Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of East Fleet Farm Touring Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Dorset > Weymouth > East Fleet Farm Touring Park Reviews

East Fleet Farm Touring Park
Fleet Lane
Chickerell
Weymouth
Dorset   (Browse area)
DT3 4DW
Tel: 01305 785768
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 350
Open: March To End October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 352 Reviews
                9/10 from 352 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport   Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  352 in total, now showing 261 to 270                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27   28   29   30   31   32   33   34   35   36  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Wshw 2 reviews from this member

 After reading the great reviews on East Fleet Farm, we choose it as our location for annual holiday to Dorset. It has lovely views and the coastal walk is easily accessible from the camp site. Once you arrive at reception, and recovered from the speed bumps coming down the lane (go slow if you are pulling a caravan behind you) you will be given a set of rules & regulations on the camp site, - everything on how to pitch up, to providing you with a code which operates the security barrier to get on to the site. Armed with details of the rules and regulations, we proceeded to find our pitch. Putting pitch numbers on the wooden fencing around the allocated fields would have been helpful. You need to pitch up within white marker stones and face South like every one else. (Rules & Regulations).

We were in Lower field, which we specifically asked for after reading reviews on this site about the children’s play area. I can echo comments left by other reviewers that the children’s play area is often noisy and those who have to pitch their caravans in that part of Upper field, undoubtedly have to endure the constant stream of children playing in the park from early morning to after dusk. Most of Upper field is hard standing pitches for caravans with EHU. Lower field appeared to accommodate mostly tents with EHU in places.Higher up and a bit exposed to the elements is Stable field with wonderful views over the lagoon. It is a flat field with EHU for caravans & tents.It is across the road from the Upper field and although not a busy road, I would recommend a parent supervising little ones who want to cross the road to play in the park. I also observed a lady in a wheelchair navigate her way around the Stable field and she had no trouble gaining access to the toilet and shower block. Well done East fleet farm for the brand new shower block/toilet facilities there.

Separate cubicles in the shower block in the upper/lower field were also excellent and always spotlessly clean with constant hot water, operated by a pull string cord which allows 1 min of water at a time. Pulling it 5-6 times is adequate for a shower. The toilets and sinks were spotless. Outside the shower/toilet block there are 8 sinks, (all under cover) for washing up/preparing vegetables.

The on site pub was lovely; it was great to sit outside and enjoy a meal. It was always busy when open. This is a campsite with excellent facilities that delivers all it claims on its website. You will not be disappointed. I would however recommend that East fleet farm consider installing low level amenity lighting around the site especially on the pathways that go towards the toilets at night. It is no fun trying to find your way back to your tent in the dark. I had a torch with me but even this did not stop my 9 year old falling over a tent guide line. It is ideal for families who don’t mind a holiday that may incur being pitched next to overly excited or inquisitive children. With wonderful views and walks all around we thought East Fleet Farm would be the ideal campsite. It did live up to all our expectations, but the abundance of noisy children and barking dogs you encounter by staying on a larger campsite, has convinced us that our next visit to a campsite in Dorset will be to a quieter and smaller one.
Overall 8/10 


Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Idris50 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this site 1st week in July. The site is a large commercial campsite with some 400 plus pitches. Our pitch was adequate, hard standing for the van/awning and the 4x4 alongside on the adjacent grassed area. One main toilet block with showers etc(very clean), washing up area, chemical toilet disposal point, disabled facilities and family bathrooms. The shop at main entrance had a wide variety of goods but expensive, staff very helpful. There is a bar and restaurant and take away, however we did not use these facilities mainly because the site has a rule that you can not leave your dog unattended in your caravan (so how are you able to go to the restaurant for a meal with the dog in tow?)
This rule for not leaving your dog presented us with problems because we had to take the dog everywhere even shopping in town which meant the dog had to stay in the back of a hot/warm car which is not recommended either. Overall the site was adequate but if I had done my research prior to visiting I would have looked for an alternative site. Smaller, less commercial. 


Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Alison46 3 reviews from this member

 The site was lovely, we camped in the stable field the views were great.
The toilets were exceptionally clean and had separate cubicles with a toilet, shower and sink in each one, also they were unisex.
The people were really friendly and couldn't help you enough. Went to the pub on the site some evenings for a meal or just a drink and again they were so friendly. A local pub with a nice restaurant called the Marquis of Granby is quite nice, ( Turn right at traffic lights and its a few minutes down the road on the left. Anyone looking for a relaxing site but close enough to go to the beach which took about 10 minutes its a brilliant location. 


Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Stephan 1 review from this member

 Visited this site a few weeks ago and we were impressed with all aspects of the site and friendliness of the staff.
 
The site is very well kept and staff were always busy keeping greenery trimmed. The toilet block and showers are kept clean at all times and have great eco-friendly systems, there was nearly always hot water and dishwashing facilities are under cover, great if its raining. There are good walks alongside the fleet for several miles right from the site if you like walking and there is also a childrens play area which is open til sunset.
 
There is a bar which serves food on site but didn't sample the cooking, although there is a hotel close by called The Turks Head which serves very good quality food and is highly recommended, also good breakfasts are served at the lugger inn but didn't make enough time for the evening meals but judging by breakfasts it should be good.
 
Would definitely go again and recommend it to anyone who is fortunate enough to get a booking before it's too late.   


Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Windmonkey 1 review from this member

 Just spent 5 very windy and wet days at East Fleet Farm. Dispite awful conditions that put our new Outwell tent to a very servere 1st outing, we did enjoy our time there.
All of the staff were very friendly and helpful and seemed to work 24 hours a day, either in the bar or around the site. Also due to the very bad weather and high winds the staff made sure through out the night that all tents and awnings remained on the ground and pegged down. They all went well above and beyond the call of duty and customer service.

Excellent facilities, toilets and showers very clean and on site shop stocked with all you'd need. The bar serves a good selection of food and drink. My wife highly recommends the Thatchers cider! If you have a dog there are some short or long walks you can take with fantastic scenery. One member of staff told us that a dog walkers pack/guide may be availible soon for the surrounding area and beaches. The village of Chickerell is a few miles away and there is a couple of pubs and a Spar, otherwise take a 10 minute drive into Weymouth for all the facilities of large town. Overall we had a great time (despite the worst weather for years) and we will be back. Thanks to everyone at East Fleet Farm. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Andysimmonds 2 reviews from this member

 We came for just one night. It was busy bu not overcrowded and our pitch was in the lower field near the lagoon.
It was a little walk to the shower bloc/toilets but not too far.
There is a shop which came in handy as we had forgotten to pack a bottle opener - but the shop came to the rescue.

We will definitely be back to East Fleet Farm again! 


Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Frootbat68 6 reviews from this member

 What a lovely site, we've just returned from a short break at East Fleet.

We went on the Wednesday and returned on the Monday so just after the Bank Holiday for part of the Half-Term week, by the time we got there the site seemed fairly quiet - we stayed in Stable Field which was perfect for us. A little slopey but not too bad. We were on pitch 146.

The area around the play area was very noisy I wouldn't have enjoyed staying on that field although saying that the play area was great and our boys (ages 5yrs & 3yrs) they loved it, I'd say it was most suited for 5-10yr olds there's not much for toddlers/little kids.

The family showers were great, lovely have space to move and having a loo and sink all to yourself, very easy to get the kids sorted out much easier than being crammed into a tiny space, my only niggle was the water was a little too hot for the kids but we took a bucket in so we could mix some hot water and cold water to rinse them down with. The showers and loos were so clean, the facilities really were 1st class. We never had to queue. The hairdryers were very useful and the best ones I've ever seen on a campsite, the hand driers were a bit fierce though!

We ate in the on-site pub one night, it was handy and the food was reasonable but there's so much choice in the local area we were spoilt for choice. On our last night we had a very nice meal at the Elm Tree Inn in Langton Herring.

The on-site shop was very handy and had good opening times, it was open until 8pm (I think) which was great.

I loved hearing the cows moo'ing and the boys loved seeing the cows up on the hill!

I love the area around Weymouth there is so much to do and see, East Fleet makes a great base I'd definitely visit again. 


Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ged Judd 3 reviews from this member

 We visited over a busy bank holiday period  and therefore the site was very busy. However,  the toilet and shower facilities were always available and spotlessly clean. The "spacious" family showerooms came in really handy - every site should have them. If you've already experienced showering with your children when camping, you will know what I mean.
Soap was always available in the toilet block, which isn't always the case in the sites we have previously visited.
The shop was well stocked and the staff were more than helpful.
The bar/restaurant on site has a nice relaxing atmosphere  but it was only open from 6.00PM to 11.00PM. The only thing we ordered in the bar were chips for the children. It's worth remembering they also provide takeaways. The bar has two pool tables to keep the young lads busy. Due to the weather it would have been handy if the the pool tables were available during the daytime as well (We didn't ask about opening it up, but maybe we should have done, considering the weather).
We actually had a perfectly flat tent pitch. Although looking around the site this appeared to be the exception.
Our 9 year old boy constantly reminded us that the ONLY down side of the park was the lack of a playing field for football etc. There was actually a field designated for kite flying and ball games but the grass was approx 4 inches long and the whole field needed rolling before you would dare to play football on it.
Weymouth has a fantastic beach with an old  fashioned Punch and Judy show. If the weather isn't great then take the kids to Sharky's play centre in the town.
The 19No hole Pirates Crazy Golf at Lodmoor Country Park is a must for lads and dads - although slightly expensive at £9.00 for 1No adult & 1No Child. It takes about an hour. 
 
All things considered,we would definitely put this park on our list of revisits. 9/10 


Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Clarkster 12 reviews from this member

 Well we decided to spend an extended bank holiday weekend at East Fleet Farm. First of all, be carefull travelling down the lane, there are quite a few speed bumps and it gets narrow in places. It becomes apparent why they request that you leave by 10AM and not arrive before 11AM, it could get tricky if two outfits meet head on.

The site itself is well laid out and has spacious pitches with ample room between them. This is possibly one of the most dog friendly sites we have stayed at, there are good walks, plenty of dog poo bins and poo bags are free at reception.

There is a good shop and a bar that serves food, we had a meal in there on the first night (2 adult and 1 kids meal was £16)which was of a good standard. Being the bank holiday it got quite busy so we looked further afield on other nights, the Turks Head in Chickerell is worth a visit.

The one point that I must stress is that although the site was full to capacity, there was still ample hot water, loo roll, etc, and the site maintained its cleanliness and high standards, unlike others that just cant cope when only 3/4 full.

On the night of the storm and heavy rain(3 inches of rain and 50mph gusts), the electric supply was put under strain by the amount of fan heaters and the power tripped. The staff worked in the pouring rain and dark to reroute power cables to ensure no one was without supply. Yet again another example of the staff giving exemplary service.

In summary a fantastic site and we will definitely be staying there again. 


Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Janetlm1966 3 reviews from this member

 We had a lovely time camp was brill , very clean loos showers everything was good. Lovely site would go again .staff were very  friendly, bar had good facility's too, wymouth was a lovely place to visit also went monkey world , bovington tank museum also went longleat safari park . Great site to be able to visit all around Dorset 


Previous     352 Reviews in total, now showing 261 to 270      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is East Fleet Farm Touring Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to East Fleet Farm Touring Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is East Fleet Farm Touring Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Weymouth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3360 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement