a separate area for people without children. The cafe is closed on Thursday evenings.
Altogether a pleasant site, but we wouldn't visit again, even for a warm toilet block.

Reviewer: Steve Buck

August 2003
Stayed at the site for six nights. The facilities were excellent with clean showers and shop and small bar on site.

Chlidren enjoyed playing in the play area and the atmosphere on site was very relaxing.

One drawback is the size of some of the pitches. They seem to mix caravans and tents and if you're pitched between two caravans, like us, it is cramped with no space for the car.

However, on the whole a recommended site.

Reviewer: Philippa

july 2003
The site is nicely laid out set in a quarry, good play ground,basic shop, nice pub but not enough seating. Nice clean toilet and shower block, although when we tried to have a wash in the morning we could only get a trickle of hot water. We also had a problem draining our waste water from the motor home tank, due to not being able to get close enough to the drain and also blocking the road while we did it!

Reviewer: Homer 1 review from this member

July 2003
Actually visited this site on the back of the reviews above and have to say I am glad we did because we had a great time.
Only drawbacks as far as I could see were that the shop was very pricey (1.20 for a can of beans), 'The Prancing Pony' had weird opening times and as others have mentioned the parking area to each pitch had very rough terrain.
Highly recommended, we are heading back there next month.

Reviewer: Cathy W 3 reviews from this member

August 2002
The site was clean and tidy, and the showers and bar were great. The only problem we did have and this is why we would not visit again.... Was the drainage. We are not fair weather campers and have been in terrible rain storms. Here however sadly probably because it is an old quarry and their is no where for the water to go, we were in inches of rain in our awning.
Which has not happened before. We know of people who just got up packed away and came home.

This would not be an issue for caravans, motor homes etc or less you had awnings.

It is a beautiful site and such a shame, now when I go anywhere I ask can the water drain away if it pours....

Reviewer: DavidB

July 2003
Certain aspects spoil this potentially atrractive site. Despite previous comments our experience was that the showers/toilets were not too clean, with dirt from the pathways on the floor. Showers are only single temperature (one size fits all attitude) with inadequate drains when all are in use. Flexible hoses fixed to water taps encouraged the filling of water containers from hoses which had also been used to wash out chemical toilets; an obvious health hazard. For caravanners many of the pitches had bases made up of large grade stones. Hard on tyres and impossible to pitch awnings. Will go elsewhere next time.

Reviewer: Fred & Mo

early july 2003
Just returned from a 5 night break at rivendale in our trusty campervan.
It got very busy at the w/k end and with only one shower block and two washing-up sinks things soon got extremly cramped.(the hot water ran out by mid morning too)
Good location to explore the peak district although a little isolated,nearest pub 40mins walk away(not all day opening)
Reasonable size pitches well laid out but a bit bumpy and uneven
A reliable but infrequent bus service close by.
Friendly and helpful staff

Fred&Mo

Previous     267 Reviews in total, now showing 251 to 260      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Ashbourne      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth 100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3591 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019