Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Bureside Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth > Bureside Holiday Park Reviews

Bureside Holiday Park
Boundary Farm
Oby
Great Yarmouth
Norfolk   (Browse area)
NR29 3BW
Tel: 07587771314  or  07587771317
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 170
Open: May To September

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 54 Reviews
                9/10 from 54 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  54 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

We regret that our site is currently closed until 31/10/2020 because of the advice and implications surrounding the outbreak of Coronavirus.

To enquire about a booking after 31/10/2020 or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Steamjim 2 reviews from this member

 Generally a nice site, yes its down a narrow lane, but it is rural Norfolk and right on the broads so to be expected I suppose and sat nav found it without any problem.

On a non electric pitch, plenty of room for large Montanna lake 6 man plus extension, the car and small trailer and the site was flat.

The new shower block and toilet where ok, but could have done with a mop through twice a day due to mud/grass build up, but shower cubicles where big enough. Really they seriously do need some soap by the hand sinks though will make a big difference.

Nice people in reception and good value for money so would go back again. Children's playground/sandpit was very basic but the children using it made good use and had fun so it must work. Our 4 year old could run around outside the tent with a ball without fear of cars as well which is a bonus.

Going out on day trips did mean a little bit of a hike due to location, Great Yarmouth is a must and only 10 miles but that is 10 Norfolk miles. Bure Valley Railway at Alysham also a good day out.

Live Music could be heard in the evening due to local regatta held every May bank holiday but ended by 11:30 and so site was very quiet after that. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: The Outwell 4 11 reviews from this member

 Lovely location - though the site is down long, single track roads with few passing places, not good if you are in a large unit difficult to reverse, and could get annoying on a longer stay.

Pitches are large and flat (though could do with being marked a little more clearly as difficult to see where one starts and another finishes), but plenty of space.

Very dog friendly (no poos bins though).

Didn't find any recycling facilities.

Newly opened toilet block on the non electric field is good, with very large showers in both ladies and gents, large enough to get a family in which is a great feature. Could do with a few more hooks in the showers. It would also have been nice to have some washbasin cubicles instead of some of the loos.

Shame there is no soap in any of the washbasins, there really ought to be dispensers. Also the ratio of toilets (loads) to showers (just 3 in each block) means you do have to wait for a shower sometimes. Not sure why they didn't put more showers in the new blocks?

4 Washing up sinks (that I found - may be more!). The water pressure in the new ones is turned up very high and a bit splashy!

Very friendly and helpful management team. Site is well run and obviously cared for as its neat and tidy.

Booking system was a little vague when we booked earlier this year, they didn't ever reply to emails or send any kind of confirmation, but I know they are looking at this. Once arrived they were very efficient.

Children's play area is 4 swings and a slide with a large sandpit, so basic, but still enjoyed (bring a bucket and spade!).

Only a very basic shop, milk, eggs, choc etc.

Lovely pools £2 per person per day.

Lots of walks and lovely to be so near the boats and river.

This is a horse stud farm - just a pity they don't offer any riding.

Recommended - biggest downside is the long single track. 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cartwheels 2 reviews from this member

 Fantastic site, well run very clean, hot free showers, great location set right in the broads and for those kayakers and small boats there is a slipway too! the outside pool is very nice although not open whilst we were there, because of the bad weather we have been having although again we got lucky and the rain held off for our visit. Big pitches relaxed atmosphere and fast becoming my favourite site in the area. Cheap too when you consider there is no low/high season price just one fixed for the year.

Would highly recommend. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Iancar 3 reviews from this member

 Location – Easy to find due to good signage despite being well off the beaten track. Lovely walks along the water side to a nice pub which was reasonably priced and had a nice park next door. Short drive to Potter Heigham where we hired a boat for the morning which was great fun.

Customer services – Little disorganised in the office, but lovely people who have a friendly relaxed atmosphere which attracts us to a site. There was no long list of rules thrown at us just a smile and a comment about enjoying our stay and to call back to the office if we had any problems ( which we did not)

Facilities – I can only comment on the ladies block of which there are too many toilets (12) and not enough showers (3) although I think the new toilet block would remedy this. The toilets were kept clean and we had plenty of hot water in the showers, however it could do with a couple of soap dispensers near the sinks. There is a washing up area but with only 2 sinks there was often a bit of a queue. This didn’t cause too much of a problem we did a lot of our washing at the tent and only used the sinks if we had a lots to do.

Pitches- We stayed in the second field and was told to pitch where we like, there was loads of room and we were not charged extra for a porch or the second car which is a rarity. It was level ground and surrounded by trees with more trees sectioning off areas making it feel secluded.

Pool- At £2 per person this was a bargain, (open 9-12 and 1-4. 30 ish) the water was warm and it is situated in a court yard making a lovely sun trap. The pool itself is only 1. 5 m deep which means you can still swim and play but not be overly worried about your children getting out of their depth. There is also a shallow toddler pool for the younger members of your family or for the older members to put their feet in. There are changing rooms provided and toilets, these do need the cob webs brushing away and were a little run down but the owners were obviously trying hard to keep the pool area clean and I saw them use a net to remove leaves and bugs.

Park- Small park with swing, slide and sand pit. My children went once or twice but mainly stayed near the tent as there was no restrictions on playing Frisbee, catch, football etc. ( just be considerate to other campers)

Price- Great price for such a lovely site, with no extra charges for gazebos, porches, second cars showers etc. It is well worth a visit.

Without a shadow of a doubt the next time we visit Norfolk we will definitely be using this site. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: The halls 8 reviews from this member

 Not really sure how to write this review. Normally we either love or hate a site and this one doesn't fit either. We stayed on this site along with my brother and his family. We would never have found the site without the sat-nav.

As a previous review says, finding reception was interesting. We were given adjoining pitches and on finding them, found someone already pitched on my brothers. Spoke to the lady on reception, and finally managed to get the other tent to move to the non electric pitch he had paid for. We had loads of space, which was a plus.

The site is right on the broads and for that, it is lovely, and within walking distance of Thurne, which has a lovely pub. However, you have to be prepared to drive to get anywhere. Would have been nice if the site stocked more essentials like bread and milk. There was a fruit and veg van that came round and parked up on site and sold sweets for the kids.

We spent one day in the pool, which we felt was good value, £2 for the whole day, it just closes an hour for lunch. Its heated and there are plenty of tables and chairs if you don't want to swim. There is also a separate pool for toddlers.

The showers and toilets are basic and a little outdated, but there was hot water and you can control the temprature which was good for my 11 year old. One word of advice is that the floor gets wet, making getting dress tricky.

The chap that owns the site appears to do everything, from receptionist to cleaning the loo's. He's very friendly and approachable, and when we had some trouble with older kids bullying in the playground, he sorted it. The washing up facilities do the job, lots of hot water and the biggest sinks ive ever seen, the downside to that been they take forever to empty.

When I was first asked I said I wouldn't stay on the site again, now I'm not so sure. I probably would, if I wanted a holiday near the broads. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rainbow4 4 reviews from this member

 The site was easy to find and is well signposted off the main road.

When we arrived check in was quick and easy, no lengthy list of rules just enjoy your stay. And that is what we did!

The site was well kept, pitches were in very good condition and the most spacious we have stayed on recently. Whilst the hook up pitches were almost all full, the second field without electric was virtually empty for the whole of our stay.

We were on site during the first week of the school holidays and every evening the site was quiet by 10pm. There is some aircraft noise from planes and helicopters on final approach to Norwich Airport but nothing too early or too late in the day and we are not talking Heathrow by any means!

Ice block re-freeze service available at reception for 10p a block.

Plenty of space for the children to play ball games. They also enjoyed playing in the table tennis and pool room. Swimming pool is outdoor but heated and in a sheltered courtyard.

Great riverside walks and quiet lanes to cycle down. Watching the sunsetting over the river is a must for any evening stroll.

We enjoyed our 2 hour walk to Potter Heigham, going across fields and through woods before returning by the river. Ate out at the Bridge Inn, Acle which was good value for money and service was excellent.

The on site toilet block is a bit dated but generally kept clean. Hot water did run out every morning by about 09. 30. Work looked to have stopped on a second toilet block which is being built on the non-electric field.

A quiet, friendly and well kept site which we will be returning to. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Debs398 33 reviews from this member

 Had a lovely weekend at this campsite. Reception seemed to be in a slightly weird place ie. you park up when you arrive and then wander around a few paths to almost the back of the campsite but it didn't cause a problem.

Ladies toilets and sinks very plentiful, 3 showers, never a wait for them and they were lovely and hot and powerful, plenty of hooks for clothes too - always a bonus.

We were on the non-EHU field, they are building another toilet block on there which will be handy when its completed.

Grass was in good condition and there was plenty of room on the site. We walked along Weavers Way beside the river to Potter Heigham and back along the road which was a pleasant two hour walk.

Village of Thurne is only a 10 minute walk and has a pub and shop. Site backs onto the river so its very pleasant to go for a walk from here. Lots of people fishing along the river bank.

There is also an outdoor swimming pool which several peoples children seemed to enjoy, I think it was £2 per person.

Weather was extremely hot on the Sunday and we asked the owner if we could pay to stay on later than 11am, he very kindly said that as no-one was due to come in we could take our time and leave when we wanted.

A very laid back, friendly site - would revisit 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Pillsley 24 reviews from this member

 Lots of reviews already, but I just had to say how much we loved this site. Yes, the shower block is a bit elderly but it's clean and there's plenty of hot water in the showers. The ladies has two power points for those who want to use a hair dryer. It's easy to launch a small boat from the site and there's fishing on their lake or along the river. We stayed on the non-EHU field which is flat as a pancake with loads of space on generous pitches and has the added benefit of plum trees ripe for eating in August! We paid £15 a night for the two of us which I think is good value considering there's no charge for the showers.

Thurne is well within walking distance from the camp-site. The pub has an interesting menu (can't comment further as we didn't get around to eating there) and a tiny shop where you can buy milk and newspapers but no bread. The pub also has bicycles for hire at £12 a day or £8 for half a day. The 13th century thatched church is well worth a visit.

Acle is about 5 miles away and that's where you'll find Budgens as well as a Co-op and two butchers. The Bridge Inne just outside Acle is good value for food with plenty of things to keep the children amused.

Potter Heigham has tourist information, boat hire and a gigantic discount store called Lathams selling a bit of everything from clothing to books with household equipment in between.

Further up, at Stalham, there's a Tesco with fuel. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Campingcaron 3 reviews from this member

 What a cracking site, fantastic with an excellent atmosphere.

In the middle of nowhere and would be dificult to find without the trusty sat. Very rural, lots of fields, farms and wild life.

This site has all you need, toilets, 3 showers, plenty hot water, quite basic but spotlessly clean, how ever my son did say that there were a lot of spiders in the mens :-(

There is a washer/dryer within the pot washing room, people did have to cue to do the dishes as there are only 2 sinks.

Heated swimming pool £2 per person, looked clean and well kept, although we didn't use it. There is a pool and table tennis room, and a snooker table, all this kept my 2 teenagers happy.

The site also has its own private fishing lake, £7 per day, fantastic. I didn't fish but you could see the fish basking in the sun, they looked pretty big to me.

There is a dyke on the edge of the broads if you have a boat, dinghy or canoo. Beautiful views and walks, also good to take your bikes, lots of cycle routes.

Only gripe I can find is that you are charged 30p per freezer block for using the freezer over night. Rip Off

As previous reviews, shops are not within walking distance, but the White Lion pub is ;-) 10mins along the broads, lovely pub with decent home cooked food.

The pitch allocation is huge, plenty of space for the tent, caravan, gazebo's etc.

Take my advice, book it, you will not be disappointed. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Carrieloulou 3 reviews from this member

 What a lovely site this is, really well tucked away in the middle of no where, but right on the Norfolk broads, we went to this site with a large group and we were looked after very well. Upon arrival a section of the site had been reserved for us so we could all pitch together which was wonderful and the kids in our party loved it loads of room for them to play football and rounders and they also enjoyed fishing in the broads. The site was so relaxed allowing the children to play ball games etc made it a very enjoyable family atmosphere. Would love to visit again even though on a slight bad point the showers are few and far between but a very small niggle that doesn't really matter so long as your not in a hurry. All in all great value for money. 


Previous     54 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Bureside Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Bureside Holiday Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Bureside Holiday Park?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Bureside Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Great Yarmouth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Norfolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 28/06
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3093 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020