Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Pennine View Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Kirkby Stephen > Pennine View Caravan Park Reviews

Pennine View Caravan Park
Station Road
(lake District)
Kirkby Stephen
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA17 4SZ
Tel: 01768 371717
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 58
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 50 Reviews
                9/10 from 50 Reviews

Photos (13)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  50 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: ByersFamily 1 review from this member

 We found the site really clean and tidy. The toilets were more than adequate, clean and tidy at all times.

Plenty of showers with hot water aplenty, washing up facilities also top drawer.

The staff couldn't have been more helpful as we found out when our water pump broke and we ran out of gas cooking tea on easter sunday.

The site location is perfect as its not right in the town but a 15 minute walk away. Some lovely walks nearby and pubs, take aways and shops all within easy reach.

Our kids loved the freedom of the park and we have booked to go again in August. Well done on a great site. 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Migsmum 2 reviews from this member

 Just returned home after brilliant stay

The site was what we expected, clean and tidy, were made welcome on arrival and shown to our pitch, toilets and showers are clean plenty of hot water,

We were on the adults only side of the site and it was great (we don't have kids). The children's play area looked fine perhaps a little dated,

Loads of walks. Took about 20 mims to walk to town centre. There was a vintage bus and car rally on so everywhere was busy,

Plenty places for food. Would recommend the panda Chinese takeaway

Will be going back to Kirkby Stephen and Pennine view very soon 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: AL1503 2 reviews from this member

 We were a bit disappointed with the 'welcome' we received here. The owner was cold and blunt on our arrival and throughout our stay.

The toilet and shower blocks were very clean and well maintained though dated in appearance. The showers themselves were excellent, hot water and good water pressure.

We were not very impressed with the food in the Croglin Castle pub which is the closest to the camp site but we did find an amazing Indian restaurant in the town of Kirkby Stephen- The Mango Tree, delicious. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Shanxpony 10 reviews from this member

 I felt that the camp site was more geared towards caravanners than campers. Some of the tent spaces were not very inspiring, but were adequate.

Bathroom facilities were excellent, and just what was needed on our Coast to Coast trip. Friendly and helpful staff. Would be nice to have a slightly shorter walk to the town, but I guess they can't do anything about their location now!

In general it is in an attractive area with lots of nature walks nearby, and you can't go wrong with the shops and pubs in Kirkby Stephen.

Look out for the colourful macaws. We saw three of them flying between chimney pots near the camp site, and squawking very loudly. Don't worry though, the camp site itself is very quiet. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tayls 10 reviews from this member

 I read all the previous reviews about the site so went with an open mind and I must say it was well worth it.

Friendly people upon arrival directed to our pitch.

The site is immaculate in every way the play area could use an update but this never stopped my daughter playing on the swings or slide,

Locally they are great pub at the gate was good then a slow walk down into the village (about 10mins) a couple of the pubs let dogs in its either the kings heads or kings arms was fantastic bringing the dog water and loads of fuss around her.And she is a 9stone akita. But this didn't bother anyone.

I would recommend this site and will be visiting again without doubt 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ellengarth 1 review from this member

 Beautiful park, very well maintained. Excellent, idiot proof showers. I had difficulty with the security code at first but I also have difficulty with keys so am not complaining. Everywhere spotlessly clean. Excellent.

The area is lovely to look at and interesting to explore.There are so many easy walks it's unbelievable.

We stayed Sunday till Thursday. People were

All friendly and helpful.

This camp was recommended to us by two different friends and we are also telling our fellow caravanners about it.

We had a wonderful time and must return because there is still so much to see and do. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: FXY04 6 reviews from this member

 We had booked 4 nights here, seeing the positive reviews and with the proximity to the Settle - Carlisle railway.

Upon arrival we were met at the office by a woman who did not fit the description of the helpful person given by other reviewers here. She may have been ill or having an off-day, but she was cool almost to the point of rudeness. For example, we asked about easy access to dog-walks and footpaths.

She pointed out of the gate and down the road, whereas, I found at the end of the campsite a swing gate onto the public footpath leading to Kirkby Stephen station. We also asked about the nearby pub (positively mentioned by other reviewers) and she just made a 'sour' face. We went to the pub anyway and had a great meal - good locally-sourced fresh food.

We were met at the site by friends involved in the tourist industry in Cumbria and they were most taken aback by the attitude to campers, as were the friends we'd booked to camp with there who had driven from the south coast, so much so that they said they would not camp there again. What a difference a smile, friendliness and less emphasis on rules could have made.

The facilities on site are as described by other reviewers, just think standard Camping & Caravanning Club, or Caravan Club, clean and adequate, though perhaps in need of some modernisation.

Watch out for the booking system, a deposit is payable and it is on a per night basis, so if you shorten your stay (as we had to as my mother was taken to hospital, so we went and camped near her instead) you will lose the deposit on any nights not taken.

It can be held over for the rest of the season, if you manage to get back there. Also rather discouragingly, the receipt for booking is accompanied by a list of rules and prohibitions. I do sympathise with a proprietor who may have had bad customers in the past, but I have never seen anything quite so unwelcoming to a new customer.

The site is on the location of a now disused railway, so level and well drained, with excellent hard-standing.

It is about half an hour walk into the middle of bustling Kirkby Stephen with plenty of good shops and facilities. Straight off the site is a footpath over fields to Kirkby Stephen station - about 50 minutes walk. Well worth the ride on trains about every 2 hours, crossing the Ribblehead viaduct into Settle - we went on Tuesday - market day.

The walk indicated by our welcoming lady though not as convenient is also worth it, giving access to a path on the disused railway line, by the river and linking to the path to the village of Nateby.

The cost was about 5 per night more than any identical Caravan Club site would have charged.

All in all a good site, in an excellent location, let down by a poor appreciation of customer relations. 


Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: LORAINERAB 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this site over Easter when the site was very busy,even so the toilet block was immaculate and there was enough facilities so we never had to wait to use showers etc.We stayed for 3 nights. The staff were brilliant ( especially so when my Mum had an accident and we needed to get her to hospital for treatment ).

The grounds were clean and there is a gateway at the bottom of the site which leads to a dog walk by the river which is beautiful.

Kirkby Stephen is a small town with a nice veriety of small shops.

We will return to this site again as our stay there was great. 


Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Rjwalmsley 1 review from this member

 We stayed here for 2 nights on a sunny dry weekend.

The facilities are excellent - toilets, brilliant shower, waste disposal, water point etc.

Will definitely return again. Kirby Stephen a lovely place. Also drove up to Tan Hill, highest pub in UK - lovely scenery and great atmosphere in pub!

Check out time 12.30, this could be a bit later especially on a weekend away!

Local pub 2 mins up road brilliant food and drink - croglin castle.

A bit confusing when told which part of your pitch to put van on, could be clearer instructions e.G diagram. Also as we arrived just as going dark - clearer instructions on how to use automatic barriers in and out would be beneficial.

Very well maintained friendly site. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Chrisheaton 1 review from this member

 Visited this site on the Bank holiday weekend in August, The Site was very clean and the pitches are well spaced out. The toilet block was clean but only had 2 showers and with it being bank holiday were very busy. The Staff at the site are very friendly and helpful. If you want a site that is clean, friendly and in a great location for Walking, Cycling give it a try. 


Previous     50 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Pennine View Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Pennine View Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Pennine View Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Kirkby Stephen      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2602 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement