Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Baysbrown Farm Campsite Chapel Stile

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Ambleside > Baysbrown Farm Campsite Chapel Stile Reviews

Baysbrown Farm Campsite Chapel Stile
Chapel Stile
Great Langdale
Ambleside
Cumbria   (Browse area)
LA22 9JR
Tel: 01539 437150
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Pitches: 100
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           01/03/2022 to 31/10/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 111 Reviews
                9/10 from 111 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  111 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Peter in Blackpool 13 reviews from this member

 Just spent a lovely four nights at BAYSBROWN FARM campsite. Fantastic location and beautiful views, but can get a bit windy. We were lucky with the weather and had a couple of really hot sunny days. Stayed in the top field as one couple in our party had a five year old and it is the nearest to the toilet and shower block. As for the showers and toilets, spotless and free to use, plenty of hot water, but do get in early, I had to queue one morning for the showers, Top field cab be a bit slopey and bumpy, lower fields are flat.

Cost wise, very good value, 5:00 per adult per night and 2:50 for the car, Children are 3:00 per night. Plenty of space on this site despite it being a bank holiday, and the noise stops ant ten thirty at night so a good nights sleep.

Word of warning. Brambles Cafe above the Co oP in the village certainly know how to charge. 3:20 for a slice of stale chocolate cake. !Co oP itself was reasonable and sold everything you could possibly need.

All in all a very nice site and I will most definitely be visiting again. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lauren and andrew 1 review from this member

 This is a great campsite and shower block and toilet are very clean. The people who own it are very helpful. The only thing was the weather as it rain the fulltime we were their. But the owners let us use the barn to sort out our things. Great site and very cheap and it is on a bus route. We will come again thank you 


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Monsterlfc 1 review from this member

 Just returned from 2 nights at Baysbrown Campsite. Excellent site. 25 total for our 2 nights for 2 adults and the car. We stayed at the top field near the facilities. Very clean.

Nice hot showers but they could do with staying on for longer before they turn themselves off.

Was told fires allowed in fire pits aslong as they are out by 11pm.

Excellent views and walks from the campsite. Local shop and pub within 10 minute walk from top field of campsite.

Will be returning in the summer. 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: FB99 10 reviews from this member

 Excellent site. Great location - although we have stayed a number of times before it is still amazing to wake up Saturday morning surrounded by mountains after arriving in the dark the night before.

A decent walk to the facilities if you choose to camp in one of the further away fields but there is plenty of space near to the facilities for those that don't want the walk.

No noise from other campers after 10pm on either of the nights we were there.

Facilities clean and plentiful, including recycling. 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Coastwalker 46 reviews from this member

 I returned to this site and wasn't disappointed. I set up in one of the top fields nearer the farmhouse this time- still no water supply in the bottom fields. The shower block has had a coat of paint and is all you should expect, unless you are a short person- the sinks are way too high for some, and using the 'children's' sink could be a bit demeaning. A good washing up room and waste disposal easy. The site is remarkably free of biting insects when you consider that it is surrounded by damp rough ground. The only downside was some other campers- arrive after 11pm, fair enough, but hammering tent pegs in on a still night when your tent is in no danger of being blown about is a bit simple and selfish.

The area remains stunning (and climbing Crinkle Crags from the top of Wrynose is a lot easier than from the valley). 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Alicemaylara 7 reviews from this member

 Hard to beat the location of Baysbrown. It's further down the quiet valley than that of the National Trust site which is no doubt a lot busier and a lot more expensive.

The views from the fields (no pitches) are amazing. You are surrounded by steep valley cliffs and of course the Langdale Pikes. Pub and shop just down the road. The site is set back from the 'road' (quiet!). It is by a stream. It is simply stunning.

I paid 5 for myself per night and 5 set price for the car. I was able to pitch where I wanted. They don't take bookings but I went on a sunny bank holiday and there was room so it's plenty big enough for all those lucky enough to visit. Fantastic for children and dogs! And adults-well the walks from the tent are hard to beat. Old Dungeon Ghyll being the obvious but you are also close to Ambleside (6miles) which is a lovely town to base walks, stock up and enjoy Lakeland atmosphere.

Toilets and showers clean and adequate. I like basic sites / getting back to nature so this is perfect. Very quiet at night - people respect the 10. 30pm quiet time.

I urge you to stay here if you want to stay in this beautiful area at a good price, with beautiful views, decent facilities (you can charge your phones too) and want to escape the crowds of the major towns 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dolly Dealer 3 reviews from this member

 This was our second visit to this site and it really doesn't disappoint. It is rustic and basic but with a lovely chilled out atmosphere that is lacking on some more regimented sites. The farmer turns a blind eye to campfires - providing you have them raised off the grass and put out at a reasonable hour. The only slight criticism would be a lack of hot water this year (perhaps since the solar panels have been installed) at various points throughout the days. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Walkers41 10 reviews from this member

 We found this site on the UK Campsite which warned that access was tight. It was right! Our Transit campervan managed to get there but I wouldn't try it in anything bigger. It was worth it though. A lovely site with fantastic views. We arrived on a Tuesday evening and there were quite a few tents there but plenty of room for more.

The toilets and showers were fine. Basic but hot showers, plenty of toilets and good inside washing up facilities.

There were a couple of maps available for walks. We did a short one which was good. The village and pubs are only a short walk away. Many campers were obviously serious walkers. I am sure it could get quite busy at weekends. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: JN71 2 reviews from this member

 Husband and I stayed here mid June and were so pleased we had picked this site out of a random search of the Lake District. Second camping outing for us and the dog and we were really impressed. Loads of space to pitch up your tent, no queues for the showers in the morning and facilities are really well thought out with additional toilets blocks for both men & women and plenty of sinks for doing your washing up. Yes it is about a 5 minute walk up to the showers etc if you pitch up in the lower fields but at least you have more space to yourselves as the top fields always seemed quite busy. Plus it was a good excuse to walk the dog! We arrived mid week when there were probably 20 tents in total on the site, however come the weekend the site was manic and my husband thought we'd arrived at Glastonbury what with the big groups of friends all pitching up next to each other and music playing. Having said that I think we just happened to catch a weekend when there were a few birthday celebrations going on and as we were out all day this did not affect us. Also any music and noise did stop around the 10. 30pm curfew which is great. Having spoken to a few fellow campers Friday and Saturday nights are notoriously busy (especially in the summer) but as they promised, come Sunday night 99% of the people had gone again. As other reviewers have said it's a perfect location for exploring the Lake District, local coop great for essentials and Wainwrights Inn only a short walk away doing standard pub grub. If you like a nice cup of coffee you must check out Chesters by the River in nearby Skelwith Bridge. Great service, dog friendly, wonderful looking cakes and pastries and a fab little takeaway service doing sandwiches/sausages rolls - perfect if you're out and about all day. All in all we were extremely impressed with the site, the location and more importantly the weather as it was glorious for the 6 days we were there. Will definitely be back again! 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Campy C 5 reviews from this member

 First time I visited Baysbraw campsite and wow what a view, I found the site well kept, tidy and clean. The toilet blocks are well maintained and cleaned on a regular basis and the showers are nice and hot. The facilities are basic but very adequate for a our stay but don`t expect a clubhouse or any other facilities because this site is geared up for traditional campers. We saw a lot of walkers using this site and it is perfect for them-the furthest I walked was to the Wainwright pub and the Dungeon Ghyll pub:). I would certainly go back just for the scenery. Good site. 


Previous     111 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Baysbrown Farm Campsite Chapel Stile child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Baysbrown Farm Campsite Chapel Stile?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Baysbrown Farm Campsite Chapel Stile dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ambleside      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 13/01 to 16/01
Largest selection of caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes in the North of England ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3330 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement