Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Southwold Camping And Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Southwold > Southwold Camping And Caravan Site Reviews

Southwold Camping And Caravan Site
Ferry Road
Southwold
Suffolk   (Browse area)
IP18 6ND
Tel: 01502 722486
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Pitches: 100
Open: Ist Marchto 30th November

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 72 Reviews
                7/10 from 72 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  72 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Four Under Canvas 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed here during the mini heatwave at the end of September 2011, for two nights, one our first real camping trip, and it was an excellent introduction to camping. This was mostly due to the beautiful weather - 28c during the day albeit distinctly chilly at night - although the fabulous position of this campsite helped.

We were pitched in a large field with other tents - the site has static caravans too - and there was plenty of space, with good sized pitches. Facilities were good - 2 showers, 6 toilets, and 6 sinks for both ladies and gents, plus 2 or 3 washing up sinks and draining boards with lots of hot water - and that in our field. There was another shower block in the static area which you could access too - so never any queuing. The facilities were cleaned daily, and thoroughly.

The site is a 3 minute walk across a small road and the sand dunes to the beautiful beach at Southwold, and about 10-15 minute walk up to the town itself. We spent one beautiful evening eating fish & chips in the one of the town pubs, washed down with the local ale, and strolled back along the shore with the kids thrilling to the sight of moonlight and stars. Back at the field they ran amok with their torches. During the day there was plenty of room for them to cycle round the field, although in high season this probably wouldn't be possible.

The management was new at the time we visited, and keen to improve facilities and services. One morning we came across some bloke pouring his sewage pot down the drains near the washing up sinks - this was immediately dealt with - in an hour a sign appeared above the sink area directing people to the waste water area.

One night there was a lot of loud music which seemed to be emanating from the caravans, but it turned out to be a party at the local rugby club, which we were told was not a regular occurrence. Other than that, we had a lovely time at this site, and found the charge (£17. 50 per night for 4 of us, no hook up), pretty reasonable. 


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Springer1 5 reviews from this member

 Located 50 yards from the beach and a 15 minute walk into Southwold with some nice pubs which serve adequate food. Nice town with a good range of shops. The speciality pies notably the Chicken of Aragon were unusual and very nice too.

Southwold Harbour, a 5 minute walk, selling fresh fish and in our opinion very expensive cooked fish and chips is worth a walk to get to the Harbour Inn.

Also a nice trip is the rowing boat to Walberswicke where there are 2 pubs and coffee shops etc. Site is therefore excellently located.

Pitches are an adequate size, flat and reasonably sheltered from the sea breezes. Why they've decided to close the ablutions from 8:30 to 10:30 I can't imagine. There is a sign asking people to stagger their showers to ensure hot water is available, however the shower I had at 11:00 ish was cold in an empty building.

Excellent that there is no charge for dogs unlike most sites however they charge £3. 80 for an awning, why when it's contained within the perimeters of your plot.

No EHU but not a huge problem for us. A few moans and minor points but I would stay again. 


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Wurzzel 3 reviews from this member

 I use this site 3or4 times a year for short weekend breaks the location is fantastic with a short walk to the harbour where there is a great little hut for fresh fish like cockles and prawns or maybe a winkle. Southwold town is about a 15 stroll and then you will be greeted by The Red Lion and on a good day you can plonk yourself on gun hill and enjoy a good pint.

If you return back to the campsite late at night I would take a torch as it can be very dark down there and foggy. The campsite offers fantastic views of the town and if you get up early its great for a sunrise.

The toilets are good clean and not unpleasant. Staff are friendly only seen them when booking in. The ground is a bit lumpy and bumpy but this should not be a problem for most campers we don't all expect a bowls green to pitch on.

I enjoy southwold it's a great unspoilt town mostly same businesses there is one generic supermarket chain in the town but you can get every thing you need from local trade persons.

You need to book this campsite well in advance as it is always full. It is expensive but southwold is expensive if you want cheap there are many other sea side towns you should visit. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lesnlola 6 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for 3 nights and found it to be well run, clean and plenty of space between pitches. They were however painting white grids to mark out the pitches which we found a bit over the top!

Showers and wash up areas in both blocks good and cleaners spent a lot of time making sure everything was spick and span.

Excellent location lots of good pubs within walking distance. Harbour lovely especially the ferry to nearby village but chips from fish and chip shop very soggy and greasy, much better from fish and chip shop in Southwold high street.

Quite expensive site especially in high season at £22. 50 per night, but on the whole worth the £15.50 we paid for the low season 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Tripeaker 25 reviews from this member

 We really enjoyed our weekend at this campsite and thought the site was well placed with the pitches being of a fair size. One toilet block was looking a little dated but it was always clean and perfectly functional.

The newer block was very good, as should be expected. Noise levels or behaviour were never a problem even amongst the couple of groups camping there. Thought the stroll around the harbour was nice with a good pub and chip shop.

It was our first visit to the area and we thought Southwold was superb with good eating and drinking in a wide variety of establishments.

The amusements on the pier must be unique, well worth a visit. Overall a nice site and we would re-visit. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Camp_cachers 3 reviews from this member

 We came to camp as a group to celebrate our friendís 30th birthday. The site were accommodating helping us to reserve pitches as a group which was great.

We arrived on Friday evening and drove straight to meet our friends. Although they had been to reception we headed straight to the group so bypassed any formalities. We therefore didnít see any staff all weekend.

However, they kept the site clean and tidy - the toilets and pot washing area were clean although had a basic feel. The showers werenít overly powerful or very hot in the designated block. However, a slightly further walk to Ďsome like it hutí provided a much better quality shower, plus socket for hair drying.

The pitches were clean and well marked out with white paint and stones which was good, although we didn't stick strictly to them as a group and didn't get told to move. While pitching a fog descended upon the site and it became wet and damp, I guess this comes from being by the sea!

We therefore headed into Southwold to eat and get warm! It took about 10 minutes to walk in at a good pace. The pubs in town are Adnams and all great, good food and fine beer! It is a dark walk back so take a torch. Upon our return we talked amongst ourselves until quite late, not overly loudly (no one complained) although I was surprised no staff were about to check.

The following day we stocked up in town at local green-grocers and butchers for BBQ bits (only going to Co-op for standard dry-good items. ) The campsite is a little too far to walk, shop for a fair amount and walk back. However, parking in town isnít easy so a couple of us had to jump out while the car circled before finding a short-stay space.

That evening after the BBQ we burnt a couple of logs on the raised BBQ and this again, although un-noticed, didnít seem a problem. A couple of people joined us for the BBQ, there is a road running between the site and the beach. This is perfect for parking guests if they arrive early before beach goers or later in the evening.

The proximity to the beach is superb, just a hop over the lane and youíre there. It is also only a brief walk down to the harbour for fresh fish and chips Ė bliss. The harbour is also an interesting area to walk around with plenty to see and do. The pier is a good 30 minute walk away but also worth a visit.

In summary, a good site with fine facilities and a perfect location for walking about Southwold. 


Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cheesefish 5 reviews from this member

 This is a well run campsite and I've visited it a few times over many years. As mentioned in a few reviews the site is quite expensive, however the site itself is really good, and the facilities are also very good.

I remember one year it was so cold I ended up spending the night in the showers just to keep warm. Much to the amusement of my friends!

Situated near to the town/village of Southwold it is a picturesque little seaside town that oozes charm, especially after trying some of the local brewery ales (Adnams).

I heartily recommend the Lord nelson as somewhere to eat and drink as their service is excellent.

There are also some other interesting places to visit (Sizewell) and if you get chance take a drive up to Bungay and try the Green Dragon beer. Excellent stuff. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Trundlenut 3 reviews from this member

 Southwold is a lovely location and the campsite is a small road and some sand dunes away from the beach. The staff were friendly. The campers were friendly. Southwold is a friendly place.

I expected the campsite to have old shower blocks etc from reading previous reviews, but I expected them to be clean and was disappointed. I also found the pitches quite small, so that even a small tent would end up being pitched very close to their neighbour. As well as being a fire hazard you also end up with you head very close to your neighbour and when they snore it is not much fun. There is no hookups, but they will freeze your blocks for you and charge your mobiles for a small charge.

Having said that, I would still go back. I would pack a bucket to flannel wash my children with (showers are dirty and water is too hot for a child). I would ask for a specific pitch e.G. 267, that is not so squashed up. I would pack lots of extra freezer blocks and have some for my use while the rest were in the campsite's freezer.

If you want a pristine campsite more than a fabulous location then this is not the site for you. If you want a quiet, typical English seaside holiday then Southwold is the place and this campsite is good enough.

My rating:

The location drags up the out of 10 score. It is child friendly, as families stay not groups of singles. It would benefit from a playground, but is so close to the beach and there is a field for kites/bikes etc. It is also very cheap to stay there. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: HermioneBay 17 reviews from this member

 Although not veteran campers, we've been to several sites during the last year or so and this was probably the most disappointing. Don't get me wrong, it's satisfactory, but in a wholly unsatisfactory way and in particular, the costs are inflated quite significantly by extras so watch out for that if you're on a tight budget!

The location, well, it's the only one in Southwold. Albeit a 15 minutes stroll from the town centre, it is a mere 2 minutes from the beach and harbour; it does suffer from a bit of a breeze but it's not anything that a tent or awning can't cope with, though I'm not sure a storm would see you have a good night's sleep without worry of losing your roof.

The facilities are ok., there are warm showers, but they're not very clean and although I saw the contractors in the toilets, they clearly don't do much more than mop the floor and shove some bleach where they can see in the loo, heaven forbid that something like the door should actually be cleaned behind. Or the sinks given a bleach. And there was no soap in any of the dispensers for two days, mid-week. Am I bothered by a bit of dirt? Not really, rough and ready I can cope with. Do I mind paying over the odds and seeing a cleaning team go in and do a very indifferent job? Frankly, yes; I'd rather pay less and expect less.

There are no EHU plots and it would be easy for them to put some in at least one of the two fields in use for non static camping. The plots are clearly marked out and are fairly tightly packed, mid week, we were pretty relaxed, but come the Friday night, we were invaded, by about 40 separate tents from a group up from London, at which point I have to question where the etiquette of camping goes, or perhaps the organisational skills of the site went awry - we were left as one of only 3 camps not from this group and with 3 young children, the other 2 being older couples.

The London group had kids running riot, cycling, playing games and generally being fairly noisy until well after midnight, had we known, we'd have probably packed up a night early, I'm not one for stopping people enjoying themselves, but given the large communal eating / BBQ areas, music and gazebos that appeared and comments we overheard, this was a well organised annual pilgrimage, so why not warn us in advance or put us in the other field? It was a somewhat sorry end to what had otherwise been a great week's break, even allowing for the facilities.

Overall, it's a campsite and it does what it says, though it's a bit overpriced. We stayed because we love Southwold, we'd probably stay again for that reason, but that's the only reason. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Zogzog 1 review from this member

 We are new to the camping scene and I have not camped since I was a child. The campsite at Southwold is exactly as I imagined it would be, very traditional and I am so glad there is no electric hook up there, peace from Tv, Dvds and computers ah bliss. All the campers were friendly and helpful.

The facilities although basic all functioned well, would be nice to see them updated a bit, but the staff obviously try their best to keep them clean. The staff are very friendly and helpful in the office, and patient with us novices.

The location has to be the the main reason that people visit here, just over the road is what appears to be the campsites own private beach. Most of the other visitors seem to stay up near the pier. Great walks in the area, particularly Dunwich Forest.

As for value for money,I think it's fantastic. We rented a holiday cottage in Southwold a couple of years ago and it nearly cost us a second mortgage

We'll be back next year, in fact booked while we were there 


Previous     72 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Southwold Camping And Caravan Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Southwold Camping And Caravan Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Southwold Camping And Caravan Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Southwold      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Suffolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1290 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement