Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Reraig Caravan And Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Isle Of Skye > Kyle Of Lochalsh > Reraig Caravan And Camping Site Reviews

Reraig Caravan And Camping Site
Balmacara
Kyle Of Lochalsh
Isle Of Skye   (Browse area)
IV40 8DH
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 35
Open: 01/05/2022 to 30/09/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 48 Reviews
                9/10 from 48 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (14)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  48 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Magsie 51 reviews from this member

 A very tidy little campsite behind the Balmacara Hotel, about 3 miles from Kyle of Lochalsh and the bridge to the Isle of Skye.

The hotel has a public bar and restaurant, with a small shop/post office next to it. You can take several footpaths for walks in the area, or a cycle path to ride into Kyle.

The facilities are all very clean, with coin-op showers. There is a laundry sink, spin drier and clothes lines. A map shows the launderette in Kyle, along with other services there, and there is plenty of tourist information.

The resident warden is extremely friendly and helpful, knowing the area well.

No internet on the site, though you can get free WiFi in the hotel bar. 


Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Landcaper 13 reviews from this member

 We stopped at this site on the way over to Skye. This site is beautifully kept. Good hardstandings pitches and the facilities are immaculate. Hotel next door doesn't look very inviting but it does good meals.

The owner of this site works really hard. Everything is clearly marked. Will definitely be back it is almost £10 cheaper a night that the Club sites. Good walks up the back of the site with fabulous views over to Skye. We will be back. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Shizzle 3 reviews from this member

 Lovely well kept site. Toilet facilities excellent and spotless. Wee shop just a few minutes walk from site and hotel right next door, although public bar closed and all beer taps off when we were there! Good hard standing pitches and hook ups. Warden very friendly, we would recommend the site and will be back! 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Jdmarc 11 reviews from this member

 Very friendly, clean, well organised site. 10p coins for shower - 2 coins more than adequate and hot strong shower.

Second visit and will return. Good stop off for points north and west but also decent walks and lovely scenery in Balmacara area. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Nikko136 52 reviews from this member

 A moderately-sized campsite with dedicated pitches for the various types of vehicle - this seems to be based on typical size and access needs. Hard standings are just about wide enough to access both sides of the vehicle without walking on the grass (itís Scotland, so maybe wet!).

The facilities block is very well-equipped with decorative surrounds but sadly there are no mud-mats at the doors so dirt from the outside gets walked into the washrooms and showers, despite the wardenís attempts to keep the area spotless. The metered showers themselves are a bit cramped by the curtains which as usual are pulled in by the shower spray. Although others commented on midges we didnít experience any problems here, certainly nothing like the plague in Luss!

There are good walks from the site and the Skye bridge is only a few miles away. Lots of other places worth visiting in the area, and information on these is available in an on-site hut. A well-stocked convenience shop with post office is just round the corner from the site.

Overall a very pleasant site. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Backcare 4 reviews from this member

 We stopped once again on this site; last year 3 nights and this year 1 night as we were on journey to Harris. Site is clean, tidy and good facilities. Donít need to book but if you have travelled from afar, I would not like to be in a position where I could not pitch. I think you should be able to book; best laid plans, mice and men! In high season?? 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Walters-world 13 reviews from this member

 Nice well kept campsite, with clean facilities. Not our normal choice of campsite as we prefer the smaller Camping and Caravanning Club Certified sites but this was good for a one night stay.

Unfortunately the sheltered nature of the site meant the midges were present and we couldn't sit out and enjoy the surroundings.

The site warden was very chatty and friendly and full of information.

Although it says on here they don't accept tents, they do allow smaller tents.

There is a good sized Co-op at Kyle and we went to Hector's Bothy in the evening which was a nice restaurant with an extensive menu at reasonable prices. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sandyp50 5 reviews from this member

 This site is the perfect base for touring Skye and Wester Ross.

The site itself is immaculate and well laid out with lots of helpful information and a credit to the wardens.

Phone signal in the site is nearly non existent which was really annoying however if you stood in the layby opposite the hotel we did get full EE 3g.

We also didn't get any freeview with our equipment on the site. (maybe a bigger ariel needed)

The Wifi on site didn't seem to reach our pitch at the hotel end of the site and when we asked the warden he didn't seem bothered and explained it was run by a 3rd party and we should contact them if there was an issue.

Another niggle is that the showers need 10p's although 20p was adequate it still required 4 10p's everyday for the 2 of us.

All in all we will be back but 2 nights stay would be the max for us but this our personal feeling and not a negative review of the site 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lochnessmonster 14 reviews from this member

 Just spent 3 nights at this lovely and well maintained site. Toilets, showers etc. Kept immaculate. Friendly and helpful owner. A few informative notices, especially helpful to foreign tourists. Site is well positioned for visiting Skye. Plockton is nearby and worth a visit. Don't miss the 'Hairy Coos' in nearby Durinish! There is a well stocked Spar shop beside the site and a decent Co-op at nearby Kyle of Lochalsh. Only downside can be the midges!. So don't forget some repellant! 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Crazyglengirl 3 reviews from this member

 One of my favourite sites. We found it by accident and hadn't booked anywhere for that night as we were on our way to Skye. The owner is so welcoming and helpful. Pitches are level and a good size with EHU. It's a small site which is well maintained. The toilets are clean with lovely hot water and the same with the dishwashing area. We left a chopping board there inadvertently and when we returned two days later it was still there!

There is a Spar round the corner which is well stocked.

There are so many birds on the site and some I had never seen before. Amazing dawn chorus.

Kyle of Lochalsh is a few miles away with a large Co-op and the little shop by the jetty sells large seafood bap rolls for £3. 00 and fresh fish which we purchased for our dinner the next day. There is a good butcher in the town.

A lovely site and I was reluctant to leave. 


Previous     48 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Reraig Caravan And Camping Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Reraig Caravan And Camping Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Reraig Caravan And Camping Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Kyle Of Lochalsh      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Isle Of Skye

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2676 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement