Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Erwlon Caravan & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Llandovery > Erwlon Caravan & Camping Park Reviews

Erwlon Caravan & Camping Park
Brecon Road
Llandovery
Carmarthenshire   (Browse area)
SA20 0RD
Tel: 01550 721021
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 40
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 168 Reviews
                9/10 from 168 Reviews

Photos (11)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 1 mile   Golf 1 mile   Tennis 1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  168 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Berenice 2 reviews from this member

We visited at the end of August 2016 for 7 nights stay. I have to say the people running it, on arrival, couldn't have been more helpful. We were a little disappointed as we had picked a pitch in advance, not far from the toilet block and right next to the children's play area (we have very little children), and this play area had been removed as it was damaged. Fair enough! They offered us a pitch not too far from the other play area, although further away it was still in view. So our nearly 4 year old could run off some steam. For the first 5 nights it was pretty good. No noise, the seasonal pitchers seemed friendly, further to the bathroom but all good. Now, we had paid to have our OWN pitch, with electric hook up. I understand that cables may run across etc that's fine. We came back from a day trip on the friday to discover that all around our pitch (which we had paid extra to make sure we weren't 'free camping', and thus disturbed), there were tents. Not 3m away as recommended, in fact one tent was less than 1m away. There was not a warden to be seen. The issue is, backpackers had turned up, told they had to pitch in 'free camping' zones, not really guided and as they wanted electric they camped right next to the electric point. We were basically boxed in, and had to really struggle to get our car anywhere near the tent (again, one of the selling points of paying for a pitch). The noise from two sets of campers, who were uncomfortably close and right next to us and each other, was awful. It went on well into the night (despite it being a family friendly site). Again, couldn't find someone to talk to about it. Ended up leaving a day early (partly due to good weather and taking advantage of a dry tent, but certainly motivated by the noise!). Otherwise the campsite is clean, well maintained, friendly and convenient. So basically, my advice, stay here, but not over a busy bank holiday. Or if you do, ensure when paying for your own pitch, it's not near any free camping zones as they are not watched at all. I got the impression that it was a case of taking as much money as possible and sod the rest!

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: VEGG 1 review from this member

What a fantastic caravan site. It is kept spotlessly clean all around. Nice and quiet site with full service pitches, or none if you like. Great shower rooms, washing up rooms, laundry. I will definitely be coming back. Short walk to supermarket and into town.

Date of Visit: December 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Crumlinboy 1 review from this member

To say that this is a great campsite is something of an understatement.

At the end of our stay we both felt as if we had found a jewel in the crown, it really was a gem of a place.

The camp itself has easy access and all level.

The heated toilet/shower block was also easy access, even for the disabled such as myself.

A new years eve party to which we were invited was being thrown and turned out hilarious, with everyone extremely friendly.

This is a place that just has to be revisited time and time again.

Although writing this review may turn out to be a mistake, for if hordes of campers descend on this place, there may not be any room for us.

Ssch it's a secret.

Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Andyandmaggie 1 review from this member

Booked E24 thinking it was backing on to the river, but alas it wasn't, as there is a large hedge there which not only blocks your view of the river it also blocked the sun, got a little grief off the owners wife, that our dogs were on the toilet ramps ( no signs to say they were not allowed up there) and questioned on 'how come we had 4 dogs' but if she would of checked she would do seen I asked 8 months ago could I bring 4 and Peter said yes.

Really enjoyed our visit, we will return but with the knowledge of what pitches to book.

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Ljamfam 32 reviews from this member

When we booked we chose one of the three purple pitches which appear on the map to be on the edge of the riverbank. Upon arrival we were very disappointed to find no river view at all just a thick hedge between us and the river, no sight or sound of it. We were not the only ones to make this mistake, another couple arriving at the same time thought the pitches had river views

The other downside we soon found out about is the main A40 round which runs right along the side of the site. There is a constant notice from big lorries going past but the biggest problem is the motorbikes all day long on the Sunday.

The site itself is nicely laid out, lawns well cut, very attractive flower beds and very clean amenity block. Showers nice and hot although push button which is a pain.

It's about 5 min walk to a supermarket and further 5 mins into a lovely little town. Gift shops, cafe's, restaurants and pubs are plentiful.

Some nice walks up the back road from the site. One way is a bit strenuous but well worth doing. Over all a very nice site but the noise, particularly on Sunday's, would put us off going back

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Heartsman 7 reviews from this member

Chose this site for our week in South Wales and we were not disappointed. The toilets/showers were always spotless very well kept as was the rest of the site. The warden and his wife were very friendly and helpful during our stay, nothing was ever a bother. Didn't find road noise any issue. Locally there is a supermarket and plenty places to get eat in or carry outs like we enjoyed. Only downside was the bad weather we had ( not down to the site)

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Greg M 38 reviews from this member

Writing a review for a site like this is a bit like shooting yourself in the foot, it is a real gem.

From the wardens who were really friendly and hardworking (toilets and showers spotless), to the seasonal pitch people and also the town, everyone was really welcoming.

As I said earlier the toilets and showers were spotless, as was the washing area. Grass areas were all well kept as was the whole site.

Ample size pitches, and some have their own water and drainage at no extra charge.

The town is a short walk away and as mentioned earlier everyone in the shops, cafes and pubs were friendly and welcoming.

We did not eat out in the town but I am sure other reviewers will cover that.

Some people might find the road alongside the site a little noisy but it did not bother us at all.

This site will definitely become a regular stop for us in the future, in fact we have already pre-booked another stay there.

Thanks to the staff at Erwlon for a relaxing time.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Cleddytan 3 reviews from this member

Just returned from a weekend at this site, which when we arrived looked quite full. However, many pitches are long term ones and they were not all in use. This is a fantastic site with the most helpful and friendly wardens. Our first allocated pitch SP7 could not get a tv signal, either by aerial or satellite due to a large tree.

The warden allowed us to move the following morning.

We are light sleepers, but, there was no road noise during the night and we slept well.

The shower block was immaculate with large family shower rooms plus the usual male and female areas.

Would definitely return to this site to explore the area better than the weekend allowed.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mollyjak 2 reviews from this member

When we booked this campsite I didn't realise how close to the road we would be pitched. We were just six yards, tops, away from the main road. I found it to be very busy in the day spoiling the expected peace and quiet while sitting outside the caravan reading or eating. During the night the traffic continued enough to keep me awake - it is an A road to Brecon after all. Sorry but peaceful it wasn't in our opinion.

One of the dog walks was along the fence so people walking their dogs were going back and fore regularly.

Lastly when entering the main part of the site there were two roads to choose from. Every time we met another car/camper/caravan on the road which was so narrow either them or us had to reverse which at times was tricky as there was little room to manoeuvre. I think it would be more sensible to have a one way system for the first part of the site.

The shower block was clean however as we shower in the caravan we didn't try them. They could also do with a few taps for the furthest pitches.

Llandovery has plenty of choice of places to eat and I recommend the Welsh Rarebit served in the little café in the Craft Centre.

Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Griffash 1 review from this member

We just came back from an extended bank holiday at Erwlon and what a lovely weekend is was. The site is really pretty & well kept; the wardens couldn't be anymore helpful; the facilities were great - shower and toilet block was spotlessly clean, lovely and warm with hand wash, hairdryer and hand dryers available. There is a laundry room with washing machines, dryers, and iron (all at a small charge) should you need them.

When we arrived it was late and dark, but never less Peter the warden was there in a shot and came and gave us a hand to pitch the caravan - we were very grateful. Then his wife came and gave us free raffle tickets - as it was Easter they were doing a Easter egg raffle - a nice touch, especially as they didn't have to do this.

If you like the big, busy, hectic sites with entertainment and clubs etc then this site will not be for you, but if you like a small, well kept quiet site with good, clean facilities then this is a must.

The site is positioned just on the outskirts of Llandovery where you will find shops, cafes, pubs and plenty of walks. All within a short walk of the campsite.

The only thing I would say in a slightly negative manner is that there could be more service pitches. I say this only because they charge the same for service pitches as they do for any other and they obviously go very quickly. They are, it seems making improvements in the near future, so hopefully this could be something they could incorporate.

We had a lovely time and will definitely be going back. Soon!

Previous     168 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Where is the nearest shop to Erwlon Caravan & Camping Park?   There is a shop within 1 mile    View all facilities

Is Erwlon Caravan & Camping Park dog friendly?   YES    View all facilities


Other Sites Near Llandovery      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Carmarthenshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...





Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet NEC Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 18/02 to 23/02
Birmngham - Caravans, motorhomes, tents, folding caravans and 1000s of accessories all under one roof! ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3771 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020