Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Sauchope Links Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Fife > Crail > Sauchope Links Caravan Park Reviews

Sauchope Links Caravan Park
Warsea Road
Crail
Fife   (Browse area)
KY10 3Xj
Tel: 01333 450460
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 50
Open: Easter To 31st October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 66 Reviews
                8/10 from 66 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  66 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jimmn 12 reviews from this member

Spent an enjoyable 4 days here on one of the very scenic seafront super-pitches.

It's a requirement that the caravans all face out to sea, so if you are on the sea front, you will have to uncouple and manhandle your unit into position. We had no problems with space on the pitch (including awning) as there is space for your car to sit across the pitch to the rear.

The toilet blocks are clean enough, but they have red clay tile floors (including the showers) which I don't particularly like. No hand dryers - only paper towels which can run out towards the end of the day. The chemical toilet is inside a stuffy cupboard with a sprung door to the rear of the washblock - I prefer open-air points and it wasn't fun holding the door open with a foot whilst emptying the loo. (a little bit niffy as well)

The water on-pitch is fine for washing up, but it tasted fairly awful in tea - I suspect it gets pumped a long way to get to the site and is heavily chlorinated as a result. Get some bottled water from the Co-op in Crail and you'll be fine.

As others have said, Crail is a lovely town. Try a visit to the pottery and the harbour is charming. An easy footpath from the site takes you there.

Would return.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: StuBelAberdeen 14 reviews from this member

This is a good site with great views across the water to East Lothian.

The pitches are a bit tight if you have an awning. showers are (wet room style) ok but they could be cleaner and with only three for the whole site it can mean a wait ( ladies and gents share the same shower block)

The TV picture is poor or non existent as the site is low directly on the beach. Wi Fi is charged - a poor show given the cost of a pitch.

A short walk into the village which has a couple of pubs, thr Golf Inn serves good grub and has free wi fi.

Crail is a lovely wee town that, along with the surrounding towns of Anstruther and St Andrews are well worth a visit. In short a good site but not a great one.

We were there in mid July and the site was busy but not full up - this says it all !

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Loch Morlich 13 reviews from this member

Great location for beach. The views over the Firth of Forth are stunning.

Unfortunately our booking was mixed up, so we had to move piches, but it didn't really bother us.

All of the necessities were there on hand and were of a good standard. The toilets were very clean.

The site lies a pleasant walk from Crail, one of the most picturesque of the East Neuks fishing villages.

Whilst the weather during our stay was a bit mixed the kids enjoyed a dip in the outdoor pool, which was a sun trap. They also played with other kids in the games room.

The site had a warm community atmosphere, and offers statics, wigwam styled units as well as space for tents and hard standings for mobile homes and tourers. Given the views, the pitches along the beach were perhaps not surprisingly a little squeezed.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Glenpat32 4 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a long weekend at Sauchope and it fully lived up to our expectations. We had booked a few months ago and so had a really good pitch facing the sea. Falling asleep at night listening to the waves crashing against the shore was magnificent. It was also extra special to have a super pitch with our own grey waste and water supply - fantastic. How can we possibly go back to fetching water and emptying the waste master (make sure you have the correct connections for your aqua roll and a length of waste pipe).

It looks like the site has recently been upgraded and the pitches are well set out and spacious. As it was a holiday weekend the grass (standard) pitches were busy. There was only one tent.

For our 7 year old there was plenty to do and he spent endless hours safely cycling around the well surfaced site roads, crabbing in the rock pools and playing at the swing park.

Toilet and shower facilities were adequate (the two toilet blocks are at opposite ends of the touring park) and clean (other than the few messy users who don't seem to care - but one gets them everywhere). On one occasion I was about to use the chemical toilet disposal but on arrival found it was blocked - not particularly pleasant - however upon reporting it it was cleared and disinfected within a few minutes by a very helpful site worker. We otherwise didn't see very much of the staff however there were occasional people buzzing about the site, collecting bins, cutting grass etc. The site was immaculate.

There is an outdoor pool which our son was in during beautiful weather. It appears well kept and very clean. There is a rocky beach (no sand) and the tide goes out a good way.

Crail is beautiful and we much preferred it to the other small fishing resorts nearby. It is a short 10minute walk. We visited the 'secret bunker' (3 miles away) which was an excellent - if frightening - vision of cold war preparations; St Andrews (of course), and the other fishing ports of Pittenweem, Elie and St Monans.

The site caters for dogs (we have two border collies) and there are great walks and plenty of dog poop bins.

Only slight negative was that we felt the shop could have been a little better eg. it could have stocked milk, bread and some necessities - however the local convenience store in Crail is only a few minutes drive and was open until 9pm most evenings. We would also like to see the owners make the touring pitch loop 'one way'.

We will definitely be back.

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Suzanne30 3 reviews from this member

Visited this site for the second time. It is a lovely well maintained site with great views from all pitches to the sea. Shower and toilet blocks are well kept and clean, it has a play park and games room for kids and direct access on to a pebble beach with rock pools.
It even has a small outdoor pool which I saw a couple of hardy guests using, maybe next time if it is hotter!

There is a small area for 2 man tents and some new looking camping pods. Crail is a quiet fishing town with a lovely harbour, some shops, restaurants and galleries. It is easily reached by a coastal path, broken up nicely with a play area for kids half way between the site and the town. One of my favourite places to stay and will definitely be back next year.

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Fiona W 180 reviews from this member

Pleasantly surprised by the site - it's in a very attractive location and hunkered down below the cliff so it doesn't feel too exposed. Found out later that the Crail golf course was originally sited here. One word of caution - we phoned ahead, and found that the office closes at 5pm. This made us late arrivals at 5. 30, with out pitch number in the office window - it may not be wise to just turn up after 5.

Odd arrangement in the toilet block - the ladies and gents loos are to one side of the corridor, the 3 unisex showers are to the other side. The loos each have a sink in the same cubicle - convenient, but you then take your dripping wet hands out to the dryer in the communal area, so the floor was always messy.

Great walk into Crail along the coast. Our first night was on soggy soft grass, EHU only, sound of sea. We asked to move next morning and got a hard-standing pitch which kept the evening sun, had better views of the sea, had its own water pipe and its own drainage pipe, but still cost the same 20. So if you don't like your pitch, see if you can move! 20 expensive for grass, ok for the serviced pitch. Could have done with a dog bin by the main entrance gate, as dog walking was off site and the bins were at the other end of the site. Would return, at least for a stop-over.

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mcdowell 11 reviews from this member

Just back from this wonderful site, its a real gem of a place.

Its got all you could ask for and more, snuggled right next to the sea, its a truly magical place, there are 2 kinds of pitches, superpitch or standard, all the pitches at the water front are super pitches and are a tiny bit more expensive, but worth it, .

The walk into Crail is short, once there, it has a butchers, bakers, coop, flower shop, 2 x pubs and more, all on the high street

You can purchase lobster at the harbour, which as usuall are still alive until you buy

We went into Anstruther on the bus 6. 70 return, for 2 which I though reasonable.

We will certainly be going back to this site.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: David HOPE 8 reviews from this member

We booked this site for 2 weeks at the end of August. We thought it may have been a bit busy for us as there was a swimming pool and park etc. This turned out not to be the case as the scottish schools go back mid August. I think it would have been ok anyway as the touring site is not overun and the statics had owners all of whom are not using their holiday homes at the same time. For those with children, the site has an adequate little park and a clean swimming pool. My only criticism of the site would be that some of the plots are a little uneven with the stone area lower than the grass but we used the grass for the caravan and put the awning on the stones which was much better especially in wet weather. The views of the site are excellent and as you are low down only a few metres above high tide it wasn't as windy as other coastal sites we have been on which are higher up. You also see the sun out over the sea for most of the day before it sets behind Crail village. There is a short cut coastal walk to Crail which takes a leisurely 10-15 minutes to get to. The village has a few gift shops, 2 x coop type stores, a butchers, cake shop and pharmacy. There are 2 pubs which were not particularly good to be honest but the Golf Hotel was the better of the 2 and not bad. The site was well maintained and the toilets were clean with very good showers. I noticed that staff even washed away the swallow droppings that built up below the nests each day around the toilet block. The young swallows were a joy to watch as they were taking their first flights and you could see their heads sticking out waiting for the mothers to return with food. The site had a recycling facility which is always a good thing for responsible recyclers. The beach at the site is stones and rock pools but there is a sandy beach on route to Crail 5 minutes away and a 10 min drive takes you to a great beach at Kingsbarns. St Andrews is about 25 minutes away by car. There is a Morrisons and an Aldi plus hospital and plenty of other shops for pressies etc. It is a bit expensive for most in St Andrews but if you have money to waste and love golf, then Fife is your place. It was about 135 to play on the royal and ancient old course and 180 to play at Kingsbarns, but I am sure there would be cheaper and dearer as there were courses all over the place inc Crail. In summary, the site was well worth the 22 summer fee per night and the area is absolutely lovely with each village have picturesque harbours and lovely coffee shops. The chippy in Crail is ok but they are much better down the road in Anstruther. There is an award winning chippy in Anstruther but the other 2 are just as good and cheaper. If you choose this site and have reasonable weather, I can't see how you wouldn't enjoy yourself here. As we are English we are not familiar of where the midgies all hide out but unlike the west coast, this area seems totally midge free in August.

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Beardies 2 reviews from this member

Excellent site, lovely location near the town and beach with a lovely park area on way into town.

Site is nicely laid out with excellent facilities for couples, families and groups.

Showers and toilets excellent, has a small, heated outdoor pool.

Staff very friendly and helpful.

Site is a mixture of residential units, camping pods and a tourer area. All well spaced and facilities for tourers excellent, electric hook up, water and waste at pitch.

Crail is a lovely little town with shops, pubs, hotels and while we visited the East Neuk Festival hosted various events in town.

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: 12038523 3 reviews from this member

Lovely site and a great location, easy to find and well sign posted.

Toilets were lovely and clean. The showers were good, however a bit steamy. Cold have done with some hooks for your things, towel etc.

TV reception was very poor even with freeview box we hardly got a thing.

Was slightly pricey at 25. 00 per night but it was easter weekend. However they didn't charge for awning.

Site was well kept and clean.

Had a nice walk into Crail and good swing park for kids on way.

Lovely site.

Previous     66 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Crail      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Fife

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth 100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


7347 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019