Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Amerden Caravan & Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Berkshire > Maidenhead > Amerden Caravan & Camping Site Reviews

Amerden Caravan & Camping Site
Old Marsh Lane
Dorney Reach
Maidenhead
Berkshire   (Browse area)
SL6 0DZ
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Pitches: 50
Open: Closed For 2019, Reopening 2020

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 161 Reviews
                9/10 from 161 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  161 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: DeeD 10 reviews from this member

Stayed yet again at Amerden Caravan & Camping Site. As usual, we had a lovely welcome. Spotlessly clean facilities. Beverly really does think of everything to make one feel at home. The camping kitchen includes free use of fridge, freezer & microwave. Also a bottle opener & tin opener are included. Washing up liquid is also supplied. Really hot water for the free showers. Plenty of hooks to hang clothes on. As some other reviews have mentioned, there is no on site shop. However, there is a vending machine, which despenses chocolate bars, crisps, sweets & fizzy drinks at a reasonable price. Also there is a large Sainsbury's & Tesco's about a mile away. Nearby take aways also deliver to the site. The reception area, I noticed, sold ear plugs for 20p a pair. Great to block out noise from the nearby motorway & fellow campers that snore! Although, apart from the motorway, which you get used to, it is a very quiet site. All in all, this is a great place to stay. Plus it is very near the village of Bray.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Fats + Tubs 1 review from this member

We have just returned from a lovely Bank Holiday weekend at Amerden campsite, and thought it only fare to share our thoughts & observations.

Positives:-

Staff very friendly & helpful, they have been doing it for 30 years, so they know their stuff

Pitches flat and grass recently mowed

Plenty of electric & water points

Good area for cycling

Toilet block and washing area spotless and in a good state of repair.

Tesco's & Sainsburys 5 mins drive away, along with a Mountain Warehouse. (who don't sell citronella candles etc, 'we are a camping & outdoor shop, so we don't sell candles' ) Don't ask. !

2 x local takeaways deliver, (although the Chinese didn't actually answer their phone, BUT the food from the Indian was excellent and very reasonably priced)

There are a number of pubs nearby, although we didn't actually find them, 'little legs' ran out off puff on his balance bike before we could locate one.

Now two very small niggles:-

The M4 does run across the bottom of the site, so there is a constant traffic drone, BUT it is clearly mentioned in the campsite info, so be aware, but it didn't spoil our weekend.

The play area wood work is looking a little tired and dated, BUT the kids still loved it anyway, that's all that matters.

Would we go back, oh for sure, in fact we have booked for August Bank Holiday, just hope Beverly can arrange the good weather again.

Thank you Beverly & Mr Beverly for a very pleasant and relaxed stay.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Samster 8 reviews from this member

This was the second time we have visited this site, so we knew what to expect and had no nasty surprises. The site as stated before has lots of facilities, including fridge/freezers, washing machines etc, but we did find it quite busy in the toilet facilities in a morning, probably because everyone was getting ready to go out at a similar time.

This site is an excellent base for Legoland, the reason why we were staying, although a little sad for us that our children have really outgrown it now, so this was our last year and we visited many times in the week. Two bits of advice, firstly leave for Legoland at 9. 00am at the latest, as any later and you will be stuck in quite a lot of traffic. Secondly, in our opinion, I wouldn't follow the longer, but quicker route to Legoland, as it wasn't well signposted. It meant crossing several lanes at roundabouts with little notice given by the signposts, which we felt was quite dangerous at times and a little longer was an understatement. I estimate it must have been four times longer, maybe even more.

We did look around for other things to do from this as a base and enjoyed an afternoon cruising on the Thames, visited Black Park, a lovely country park, which also had Go Ape there and had a few lovely walks from the campsite itself.

The campsite had new Wardens this year, who we found very friendly people and very helpful. We had requested a choice of two pitches and were pleased to get one of them. Our preference, pitch 3 or 4 are near the toilets, not right next to the play area, but still close, so don't request these if you don't like the noise from the play area, but most importantly it is in the top field, which is further away from the M4 than most pitches. The noise from the M4 was not a problem for us there, although you can still hear it, but have to say the noise at night has an advantage, in that it prevents noise of people, tent zips etc travelling as far. On a quiet site at night you can hear every tiny noise from your neighbours and the solitary car passing can actually wake you up.

If I wanted to visit Legoland again I would definitely return to this site or more likely use it as a base to visit London in the future. Another plus for this site if we return next year will be the Tesco superstore being built within a couple of minutes drive of the campsite. Hopefully they will have a cafe and maybe even a pizza bar that sells takeaway pizzas.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Nicola Harris 15 reviews from this member

Turned up here as an overnight stop without a booking. Owners were very friendly and accommodating and quickly found us a pitch. Although the site is lovely, clean and child friendly, we found the noise a bit too much. The motorway combined with being so close to the flight path was a bit of an issue for us. And although the riverside is lovely there is nothing else nearby for food essentials or eating out. Based on the location and noise levels I found the 25 a night a bit steep. We stayed at Swiss farm in Henley the next night which was the same price but came with a cafe, swimming pool and in walking distance of lovely Henley. The other issue we found was that the showers were so hot my daughters couldn't even go in them. Although on the positive side, the shower block was very clean. Probably wouldn't stay again based on price/noise.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Sammierabbit 2 reviews from this member

A fantastic site. Family friendly. Clean and tidy and well organised. Close to River Thames with subsequent easy access to Eton and Windsor via riverbank paths. Staff friendly enough and helpful. Only thing missing is a shop for those of us oorly organised and forget something from local Sainsburys. Even the motorway and Heathrow noise isn't a problem by the first hour being over. A must visit for campers of all types.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Braesideman 2 reviews from this member

Great little site very close to the Thames and Bray lock - very picturesque part of the river with nice walks.

2 fridges, 2 freezer, a microwave, washing machine (2. 20) and iron/ironing board available for general use - all new and clean.

Even a cheap vending machine which the kids loved.

Toilet & showers spotless but unfortunately if anyone was using the gent's middle shower the other two showers were reduced to a trickle.

Wardens friendly and very helpful.

Free wifi near the reception.

M4 noisy but didn't cause us any problems.

Try the river cruise from Maidenhead to Windsor - really good day out.

Second visit, will be back again next year.

Highly recommended.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: GrumpyBoaby 58 reviews from this member

Tenters paradise, fully booked on arrival, we were allocated a hard standing in between two static vans close to the showers and toilets.

Site was very busy with mainly family tents, walkers and the odd caravan/motorhome. As mentioned in previous reviews the M4 traffic noise can be a put off and if the wind is in the wrong direction the airport traffic can last for 12 hours or more.

Showers and toilets are nice and clean, but floors are covered in mud and grass despite the staff cleaning regularly.

Nicely laid out and well kept site with friendly and very helpful staff, the site lays parallel to the river and has to be assessed from the main entrance along a minor road, a very short distance, no view of the river from the site.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Selly7 3 reviews from this member

Fantastic campsite, secure, very friendly warden, spotlessly clean. Thoughtful 'extras' such as vending machine with 10p sweets, fridge +freezer(i was pleasantly surprised that no food was 'lost'). We stayed for 7 nights to do legoland, london, thorpe park and chessington and it was a perfect base for this. We will definitely be back! Do bring ear plugs for road noise if you are a bad sleeper. But to be honest bird song in a rural campsite is more disturbing.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sitronman 1 review from this member

Just come back from 5 nights camping at Amerden. What a lovely site! The owners keep the grounds very well maintained and the facilities are very clean and well maintained. As well as toilets and showers, there are fridges and a microwave available to use. The children's play area was well used by by our 4 year old. There are nice walks along the Thames withing a few minutes of the site.

Legoland and London were the main reasons for staying there and the site is handy for both (a 40 min train ride via Taplow station).

Yes the site does back onto the M4 and you are not too far from Heathrow, but it doesn't take long to ignore/ get used to this background noise.

Will certainly use the site again on future visits to the area.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Ali j Glasgow 1 review from this member

Comfortable and convenient. Stayed here for one night in campervan in order to have dinner at the Fat Duck in nearby Bray. Well-maintained, well-appointed and obviously cared-for site with clean and modern facilities. Owners very friendly and helpful. Right on Thames path for wonderful riverside walks with dog and only 20 minutes on foot into Bray (albeit part on noisy pedestrian path on bridge alongside M4). Yes, as other reviewers have noted, the motorway IS very close and traffic noise is therefore a self-evident reality. However there's nothing the owners can do about that and your brain filters it out quite quickly. Expecting the motorway noise we were pleasantly surprised at the abundant birdlife on site and how pretty and rural it feels despite the traffic. Would definitely return if needed to be in area and can understand why so convenient for Windsor, LEGOLAND etc

Previous     161 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Berkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over 205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2348 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019