Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Cartmel Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Grange Over Sands > Cartmel Park Reviews

CLOSED: Cartmel Park
Wells House Farm
Cartmel
(lake District)
Grange Over Sands
Cumbria   (Browse area)



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: Touring Closed From 2015

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 58 Reviews
                8/10 from 58 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  58 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Redders499 14 reviews from this member

 I booked here as it was a campsite that I used to visit as a child, so had a few nostalgic memories of the place. The weather was really good, hot, sunny and a light breeze.

The prices are OK for a campsite in the lakes. The site itself is in an excellent location, really couldn't be better. Just outside the farm gate there is an excellent local children's park. This occupied the kids for quite a while! From there it is a very short walk (1 minute) to the small river where you can feed ducks and get over the bridge to the Royal Oak Inn. The Royal Oak has an excellent beer garden that runs down to the river, so the kids can play in full view, and you can relax with a good beer! It serves great food and is a friendly pub.

From the river path it is literally 10 seconds into Cartmel. This is a fantastic little town, with a medieval priory and good little shops and a great Cafe.

The site itsels if in three parts. There is the static part as you drive in, then through a small gate into the first camping field, which is quite flat. This then leads to the back field, where we stayed. This is quite sloping, espcially at the very back. Its a great open space though, and the kids had a great time playing with new friends. We have an Outwell Vermont l and thought we may be a bit big, but there were quite a number of large tents, and ours was not the largest!

There is a quiet policy after 10pm, but nobody checks, and we had to speak to a neighbour who was still talking really loadly stil at 11pm.

The only real downside to the site is the toilet block. The owner said that it had been recently replaced. It didn't feel like it. Whilst it had certainly been replaced, and had a fresh coat of paint, we were not happy with the standard of the facility. There were only three toilets, 3 urinals and two showers in the mens. No lower urinal for kids, or benches/flat areas for putting stuff down to get the kids sorted. There was only one, underpowered and largely useless hand drier that was too high for the kids to reach.

The floors are rough concrete, so any grass and dirt that's gets on the floor stays there. It was cold, and the floor always wet. The showers ran as a slight dribble and there was nowhere to dry yourself properly. The kids wouldn't shower in it! It really let the site down. If you go to say, Red Shoot they have a really well thought out shower block. Tiled, underfloor heating, plenty of bench space, good driers and spacious showers.

The owners did freeze ice packs but they was 50p each for your own pack!

On the whole it is a great location, nice site but the toilet block really lets it down and for that reason we wouldn't return. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Isabelle-grace 1 review from this member

 Just returned from a 3 night stay at the campsite. It was Easter bank holiday and the site was full, what a lovely site. Although full there was never a queue for the showers or toilets, the campsite was well kept and full of friendly people.

The location was perfect, 5 mins walk into Cartmel - we ate at a pub called the Cavendish Arms and were disappointed. The Spar is a few mins walk away for essential items. Also, make sure you take a visit to the shop that sells the sticky toffee puddings!

We had a drive to Grange over Sands, which again is a short journey (there are a couple of takeaways there too for those fed up of bbq)! On the Sunday we drove to Coniston and had a lovely day by the lake, lots to do.

On the whole this was an excellent experience and we will definitely be visiting this site again. 


Date of Visit: October 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Matapan 2 reviews from this member

 Great site, my wife and I returned to camping after a 5 year break so just us with no kids, this site has it all, nice clean shower block and washup area, pitches may be on a slight slope but well drained and owner cuts grass regularly.

Nice village with four pubs and two restaurants very near to site, also specialist cheese shop, specialist bakery and not forgetting the cartmel sticky toffee pudding shop.

All in all a great weekend, the only thing is when Cartmel races are on the site could get busy so if your not into horse racing maybe choose a different date. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bobon666 1 review from this member

 This is a brilliant site with everything you need, we have visited this site twice this year, the locals are extremely friendly and the village has it all.The Pig And Whistle is a nice little pub and The Royal Oak is so welcoming with a fantastic menu.It is a well run family site aswel as attracting some fantastic campers. We toured all over the Lakes from this base and are looking forward to returning many times next year, we would like to thank the owners for an excellent experience and a great stay. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nevatolate2010 3 reviews from this member

 Having just started camping this year we're trying to find our feet with the whole experience.

We're trying to find sites that are small, friendly, clean with good toilet and shower facilities.

This site ticks all the boxes.

Cartmel is a small village but people are very friendly. Grange over Sands is bigger both are very clean and picturesque

As with previous comments the site fields are not flat but there's no problems pitching.

The site seemed to be a place for families or 1 night stayers definitely no groups of rowdy youngsters

The site forms part of the village so you don't feel like an outsider and is within a stones throw of anything you may need, pubs restaurants, spar shop etc. Grange over Sands is 2 minutes car ride for chinese or indian take-aways.

Definitely a site for a relaxing break with more than adequate clean facilities

Would definitely stay here again 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: ChrisFromWigan 7 reviews from this member

 This is a fantastic site in a fantastic location.

When you arrive you have to look twice to realise that it’s the gate with the “constantly in use” sign on it that you need to use. Through the gate, park up in front of the sign that tells you to check in at the house. The house is 25 yards on the right past the old red phone box.

This is a basic site with all of the amenities needed for simple camping. When I visited, the site was full but I didn’t notice any queuing for the facilities.

Cartmel is a couple of hundred yards walk away with pubs and restaurants, sticky toffee pudding at the Village Shop and a little second hand book shop.

I used this site for a day trip with my 5 year old son to the Lakeside and Haverthwaite railway and access to Lake Windermere. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sherog 10 reviews from this member

 Myself and my two sons have just come back from a ten night stay at this site. As all previous reviews have said it is a great site.We had no complaints.

Our pitch was flat (hopefully the grass will grow back healthy) with EHU. The site was perfect just to chill. Cartmel is a lovely village nice pubs and shops. We had our dog and found some lovely walks.

Being so close to the Lakes you are handy to visit lots of places and attractions. Near by Grange over Sands had a lovely promenade to walk, shops and places to eat. A real nice Summer holiday was had even with the mixed weather. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: TheCrazyFox 3 reviews from this member

 I stayed here on a EHU pitch with my friend and our young children. The site is well laid out with two camping fields and one small field with statics. The site is surrounded by trees and fields with farm animals. On arrival we booked in and met both of the owners who were very friendly and made us feel at home.

We were given a list of rules to follow which are mainly common sense and being considerate of other campers and headed to our pitch.

The EHU pitches are in the first field close to the shower block. The toilet and shower facilities are basic, but clean, and the only thing that isn't free is the ladies hairdryer for 20p a go! The site was excellent value for money.

The village children's playground is right next to the campsite entrance and great for the children on site.

Off site, we found the village to have everything we needed and the locals were very welcoming to the tourists in their midst. We spent one of the days at South Lakes Wild Animal Park in Dalton, which although not the cheapest day out, was loved by the children and adults alike.

If you are looking for a relaxing family break in quiet surroundings then I would wholeheartedly recommend this site. We shall definitely be returning. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: SpampMan 23 reviews from this member

 What a gem this site is. Situated a short walk from several pubs and restaurants and the village Spar, and the best sticky toffee pudding in the World!

There are 3 fields - one is dedicated to static vans. Then just past the toilet block (free hot water all day!) is the first camping field. Here there are a few EHU points on the side against the static field. The field is a bit slopy but generally flat enough around the edges.

Then there is another field which is more slopy but still gentle enough not to be an issue for most people. The facilities consist of the toilet block with wash-up to the side. Could do with more wash-up sinks, but the water is hot and plentiful!

The site was not full when we stayed but there was a bit of congestion by the wash-up! Otherwise I think the site will cope easily with the stated maximum of 59 units and there will still be plenty of room to play.

There is no shop as it is literally a few minutes walk to the Spar, which is well stocked, including wine and beer in a chiller. It also sells bagged ice. EHU not required!

Just outside the main gate is a great kids play area funded by donations - there is an honesty box just at the entrance.

Cartmel itself is a fascinating little village; steeped in history and loads to do in and around. This would be an ideal place from which to explore the Lakes and the Cumbrian coast.

Price-wise it is OK. It cost £18.50 pn for 2 adults + 1 child in a (nominally) 5 man tent. There are those that would baulk at this, especially considering the on site facilities, but as I said, this site is a gem for it's location.

An easy walk to a good shop, 4 pubs, 2 posh restaurants, in a pretty village, surrounded by gorgeous countryside. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: DonnaMoores 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely site. Lots of space. Showers, toilets and outdoor washup clean area and lots of hot water. Childrens play area just outside of site and centre of Cartmel village 2 mins walk. Pubs and few shops in Cartmel.

Spar nearby for any essentials. Grange-over-sands has a bigger selection of shops, with a co-op, but no big supermarket near by. Visited Ducky's Farm with the children (aged 5 and 3), which they loved.

Suitable for wet or dry days with indoor softplay, trampolines, cars for the children to drive, as well as all the animals. Cafe too. Site good value for money. 


Previous     58 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5501 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020