Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Park Foot Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Ullswater > Park Foot Caravan And Camping Park Reviews

Park Foot Caravan And Camping Park
(lake District)
Howtown Road, Pooley Bridge
Ullswater
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA10 2NA
Tel: 01768 486309
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 324 Reviews
                8/10 from 324 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 5 miles 
 Horse Riding On Site   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   Tennis On Site 
 Beach On Site   Watersports 1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  324 in total, now showing 281 to 290                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27   28   29   30   31   32   33  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Reviewer: David-Caroline 1 review from this member

September 2005
Our weekend at Park Foot! well my husband our 3 children aged 16, 15 and 9 and also our 2 dogs (yorkies) stumbled across this site on an internet search and we were there 2 hours later! It had everything we could possibly imagine, the parks for the children were extremely well equiped with tyre swing, ordinary swings, climbing walls (there are 2 of these the larger one being on the larger play area) slides see-saws etc. we hardly saw them unless they were hungry or thirsty or wanting money!
The facilities were fantastic, the ladies and gents were nipping clean, being cleaned at least twice a day that we saw anyway.. the shop was fantasic to! With everything you could possibly think of, selling everything from food to tents and cookers. How they fitted everything in there was a miracle in itself!
The Clubhouse was good too, it had a cash machine and a change machine which was handy when the kids were asking for money for the games room, well priced and had a lovely atmosphere, wth great music for the whole family. The kids loved the games room and said there was loads for them to do in there, we hardly saw them at all whilst in there.
The dog walks were very good too, still in the grounds of the camp site but cordoned off away from the tents, though I must say not everyone had been as thoughtful as us and cleaned up after their dogs!!
The lakeside walk was fantastic! It was only a short walk up to Pooley Bridge where you can catch the steamer boat for a tour of Ullswater, and it is very reasonably priced.
All in all a brilliant weekend, we found it idyllic, scenic and the lakeside was peaceful, but the campsite is more family orientated so if your looking for complete rest and relaxation maybe this site isn't for you. However if your looking for a good weekend break, don't care to much about a little bit of noise when people are going back to their tents after a night at the club, and if you want a good all round weekend then Park Foot is definitely the site for you.

Reviewer: SusieP 4 reviews from this member

June 2005
This will be the second year that we have stayed at Park Foot - on the whole we have enjoyed the experience, especially pitching in the field adjacent to Ullswater. The benefit of going in June is that it is less crowded but I can imagine that in the height of the season its facilities would be stretched to provide adequate provision for all. Some of the staff can be a little 'aloof', pity the same can't be said of the owners dog a placid and now well-fed golden retriever who invited itself in to our friend's tent and helped itself to their prospective BBQ provisions!

Reviewer: Debs37 4 reviews from this member

August 2005
we where at parkfoot a few weeks ago & have to admit we really enjoyed it. It was our 1st adventure of camping & we will definatley return next year hopefully. I was amazed at the size of the site & found the scenery & walks very relaxing & satisfying. The kids enjoyed it alot, sheep, ducks , park etc but must admit the disco was overpowering. I usually like a good dance but the music was ancient & would have preferred more of some kind of family entertainment other than a disco. Overall i would recommend this site to friends. Ah forgot to mention... many people prefer quiet on a night but i have 3 kids & always get paranoid that they will disturbe others so i'm pleased their was noise so i wasnt embarrassed about the noise my kids were making. Only they were all tucked up in their sleeping bags by 12.30pm....

Date of Visit: August 2005
Reviewer: Tanya48b 1 review from this member

We visited foot park for 2 nights we arrived friday night and was given the choice of going next to the lake or on top of a hill. We chose the hill only problem was we were on a slope, but it was a great view. The shop sold every thing you needed, we bought a gazibo for 20 only to be charged the day we were leaving for putting it up. The pub/restaurant is reasonably priced. If your thinking of going to the pub Friday / Saturday night just be aware its more like a youth club. Showers and toilets were clean and theres plenty of them at only 20p each. Plugs are provided for hair dryers which is free of charge. Lake only just down the road had a really good day out as we rented a boat which cost us under 50 for 6 of us for a hour. Would visit site again

Date of Visit: August 2005
Reviewer: Jowmersey 2 reviews from this member

We stayed at Park Foot for 5 nights in the overflow field (4 adults and 1 child (under 4)). HAD A GREAT TIME, we went the clubhouse on the 1st night only, no problems, had a good time, I agree with others that it is quite expensive. Noise was not bad pretty quiet after 12am. Facilities were excellent (cleaned at least once a day with a power washer), showers were 20p for 6 minutes (my friend put the money in for me so I only needed 1 20p). Dish washing area I found was too busy so it was easy boiling water and doing it at the tent. The shop has everything you need. Village is about a 10-15 minute walk along the lake. I would definitely go to this site again.

Date of Visit: August 2005
Reviewer: Jensue 8 reviews from this member

This campsite is in a lovely setting, and we were able to camp by the stream overlooking the lake. Although this was a big bonus there were some downsides and I'm not sure we would return. There was a club/bar on site and at about 7pm the shower block would fill up with women and girls dolling themselves up ready for the disco. Drunk people made a lot of noise very late with very little respect for others. The two play areas were great for our kids. It was quite expensive at 22.50 per night and showers were 20p each. It felt a bit like Butlins. However there were several fields to choose from and it was possible to camp across the road where it was much quieter - problem was that children couldn't get to play area from here.

Date of Visit: August 2005 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Vikki75 14 reviews from this member

Pros - big family site with clubhouse. Toilets and showers were very clean and bins were emptied regularly on site. no noise policy 12pm - 8am which security do enforce. The shop was very well stocked and not too overpriced. They also sold a good range of camping equipment, stoves, citronella candles, wind breaks etc.

Cons - pitching was a bit haphazard so some tents ended up very close to each other. The toilet block was a long way from the main camping field which is a problem if you have young kids, I believe that the other field has portaloos in it but we didn't go over there. The club house is very small for the size of site, also very loud and smokey. You have to pay for showers and the time runs out quicker than the notices say. (keep your 20ps before going).

All in all we had a great time and would recommend the site as long as you are not looking for a quiet stay. I am not sure if we will return as the site was a bit on the big side for us.

Date of Visit: June 2005
Reviewer: Cxt15606 1 review from this member

Went to Park Foot in June. The campsite was very well organised with incredibly friendly staff.

Facilities were all clean and well looked after. Plenty of toilets and showers so no standing round in the morning.

This site is definitely family orientated. There is a pub on site which provides a disco for the kids. There is a take-away which serves good food, but it gets very busy in the morning and the staff can be a little slow.

Park Foot is like a Butlins holiday camp. It gets quite busy with lots of kids, but everyone is nice and just wanting to have fun.

Date of Visit: August 2005 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Awoodmore 1 review from this member

I stayed here in a tent with no hook up near the main hub of the site.
This proved an excellent site over a vast area with superb evening entertainment, very helpful and friendly staff, clean toilets and a well stocked shop. There is a nice stream running through the centre of the site which the children play in and 2 decent playgrounds. The main site is on a slope over the road from a corner of the lake. So if you wanted to camp near the lake you would be away from the main facilities and just in a field with wash & toilet facilities. Access to the lake is via a dirt track to a small sheltered area. There are many little fields and pitches to choose from and it is easy to tuck away somewhere. The negatives of this site is the expanse of it and how easy it can be to be distant from a toilet block. I paid over 8 for a Beer, Vodka Ice drink and two fruit shoots for children which I though was a little excessive but not uncommon in other sites. The club is so popular it is impossible to sit unless you arrive very early and it becomes very crowded - but it is very good but may benefit from expanding! It is true that this site suffers from very loud noise upto midnight and beyond. The site appears to be popular for Geordies and Liverpudlians judging by the amount of cars with the familiar striped or red stickers showing and the accent i heard everywhere and it has a kind of 'city' atmosphere with the noise to match - albeit very friendly though. So for young families I would recommend camping away from the club. By contrast, I went to a similar site in Norfolk the following week, with same facilites - same size site - club etc and camped near the club and it was extremely peaceful throughout the evening with only some quiet chatter after the disco - seems the east anglians don't party as hard! I wouldn't hesitate to return to this site though - we all had a great time but would try and set up our pitch in a tucked away spot for a quieter time.

Date of Visit: August 2005 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Crispie 1 review from this member

Just come back from a weekend at Park Foot. Very lively place but really enjoyable. Club house was a bit small for the size of the park so we didn't use this much. However we had a great pitch, loads of space and right by the little stream which the kids loved. They spend ages their in their wellies. Which meant peace for us! Nice scenic walk to the Ullswater steam boat. Overall the park was busy but a really good camping atmosphere. Would recommend it to families who want a lively weekend!.

Previous     324 Reviews in total, now showing 281 to 290      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Ullswater      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...



Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park 14/09 to 15/09, Kent
Enjoy two days access to the dog show, free parking, free evening entertainment and a campsite right next to the showground ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4244 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019