Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Seal Shore Camping

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Ayrshire > Isle Of Arran > Seal Shore Camping Reviews

Seal Shore Camping
Seal Shore
Kildonan
Isle Of Arran
Ayrshire   (Browse area)
KA27 8SE
Tel: 01770 820320
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 40
Open: 01/04/2022 to 16/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 117 Reviews
                9/10 from 117 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport   Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  117 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Bigyin247 18 reviews from this member

 I can only support what has already been said, the site's location is stunning. The owners are wonderful I would rate this site as a 10 all day long.

The Kildonan Hotel next door has excellent food and a very good supply of local ales!

Only thing to watch is if you do have a van the roads are a little tricky. 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Vicbrown 11 reviews from this member

 The site description almost fails to do justice to this delightful, well maintained, and extremely well equipped site. At the end of a peninsula, you expect some simplicity and 'basic character'.

Noting could be further from the truth. The owners care greatly about this site - and have made sure that its guests are well catered for, in every respect.

Away from the site, do not miss the lovely forest walk and waterfall - Eas Mor ( at the top of the hill). But if that is too much, just relax taking in the view to Pladda) and then relax in the lovely hotel next door to the site ( great staff and ambiance) 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Motley 26 reviews from this member

 What a cracking site. Spacious and views to die for.

We stayed for five nights and unfortunately the weather wasn't too nice but it didn't keep us in.

The owners are nice people, friendly and helpful plus they're motorhomers themselves, so they know what's wanted.

The beach is amazing. The site runs right onto it and I think campervans without EHU can park right on it.

It's rough and rocky, so lots for kids to do.

Adjacent to the site is a hotel, which can be accessed behind reception, or via the beach.

We didn't eat there, but it looked reasonable. There was a folk afternoon on Sunday and we stayed right through the performance.

The site had a small shop which kept the basics.

Off the site I'm afraid wasn't our cup of tea. No shopping to speak of. The co-op seems to have the monopoly on food shopping with no obvious other supermarkets. Believe it or not we couldn't get a fridge magnet with 'Arran' on it! Plenty with Scotland though.

Roads are very basic and not wide enough to allow 2 buses past each other.

There are designated areas for one bus to pull over whilst the other passes.

We won't be going back, but if your fit and enjoy cycling and climbing, give it a try.

Incidentally, we never saw a seal! 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: LBBK 49 reviews from this member

 First things first - petrol on the island is expensive. Fill up before you travel: there is an Asda with a petrol station neighbouring the ferry terminal.

We stayed 3 nights in one of the two wooden camping pods on the site. The owner was friendly and helpful. The total cost was 90 for 2 adults, the only additional cost being 20p to work the hair drier. No wifi but our phone network (EE) did work.

The pod was almost 'glamping'. There was plenty of room for two on a raised wooden platform. The door and window were double glazed. There was a double electric socket - we used both a low wattage electric kettle and an electric coolbox - and one electric light.

It was almost perfect with the exception of the rule that said no cooking in either the pod or on the balcony. I can understand the owners not wanting cooking inside but to say not on the balcony seemed harsh. Fortunately we had good weather so cooking outside on the grass wasn't a problem. There was a small kitchen available ( a very nice touch) but it would not be big enough to cope with a full campsite.

The toilets and showers were fine and kept clean. There was also a day room with TV, a laundry and a small shop that we did not need to use.

Others have said that the site feels overcrowded when full. This wasn't our experience as we were there mid week in Sept but I can imagine it would be the case at popular times. There is no space on site for children to run around or play games.

The site is on the sea shore with amazing views. Plenty of wildlife, especially if you walk a mile or two along the coast - seals, otters and many sea birds. Also keep an eye open for submarines as we spotted one! There is a large sandy bay about half a mile along the path.

Next door is a hotel/bistro. We didn't use it so can't comment on the food.

The island is beautiful but don't expect much to do indoors if it is wet. The Tourist Info at the ferry terminal was very helpful. There is also a decent sized Co-op supermarket on the seafront at Broddick. Elsewhere on the island it seemed to be corner shop culture only. One day we walked up Goat Fell to see the stunning views and on the second we visited some pre-historic stone circles. Sadly the boat wasn't running over to Holy Island so that will have to wait for another trip.

