Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Gwithian Farm Campsite

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (West) > Site Reviews

Gwithian Farm Campsite
1 Churchtown Rd
Gwithian, Hayle
St Ives
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR27 5BX
Tel: 01736 753127
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    
 Featured Site

Pitches: 130
Open: April To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 249 Reviews
                9/10 from 249 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (15)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   No Restaurant   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Seaside Location   Dog Walk   Public Transport 

Reviews:  249 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: BillBeech005 7 reviews from this member

We visited Gwithian farm again this year for our annual 'lads weekend' which now is made up of girls and boys, plus this 'venerable old one'.

We use this site because of the ease of access to the beach without the need to use the car, and the always friendly and helpful welcome we get.

The site has the benefit of a great little country pub opposite the entrance, that serves up some superb meals, but you need to book in advance when the site is busy, as a lot of people eat there.

The site has superb access and great facilities, plenty of hook ups and numerous water points. The pitches are exceedingly generous with ample for room for caravn/tent/motorhome, car, awning, bbq and sitting out area. The toilet block is second to none, with even a family bathroom and several sinks dedicated to washing up, there is also a laundry room with all the usual fittings.

All the pitches are well drained and we have never encountered a problem with grass too wet, most are fairly level with little adjustment needed when setting up, one wheel ramp/leveller being sufficient, or even none at all depending on orientation of your caravan/camper. Another nice touch is the wet suit wash, very handy for the surfer/kite surfer boys and girls.

Other little helpful bits are the excellent pastries sold by the children and the fish and chip van that calls, also an ice cream man in the warmer months.

Access to the beach is out of the top of the site and takes at most 20 mins for the slower walkers, usually 15 mins for the less 'loaded'.

The site attracts all sorts of people with the older campers (me for one) mixing happily with the younger ones, lots of smiles and greetings are the order of the day, due to the relaxed and happy outlook of the owners Clair and Mike, a great couple and very very helpful.

The local shops are handy, Lidl a short distance by car away and then in Hayle you have the Co operative with a new Asda at the other end of Hayle. Hayle also boasts some excellent public houses and at least a couple of chip shops.

All in all, given its easy access to the A30 and all the local attractions, this site can form the perfect base to give your holiday every chance of success.

I have no reservations in recommending this site, for families or the surfin/sporty types and it is more than peaceful enough for the older campers like me that like a bit of peace and quiet now and then.

So give yourself a break (literally!) and go ahead and book a 'dream site', you will not regret it, I guarantee.

Oh! and I forgot to mention, it is a dog friendly site, but please clean up after your dog, both on site and on the walk to the beach.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Phill Noble 3 reviews from this member

We stayed at this site on Saturday 2nd May 2015, and herewith give our feedback on our experience.

Hospitality

Without a doubt 10 out of 10, on arrival we ‘were greeted’ with a smile, and the friendly character of the two people at reception. We were politely book in, give details of the site, and given directions to our pitch.

Facilities

10 out of 10, We found the site to have all the facilities required, including plug sockets for my companions hairdryer, hair tongs.

Pricing

10 out of 10, we found the pricing accurate for what the site offers, and our needs and expectations.

Cleanliness

10 out of 10, No rubbish seen anywhere.

Would we stay again?

Definitely yes, when we next down in the area.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: KWDerby 2 reviews from this member

Fantastic site - really one of the best sites we have ever visited. The pitch was excellent, clean spacious and surrounded by shrubs and flowers. The shower and toilet block was immaculately clean and modern. The campsite was full when we were there, but it wasn't noisy. Visiting pizza, bread and croissants, fish and chips and curry vans all very good. The shop was well stocked and everyone on site was very helpful. The Red River pub at the entrance to the campsite serves excellent food and ale! Next to the pub is the village shop and the bus stop is right outside the entrance. A short walk over the sand dunes gets you to the very spectacular beach, with a café\bar where you can sit and watch the surfers. This site is an ideal position for touring some of the most beautiful places in Cornwall. To go to St Ives use the park and train ride from St Erth (£4 return per adult), which was excellent value. All in all couldn't fault this site and can't wait to return again!

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Penguin73 11 reviews from this member

Just returned from this campsite. What a gem this is. Will be returning. Yes it was full with it being the school holiday but only had to queue for showers once and I timed how long I waited. 57 seconds. I know, how sad to time it!. Brush and mop to clean shower out after was at side of them. Lovely and clean.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Alpiner 1 review from this member

Great campsite in a great area, if you like the beach type of holiday you have miles of beach to choose from.

To get to the beach you have to follow a path over the sand dunes and be reasonably fit, if not there is a pay car park that gets you a lot closer, just 5 mins from the site.

The site is very popular with family's and always seems to be full, so if planning to go there I would book well in advance of at least ring on a regular basis.

Good facilities and a nice pub opposite, this location is close to St Ives and many other coastal seaside towns.

Lidl is just down the road and a new Asda superstore is being built just a few miles away.

Although not a problem try to book a pitch away from the road or you could be within feet of it

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Silou 1 review from this member

Recently returned from a 2 week stay here, booked on previous reviews and 1 recommendation. The pitch was spacious and hook up good with no power cuts which was good considering the amount of units. The site was clean and showers good when not visited at peak times. We had 2 children 7 and a12 year old daughter plus 1 dog. We were quite disappointed with this site purely for the fact that there is nothing for children to do here, except play table tennis (1 table) and look at 7 chickens and a few guinea pigs. Owners describe a playing field for ball games etc but this is surrounded on 3 sides by tents with cars coming and going and is not a place that the families we spoke to said there children liked going to. The walk to the beach is suitable for those who don't mind carrying all their gear down to the beach on a 10-20 min walk over dunes or the single track road. The beach to take dogs on is a good 30-40 minute walk away as the steps have been damaged and are now blocked off, but we and many many others just climbed over and went down them anyway. The council have not left any information on how to access this beach any other way, which I feel is extremely poor, especially as they are charging people for walking dogs on Gwithian beach who are trying to get to the dog beach! We would not return to this site as there are much nicer sites with DIRECT beach access and more child friendly. It appears that the owners have compromised any play facilities for more units which is a shame. We had a good holiday as we met up with friends and family and visited lots of great places too. Bottalack mines is a great place to visit and free as is Heartlands which both my kids and nephews loved ( also free ). This site is a good place to use if you intend to go out and about a lot and don't mind not having somewhere central for kids to meet up and play.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Chriscable 38 reviews from this member

Loved this site. Very busy site but in our pitch we did not feel hemmed in. Facilities new and clean (they do get busy). One gripe again no bucket and disinfectant to clean out shower before/after use - all sites should have this as it is hygienic as I don't like to follow people who leave grass and soap all over. Great pub across road ( Red River Inn) super food good selection of beers/cider and lager and VERY dog friendly. Walk to beach is easy however access to dog friendly beach was very difficult as steps have been washed away and dog wardens were patrolling and issuing tickets even if you were just walking on briefly in order to get to the dog friendly part. Site owners were complaining to council on behalf of us doggy folk. Tried wood fired pizza which comes 2 nights a week - top class and the croissants/Danish pastries on offer 2 mornings a week - brilliant. Best site we visited in Cornwall and only knocking 1 point off for lack of bucket and disinfectant in shower block

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Merryways 9 reviews from this member

Spent 4 nights here at end June/beginning July.

The site has easy access and is very well maintained with nice hedges and flowers.

We had a hardstanding pitch with electricity but if you have a large Motorhome you are best to fill with water before arrival as would block access if using a tap. There may have been one by reception but we had parked and levelled before we realised the nearest tap was further away than our hose so we chose to take trips with watering can and bucket. Also, the only place to drop grey water was where the chemical disposal point was, by reception, which was bordered by concrete - no drive over drain available.

The toilet/shower block was great, very clean with plenty of facilities. There was also a laundry room with washers, dryers and an iron & ironing board.

The shop was well stocked and all the staff very helpful and informative. A Fish & Chip van came one day, A Pizza van another and a fish fish van another. They were also advertising a curry night.

The walk to the beach is easy and the beach was amazing. We also walk to Godrevy to see the seals and walk around the coast there.

There is a daily bus to St Ives that allows you around 4 hours to explore, and an Age Concern bus that runs to Hayle.

We would recommend this site and would happily return.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: GMD01 6 reviews from this member

Just back from 2 weeks at this site. Campsite grounds are well kept with the grass cut regularly. We had no problems with showers, toilets or washing availability, but I can imagine in the summer period it would be a problem.

Not a lot on site for kids to do but the beach is within walking distance.

My wife had toothache while we were there and the owner was very helpful in getting an appointment with the emergency dentist in Newquay.

All in no complaints at all about this site and are planning on going back next year.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Summer2013 2 reviews from this member

Absolutely lovely site and we will be returning again next year! The only downside is that the WIFI does not really work, so don't go to this site if you really want WIFI.

There is one small entrance in and out of the campsite and nowhere to stay if you arrive early, so do not arrive before midday.

Previous     249 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Cornwall (West)   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an OLPRO Knightwick 3 Berth Tent worth £109.99 Win tickets to Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 12 to 14 October, Cornwall
3 day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties, with camping ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2647 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.1445