Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Greenhills Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Bakewell > Greenhills Holiday Park Reviews

Greenhills Holiday Park
Crow Hill Lane
Ashford In The Water
Bakewell
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE45 1PX
Tel: 01629 813467
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 170
Open: February To November

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 260 Reviews
                8/10 from 260 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (16)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   Tennis 1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  260 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Walkhappy 1 review from this member

This is a great little site centrally situated in the Peak District within walking distance of Bakewell and Ashford. The walking and cycling to be had from this location is superb. Watch out, however, if you are arriving with a caravan that has a relatively low tow-bar: the speed bumps on the approach road are ferociously high and sport many scrape marks. I would strongly suggest to the owners that they cut out the central section of these bumps to provide safe passage for tow bars.

I heavily weight campsite ratings on the quality of the showers - these were excellent and very clean as were the rest of the washing facilities. The site has little playground and a small shop covering essentials. It also boasts a bar, but this was closed for winter a few days before my visit (26 - 28th Oct) which seemed a bit premature to me.

Wifi access is offered at a reasonable rate through Oobi networks. This worked fine on the day that I paid the £4 fee online but despite getting a connection to Oobi I was unable to get internet access the next day - nor any message telling me why. Checking out the Oobi site at home I was able to log in but unable to manage my account as it promised, bring up any menus or even find any keywords that generated a FAQ - so in my opinion this team seem pretty flaky. Many campsites these days offer wifi but the quality of the online experience is frequently frustratingly poor for one reason or another. Maybe site managers are being sold network solutions that are rubbish? I would like to see/hear the opinions of some IT experts on this.

Caravanning is not really about the wifi though, and this is such a convenient site for us (living in Sheffield) that we a certain to visit again and we look forward to it.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Bridget17 13 reviews from this member

Fab site in picturesque countryside. Lovely friendly staff who were very helpful. Although there is a shop and bar on site, it wasn't open while we stayed. Dog friendly with a field at the front of the site, where dogs can have a run off the lead. A twenty minute stroll takes you into Bakewell and in the other direction a ten minute stroll to Ashford in the water. Great playground for those with children, in a safe environment. Toilet/shower facilities were excellent and kept very clean. We had a relaxing 4day break and will definitely return.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Anna houson 1 review from this member

Been here for the last 5years and never had a complaint yet. The shower blocks and everything else on site are kept clean and tidy at all times. Handy little shop and pub on site is good to have, as well as play areas for children. The management and staff are brilliant very helpful and very friendly they cannot do enough for you nothing is too much trouble. Definately return.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Acko1234 2 reviews from this member

We have stayed at this campsite for a number of years in a big group, celebrating birthdays of our children. The welcome was much the same as last year, could have been more welcoming! We were quite shocked with the new rule that gazebos are not allowed. Would have been nice to have been told this prior to us camping, especially as we booked in a group. The age of people in our group ranged from 3 to 70.

We had just finished cooking the birthday BBQ meal when the rain came. We explained the situation to reception and asked if we could please put the gazebo up, as we could not all fit in one tent. We were told no.

It was a great shame that due to this rule we could not enjoy the usual camping trip. Last year it was torrential rain however the event shelter meant we could still enjoy our group camp.

As a family who enjoy weekends and weeks under the canvas and as a family who don't want rain to spoil our family camping fun, we ensured we had a good time but it's quite hard when your group are needing to sit in separate tents.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sue6 29 reviews from this member

Good Location, the welcome could have been more friendly.

The touring caravan park is a little cramped. However the on site bar was good and reasonably priced. The on site shop is handy. The facilities are good and clean. You can walk into Bakewell or Ashford on the Water, which had the nicest pub.

We enjoyed the many walks around the area. Dog friendly and a good dog walking area. Plenty of rabbits around they entertained the children and dogs.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Peepdip 13 reviews from this member

This is our second visit to Greenhills, our first was in a very cold and snowy Easter 2012 so it was nice to wake up to bright sunshine this time around.

The last reviewer mentioned tight pitches - we were on the Ashford View field and had loads of space. We'd asked for this field specifically as it has lovely views and the site are more than happy to oblige. There is a field nearer the reception with a lot of hard standing spaces should you need them, but there's nothing quite like opening your tent to find it surrounded by 20 bunnies on a morning :-)

The toilets and showers are fine. Well tended and warm with plenty of cubicles and Peak radio playing too so you don't get bored whilst showering. There's a bar right beside the children's play area so you can keep a close eye on the little ones and a small shop that opens for certain hours of the day.

Although the site doesn't serve food, it's not far to walk into Ashford where there are two great pubs with extensive menus, and not overly expensive. Bakewell itself is a longer walk, and as much of this is along the A6 we prefer to drive, but it's a great little town.

The views from Greenhills are spectacular and the site is very well landscaped. The management are friendly and we wouldn't hesitate going back again. And again. And again. The cost at £25 per night for two adults and a dog doesn't seem unreasonable either for the facilities on offer.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ems1976 17 reviews from this member

We have recently returned from a weekend at Greenhills Holiday Park in Bakewell. It was my mumís birthday so my husband and I suggested it as we had been twice before and had a wonderful time. We were advised when we checked in that it now has new management. I have to admit I didnít enjoy the stay as much as I had previously.

The camping fields are good with lovely views but have a slight slope (manageable, if you sleep the right way round) and just about enough space, even with two pitches it did seem a very cramped with a 6 man tent and a 2 man tent. Our neighbours were very close. The first night was terrible weather so the bar on site was very busy, much as you would expect in the rain.

The bar seemed quite shabby, probably given the number of people in there, tables took a while to be cleared and the outside space had a lot of cigarette ash and ends, not too pleasant for us parents who were stood outside watching our children playing in the 2 parks situated right next to the bar, and the prices were extortionate. £3. 80 a pint and not a lot less for a pint of lemonade, the bar man told us it would be cheaper to buy a can (had the shop been open). We only stayed for one. The 2nd day was much better weather and people seemed more spread out so had a slightly better feel.

I went to get a shower in the old (main) shower block, what a nightmare that was! The bathrooms donít have many toilets and only 4 showers so it was extremely busy and very dirty with toilet paper on the floors and empty wash bottles left lying around. When I eventually did manage to get a shower, the water went off for approx 8 mins for every 2 mins it was on. Twice I was caught with shampoo/Conditioner in my hair and no water. When it did run for 2 mins, the pressure was very slow and the design of the head meant that right through the middle of the running water was a big void meaning to took ages to get shampoo out of my hair. It took me 25 mins to get a ďquickĒ shower. Not at all impressed! We were told on arrival that they had invested in new boilers, obviously not in the old (main) shower block. When talking to other campers about this afterwards, they told us that there is a newer toilet block and the showers are better. I have to admit I didnít use the showers in there so I cannot confirm if they were but there was still only 4 (making a total of 8 showers for women for the whole site) and when I looked in they were very small.

The water pressure in the pot wash (also attached to the old (main) shower block) was terrible and the water seemed permanently cold, it was tough getting the frying pan after breakfast clean.

The parks havenít been changed since we last went and the kids seemed happy on them, I personally thought they looked quite shabby and the rotten wooden benches and logs surrounding them left dirty marks on our clothes when we sat on them, but my son seemed very happy playing Ė as long as the kids are happy hey.

On a positive note, its location is perfect.

Bakewell is a pleasant (although slight up hill on the return) 15 mins walk away and Ashford on the Water (a gorgeous Traditional Derbyshire village) is a slightly less 10 mins in the opposite direction. The pubs here were wonderful (and better priced than the bar), if the weather is nice, I suggest using these instead.

We love Bakewell, it is one of our favourite places in the Peaks and this seems to be the only campsite (that I am aware of) that is within walking distance, so the truth is I would probably stay here again, but only for its location, and I certainly wouldnít stay longer than 2 nights. If it had competition, I would try them out. Itís a shame that it seems to have gone off the boil a bit and I hope the new managers are aware of these issues and are working to turn them around because it could be such a wonderful site, it has all the facilities in place to be perfect.

Talking of facilities, there is a shop on site that seems to have the basics in terms of food, didnít see a lot of emergency camping equipment, but then to be honest I wasnít really looking for any. There is a LOT of pocket money toys, great if your kids want to spend their pocket money, not so great if once itís all spent they constantly keep asking for more. My son did get some small toys from here and they kept him amused on the large football field next to the camp field that is specifically for kids playing (this was a welcome space).

All in all, itís a functional site but far from being perfect and could do with some modernising. As long as it doesnít get competition and Bakewell keeps being a favourite of ours, it will most likely keep getting our custom.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kieth Pratt 1 review from this member

We stayed during Whit week, the first time we've visited Greenhills. We were shown to our pitch by a member of the very friendly site staff, but were immediately struck by how close together the pitches were. We were plonked in the middle of a top field, totally surrounded by other tents. Within an hour we were joined by another family whose tent was so close to hours we were tripping over each other's guy ropes! The camping fields are quite sloping, and as the weather was foul that particular week, we saw lots of people needing to be pulled up the hill by the farm tractor as the ground became very boggy.

That said, the site is in a lovely location with lots of good walking nearby. There's also a good cycle path along the route of the old Midland railway. There are also some nice pubs within walking distance, especially in Bakewell, and most of them serve decent real ale. Chatsworth House is a short drive away, as is Matlock. You don't have to go far to find something to do, I recommend a visit to the Peak Railway.

The site toilets and showers (free & hot) were OK, with no need to queue despite it being busy. The shop is OK too, the nice lady sold me a jubilee clip for 10p from a box of bits & bobs from behind the counter.

The site could do with a few properly made tracks for cars in the camping field, because if it rains you and you are in one of the bottom fields you're stuck! Also, the owners ought to give a bit more room between pitches, they are certainly the closest together I've ever come across.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Pikies 4 reviews from this member

Had a warm welcome even though it was only their 2nd or 3rd day there so not too sure where pitches were. Asked if we needed any help siting our unit. Nice clean toilet block and friendly pub on site only draw back no area in pub for dogs. Location is great as nice walk into Bakewell where plenty of shops, pubs and places to eat some of which accept dogs even if eating. A great stay and would definitely go back but it is very popular as near to Chatsworth House so need to book in advance in busy times.

Date of Visit: November 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Max n Dave 4 reviews from this member

This was our first outing in our newly acquired caravan and was a little apprehensive about it all to say the least!

Arriving on site, we thought that all that were there would know that we were 'virgins' but need not have worried. Although the office was not open, due to the time of the year, the staff were around and offered assistance if we needed any.

Bakewell is a good walk away, or 10 mins in the car, but can be difficult to park, especially at weekends as it is a popular location. There are many shops, pubs and a supermarket that will cater for all needs. If you time it right also, there is a farmers market on at times as well.

On site facilities are good, although when we visited, due to the time of year, some were not open, although we did sample the bar when we visited before we booked! The toilet block was clean, maintained well and the showers hot.

All in all, this site is good. We will go back at some point later this year, looking forward to it.

Previous     260 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Bakewell      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth £100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4360 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019