Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Belhaven Bay Caravan & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Lothian > Dunbar > Belhaven Bay Caravan & Camping Park Reviews

Belhaven Bay Caravan & Camping Park
Edinburgh Road
Dunbar
Lothian   (Browse area)
EH42 1TU
Tel: 01368 865956
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 120
Open: 8th March To 30th November

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 70 Reviews
                8/10 from 70 Reviews

Photos (12)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach On Site   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  70 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Thurso 2 reviews from this member

 What a fabulous site! It was our first visit, but we will definitely be back to this site. Tracey on reception is a gem, full of information of where to go, and what to do. She is obviously very happy in her role.

The site is very well kept, although we found the hard standing pitches a bit close together, and did not have a lot of room for our awning. But this did not dampen our holiday one bit. We got a fabulous welcome when we arrived, and something we have never had before, was a cheery wave goodbye (from Tracey) as we left the site. ! 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Fath52 2 reviews from this member

 When reading the last review I imagine the campers must have been at a different holiday park from us. The lady on reception is very, very polite, friendly, helpful, and also very informative. We stayed during the heavy rain storms, but we were in a touring caravan, but most campers were very upbeat about the rain. We do live in Britain after all.

The new toilets have not been built yet, but are still getting built, which will be better in the end, but the existing ones are always spotless.

We will be back next summer, hopefully with sunshine next time. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: MACVESPA 3 reviews from this member

 We pre-booked for a week long stay in August.

On arrival the lady at reception was workmanlike, but not friendly. We were allocated a pitch and even though others were available that we preferred we were told that these had been pre-booked by other visitors. I have to say that this did not appear to be the case as several pitches remained vacant during our stay, but we were stuck with our allotted pitch.

Although the site advertised new toilet and washing facilities which were to have been completed for this season, the old ones remain and only the footings for the new block. At peak times in the morning and evening this led to queueing and limited availability. The new block is scheduled to be completed later this year after the busy season so hopefully next year and beyond this will not be a problem.

The site is very flat, ideal for campers, with plenty of pitches offering electric hook-up. It's well kept and very tidy. It's on the site of a former 19th century brick factory and the subsoil appears to be clay so water sits, even following a light downpour and drainage could be improved.

The shop is a let-down, though, offering bare essentials and that's something they could improve. At similar sites charging the rates they do the facilities and shop range are considerably better. Good if they offered basics like milk, bread, butter, basic culinary items, etc. And maybe daily papers.

Overall, I would visit again and the proximity to Dunbar and the local beach is a great advantage. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Shellipoos 5 reviews from this member

 Stayed here last weekend, weather fab, met some lovely fellow family campers. Pitch was flat and surprisingly dry considering the rain. We paid roughly 30 per night for electric which we thought expensive, however the facilities were spotless, Site not full to capacity and only had to wait 5 minutes for ladies shower. Dishwashing facilities in the laundry room at the mo although foundations have been laid for new kitchen area. 2 kids play areas, one is a single climbing frame, the other has a swing, frame and rockers, they are at opposite ends of site to each other. Beach 3 minute walk away and Dunbar harbour is lovely, they have a leisure center and walled garden / play park for kids. East Links farm park nearby although expensive at 11. 00 per head. Great wee pub as you come out the site and turn right, The West Barns Inn. Cracking 2 course meal, though more pub grub for 7 pounds or 3 course for 8, kids meal is 3, which is really good value for money. Nice quiet site which we will probably visit again. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Valjin 5 reviews from this member

 Unfortunately we only booked into this site for 1 night (we had pre-booked and pre-paid elsewhere). This is definitely one of the best laid out sites we have ever stayed at.

Every pitch has a wide open airy feeling. From the moment we telephoned (the day before) we were made to believe that we were an important customer.

When we did arrive that sense of 'you really are important to us and nothing is too much trouble' continued.

I wholeheartedly confirm everything in 'TheMairs' review regarding facilities and local amenities. I will add that the walk along the sea path pathway (easily accessable from the site) is a superb walk.

I only wish that I had not pre-booked for onward travel. We will most definitely come back to this site as it goes into our top 10.  

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kwikfire99 3 reviews from this member

 We visited this site in Dunbar for 4 nights in August. The site is a mixture of statics, tourers and tents. The weather was good at the time therefore the site was busy as it approached the weekend. There was sufficient space in between pitches so we didn't feel too cramped.

The staff were very helpful and there is a small shop which sells treats. The highlight for us was the proximity to the beach - a 5/10 min walk. We had a great time there and the kids would have stayed there all day if they could. There was a small playground for the kids to use and they also roamed about in the woods. The only downside of our time there was the noise from the tent goers next to us early in the morning. The children were running about from 7.30 onwards which doesn't make for a relaxing break.

We used the swimming pool in Dunbar which is always great and we also found a great park 2 mins walk from the pool with a playground and cafe which the kids enjoyed. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: StuBelAberdeen 14 reviews from this member

 I don't like to knock sites but this is a poor one relative to the cost. Paid 29. 50 per night for a grass pitch with awning and hook up. We were expecting a top notch site, we were disappointed.

The toilet and shower facilities are fine but the site was very quiet for mid July, probably due to the cost. Internet access is only available if you are near reception and is charged at a pound per minute but to be fair you can use the computer in reception during working hours.

There are two gents and two female showers for the whole site which is not a problem given the site was near empty although it did pick up with a few tents at the weekend.

The site is mainly geared up for the static vans, there is no on site warden only a reception that is open from 9 to 5. It's a half hour walk into Dunbar which is nice wee town with lots of bars and eating places. The beach is two minute walk and is really nice.

In short a decent site in a quiet, secluded location but a bit of a rip off, we have been to far better sites at a much more reasonable price.

Won't go back, too many sites around that are far better value than this one. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Vantango 11 reviews from this member

 We left a very rainy Saturday in Glasgow and arrived in a very sunny Belhaven for a one night stay.

Very well signposted. Tracey in reception couldn't have been more friendly. As the camp was not busy we were allowed to choose our pitch. Very even, hard standing & grass available.

Site was clean & quiet. Small shop & play ground. Three toilets & showers. Very clean, lots of very hot water. Shower cubicle a bit small - Curtain kept touching the backs of my legs. Can imagine in high season the there may be queues.

The beach lies directly behind the site. (No sea views). Town can be accessed via coastal walk. It took us about 30 mins to walk along the main road into Dunbar. Local shops & a harbour. Had a drink in the Volunteer then an OK evening meal in the Feathers on the way back to the site. Would go again for the sun although not a lot to do. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kmevans 1 review from this member

 We have just returned from a very enjoyable 2 night stay at Belhaven Bay (2 adults + 2 and 3 year old daughters).

We received a warm welcome and clear explanation of where to pitch our tent. The ground was wet but there wasn't too much mud around. We could hear the sea from our tent and we greatly enjoyed a couple of walks in the immediately adjacent John Muir Country Park. We also visited the seabird colony and beautiful village at St Abbs.

Our kids enjoyed the on-site playground. There are ponds/waterways nearby and other people's slightly older kids were having loads of fun pond dipping and running around (only until about 9. 30 pm and after that the site was very quiet).

The toilets and showers were very clean. The only drawback of the site is that during busy periods, the provision of only 4 toilets and 2 showers would be inadequate. With a weekend of unsettled weather outwith school holidays, this fortunately wasn't a problem. I would however, hesitate to return during school holidays until the new block is finally built (it says 2011, but there is no sign of it).

Of the 5 campsites we have so far visited close to our home in Edinburgh, this tops the list. It is also reasonably priced (<40 for 2 nights). We will be back! 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Orionsangel78 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this site for 4 nights and found it reasonably priced and easy to book.

When we arrived we were given a map and location to pitch our tent but when we went to the pitch we struggled to understand exactly which area was ours as there is only a number on the ground with no guide to say if you pitch infront of or to the side of the number. It wasn't too much of a concern however as it was quiet and we spent a few relaxing but wet days on the site.

We found the site coped well with the rain and only became muddy in the central area and thankfully we had no major leaks.

I read on previous reviews that new toilet facilities were being built for this year, however these haven't been started despite also being advertised on the site. Again this was not too much of a problem until the bank holiday weekend when the site went from quiet to full capacity more or less. This meant at least 7/8 people queuing for the 3 showers on the times I attempted to go.

With the new arrivals, the problem arose again with designating pitches. After a day out we returned to the site to find tents/caravans on both sides of us, with about a metre gap between each side, leaving us no outside space or room to park our car. In addition some of the new guests were extremely noisy well into the night, and as far as I'm aware there were no wardens checking the site to stop this.

The site itself has two small play areas which were ok and it's a short walk from the beach, but due to the weather we didn't have the opportunity to visit. We did however get woken by people partying on the beach through the night, which we found bizarre at this time of year!

The surrounding area is nice with a local pool, supermarket and children's farm within easy reach. However we made the journey to Edinburgh a few times but even this didn't take too long.

I might consider a return to this site, but I would not return on a bank holiday as unfortunately other guests ruined an otherwise good site. 


Previous     70 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Belhaven Bay Caravan & Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Belhaven Bay Caravan & Camping Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Belhaven Bay Caravan & Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Dunbar      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lothian

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2569 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement