Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Whitecliff Bay Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > South East England > Isle Of Wight > Bembridge > Whitecliff Bay Holiday Park > Reviews

Whitecliff Bay Holiday Park
Hillway Road
Bembridge
Isle Of Wight   (Browse area)
PO35 5PL
Tel: 01983 872671  or  0330 053 7000
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: Tents in summer only
Open: 01/07/2024 to 31/08/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 68 Reviews
                6/10 from 68 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  68 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Granty578 2 reviews from this member

 First impressions look good till we got out of the car to pitch tent, hard stony ground not suited to tent, anyway after a few tent pegs broke later tent was up. My son was eager to get in the pool because it looked good on poster, he went across with his mother but came back disappointed he said I am not going in that water there was scum marks all around the edge of the pool disgusting [if anyone got ear infections that's why]. Now the toilets, absolutely disgusting, every time I went in there was toilets blocked with tissue and dare I say it. Poo, it was horrible to see so the cleaners not doing their regular checks or they did not have one, that's a serious issue that needs sorting out. Showers were like old pit showers, I would say pit showers was cleaner, to say it was totally dry that week there was muddy foot steps everywhere, so you would come out dirtier than when you went in. Will not go to this site again. 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mohini 3 reviews from this member

 The place was smashing. Alex and I had a lovely holiday for 5 days. One thing to mention is very good facilities. Another-we did not take children but the place was full of small children and babies. Facilities meaning toilet shower drinking water taps and washing laundrette dryer shop restaurant and kids amusement, and there is a wifi lounge-nice place but for me the wifi did not work-for some others it did- possibly my android internet tablet likes only very strong signals.

Big place, you can walk to the sea to the top of a white chalk cliff overlooking it. For those who are sure-footed as a goat friendly towards nettles there are lots of cliffs to scale. Lots of elderly and babies over there. The Isle of wight is a friendly place, but bus tickets are high, 10 for a day rover 24 for a week. The Needles and Waltzing Waters are a must for anyone who wants to see the sights there.

Seaview Wildlife Park -we went to that too - was great fun and we got to stroke Australian wallabies, saw pygmy-sized llamas-type beasts from the Andes. Wild boar, chipmunks, pelicans penguins, and we fed them. We picked fossils at Yaverland Road Beach, Don't forget to visit Jurassic Jim and 22 High Street Shanklin. He very kindly picked out the rocks that were not fossils making our load to carry back home lighter! Boots rather than beach sandals possibly steel-toed if you plan to kick about rocks I'll leave out 'value for money' and 'site location'-we got a deal from the Sun newspaper. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Alaina22 3 reviews from this member

 After reading the reviews I was not really looking forward to visiting the campsite. We have been quite a few times to Whitecliff Bay but normally in the site accommodation.

I have to say the site was absolutely fine, the showers and other facilities were all good, not dirty at all as I was lead to believe by the reviews.

They were cleaned on a regular basis and I never found any problems and I am quite particular about the showers and toilets.

The entertainment was good, a bit repetitive if your there for more than a week but overall a good standard.

Will definitely be returning in the near future. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Thewilsoncampers 3 reviews from this member

 When we arrived at the site it was windy as the weather hadnt been great I suspect some people may have cancelled as we were told to pick where we wanted to go rather than allocated a pitch.

Tent was difficult to get up due to weather but was in such a beautiful spot when it eventually was up. The views are amazing.

The lady at the campsite was brilliant and very friendly.

The showers were wonderful and hot but the toilets could do with a bit of money spending on them.

The facilities across the road were very expensive. The Nab Bar food was ok but very expensive for what it was and the Calver club was ok but also very expensive. We loved the Bingo which was 7-730 every night.

We only went in the Outdoor pool once which was a shame cause it was the best one but it rained everyday but one so it was closed.

The indoor pool needs a lot of work refurbishing it we went in there but I do admit to me it wasn't that clean!

The views from the Outdoor pool are breathtaking I could have sat there all day looking at that view.

The beach is brilliant but to get to it is a bit of a nightmare. Very very steep path but once down there brilliant!

Overall it could do with updating and having lots of money spent on it.

We came home 2 days early because of the weather in fact the wind ripped our very expensive tent and we had to throw it away

I would go again for the beach and views alone. Hope they spend money on it soon. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Cuban-night 6 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a week at whitecliff bay which was our second visit and I have to say were a little disappointed.

We took advantage of the week for 200 with ferry included which was very good value as we could not have done it cheaper.

The standards seem to have slipped in the 3 years since we last visited and the quality of visitors which I believe is due to the cheap prices has also gone down hill. There were also a lot more caravans and I can see that a few additions have been made such as the lounge about tent, tent village and more power hookups. I would have expected the old tired bathrooms to also have been refurbished but they have just been patched up.

Our pitch was half way up the hill in the second field between the reception and old bathrooms right on the road. This wasn't a major issue as we were in a camper but could have been if we were in a tent due to noise levels.

We were shown our pitch by the touring manager who is fantastic and just what the place needed and always spoke when you saw her around. Our pitch was large and we were told we could do what we wanted with it for the week we were there.

Within a couple of hours we noticed the ground was not level and our camper was sinking so found some wood to level it which helped. We made our camp consisting of camper, awning and windbreaks and settled in. For the first couple of days the campsite was great and my son enjoyed playing on the park with other children.

Then on the sunday the whole atmosphere in the park changed as new campers arrived. My son would no longer use the playground and would not leave our side, the bathrooms were disgusting, we had a constant stream of children going up and down the hill on scooters and bikes most of these had no road sense and would do this in front of vehicles.

In 3 days we saw 5 children come off their scooters and scrape themselves and no parents around to supervise them. The children were using their feet to stop as they had broken their brakes and most scooters don't have them. The staff didn't stop this dangerous activity and even raced the children down the hill encouraging them.

Teenagers were no better riding from the top to bottom field at full speed down hill I saw one only just miss someone. I also suspect that one day when we were out a child may have been seriously hurt as all of a sudden it stopped and no one was doing it.

Vehicles were leaving and arriving late at night and leaving before 7 in the morning. Most campsites I have stayed on do not allow this between 11pm and 7 am but here it didn't seem to matter. Many vehicles were driving to use the toilets instead of walking which is just pure laziness. Most vehicles were aware of the children and drove slowly but some didn't care.

The old bathrooms were disgusting and the cleaner should be spoken to as she never did a great job in my opinion. The only day the bathrooms were cleaned to an ok standard was when the cleaner had a day off and someone else did them. The louvre windows do not close so the toilets were full of bugs.

The windowsills were not cleaned the whole week we were there and were full of dead bugs, I know this because I found a used razor blade cap on the floor and placed it on the sill and this was still there the day I left. The floors were not swept adequately and a dirty mop was used to mop the floor and you could even see the dirty mop marks.

There was always toilet paper everywhere which I know is not the cleaners fault but maybe if the bathrooms were cleaner people would respect them more. The shower floors were awful and a simple bathroom mat like those on the entrance to the bathroom would have helped with that.

The bathrooms need a refurb desperately. The newer bathrooms in the top field always had huge q's so I never used them but that just goes to show how bad the others were.

In our welcome pack we were not given any details of any events for the week and I had read on the website that there was an outdoor cinema which I never saw advertised but would loved to have attended.

2 days before we left I used the lounge about tent as needed to check things online and I then witnessed first hand why my son never left our sides. On the playground there was a group of under 10's I have never heard such bad language come from children's mouths. They were bullying any child who went along and all the parents could do was shout at them, swearing but not actually leaving their tent or can of stella.

The lounge about tent was full of litter and not looked after at all. Parents were not supervising children which I think is what caused most problems. I know this is not the campsites responsibility but if they enforced just a few rules maybe all campers could have a nice holiday.

The site is ideally situated to tour the island and there are some great local beaches but it is very hilly so if you are not fit or immobile I would not recommend it as the walk down to the beach is steep. We used the site as a base to explore other areas of the island and it suited our purpose.

The culver club is expensive and so run down. I think the whole site needs a refurb and some money spending on it.

It was adequate for our needs but there are better places to camp on the island. I am not sure that we will go there again even with a cheap deal unless they manage the camping side better. I would recommend but don't expect anything special. Some simple rules, a new cleaner and parents taking responsibility for the children would make this site a better place. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Franbrit 1 review from this member

 Had a great week here, weather was lovely so that helped.

Staff great and welcoming and directed us straight to our pitch.

Never used pools but looked great from passing

Beach bar has lovely views, walking to beach bit of a trek and very steep.

Family bar & entertainment aimed at children and a bit repetitive

Overall enjoyed our stay have already booked to visit again in 2013. Just hope weather is as nice, price great and isle of wight nice place that is easy to travel around to visit other places. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hotshotbobby 1 review from this member

 We have been to Whitecliff 3 times and had a great time every time. Last time was during Cowes week so the site was packed but they managed to pitch us and my sister's tent together which was really helpful. We did notice a bit of a smell which we thought was awful until we told that it was the Bembridge Crab Company which is based next door, so it then did not seem too bad!

The walk to the beach can be a challenge, but is well worth it as it really is lovely and sheltered from the winds that blow across Culver Down. For anyone visiting, please make the effort to walk across the field to the Propeller Inn to meet Crazy Dave and his staff. The military museum is a surprise and Dave really made us feel welcome and the food is great.

All in all a great location to explore the island and very reasonably priced, although the entertainment is limited. We found solace in the Nab Bar, while the kids enjoyed the Culver Club.  


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jack Man 2 reviews from this member

 My family and I holidayed here over the Easter break 2012. We took advantage of their 2 week deal. I think it cost about 250 including Ferry, which I thought was very good. We have been before (2005) so knew the park quite well.

The camp site is very well laid out, and very large, so accommodates a hundred or more pitches.

Firstly, the staff are all very friendly and helpful. Right from the reception staff, all the way to the cleaners / maintenance and bar staff, everyone's always friendly and polite.

The park (as detailed in other reviews) is split into two halves. This means that if you want any food / entertainment/ swimming pool / facilities, shop, you do have to walk over to the other side. This is only a 5 minute walk, not sure what everyone moans about to be honest.

The site facilities are excellent. There's absolutely loads to do on bad weather days. Especially for kids. The indoor and outdoor pools are brilliant, and the restaurant / bar is outstanding. The food wasn't the cheapest, but what we ate was really nice. The evening entertainment in the club is absolutely excellent, again, aimed at kids until about 9pm. However, if you don't want the noise of the club, there's the quiet bar/restaurant further up, which was lovely.

The on site showers / wash areas are excellent, and aren't very old. Loads of loo cubicles and showers / sinks. There is another shower block in the 2nd field which looks much older, however this wasn't open when we were there. We were told this was being renovated for the upcoming season.

Whitecliff Bay is located in a village called Bembridge, which is on the far eastern tip of the island, so if you want to go anywhere, it can be a bit of a trek (as much as it can be on the Isle of Wight). Not much at Bembridge, but it's a quaint little place, with a few shops.

The site is quite windy, and as we'd been before, we knew to take shelter behind some trees. It's a good job we did too, as the weather we had was shockingly bad. All in all, we had a great holiday. Pity about the weather though, but we did go in April !

Would we go again ? Yes - definitely ! 


Date of Visit: November 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Billy bailey 1 review from this member

 As I was working on the iow found this site useful as it was close to my job and one of only a handful that was open. On arrival no warden was available so had to cross over road to get to guest services. Eventually told to pitch anywhere. Found the least muddy pitch but after more rain and very high winds was a total mud bath, bit of a yomp to club and pool etc the food was quite good though. Didn't use touring facilities as our van ones are more than adequate but they looked ok. If there was no wind would stay again but as site is on a hill you do bear the brunt. Very reasonably priced though 


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Londonlydia 1 review from this member

 I travelled here with three other females and camped in the first field (note it was problematic trying to get in as an all-female group, as they don't allow hen parties, but we were getting in as part of girlguiding). The site was relatively empty, and we never had issues with noise etc. The toilet block seemed to be recently done up, and was actually really nice, but the pumped music of animals sounds was a bit odd- especially hearing it in the middle of the night! Meeting the cleaner (at about 6am) she said it was to calm the users! We ate at the restaurant once, when it was chilly outside, and the food was lovely, but we had a slightly over-eager waiter who was enjoying seeing the all female group a but too much! There is a WIFI tent on site near the reception, which is very useful, and they put in beanbags etc to sit on which is nice. There are ample sinks for washing up, and the water was always warm regardless of time of day. There is a freezer just outside the reception door for iceblocks etc.

Positives:

-close to the island's big Tescos, lots to explore locally, including free stuff (recommend the pearl shop, ventnor gardens and the garlic farm, all of which are free and will fill a day together)

-newly decorated shower block

-Free WIFI tent

Negatives:

-The road ( as mentioned in other posts)

-Lots of bugs in the shower blocks and toilets, which I think could frighten kids, a bit better dusting/ sweeping and it would be better.

Overall I would stay again, especially out of season when it's quiet. 


Previous     68 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Whitecliff Bay Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Whitecliff Bay Holiday Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Whitecliff Bay Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Whitecliff Bay Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bembridge      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Isle Of Wight

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


57905 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement