Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Sandringham Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Sandringham > Sandringham Camping And Caravanning Club Site Reviews

Sandringham Camping And Caravanning Club Site
The Sandringham Estate
Double Lodges
Sandringham
Norfolk   (Browse area)
PE35 6EA
Tel: 01485 542555
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 270
Open: 13/02/2021 to 04/01/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 161 Reviews
                9/10 from 161 Reviews

Photos (20)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  161 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Chivdog 2 reviews from this member

 This site is wonderful. The facilities are clean and generous. We'd booked a super (8m x 8m) grass pitch for the second May bank holiday and were given a choice of two spacious and private pitches amongst the trees. Upon arrival we were told the site was packed - I was expecting Glastonbury packed but was pleasantly surprised when the nearest pitch to ours was approx 10 m away. The wardens were for the most part friendly and did a good job. There was one warden who was pernickety, but I chose not to be wound up by his pointless requests (e. G. I along with about 15 others were waiting off the road, under a tree and away from nearby pitches for our fish and chips, he rode up to me and another chap and told us to stand next to the chip van on the other side of the road, I'm not sure why he singled me and the other fella out or why we couldn't wait under the tree. I did as I was told, but was slightly bemused). Otherwise, I highly recommend this site. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tomroguk 2 reviews from this member

 This is a beautiful site with amazing surroundings and the Sandringham Estate being only a short walk away. There are beaches only a short drive away and lots to do. Initially the allocation of pitches seemed a little hap hazard as it was the bank holiday weekend so it was very busy. Thankfully as we were a tent with no electric we were able to join our fellow campers. The facilities were well presented and overall facilities were in good condition. Its a large site and there is a mixture of hardstanding and grass only pitches. The only downside we found was the lack of phone signal of EE! We would definitely come back. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Colin21 12 reviews from this member

 We stayed on this site from 11th to 25th July, and it is now top of our list of favourites. Its a beautiful site set in magnificent woodland, which provided a lovely sheltered pitch for us to set up on. We loved the way the pitches are set among the trees at random, rather than set in rigid rows either side of a roadway. Further down the site there are pitches with fewer trees for those who prefer a sunny spot. The site is very dog-friendly, and there are loads of lovely walks on the Sandringham estate. I'm sure our little dog enjoyed it as much as we did!

The toilets and shower blocks are kept spotlessly clean and well maintained, the staff in reception were very friendly and helpful, and the site itself was beautiful. We will be back, I'm sure! 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jim1977 11 reviews from this member

 Our fifth visit to this site since 2011, our last visit having been in 2014. I wanted to update my previous review, as since our last visit the larger of the two playground areas has been enlarged with brand new equipment and flooring. All the site roads have also been resurfaced with gravel and new edgings, giving a nicer overall finish. The toilet blocks were as impeccable as ever. There are now 5 Cabanon ready-camp units in a clearing near the shop. There seemed to be far less pigeons around than on our previous visits.

All these improvements mean I'm upgrading my previous score to a solid 9. 


Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Trevor57 58 reviews from this member

 We chose this site mainly because we wanted to visit the Sandringham House and Estate. The House and Estate are about a 15-30 mins level walk away depending on your level of fitness.

You are allowed to chose your own pitch and these are quite varied so you should be able to get what you want. We chose a hardstanding pitch for the motorhome.

There are two ways to access the site which are straightforward as long as you follow the Club Directions and not your SatNav's.

The site itself is well laid out and spacious and has three Sanitary Blocks spaced out aross it so you are never to far away from one. However we would think though that at peak times especially in August the facilities provided would struggle and the site would feel more crowded. The Sanitary Blocks although adequate could do with updating.

Overall a nice site to which we would return. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Carlshirley 3 reviews from this member

 If Carlsberg did campsites.

This site is marvellous, well tended with embarrassingly clean facilities.

The site shop stocks those forgotten essentials and the staff are very friendly.

The pitches are well spaced and you can be in the open or amongst the trees.

There's even glamping!

If you were going to own your own campsite, it would pretty much look like this.

Nearby is Hunstanton to satisfy the kids and in the beautiful villages close by you will find great pubs and magnificent food.

Cromer is a short drive across country for that 'pier' experience, then come back along the coast, calling in at all the small villages. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: LBBK 46 reviews from this member

 We visited in the school summer holidays and also discovered that our visit included the Sandringham Flower Show which is a big event in its own right. The site was therefore very busy but the layout spreads people out nicely amongst the trees and between 3 toilet blocks. There is a good little site shop for bread, milk, papers to order etc but plenty of supermarkets in Kings Lynn and Hunstanton. Staff were cheerful and helpful. Wifi worked well on our pitch. EE mobile signal very weak. The fish and chip van (Tues, Thurs & Sat in the week we visited) was very popular!

The toilet blocks were clean and the ladies certainly always contained fresh flowers. Apparently the gents had one shower out of order which meant queues at busy times. There is a small play area and good fun to be had collecting buckets of pine cones for the site staff in return for a reward of a small chocolate bar.

The trees offer plenty of shelter but also provide home to hundreds of wood pigeons - you have been warned.

You can walk around the estate on miles of footpaths and visit the cafe/gift shop/church for free. You pay for the house and formal gardens - we didn't bother so can't comment on those.

One local quirky attraction is climbing the wind turbine at Swaffham - great fun and very interesting, apparently the only one in the world with a visitor viewing platform - but check details beforehand as age/height/health restrictions apply. For a less energetic option try the Norfolk Lavender fields on the main road to Hunstanton or the boat trips to see the seals from Morston harbour. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jyn62 3 reviews from this member

 Lovely site. The showers need up dating, especially compared to West Runton. One problem we found, they ask you to mop out shower, fine, but the water in the bucket was filthy, so when you mopped there was hair and dirty water left in the shower tray, had to go back in and turn shower on to wash the tray out but then left dirty feet marks in the dressing bit and the scraper didn't work very well at all because of the surface

The approach road from the A148 is terrible, there are signs warning you, we came up there slowly but when we opened the caravan door we were met with broken plates, dishes, mugs and glasses scattered across the floor, we haven't had this problem before so don't think it was down to our packing. However, we will return as the site itself is very nice but won't take the dogs because of the seasonal canine illness has been known here quite seriously.

Being local didn't bother doing much as we could do it in a day from home and just wanted to chill. The layout of the site is nice as you can have sun, shade or completely wooded and it's nice to have the choice of where you pitch, as opposed to being told which pitch you are on. The wardens were helpful and efficient. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Dubdogs 147 reviews from this member

 Stayed for three nights whilst touring the area. We choose the site as we were in some what of a 'heatwave' and wanted to get some shade. The pitches are set amongst the trees which gave us that.

The site is quite large and has a decent shop for the basics and camping equipment spares. A fish and chip van also visits the site, so that was a nice easy tea sorted!

The estate is very pleasant and had some nice walks in the woods and of course the option to visit house and surrounding grounds.

The facilities were fine, as it's C&CC though, perhaps they could do with an upgrade as you do expect a little better.

I'd happily use the site if we were in the area again. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: AntKaye 2 reviews from this member

 We'd been looking forward to our visit to Sandringham CCC site for a while. What a disappointment then to actually arrive and stay. The site should be fantastic, it has trees around and a mixture of had standings and grass pitches. What lets it down: it feels overcrowded, an example of greed on behalf of the club in cramming in too many pitches. Putting aside the price (a lot) it just doesn't measure up to what one expects. The facilities are insufficient and are well overdue for a refurbishment. It reminds me of camping in the 70's. Additionally although there are notices in the facilities saying they are inspected several times a day it's obvious that doesn't mean cleaning. A site of this size should have a team of cleaners in all day attendance, rotating between the 3 blocks, given the amount of pitches and how busy the site is. Why also do the CCC persist with the mop and bucket of filthy water. It encourages only some campers to think they are cleaning up after themselves. All it does is spread water around to be further trodden on by grubby footwear. I'm sure such a mop harbours a mountain of bacteria. Maybe the board should visit a few French sites to see how it's done.

The entrance seems to house a caravan storage area where vans are left in what seems a random manner. A right eyesore. Additionally some vans awaiting movement presumably to the storage area remain on pitches awaiting transfer. For info they are left with steadies up. (Thought that may have a little potential for danger myself but I won't start on a h&s soapbox).

It seems such a pity commercial greed has spoilt such a site. We won't be back and this has probably tipped me over into not renewing my CCC membership when due. 


Previous     161 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Sandringham Camping And Caravanning Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Sandringham Camping And Caravanning Club Site?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Sandringham Camping And Caravanning Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Sandringham      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Norfolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest W Midlands and Wales 03/07 to 04/07
Exciting family entertainment with weekend camping ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4559 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement