Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Crystal Palace Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > London > Crystal Palace > Crystal Palace Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Crystal Palace Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Crystal Palace Parade
Crystal Palace
London   (Browse area)
SE19 1UF
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 89
Open: 01/01 To 16/12

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 53 Reviews
                9/10 from 53 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  53 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Brightonpeter 1 review from this member

 Just got back from a tiring, but really enjoyable trip to London and stayed at this campsite for 3 days/2 nights. Had a welcome from the two wardens like a long-lost relative would give, gave every bit of info needed ie: tickets into town, supermarkets and any good takeaways.

We had 2 kids with us and when they saw our pitch, were over the moon, almost forest like only miles from the big city. Had a secure code on the entrance, the toilets and the showers, which gives piece of mind. The whole place was like it was going for a prize for Britain in bloom contest,

Please go and see for yourself.

Had to be off the pitch by 12.00 but was allowed to leave our car in the car park, whilst we got scared witless in the London Dungeons. Lol

We only live in Brighton, but for the use of leaving our car for three days more than pays for the camping fees.

I wish I can think of any bad points, really cannot understand people listing road noise as a negative, this is London, one of the busiest cities in the world.

It rained most of the time here, however do not give in as there are loads of stuff to do like the museums and they are free. (brill for kids)

Will be going again in a few weeks time! 


Date of Visit: December 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Mondial 9 reviews from this member

 This was the first time we have been to a Camping and Caravan site and was a bit worried having read reviews about rules etc.

No worries on arrival we were told our pitch number and given a site map plus toilet block key and barrier code.

All pitches hardstanding with EHU and plenty of room between vehicles.

Toilet block, superb plenty of hot water and showers great. Despite the site being full we never had to wait

This site is well placed for exploring London and we will use this site next time we are in the Capital. 


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sright 5 reviews from this member

 Possibly the tidiest place I've ever been! Spotless. Great showers and toilet block.

Mainly for caravans/motorhomes, the tent area is pretty small & close to the road, but it does have it's own toilet block and they were reseeding, so maybe it'll get bigger.

Caravan/motohome pitches looked good, quite close together. All seemed to have electric and good hard-standing, with strips of grass for pegging down awnings.

Fantastic welcome, very helpful & pleasant. Felt very secure.

Great place to explore London from, with bus routes close by. Not suitable for sitting and relaxing, the road noise was just too much for me, though you don't notice it during the day.

Crystal Palace park is 5 mins walk away with playgrounds, cafe, dinosaurs, lovely grounds, ports centre.

Small shop on-site, including ice-cream :-). Fish & chip van visits Thursdays in summer.

Garage 10 minutes walk away for basics, sandwiches, 15 mins walk to a 'high street' with pubs, small supermarkets etc. (you can cut a bit of time off by walking through the park, passing the replica of the crystal palace gate which brings you out at the bus terminus. )

Very expensive for non-members; £40 for two nights! Just me & a tent. Closed for tents October - March, which is a shame. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: VickyandBrian 7 reviews from this member

 Great site, and highly recommend it.

Cleanliness etc A1. Crystal palace park great for the kids (ages 6 and 8). Dinosaurs and maze fab. Wardens very knowledgeable and friendly.

Excellent little 'slips' with info on travelling to just about anywhere. Good bus access (who needs an expensive open top bus tour when the no 3 is cheap. And free for kids!)

Maybe it was because many of the fellow campers/caravanners were from Europe, or maybe the 'don't make eye contact on the Tube' mentality rubs off, but the only negative thing I can say is the site lacked the jovial friendliness of most other sites.

Kids played 'make the stranger smile' while on the site! Apart from the lovely wardens who more than made up for it, this was a hard task! 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Silvercamp pod 11 reviews from this member

 We camped here in a tent for 5 nights, with 3 children.

The site is in a very good location, though I do agree that especially for those in tents there is road noise. The tent area is quite small and close to the entrance.Cars are able to park next to the tents.

There are 4 unisex showers and toilets accessed by a key code. We did find this a bit of a pain with our children as they were unable to go to the toilet unattended and as each shower is self contained rather than in a 'block' there was less room for an adult to supervise.

If you are in a caravan or similar, you get key access to a different block of toilets and showers, which is better set out. There may be possibility to hire a key for this block, by the time I had thought of asking we were almost about to finish our trip.

The facilities were however, very clean. There is no play park, but our children were happy enough playing on the field and in the trees for the time we were on site.

The site is ideally situated for sightseeing in London, but there's a bit of a walk to get to supermarkets or to buy travelcards. The bus up to town is fine, although we discovered a more buggy friendly bus and route for the first part of the return journey.

The wardens were very helpful and knowledgeable and the site was to a high standard of design and cleanliness. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: November 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Fidibury 38 reviews from this member

 We spent 5 nights at this site in November. What a brilliant site. Facilities were as expected top class and wardens were very helpful and friendly. The pitches were of an adequate size and tv reception was good. Travelling into the centre of London was so easy either by bus - just along from site on main road which took you right to all the attractions, or by train from Crystal Palace Station - a short walk through the park. Daily travel tickets can be bought from either the newsagents near the bus stop or the train station. If you want to take advantage of the 2 for 1 offers you need to buy your tickets from the train station. Also don't forget to print off all your vouchers before you visit. You will save so much money. We also found it cheaper to buy individual day travel cards and not a 3 or a 6 day one and the station allowed us to buy all the separate days together so we didn't have to start the day at the train station. Transport in London is amazing. Train, bus or tube - it's all so easy!

This is a site that allows you to have a fantastic time in the Capital without breaking the bank. We will certainly be back. 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Tyreman1 10 reviews from this member

 What a superb site,apart from a bit of road noise you would never know you were in the middle of London,as with all cc sites its kept in spot on condition especially toilets/showers etc.

So easy to get to the centre if your going to see a show or just shopping,number 3 bus stops just up the road from the site and goes past all the sites such as Houses of Parliament, Downing Street etc. into Regent Street, couldn't ask for better.

There's loads of information on where to go and how to get there in the office and the staff deserve a medal for customer service and patience dealing with people. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: 57lisa 6 reviews from this member

 Stayed for 5 nights with children 8 and 4 years old. Weather during our stay – mixed – some fine days, some really heavy rain.

Like other reviewers have indicated, site is quiet, well landscaped and of the same general high standard as other Caravan Club sites. The site is on a decent slope and set out into large ‘cul de sac’ type terraced areas with gravel pitches - you’d need to make sure your booking information regarding the size of your outfit is correct as some pitches could be tight for larger vans / motorhomes. Although there is no play area, the site is right next to Crystal Palace Park itself.

We did see a few people turned away looking for tent pitches so you do need to book ahead. Also the tent area is quite small and I think they prefer to accommodate backpacker/small tents (Abbey Wood is larger and they were pointed to there or another site nearby)

Security is good at the site, with barrier entry and you need to use your key for the shower/toilet block, which was always immaculate. Throughout your stay, the squirrels will make numerous appearances and made a couple of foiled attempts at entering our bin but provided good acrobatics to watch on a nearby bird feeder!.

We didn’t notice much outside noise but like most visitors – we used the site as a base and were out most of the day and early evening. The transport links are good, with the bus stop only 5 minutes walk from the site entrance and the newsagents to buy the travelcard. There are also plenty of places to eat, a reasonable size supermarket and banks/cash machine just around the block from there.

Yes the Tube is quicker when caught from Brixton if you want to get into Central London early, but we used both, never found the bus too crowded and wouldn’t say it went through ‘dodgy areas’ as some have indicated.

Reception has very useful quick travel instructions to nearly every major attraction you want already printed to take away. Staff were very helpful and gave bus route maps, tube maps etc. We even booked an open top bus tour from the site itself.

Overall, this site is definitely on our list for a return visit soon! 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bramborne 2 reviews from this member

 This site is amazing. So handy for London - the very helpful warden gave us valuable advice on this on arrival with maps, directions, where to get tickets, good value local meals etc - and Crystal Palace itself is very interesting and handy for kids with indoor sporting facilities and a park, gardens and dinosaur statues to find.

We had very good weather which helped but such a well kept site, immaculate facilities, helpful and friendly wardens and the site's proximity to London made our stay exceptional - would highly recommend. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Rjcf 14 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely site - very peaceful and leafy considering what a busy area it is in. We didn't notice any particular noise. We couldn't use our booked pitch, as the previous occupant was still there, due to a medical emergency, but we were happy with our temporary one, opposite the toilet block. The staff are very helpful. We only stayed for one night, but would definitely use it again. 


Previous     53 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Crystal Palace Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Crystal Palace Caravan And Motorhome Club Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Crystal Palace Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Crystal Palace      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in London

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3935 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement