Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Abbey Wood Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > London > Abbey Wood > Abbey Wood Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Abbey Wood Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Federation Road
Abbey Wood
London   (Browse area)
SE2 0LS
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 185
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 69 Reviews
                9/10 from 69 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  69 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Wherenext 33 reviews from this member

 Brilliant site with excellent wardens. Wonderful to find a peaceful site in what, let's face it, is a run down suburb. We encountered no problems in walking around the area, to the station or Co-op, both of which are about 5 minutes from the secure gates of the site. Traffic noise is also a non issue, the owls make more noise. Facilities are what you would expect from a CC site. Plenty of hot water, clean showers, no litter, spacious pitches including ones for tents, laundry room etc. They also allow non members but it would cheaper to join than pay the non members fee. Trains to London leave very regularly. Daily off peak travel cards are best, £8 per adult allowing journeys in Zones 1-4 (site is 4). Site is very large and at the time of visit had acorns and conkers dropping all over the place so be careful where you pitch. At the time of visit charges for 2 adults worked out at less than £20 per night. Note that the site does slope so levellers required on most pitches 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Theloves 1 review from this member

 Stayed here for 3 nights and could not fault it at all - brilliant for getting into London. It has a very friendly feel and our neighbours were lovely. The toilets and showers were pristine, I don't know how the site managers do it, no litter, no mess and everything that we could possibly need. We saw the foxes who were just minding their own business and didn't bother us, the kids were spellbound. We will definitely be visiting again - perhaps for a bit of London shopping. We took the kids to the zoo which they loved and did all the other touristy things, houses of parliament, Trafalger square, Camden market. We took a previous reviewers advice and got off the train at Grenwich and then the river boat up to the London eye - it was brill and cheap - thank-you for that. Many thanks to the site managers and staff. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Daryllchaplin 2 reviews from this member

 Great site and a surprise to find it in such an residential area. Foxes are a little problem should you leave shoes outside.

Train station just over 5 mins walk. Co-op same 5 mins, take away also same.

Friendly staff and helpful.

This site also will allow tents.

We will return to this site again.

Only issue, when toilets in use some of the cisterns are slow in filling so you might not be surprised to see a Richard and Judy peeping at you. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rkelly 2 reviews from this member

 Hands down the best showers I have ever known on a campsite! I could have stayed in the shower all day. Plenty of toilets and showers, clean no matter what time of day you go in. I would rate the showers ten out of ten but there are no other facilities on site- if you are heading into London each day though, you won't need anything else! Site is just a short walk (less than 5minutes) to train station where trains run into London every few minutes so it is really easy to get to all the tourist attractions.

Site staff were friendly enough, and for extra cost you can have internet access too- very useful.

This is absolutely the cheapest way to visit a really expensive city! 


Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Hymer530 1 review from this member

 Great site for London, train is only minutes away, very clean and tidy toilets and very well kept grounds went to this site a few years ago just as good.

Highly recommend this site especially if you have older children with so much to do in London even teenagers can't get bored!

The train cost £23 each day for two adults and two children for travel cards so you need to factor that in with the cost of your holiday also bear in mind the cost of eating out each day 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: March 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Rickym34 28 reviews from this member

 This site is only 10 miles from our house, but we decided to stay here as the first trip of the year, to ensure that everything in the caravan was working prior to trips further afield. Plus we could also see the temporary wardens Sue and George who we had got to know when they were based at Daleacres.

This is a strange site as you seem to be driving into a housing estate but it is a lovely site once you are in - lots of trees and space, a real country feel to it. We saw lots of birds around, plus squirrels. There are also foxes, who apparently steal shoes from awnings so keep them in the caravan (we did not see any during our stay but they are a nightmare in our own garden).

We had a lovely stay, and took the opportunity to have a walk through Lesnes Abbey Wood and explore the ruins of Lesnes Abbey. Kids really enjoyed it and there is plenty of space to run around and play. Great fun, although it was rather chilly!

The train station for London trips is close, as is the local Co-op store, although we did not use either.

We shall come back again next year as it is perfect for what we needed it for. 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Apintofstones 6 reviews from this member

 Great site. Ideal for London with very clean facilities. Totally agree with the other reviews of this site.

Just adding a few of my observations.

I think you need earplugs at night if you are staying in a tent. The noise from the planes landing at City and Heathrow airports this quite loud but not deafening and the foxes at night and the crows in the morning can also keep you awake. Or instead of using ear plugs, the pub by the station is ok for a few drinks. It's not the Ritz but the beer is good and reasonable prices.

I didn't see any evidence of food being available but I could be wrong.

Also the Taj Mahal India restaurant across from the pub, is very nice, cheap and tasty.

Top marks for this site and one I would definitely revisit. 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Paul@Bank 134 reviews from this member

 Unexpectedly spacious site with very good sized pitches (hard standings and grass) located conveniently outside London at Abbey Wood. Very easy access direct from the M25 and Dartford Tunnel to this site.

The site is gated (lock down 10pm – 8am) with a 3m high electrified fencing and high level security cameras at every external junction of the fence offer an insight into deep routed ‘problems’ in this East End area of London!

The gated community does however provide an Oasis of tranquillity including resident Green Parakeets forming a habitat in the dense woodland and trees.

The train station is a 5 minutes’ walk from the site with frequent trains directly into central London.

A network of traffic free cycle route in theory exists. But having attempted these in the area the routes do not work. It is supposed to way-marked and be a mixture of routes taking cycle lanes and pathways. The way-marking stop in the middle of nowhere! The Thames River route (outside Central London) is a joke.

Boris maybe doing great things in Central London, but these guys outside are not having the benefits; and as campers we don’t either.

Great site, easy access into London – but boy it opens your eyes! 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: JMC123 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this campsite as we were visiting London for the 2012 Olympics. We are a family of 5 (2 adults and 3 children). We found the site really conveniently located for Olympic Park, and although it is a fair distance to central London it is very near a train station (Abbey Wood)from which a train will take you to Charing Cross or Cannon Street in very little time.

The surrounding area is not the most pleasant part of London, but the campsite is a complete contrast - very secure, leafy and peaceful. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Facilities are excellent - very clean, well maintained toilets and showers, and washing up rooms. There was also a laundry.

The tent field is very close to the toilet blocks, and you could pitch anywhere you liked. Lots of warnings about foxes which like to steal shoes, so keep your shoes in your tent!

This site is more expensive than some sites, but when you consider the cost of other accommodation in London it seems very reasonable! We stayed for 5 nights, for a total of £205. Taking into account that that was for 5 people, in London, during the Olympics, I would say it represents excellent value for money. We will definitely return. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: JacquiR 6 reviews from this member

 I stayed at this site with my sister as a base for visiting the Olympics. We chose it because we wanted good facilities and easy access in to central London and to the Olympic park, and we weren't at all disappointed.

The location is excellent. It is a ten minute walk to Abbey Wood train station, from where the trains to central London are frequent and take about half an hour. There are some shops near the station, and also a Coop on a street near the campsite. You can also get a bus to Greenwhich from just near to the campsite, which is lovely, and makes a nice change to central London. We would recommend the National Maritime Museum (free entry) for a day out.

The campsite is very peaceful, and you don't hear a lot of road noise, considering you are in the middle of London. There are lots of mature trees, which make it very attractive and fairly shady on a hot day. The security is very good. , There is a barrier up during the day and at night the gates are locked (there is a late night car park). On arrival you are given an entry code which means that you can open the barrier during the day. It also operates a small pedestrian gate, so you can come and go as you please in the evening/early morning. This was particularly useful for us as we were coming and going at odd hours from the Olympics. We felt very safe here. Walking back from the station in the evening also seemed very safe.

The tent pitches are in an area in the middle of the campsite, which is very convenient as they are centrally located for all three wash blocks. The field is not completely flat, so you do need to pick your spot. There are no marked pitches - you can pitch where you like in this area provided you keep a reasonable distance from the other tents. You can't drive on to the field, which helps to keep it feeling peaceful. There are car parks next to the tent field for you to leave your car in, and we really didn't find it inconvenient.

The wash blocks were excellent. There were plenty of toilets with toilet paper and soap by the sink, and they were always clean. The showers were very nice and also very clean - proper taps so that you could control the temperature and have the water on for as long as you wanted. There was a shelf in the shower to keep things on, a shower curtain so that your clothes didn't get wet, a little bench to sit on to get dressed, and plenty of hooks. There were also sinks in cubicles if you just wanted to have a wash.

There were laundry rooms and dishwashing rooms in each of the two main wash blocks. We used the dishwashing room (excellent), but not the laundry room. There is also a children's playground next to the tent field, which looked good. There are plenty of water points, waste water disposal and recylcing bins.

The wardens were great, from ringing up to make a booking to checking in and answering questions while we were there, they were always friendly and helpful.

There is an information room next to reception, which has various leaflets for local attractions as well as info about bus times and stops, supermarkets etc.

The reception doubles as a shop which sells a few basics (eg. Washing up liquid when you realise you've forgotten to pack it). I'm not sure whether or not they sold bread or milk.

One thing we really appreciated was that the wardens at reception would charge up your phone or camera for you if you went and asked. You just handed over you phone and charger and they attached a piece of paper with your name in and plugged it in behind the desk. There was no charge for this service. As tent campers, we thought it was brilliant.

The price was quite expensive (approx £30 a night for two adults and a tent). This is because of the non-member charge, and you can't become a member unless you have a caravan. However, we still felt that it represented good value for money for acommodation in such a great location with really excellent facilities.

We would definitely go back if we wanted another holiday in London. 


Previous     69 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Abbey Wood Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Abbey Wood Caravan And Motorhome Club Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Abbey Wood Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Abbey Wood      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in London

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 13/01 to 16/01
Largest selection of caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes in the North of England ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2962 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement