Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Riverside Caravan & Camping Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Cambridgeshire > Site Reviews

Riverside Caravan & Camping Park
21 New River Bank
Littleport
Ely
Cambridgeshire   (Browse area)
CB7 4TA
Tel: 01353 860255  or  07813 523960
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 49
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 118 Reviews
                8/10 from 118 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  118 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Angelasalem 1 review from this member

Stayed 2 nights at this lovely campsite with our two dogs, very quiet site across from the river, didn't really notice the noise on the road outside, think the dawn chorus was noisier, lol, but lovely. We walked into Ely on the Saturday along the riverbank, about 5 miles, had lunch and walked round the town and Cathedral, which is truly amazing, walked back along the opposite river bank to The Swan pub in Littleport, for a quick drink. Lovely tidy campsite, toilets and shower blocks kept very clean, the owners are friendly and helpful, the chickens are a delight roaming the site, our dogs weren't amused when they tried to steal their dinner, and the owners dogs roam the site too but are no bother. Will definitely be visiting again.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Mezzpete 3 reviews from this member

We visited this site as s last minute booking arriving about 4pm on Saturday evening. The welcome was not a friendly one or very informative.

Was not impressed with the showers which were dirty and the water flow was not great.

The area seemed very nice with the river but was spoilt by the railway line running very close by.

Would not visit again

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Booth343 2 reviews from this member

Excellant peaceful site, very well maintained with beautiful grounds. We loved the chickens and owners dogs wandering around but never a nuisance, and we enjoyed the fresh eggs available. Very clean and tidy site, in particular the toilets and showers. Short walk to nearest pub but dogs only allowed in the garden, the same with the next pub in Littleport which is ok when weather is warm enough to sit outside. We were in a motorhome so stayed on a gravel site just inside the entrance which we were quite happy with.

Date of Visit: December 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lori-angelbear 8 reviews from this member

We stayed here for a week over Christmas break. Lovely and peaceful. Only a few vans occupied on site. We had a warm welcome and help to pitch our van in a secluded spot with the chickens as our only neighbours.

It's only a few minutes walk to the pub on the river. And then down the road into the village. A few great little shops including a co-op.

The site itself is quiet, but the road can be a bit noisy with the lorries on it. As we found out it's a short cut to Newmarket. It didn't bother us too much, but if you were sitting out in the summer it might.

The toilets and showers were not ultra modern, but they are warm and clean. And that's what counts.

Only one thing that was missing for us was a dog walk on site. You have to go over the road and onto the river bank. A bit dodgy at night!

We would visit again though as the owners are lovely and the location is perfect, especially if you want to visit Ely. As we did a couple of times.

Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Landy-Trax 15 reviews from this member

Just got back from a lovely weekend staying at this site. The site itself is so quiet it's just wonderful! There are chickens roaming the site which were at times funny to watch. The toilets & showers whilst a little dated are spotlessly clean and there was an abundance of hot water for the showers.

We pitched up the first night and then took the 4 minute walk to the pub. We had to climb some steps and then walk along the river bank to the bridge with the river on our left and the road below us on the right which in daylight on the way there was lovely views and enjoyable but in the moonlight on the way back made for much hilarity! The pub was very cosy and reasonably priced food. Saturday was a trip into Ely which again is literally minutes away. All in all a very enjoyable weekend for a very reasonable nightly rate for such a well kept site. We would definitely go back x

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Purpledragonscout 1 review from this member

We stayed in this lovely site for 8 nights and had a thoroughly wonderful time! the site is very quiet and peaceful, kept very clean and tidy and well maintained. We camped between apple tress and the owners chickens wander around the site free range. We were very impressed at the friendliness of the owners and everyone we met on site, the facilities were good, hot showers, excellent washing up facilities, and wonderful use of an on site freezer to freeze our cooler blocks. I fell this site is ecellent and very good value for money, excellent inforamtion about things to do is available and excellent facilities nearby, the owners are always happy to answer any questions you may have and are very approachable. I must say that we would rate this site very highly, we are seasoned campers and would highly recommend this site and we would love to return again one day. Thank you for a wonderful camping experience.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Shingi 3 reviews from this member

We enjoyed a lovely four days at this little haven of a campsite. The owners are so friendly and pleasant and keep their campsite in immaculate order. It is very well placed for a walk into Littleport and also the station which takes you to Kings Lynn one way and Ely, Cambridge and even straight through to Kings Cross the other. The site itself is so peaceful and quiet thanks mainly to the fact that not only are children not allowed as guests but not EVEN as visitors. Also they do not tolerate campers letting their dogs bark which has been such a spoiler for us on many occasions at other sites. In short, we will return because this site offers us everything we want. Also, although we didn't make use of the shower/toilet facilities I did have a peek and they are as immaculate as everything else. The chickens are friendly and the owner's two dogs are well behaved and quite gorgeous. This is how a campsite should be for those who don't want to listen to children screaming or dogs yapping.

Well done.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Wendykinzel 4 reviews from this member

This site has proved to be our Shangri-la (little piece of paradise). Being adult only is a huge positive for us, the site is peaceful with spacious pitches.

Whilst there is a 'B' road just outside the site, I have not noticed the traffic noise, any noise we have heard is the singing from the birds.

The site is well laid out with lovely shrubs and trees, immaculate grass and beautiful tubs of flowers scattered around. The facility block is perfectly situated in the centre of the site, the showers are free with endless supply of hot water, no annoying timer buttons here to continuously keep depressing.

Vanessa and Steve the site owners are friendly and very helpful. Steve is certainly the go to person for people new to touring or even if you are having a bit of problem with your equipment. Steve will almost certainly know the answer and point you in the right direction. Thanks Steve for helping us with our water pump.

The site has some lovely chickens, they are free to roam around but do not bother anyone. They are not only a pleasure to watch, their eggs are the best we have ever tasted.

It is a short walk up the river bank to the local pub, The Swan, and a little further to the local shops and restaurants. The river bank path is kept well maintained by the site owners and if you are into fishing the swims are well maintained too.

Ely is a must visit, the Cathedral and grounds are very interesting. There are a couple of really nice pubs near the Marina and a fabulous little tea room. There is a great farmers market, I am not sure which Saturday's in the month it occurs, Vanessa informed us it was on and we went, we were not disappointed.

I wholly recommend this site, we are returning guests to this lovely site and will certainly come back again.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Candahar 1 review from this member

We arrived and found the grounds and pitches were great. Unfortunately, the noise from the adjacent road was affecting the peacefulness during day and night. The toilet and shower block was very dated with no heating, and due to the morning temperatures at the time, it was not a pleasant experience. The site has a good location, close to village amenities and railway station. Ely and St. Ives are a must to visit. This is a site we would not choose to return to due to the road noise and facilities.

Management response: The road noise reported by this reviewer was caused by repairs being carried out to a bridge close by. This meant that the road was closed, and all traffic was diverted to the road that runs past the campsite. The road is due to reopen by the end of May 2014

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Cazzap 1 review from this member

We love this site! It is really peaceful with spacious pitches, mostly on grass. The owners couldn't be more helpful and friendly.

There is a busy road next to the river just outside the site but even though roads mostly bother me, it doesn't here as it is drowned out by birdsong. You could always ask for a pitch at the back of the site.

There are lots of chickens, who are funny to watch and produce the most delicious eggs, available for 1 for half a dozen.

You can easily walk into the village, which is about half a mile away. Here you will find several supermarkets, two Indian restaurants and Chinese take always, as well as lots of other shops and a pub. The best pub is the swan just along the river, less than five minutes walk from the site and the food is reasonable. Unfortunately they have barred dogs from inside but you can sit on the decking with them.

I would wholly recommend this site, we have been for the two week Easter break for four years now and will be repeating it in years to come.

Previous     118 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cambridgeshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1247 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019