Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Park Foot Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Ullswater > Park Foot Caravan And Camping Park Reviews

Park Foot Caravan And Camping Park
(lake District)
Howtown Road, Pooley Bridge
Ullswater
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA10 2NA
Tel: 01768 486309
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 324 Reviews
                8/10 from 324 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 5 miles 
 Horse Riding On Site   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   Tennis On Site 
 Beach On Site   Watersports 1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  324 in total, now showing 261 to 270                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27   28   29   30   31   32   33  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Julester66 12 reviews from this member

We had heard many good reports about this site and so decided to visit.  We arrived reasonably early and had booked in advance but could only find a pitch quite a way from the shower block.  The toilets in our field were in a portacabin and these were kept in an immaculate condition, as was the main shower block.
 
The downside of this site was the noise.  There was a large group of people in the next pitch who were drinking and swearing into the early hours (causing one group of campers to ask for their money back).  We also had to wash our pots in cold water, there only seemed to be hot water early in the morning.
 
This is definitely not a site for those wanting a quiet break, though the facilities are generally excellent.  However, I don't think it is a site we will visit again.

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lisa marie 2 reviews from this member

Our deaf family group went there for 4 nights and we all love it and the staff are very friendly, patient and understand each other. Children enjoyed themselves at the park and went to the disco every night.
Everything is clean and tidy. We all hope to be going there again next year 2007.

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Karatejan 17 reviews from this member

Loved this site even though the heavens opened up for three days while we where there. We were on the site across the road from the facility's where most of the electric hook ups were for tents. The main tent field looked as if it was pot luck if you got a level pitch.but the staff and the facility's make up for. Showers are hot and strong, clean toilets and didn't have to Queue once. The food in the restaurant is lovely and huge plate- fulls. There is a games room with pool table and some arcade games. A very well kept site and well run.
We will definitely be going back.

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Shabba71 2 reviews from this member

Just got back from another great week at Park Foot. In high season the camp is really busy especially with families so it does get rather crowded and noisy so those after a quiet break beware!

The site is excellent and exactly what we wanted for our family camping trip. The kids took part in the children's activity club which kept them busy and in the evenings the club was packed and had a great atmosphere.

Toilets & showers are usually always very clean and the on site shop stocked just about everything and at very reasonable prices too. We found all the staff very friendly and helpful.

This campsite is a little expensive and they charge for just about anything they can, that said this was our fourth visit here and we will be going back again many times in the future.

Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tranquil 1 review from this member

Lovely, picturesque, pleasant, wonderful we scousers loved it and we are not noisy scousers either, we usually camp in Wales but thought we would give Park Foot a try as most of the reviews are spot on, the views are magnificent when you wake up and look around, the children had a great time fishing, going to the disco, boating and many other family activities we tried, we have just come back from a campsite in Wales which was terrible, so will most definitely be going back to Park Foot again.

Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: BlueBrazil 2 reviews from this member

This site is ideal for families would highly recommend.  A large campsite with great shower / toilet facilities, a fantastic shop and two great play areas for the kids as well as a stream running through the campsite which they were never out of!  Beautiful area with lots to do and see.  Small amount of noise but that is only to be expected.  Great for experienced and inexperienced campers alike.

Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Woods614 4 reviews from this member

Just spent another few days at this camp site. Once again enjoyed every moment there, weather was fantastic despite the UK forcast been for thunder storms, not a single drop of rain and every one left with a sun tan. Park was not over crowded and was nice and peace full,The live entertainment in the evening were very funny for all the family. A good few days had by all.

Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Specialman 2 reviews from this member

After six hours of delays, crashes and general weekend crazyness on the M6, we arrived at Ambleside only to be told that the National Trust sites were full. Panicking, I phoned around different sites I'd collected off this website and found Park Foot had spaces.

After a 40-minute, 'rally-like' drive up to Ullswater, Mrs Specialman and I arrived at Park Foot after being told there were some spaces free, one of which the lady on reception had kindly set aside. This was nice, considering it was a really busy weekend so top marks there.

Park Foot is a bit like Butlins for campers, with an on-site restaurant, disco/bar and other amenities. I'm not one for this kind of camping, although this seemed to suit the many families who were staying, as it offered convenience anjd it seemed pretty safe for all the kids.

The prices were a bit steep for a tent (£18 per night) plus we were required to pay a £10-per-person 'noise' deposit, which was refunded when we checked out. This put off a few people who actually turned away when told they had to pay it.

We were in an overflow field (called Escraigg) about 100 yards from the lake (and five minutes from the main office), which was great, as it allowed us to be close to the village of Pooley Bridge (10 minutes walk along the lake). You aren't supposed to pitch within 3m of the next people, although some folk ignored this. Saying this, we never felt crowded and we felt pretty private with the car in front of the tent.

You can use barbeques but no fires are allowed, although a few people had them going but none were dangerously large fires.

The toilets were super clean and so were the showers, although you need to pay 20p to use the showers. There were only six showers for two fields though, so either get up early (or really late) to use them and on an evening, leave it later than 7pm and you'll be queuing for ages! Showers were cleaned regularly and bins were emptied every day sso cleanliness was superb.

The clientele was mainly Geordies and Scousers, many of whom seemed loud but in a fun, family way. No single sex groups are allowed at the park, which meant no trouble too.

There are some great sights on Ullswater, although watch out for all the dogs that seemed to outnumber the people at times, as they were crapping left, right and centre, right where kids were playing on the shore - those dog owners should be ashamed!

Pooley Bridge has three OK pubs, but service was dire at peak times and the beer is about £3 per pint. The Crown is a real family pub, whereas the Sun was more of a local. The other one (I can’t remember its name) was a bit pants! There's little else to do in the village but it's pleasant and has good walks around and is home to the Ullswater Steamer. If you're into fishing then wait until October when the trout fishing is apparently great in the River Eamont. Go to Aria Force waterfall, halfway along the lake, if you're after a good photo opportunity - it's beautiful. Be prepared for hefty NT parking fees though wherever you go.

The staff at Park Foot were courteous, if a little dour, and it's a well-run and clean place to stay. If you're a couple or enjoy a quiet time then this may not be the park for you, although it's a great base to work from and it's easy to get to from the M6 (just 10 minutes drive gets you to Junction 40). Also, Ullswater is the most beautiful place I’ve seen in the lakes.

Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Craigmw2003 1 review from this member

Absolutely fantastic! amazing camp site in an amazing location. The facilities like toilet, showers, wash areas were exceptionally clean. Definitely a place I will visit again in the near future. There is also plenty of things to do for people of all ages either on site or a short walk off.

Date of Visit: May 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Danlaur 9 reviews from this member

A small group of us Just come back from a long Bank Holiday week at Park Foot.
 
The site itself is great . This being our second visit,,  plenty for all to do in the surrounding villages of Keswick and Pooley Bridge
 
Sadly, over the Bank Holiday, the site was very busy, a bit too busy for us. Resulting in overcrowding, large queues for showers / toilets / club house., and whilst there is supposed to be a 3 metre rule of not pitching next to other tents, this was clearly overlooked and seemed to go by the wayside.
 
Very helpful & kind staff who even ask for the 50p to cover bank card charge. Before you pay the 20 p for  a shower. Sorry, but a little too much take take take. Penny pinching !
 
The facilities here are very good. we pitched by the lake ( Ullswater ) and the views are fantastic. This site is great if you don't mind being on a busy site. But next time, will be on the other side of the lake at Water foot . Which ( IMHO ) is far superior at a fraction of the cost
 
Cheers

Previous     324 Reviews in total, now showing 261 to 270      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Ullswater      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome and Caravan Show 15/10 to 20/10, NEC Birmingham
All the new 2020 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans – plus 1000s of accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3587 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019