Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Cherry Cottage Camping

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (East) > Camelford > Cherry Cottage Camping Reviews

Cherry Cottage Camping
Cherry Cottage
Valley Truckle
Camelford
Cornwall (East)   (Browse area)
PL32 9RT
Tel: 01840 211574
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 39 Reviews
                10/10 from 39 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool <1 mile 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents.

Reviews:  39 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Millet 31 reviews from this member

 Can not recommend this site enough. Very friendly owners come and greet you on arrival, show you your pitch and give you any information required.

Area is lovely, pitches are well kept and grass is nicely mown, no clipping left to be trod into the caravan.

I echo the other reviews on the shower blocks etc, and will say, we were staying when the site was fully booked, all you need to do is time your showers well, a bit like been at home, with the kids.

Do take notice of the advice on the electric, we found our caravan fridge coming on and off later in the afternoon, when other people were using electric power. Not too much of a problem as we switched to gas until late in the night, but worth considering if you use a lot of electrical appliances.

I would definitely return to this site again.

Many thanks to the owner & wife for a wonderful time. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mazmonkey 9 reviews from this member

 We love this site so much. Its a great site, we have stayed twice now, once in 2011 and again in 2013. Wouldn't hesitate to book again. The owner is lovely bloke, always warm welcome. Site is spotless! lovely field, clean great facilities for showering, toilets, washing up etc, THE best we have EVER used on a campsite.

Camelford is nice village, stopped in a few times to stock up on bits at co op and have a pint at the pub and the fish and chip shop 'peckish' is just that! its great food! Of course the site is brilliantly situated for Boscastle, Tintagel, Bude etc and not far even for a trip to Port Issac on our first night after we set up the tent :)

Great site, will book again! 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Fionaloisebarnes 1 review from this member

 Very clean and well maintained site. Brand new shower and toilet block, with disabled facility. Washing up area and fridge/freezer to put a few essentials. The pitches are perfect for your tent and your car. It is a secure site and gates are closed between 10-11pm and opened 7am. You can let yourself in/out at any time. There is a garage just across the road which has a shop/gas and petrol. Camelford is just down the road and the fish and chip shop is to die for. It's about 3 miles to trebawarth strand where there's a beach, but you have to wait for the tide to go out before you can access it. Perfect for surfing, body boarding or just relaxing.

Owners are very accommodating and endeavor to keep a very high standard. Free range eggs are available each day 6 for 1 bargain.

This is a very quiet site but perfect for relaxing and watching the stars at night. Travel to some attractions within 1 hour - eden project, newquay zoo/beaches, tintagel, boscastle and port isaac. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Jfa110n 14 reviews from this member

 We were met by a very friendly and helpful owner who assisted our arrival with all the info we needed. This is a beautifully kept site with neat clipped and nice sized pitches with small shrubs in between.

Toilets and showers were very clean and modern and comprised one ladies shower and one Men's shower which was adequate when we stayed because their were few other campers, this may not be adequate when the site is busy or full. Also one men's loo and one ladies, again possibly inadequate at busy times - you can however watch the TV in the loo block if you need to wait or queue!

Also in the main loo block is a couple of washing up / veg prep sinks - all in all very clean and modern.

The entrance to the site is quite small but is easily navigated and is marked by the BP Garage opposite which also has a very handy Londis supermarket for any bits you need to buy.

Just over half a mile away is Camelford, a pleasant enough place with a couple of pubs - we used the Masons Arms under recommendation from the site owner and had a great meal! This is a very pleasant site and very quiet considering the main road is just a few yards away. This is also a pay only by cash site, however there is a cash machine in the garage opposite. This is a lovely site which we would use again - our neighbour on site had been there 3 weeks so he obviously liked it! 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: HFairley 2 reviews from this member

 This is a beautiful level site, and immaculately kept. The owners are lovely, friendly, welcoming people. It has the advantage of being near to a main road, but set back so you are not aware of it, thus providing a feeling of being in a secluded area, with the convenience of being able to get out and about easily.

There is a lovely riverside walk to the town nearby.

The area is outstandingly beautiful, and the coast is only a short drive away. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: MartinAndNessa 2 reviews from this member

 We booked this site on the strength of the previous reviews on here and were so pleased we did. On arrival we were shown around the site and given a choice of where to pitch. The owner was genuinely friendly and couldn't have made us feel more welcome, telling us 'nothing much happens around here' which was music to our ears, we wanted a break from the rat race. And that's exactly what we got.

The site itself is almost level, brilliantly maintained, plenty of space and we found ourselves a nice quiet corner. The 'facilities' were more than ample, three showers/toilets and two washing up sinks, all very well appointed and immaculately kept. In fact, something my Mum would have been delighted with, which is saying something. Oodles of hot water and I mean hot. The owners clearly maintain their site to an incredibly high standard.

We struck gold with our first six days - the weather was outstanding. Split our time between chilling on the site, topping up the tan, and visiting other places both locally and further afield. This is a great base to explore all that Cornwall has to offer and being on the A39 easy access too. That said, we had no noise from the road and on the site we felt well and truly in the countryside.

Camelford itself has a small supermarket and several shops, pubs, restaurants. Wadebridge and Bude have 'proper' supermarkets. However, the garage over the road provided most of our supplies. Including some really decent meat and lovely locally produced bakery products.

Then the weather changed, as it does around here. So cheerio sun and hello fairly hefty winds and plenty of rain. Our tent took quite a battering, that said it remained pitched and the site certainly didn't become waterlogged. We cut our stay short by a day, but only for the sake of taking home a dry tent.

For a small and friendly, wonderfully maintained site, offering a break from the hustle and bustle, this site ticks all the boxes. I can't think of one criticism, the location is absolutely perfect. And I've stayed at some other wonderful sites in Cornwall too. 10 out of 10 on all counts, absolutely perfect. Fantastic value too. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Tynxuk 16 reviews from this member

 Just returned from 10 nights of pretty poor weather at this great site. After several days of rain the camping field entrance was getting churned up so the owner had some large stone shingle laid and this worked a treat.

Amenities were always clean and although there were only showers I managed to bath the children in a small cheap paddling pool in the disabled shower room without any problems.

As has already been mentioned the entrance is quite hidden but it is opposite the garage so easy enough to find based on that, located on the A39 there are no scary roads to worry about.

Will definitely return. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Maiden 3 reviews from this member

 Just came back from having stayed here for a week

The weather started mixed but by the end of the week the sun came out, the site is laid out very

Well with plenty of pitch spaces so you never felt

On top of each other the only done side was the entrance did get very muddy but that soon dried out.


The toilets and washing up facilities were excellent.

This is a excellent site for visiting north Cornwall lots of lovely coves to explore would recommend this site to anybody looking for a quiet peaceful relaxing holiday 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Carroll 2 reviews from this member

 A lovely site, facilities very good. All grass pitches with shrubbery between each pitch which are very generous in size. Location off main road but hardly any road noise. Really good sized pitches.

Owners were one of the most helpful, nicest people we have met. We only stayed for two nights as a stop over but would return again for much longer.

Walk into Camelford only 10 mins with buses to various places. Handy Londis store at petrol station directly across from site.

One down side is only 6amp electric available.

We do not have children but children on site and no silly restrictions. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: IAN COOPER 3 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely little site and great value and I would not hesitate in recommending it and would definitely return.

We were not sure about booking, as the weather had been torential for weeks, but the owners did not want a deposit, so we reserved a pitch. After phoning to double check the ground was not waterlogged, we were really suprised on arrival at how good the grass was. It was only the start of the summer holidays, so had not had much traffic on it, but other campers had been turned away from muddy waterlogged sites, so this was pretty well drained. One drove in over the grass, so it got slightly muddy during the week, but Chris kept rolling it and spreading gravel over this. In any normal summer the ground would be fine.

The pitches are large, mown and separated by small bushes. Trees all round the site sheltered us from most of the wind, but we were still exposed to some windy nights, as the site is not actually in a valley as one may expect but is on quite high ground. Although just off a main road, the camping field is behind the farm house and there was no noise problem

Facilities were in a new small block with one ladies, one mens and one unisex/ disabled loo/shower, and some washing up sinks, which were all smart and always very clean. We never had to wait, although the site was only half full. There was a fridge for shared use, however it's coolbox was the only place to frezze icepacks and it was not up to the job. This is probably my only critiscsm of the site (stopping it getting a 10)and could be easily rectified (and to be fair Chris did say he would put them in his freezer for us).

The location is great for exploring this part of Cornwall. The Londis opposite was perfect for small purchases (including camping gas) and there is a Co Op nearby and for stocking up a large Tescos on the outskirts of Wadebridge.

Trebarwith Strand is the nearby beach and was lovely, but only accesable for about 5 hours, disappearing at high tide, so you need to check the tide times. It is quite a shallow beach, so good for our 4 year old daughter who just wanted to jump waves, try her body board out and investigate the pools. It is cheaper to park if you get there before the tide has gone out. The Port William pub overlooks the bay and has a good selection of food. The staff were great with our daughter, even redoing her dinner, which they had put 'green stuff' on (parsley), so we returned a couple of times.

We also went to Rock which has a much sandyer beech and a quick ferry ride takes you across the estuary to Padstow and its shops. Polzeath offers waves for those who want a bit more surf.

A ride down the camel trail is a must and you can get all sort of bikes and trailers in Wadebridge for any type of rider (even trycyles for those who cant ride).

So many more places we did not get to see this time, so wll go back 


Previous     39 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Cherry Cottage Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Cherry Cottage Camping?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Cherry Cottage Camping dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Camelford      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (East)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Stratford Caravan & Motorhome Show 26/06 to 28/06
Over 350 new and used caravans and motorhomes, camp over with 3 nights of fantastic live entertainment, bar and food ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2475 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020