Overall very enjoyable but I would say that the island is only worth visiting in decent weather. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Andykelly 5 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for two nights as part of a tour of the Inner Hebrides. When we got off the ferry at Brodick the area was really busy with the Brodick Highland Games so it was lovely to find peace and quiet at Seal Shore. The owners were really friendly on arrival and throughout our stay and happy to help, with nothing too much trouble. Site was about half tents and half campers, tourers and motor homes so a good mix. We had a pitch near the front with full sea view which was great for spotting seals in the evenings. We had a pitch with EHU and simple hardstanding for wheels of the van which meant we could still enjoy the grass. Tents had to park their cars either by reception or along the front. Ladies had 4 toilets and 2 showers while mens had 2 toilets and 2 showers but still no need to wait. Also an additional 4 showers in another block which was great and all clean and well maintained. Also 2 washing up areas, each with two sinks and a laundry area. Small shop inside Reception, and happy to point us in the right direction for things they didn't sell. Easy to walk down onto the beach for a walk and could have easily spent a day milling around the site and local area if we had more time. As Arran is quite small it would be easy to use this site as a base rather than changing sites, and we intend on coming back here for a week at another time as we didn't have time to do everything! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Kevin the campervan 8 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for 3 nights and our pitch was right on the sea front. The site is about 12 miles from the ferry at brodick which is a nice drive in itself. The site has nice facilities and the undercover cooking facilities for the campers was a real plus as the weather during our stay was mixed at best. There is a bus stop right outside the site and we took advantage of this on a lovely saturday and went round the island on the bus with our dogs a real nice way to see the whole of the island. At 20 per night without electric hook up I did think it was a bit on the dear side but with the location and extra facilities it is worth a visit if stopping on arran 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Pilling pirates 5 reviews from this member

 Spent three nights at seal shore and agree with previous reviews the view is tremendous, the owners are friendly and helpful and on site facilities are good. During our stay the site was very busy and felt a little cramped and is rather expensive compared to similar sites. The road from Whiting Bay whilst towing is a little challenging, although driving on and off the ferry with a twin axle unit was no problem and the ferry crew were very helpful. We also enjoyed a few drinks and a satisfactory meal in the bar at the Kildonan Hotel next door. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cwarchc 28 reviews from this member

 We did a bit of homework prior to booking here.

I have to say it paid off

This is a marvellous site, right on the beach with great views towards Pladda,

The facilities are good, the site was quite busy when we were there, but there was never a queue.

The owners and staff are really friendly and helpful.

As has been mentioned, it is next door to the Kildonan Hotel, perfect for a relaxing drink on the terrace after a hard day on the beach,

Arran is a special place and well worth a visit, if you do? make sure it's at Seal Shore, you won't be disappointed 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Truediamond 100 reviews from this member

 This site delivered everything we expected from previous reviews:

Wildlife - we saw the otters from our pitch and were able to get close up views with binoculars from the edge of the beach; several seals were out enjoying the sun about a mile East of site and, finally, we chased a Red Squirrel along the road as we left. This doesn't count as wildlife but we also watched a nuclear submarine pass down the Clyde in full view.

Facilities - Showers and dishwashing areas were all high quality and clean.

Value - the price was good value for everything on offer.

Scenery - lovely views South over Alisa Craig and Pladda Island as far, sometimes, as Northern Ireland.

Midge free! 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Gilli13 1 review from this member

 This site is on a super location by the beach which is lovely for dog walking. The site seems to cater mainly for tents. We were in a touring caravan on a hard standing pitch with electric hookup. Unfortunately all the pitches with hookup are located near the facilities. This means that all the people in tents had to walk past the caravans to use the toilets, showers, washing up facilities etc. We experienced a steady stream of people walking right past our caravan (even walking between our car and caravan!) every morning and evening. There seems to be a free for all as regards siting of tents. It was windy during our stay and several tents were pitched right next to caravans presumably to try to find protection from the wind. We had a small tent immediately behind us and the occupant insisted on squeezing between our caravan and the wall several times a day so we found it impossible to relax and enjoy our meals. This problem could easily be alleviated if the site owner told visitors exactly where to pitch and also asked them to be more considerate to other visitors privacy. Perhaps the hookup pitches for caravans could be sited furthest away from the facilities since people in caravans do not need to use them so often. The shower blocks are adequate but the cubicles are very small. The hotel next door is dog friendly but the food is expensive and uninspiring. Overall I would imagine this site is good for tents but would not recommend it for caravans due to lack of privacy and peace and quiet. Price wise the site was expensive. We have stayed on lots of less expensive quieter sites with much better facilities. We will not be staying on this site again. 


Previous     117 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Seal Shore Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Seal Shore Camping?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Seal Shore Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Isle Of Arran      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Ayrshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save 15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4356 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement