Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Sykeside Camping Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

Sykeside Camping Park
Brotherswater
Patterdale (lake District)
Penrith
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA11 0NZ
Tel: 01768 482239
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 111
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 132 Reviews
                8/10 from 132 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (20)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 5 miles   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 10 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  132 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: NickandEmma14 1 review from this member

We're planning a visit in early July, having visited multiple times over the last few years. I first visited as a child with my family in 1999 and carried on going back as a place of excellent memories.

The site is in what I would consider to be one of the best locations on the Lake District for relaxation. Driving over the Kirkstone Pass to reach Sykeside is just the start, the views of the site from the top are spectacular.

The site itself is very clean, and the area around untouched, which makes for excellent walking, especially up to Hartsop Dodd. Good shower and washing facilities, excellent spacing for pitches, food in both the Barn End Bar and Brotherswater Inn is of a very good standard and the staff are very welcoming.

Always excited to return to Sykeside and no doubt our visit soon will be just as good!

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Danielwatson25 1 review from this member

Love this site - been a few times now at different times of year- most recently in June 2015. Stayed with a group of 4 tents and there was plenty of space even though the sites was full by saturday afternoon. Location beautiful and quite chilled out attitude to running it - no heavy handed wardens and sensible late arrival and lights out times. Showers hot, toilets clean, views amazing. Pub quiz is good too :-) Have stayed in the bunkhouse on a previous occasion too - much better in the winter. Windermere only over the top of kirkstone pass and beautiful ullswater the other way

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Whitey50 3 reviews from this member

Just returned from three nights at Sykeside. Hurricane winds, torrential rain and Arctic temperatures. Loved every minute! A site with views to destress anyone. The site was swamped in places because of the rain but plenty of room due to the lack of adventurous campers! Friendly staff on site, shop and pub. Clean toilets and hot showers. Outwell Bear Lake 4 poly cotton tested to its limits and never faultered. Marvelous! The pub food looked lovely and the service was excellent. Lots of walks from the site in an area of rugged beauty. I have stayed many times before and will definitely be returning.

Date of Visit: March 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Markrollings 5 reviews from this member

We stayed on the Caravan Club CL site. The Caravan Club explicitly says that CL sites are small five-pitch sites exclusively for members. So I was rather disappointed to find the five-pitch CL to be just an annex of a bigger site owned run by the same pub and sharing its facilities.

That said, we were warmly welcomed and as we were there two hours before the official check-in time offered space in the pub car park so we could go off for a walk. The pitches enjoy stunning views of the surrounding valley and are quite sheltered. The facilities are reasonable. The showers are hot and powerful but have no curtain or shelf for your toiletries. We went for a drink at the pub and were shocked they charged pub customers £1 per hour for wi-fi - I've never been asked to pay for wi-fi when spending my cash in a pub before. The pub was crowded (and this is off peak) and there was a terrible smell which seemed to be a combination of fried food and walkers' shoes and I couldn't wait to get back out into the fresh air. Some other reviewers have described the service in the pub and campsite to be unfriendly, but I didn't find this to be the case. My last complaint is that you can only get the advertised price by booking by phone; if you book online there's a £2 surcharge to pay for their computer server(!?!). The location of the site is enough that I'd forgive any other small faults and I wouldn't hesitate to return.

Date of Visit: February 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Spiritburner 17 reviews from this member

Excellent winter camp-site for walkers & backpackers. Usually quite in winter & the site can be boggy so most folk pitch at the south end of the site or on some terraced picthes on a slope behind the house. Hardstanding for a few vans.

Great pub & they will do excellent breakfast for non-residents. Pub grub isn't too shabby either. Has good toilet & shower block & a laundry room as well as bunkhouse. Shop closed in winter.

Date of Visit: December 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: WildBlueYonder 8 reviews from this member

As regular visitors to the area we had tried unsuccessfully on a number of occasions to get a pitch at The Brotherswater CL. This time, a week at the start of December, we were alone except for a few diehard campervanners, a smattering of bunkhouse occupants and even one camper! The good news going forward is that there will be some extra spaces for caravans beyond the 5 allowed courtesy of the Caravan Club Certified Location. Our pitch was level hard standing with 16A hook up, water and waste disposal by the shower block about 30m away. Blisteringly hot showers were tempered for a few days when the heating failed in the block but it got fixed and were always cleaned to a high standard.

The site is attached to The Brotherswater pub (plus B & B) which we have visited before. Always a warm welcome, a furnace of a stove which was quickly commandeered by our two Irish Red and White Setters and Choccie Labrador, who were equally welcomed. A good solid menu (and artfully presented) fit for restoring tired legs is supplemented by a couple of daily specials along with a range of well kept hand-pulled beers and an even larger range of whiskeys on the top shelf!

You could easily fill a week with walks from the door without resorting to a car, including options at low or intermediate level in case the weather closes in. No phone coverage but WiFi available for a pound to cover the cost if getting a signal up to the place. All told, a fantastic location, great welcome, good facilities.

Date of Visit: November 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Weaversbrook 7 reviews from this member

Booked this caravan club C/L site as it was central for a meet up with friends coming from the north and south. A very basic site with everything you would need it would be ideal for a walking base, I feel it is very overpriced especially for November. The ground was very wet as would be expected for the time of year the hard standing was adequate (Just could do with pitches being a wee bit bigger) what disappointed us about the site was the way other campers treated the toilet block I know we get muddy boots but there is no reason to use the showers to clean them is there. Very small for the size of the overall site and can only imagine the queues in summer. Also the pub up the hill very nice food at keen prices but the staff what a miserable lot they were couldn't muster a smile between them so much so that we headed away to Patterdale on the second night for a meal. I personally would not stay at the site again but I do understand how others on a walking holiday would love it.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Smithy2404 2 reviews from this member

Just returned from Sykeside after the bank holiday weekend. It is our favorite campsite in the Lake District and we stay about 4 times a year. We often ask our kids if they would like to try somewhere different but they always beg us to come back!

The site feels very safe for the kids, they love riding around on their bikes and trying to bankrupt us in the shop. There is only 1 camping field so I don't have to worry about them getting lost on their way back form the loos. Brotherswater is about a 10 minute walk away and we have spent many afternoons having picnics and feeding the ducks. The dog enjoys a good swim in there too (bit chilly for me though!).

The facilities are always very clean and the showers lovely and warm. The pot wash is indoors which is fantastic as the weather is not always sunny in the Lake District so it is nice to stay dry whilst doing the dishes.

The Barn End pub on the campsite does a quiz on Saturdays, we have never won yet but what we lack in general knowledge we make up for in enthusiasm! The food is great, nice hearty grub ideal after a big walk up one of the many hills.

We have our favorite spots on the side of the campsite near the wall but the views are amazing from everywhere. There are no marked pitches to ruin the look of the site, it's great being able to choose where to pitch when you arrive.

We can't recommended this site highly enough, hopefully we can squeeze in one more trip before the end of the year.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Hairy_lairy 1 review from this member

A lovely site, well situated. However our stay was spoiled by the lack of hot water in the showers. I don't think it is good enough to be told they should be okay when not so busy. It's truly a horrible thing to have a cold shower after a long hike. If you're staying there for the walking, as many are, then either you need the hot water first thing for a shower or on your return, or both. Considering it is not a cheap site the facilities should I think be sufficient for the number of people staying, otherwise they should not have so many people booked in. I wouldn't return to the site unless they can update the hot water situation to cope with the numbers.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Pickworth 2 reviews from this member

I stayed here with my partner over the bank holiday weekend. As you can imagine it was very busy. Itís also expensive; if you check on their website they charge individually for absolutely everything.

The downside of this site is that none of the camping pitches are marked; itís just a field and a free for all, so if you arrive late you have to fit around where ever everyone else has pitched. It was very noisy all weekend, with people up late chatting, dogs barking in the night and then kids up early running around. Also, I never managed a hot shower. There is a note in the toilets about the water supply and Ďletting it heat upí but after a long day out walking thatís not acceptable and given the prices they are charging itís just not on.

The pub is a plus as the place isnít really walkable to anywhere at night but I found the staff pretty miserable and not welcoming. The food is average at best. Thereís better food in Ambleside if youíre happy to drive.

Up side, the place is in an excellent location for walking and it has a pub on site (thereís a separate bar for the site too, although I never got around to going here). It is in a good location by the water but itís also quite low lying so the ground was soggy & muddy all weekend.

I canít recommend this place and I canít imagine any circumstances where Iíd stay here again.

Previous     132 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2896 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019