Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Nunnington Farm Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > South East England > West Sussex > West Wittering > Nunnington Farm Camping Site > Reviews

Nunnington Farm Camping Site
Rockwood Road
West Wittering
West Sussex   (Browse area)
PO20 8LZ
Tel: 01243 514013
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 125
Open: 01/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 131 Reviews
                9/10 from 131 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  131 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: MrBlue123 2 reviews from this member

 We've just returned from a 4 day break here. Lovely and clean, rubbish cleared daily. Toilet block clean with plenty of hot or cooling showers. Beach is only a 15 min walk and that too is pretty clean for the UK, and sandy too.

Only one warning, if you happen to go to the pub that's on a bend near the beach (can't remember the name) be warned - it's total rip off - I got stung 8:50 for 2 pints of lager - will return to the campsite, but will avoid the pub forever! 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: AliGreen 12 reviews from this member

 Everyone can have an off day I guess, but on the day we visited, the guy at reception couldn't have been nicer (we are a a family of 4) and gave us a lovely spot that had been reserved from the next day, but which he was happy for us to use as we were only there for one night. Atmosphere was relaxed and friendly all round the site and we did not feel that there were any more rules than elsewhere. Facilities were good and we had a lovely meal at The Beach House just a stone's throw away. Beach, as always, was superb (kids and dog equally happy !) and we would not hesitate to return. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: JasonAndclare 5 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for a busy weekend in August 2013. The owner was going to send us on to Scotts, but managed to fit us in the caravan area (we're in tents).

Facilities were clean and well maintained. Walk to the beach wasn't too far, though we drove to East Wittering on the second day.

We only really went there for the beach - I grew up in nearby Portsmouth so it was a regular childhood beach for me. If you're after more than the beach, there's plenty to do on this bit of the south coast. The shop had plenty of leaflets with suggestions. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jill987 7 reviews from this member

 Recently stayed here for a few nights and this is a very good site for the Witterings. Save your car parking money and walk the 20 mins to the beach which is beautiful. The site has a field to walk dogs and they provide bags although we did not use it as do not have a dog.

The toilet and showers facilities are fantastic, in fact some of the owners of other sites I have been to should visit and see the competition! The toilets and showers are very clean, spotless no spiders or cobwebs. You get a really good shower, nice and hot and it runs for about 5 mins before it stops - loads of time to wash your hair etc. I did not queue once.

The pitches can vary on size so can be a squeeze for the bigger tents. The tent field is not only for tents the owners allow motorhomes and even caravans onto the field and this does spoil it a bit.

There is no playground equipment for kids but there is an open a field for games of cricket, kite flying and football.

They provide an ice block freezing service for their own ice block for which you pay a 2 deposit but check your block are frozen as on 2 occasions we were given only partially frozen blocks.

There are shops 5 mins walk away for supplies and a great butchers who does lovely BBQ food.

Just be warned the owners are not that friendly, very short and sharp which is a shame because the site is good. They are really strict about how you pitch to ensure you maintain firebreaks (which is in our interest so I don't mind). Its just how they speak to you which a little unnecessary particularly the man he is very brusque. I would not go to reception for any advise or info (the owners house) they are not really interested. But don't let that put you off, this is a well positioned site with good facilities and the chap in the butchers is very friendly and a font of local knowledge - so go and enjoy! 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Imspringcleaning 1 review from this member

 Stayed here for 2 nights in 2013 and 2 nights in 2007.

Both times I was concerned about getting a pitch due to the 'no booking' rule, but shouldn't have worried, since we were able to pitch without issue, despite lovely weather.

Lots of kids who all played very nicely together with our 5 and 9 year old. A lovely safe feeling site.

A couple of different footpaths take you to the beach for variety.

We'll be back.  

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Minimoos 31 reviews from this member

 First the great bits; location fab for witterings beach - walking distance. Witterings beach is amazing and the area is beautiful. The small farm is nice for kids (but will only entertain for a few mins) and there is a fenced in dog walking area which the dog enjoyed. The pitches are well spaced and facilities clean and good. There is a nearby park for kids too but little ones need to be accompanied.

Sadly we will not be returning. On arrival we were told exactly where and how to park, complete with diagram with each car having to be between another pitch as a fire precaution. This meant we could not have our motorhome facing our friends tent which is useful with kids (usually have the tables etc in the middle). The rules we're read out and it felt like we were a real burden. The atmosphere is pretty sterile on site, one poor boy was cycling round the field bit after dark and the lady owner stomped past us and blew her whistle really hard at him until he scuttled off terrified - we were also quite scared!

Would rush back if a change of management occurred but not until that point unfortunately :( 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: JMaysie 2 reviews from this member

 We chose this site following a recommendation from a local. Going so late in the season, there was no problem getting a pitch on a Friday afternoon during school time - in fact we had the only two tents in the tent field for the whole weekend, along with about 6 caravans which had spilled over from the main field.

The wash/lavatory blocks were very clean. Only one of three blocks open at this time of year, but this was no problem. Showers were a perfect temperature; they turned off automatically, but gave ample time for full shower and hair wash. There was also a bath available for small children, which is a great idea. There were plenty of bins which were emptied regularly, and clearly-marked areas for drinking water and the disposal of waste. Bricks were provided for propping up disposable barbecues, which was a nice touch.

We could see the playing field would be popular in the summer, and our assorted children enjoyed running about there. We did note that there was a group of children there well after dusk, which is when notices said it should be empty, but this didn't bother us greatly. The small animal area was also much appreciated, and the children loved having the chance to help feed the animals.

Although quite brusque, the owners were easy to get hold of and good with the children. We did get the impression that our questions were received with a certain amount of boredom though - short monosyllabic answers - but other returning campers had nothing but good words to say, so maybe we just caught them on the wrong day.

We walked down to the beach, stopping at the Old House at Home pub on the way, which was great - nice big garden and kids' play area and good pub food. The beach itself was also lovely. The walk from site to beach was easily completed by our group of children aged from 4-8 so unless you have to, there is no reason to drive and pay the high parking fee.

Overall, the best recommendation is that of our first-time-camping companion, who has said her weekend was much better than she could have expected, and she will go again! 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Moranfamily 3 reviews from this member

 This review will echo most of the other reviews.

We have now used this site twice. Once last summer, with no issues and once again this summer. Very well placed, near shops & the beach (our main reason for staying there). We arrived during that REALLY hot week at the end of July and were able to get a pitch at 3pm, which surprised me, but I guess it is quite a big site.

The tent area is separate from the motor home area, but is further away from the toilet/shower block.

More than enough space given for our Renault Espace and 3 man tent. Clear guidance was given about parking, safety, etc, it is a very professional outfit. Felt like a safe place to be with our three kids (6, 4 and 1. 5 year old).

Am planning to go again next year. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: TheTs 10 reviews from this member

 A very well positioned site for West Wittering beach, which is beautifully kept and with excellent facilities. The owner is very friendly and helpful. It's effectively one big open site but the location and facilies make up for that.

A couple of very well stocked shops are within a short walk (just at the end of the drive) one of which freshly bakes it's own bread and croissants which were excellent.

There are also cafes/restaurants near the shops but we didn't try those.

Even the dedicated dog walking field was well kept, with nice short grass so we didn't get too wet when it had rained. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: CampingKales 3 reviews from this member

 This was our first ever family camping experience, and we chose Nunnington because:

1. It was close to home should it all go terribly wrong

2. It had good reviews

3. It had a late 'check out' time which, as novices, we thought we might need (we did!)

We arrived around 4:45pm on a blustery Friday night, and started with a heated debate about the best place to pitch. Having decided, we set about pitching. This campsite has strict rules about tent on the right, car on the left.

We have a Vermont XLP which is fairly wide and long. And it was quite tight to fit it on the pitch with the correct angle for the guy lines. Some of the rear guy lines did have to encroach into the fire break area, and the front of out tent was just 1m from the 'road' so we didn't have space for windbreaks, or to set the table out in front of the tent. Which was a shame but wasn't a huge problem for a weekend.

The site itself was very well presented. There's a caravan area which looked like it had a lot of seasonal pitches, and then a tent field, which was used by touring tents, caravans, campervans etc. There was a reasonable number of electric hook ups. Pitches well marked out.

The grass was well trimmed, there were lots of rubbish bins around that were emptied daily, loads of loos and showers which were kept very clean and had ample supplies of loo rolls. And we didn't have to queue at all! Showers were good and powerful with plenty of hot water, and were on a timer that was very generous, probably around 5 minutes. And the whole family found this was plenty of time to do what was needed!

The washing up area was the one place that did get busy at peak times. You had to time it right! It wasn't a big issue this weekend as I would guess the site was only around 60% capacity. But it may be an issue when the site is full.

There was a reasonably sized playing field area within the tent field which was great for playing frisbee, catch, football, flying a kite etc.

Just opposite the entrance to Nunnington was their animal/petting area, with a couple of horses, 2 donkeys, 2 pigs, 4 goats, and some others I forget. Which our girls loved. The owners have also installed a hand washing area there which was very handy! It was a shame it was outside of the main site as that meant I was not happy to let my 8 year old go there on her own, as it meant going off site and crossing a road (albeit a very quiet road).

Gates shut from 11pm to 7am to secure the site.

We found everyone on site to be very friendly.

No on-site shop, but a couple of convenience stores about 3 minutes walk away. The first one didn't open until 8:30am, but a few metres further on the smaller shop opens from 5:30am. So came to our rescue at 7am when I realised I'd forgotten to bring any butter! There was also a butcher in this small parade of shops, a restaurant and hairdresser. About 5 mins walk from the site is a pub, although we didn't try it out, and another cafe/deli that does posh sandwiches and nice coffee!

West Witterings Beach is about a 15-20 minute walk, and is well worth a trip - stunning beach, great sand dunes to play in, and an interesting salt marsh.

One thing we felt was missing on the site were recycling points. There were some recycling bins, but again, they were outside of the site, across a road, ie too far away to send the kids to! So, guilty as we felt, we didn't recycle, as we didn't want piles of cans / bottles / card hanging round the tent (naughty of us I know). So I would encourage the site to add some more recycling points around the site, perhaps near the washing up areas. (if there are more point than we say, sorry Nunnington but we didn't see them!)

All in all, a very good first camping experience on a very clean, well maintained site, in a good location. We would certainly come again! 


Previous     131 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Nunnington Farm Camping Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Nunnington Farm Camping Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Nunnington Farm Camping Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near West Wittering      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in West Sussex

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3063 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement