Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Pennine View Caravan Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

Pennine View Caravan Park
Station Road
(lake District)
Kirkby Stephen
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA17 4SZ
Tel: 01768 371717
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 58
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 43 Reviews
                8/10 from 43 Reviews

Photos (13)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 1 mile   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  43 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: LORAINERAB 2 reviews from this member

We stayed at this site over Easter when the site was very busy,even so the toilet block was immaculate and there was enough facilities so we never had to wait to use showers etc.We stayed for 3 nights. The staff were brilliant ( especially so when my Mum had an accident and we needed to get her to hospital for treatment ).

The grounds were clean and there is a gateway at the bottom of the site which leads to a dog walk by the river which is beautiful.

Kirkby Stephen is a small town with a nice veriety of small shops.

We will return to this site again as our stay there was great.

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Rjwalmsley 1 review from this member

We stayed here for 2 nights on a sunny dry weekend.

The facilities are excellent - toilets, brilliant shower, waste disposal, water point etc.

Will definitely return again. Kirby Stephen a lovely place. Also drove up to Tan Hill, highest pub in UK - lovely scenery and great atmosphere in pub!

Check out time 12.30, this could be a bit later especially on a weekend away!

Local pub 2 mins up road brilliant food and drink - croglin castle.

A bit confusing when told which part of your pitch to put van on, could be clearer instructions e.G diagram. Also as we arrived just as going dark - clearer instructions on how to use automatic barriers in and out would be beneficial.

Very well maintained friendly site.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Chrisheaton 1 review from this member

Visited this site on the Bank holiday weekend in August, The Site was very clean and the pitches are well spaced out. The toilet block was clean but only had 2 showers and with it being bank holiday were very busy. The Staff at the site are very friendly and helpful. If you want a site that is clean, friendly and in a great location for Walking, Cycling give it a try.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jake99 3 reviews from this member

We stayed August Bank holiday.

Weather very wet but it did not stop our enjoyment of the site. Owner/staff exceptionally helpful. We ran out of gas and it was no problem. Barrier system in and out and separate Adult Only area. Small children's play area. Toilet block, combination lock to get in, well kept, warm and even a radio playing. Even though the site was completely full no problem with the electric from the hook ups. T.V. Reception quite poor and learnt to line the aerial up the houses aerials just in view. Slight noise from the main road mainly motorbikes, but not enough to cause a problem.

Lovely walks from the bottom of the site via the River, The Devils Eye (a swirling waterfall, Dippers on the rocks (my husband saw an otter crossing the lane when walking the dog one morning) or the Viaduct walk opened in 2005, with lovely views and joins the site to the village.

Chinese takeaway in Kirby good but only took cash. Lovely quaint village, old fashioned shops, local butchers, bakers but spar and co-op too.

Good base to travel both directions into the Lake District (which was even wetter) or towards Skipton. Recommended.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Trappsy 2 reviews from this member

Just returned from the park having spent 9 nights there, nothing at all to complain about except the weather, excellent facilities, and probably the best kept site I've been on. Good walks from the site and, Kirby Stephen with good pubs and takeaways 10 minute walk away. The Croglin Castle hotel just at the site entrance is under new management, bit rough around the edges but good beer and friendly staff, and the food is excellent, Huge portions so save yourself if you intend going. We do intend to visit the site again but gonna reserve a bit of sun next time.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Aasd 6 reviews from this member

Just back from fri-sat nights bank hol weekend, very nice site, not very well sign posted so take care as we missed it(twice).

Facilities were very good,this is not a complaint but 2 showers is maybe not enough for so many tents, also caravanners use the showers which means there maybe queuing, showers are very powerful and hot and free, pub over the road is ok(convenient)but a little untidy! but at 4.70 for a Guinness and half of lager its a bit pricey, workmens club 10mins down the road its 3.40 for the same round, also kirkby stephen has lots of pubs a lot cheaper than the one near the site.

All in all a good site would go back again.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Clancy 3 reviews from this member

We camped here for a weekend. The facilities are as previous reviewers have described, that is clean, but inadequate for the size of the site.

It is handy for the town, and the whole area is extremely good for walking.

Our main impression however was that the site is grossly overpriced, especially given the inadequate number of showers. Also, the staff member at reception was probably the least welcoming at any campsite that we have visited and distinctly unhelpful.=

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Wigwamsue 2 reviews from this member

Spent two nights here. Very good location for walking into Kirkby Stephen. Owner not at all friendly, when told it was 18 per night for 2 adults, & one dog in a tent, I stressed we did not require ehu and was just told abruptly 'its all the same price'. Strange. We were given a code to use to access the toilet block. What a fuss! Stayed at sites with better facilities than this and never had that nonsense. I had to let people in when it failed to open first time and people kindly had to let me in too!

When asking if there was a designated dog walk, was told to exit the site, walk 300-400 yards up the road to the public footpath, bit much for 18 per night.

Probably the main problem was that the site was lit with only what can be described as floodlights! We enjoy sitting outside the tent in the evening with a glass of wine, watching the night fall before retiring. Not so here, lighting did not even dim, making it hard to tell through the night whether it was morning or not! Oh take mozzy spray too. People in the village very friendly though. Good pub food & dog friendly.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kim anders 1 review from this member

My mum and Dad were regulars in their caravan at this campsite and have made some fantastic friends here. Mum still has a fantastic time when she visits. Myself and my friends (7 of us) have been camping here and every time we have had a blast!

Facilities are spotless and Colin and Sheila and their daughter are always at hand to help.

It is in a lovely spot that is near to places to visit for a fabulous day out and is close to several nice pubs for a few drinks on the night.

Overall it is a lovely campsite to stay on! I would recommend it a thousand times over!

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: The_Chases 10 reviews from this member

We visited this site on our first trip out with the caravan. We had a scary trip up due to the ECU on the car being faulty. The stress just slipped away when we arrived. Our fellow 'vanners' jumped to help us sort our van with it being our first time which made our trip really nice.

Very well organised site. Washroom, showers are free and immaculate with piped music and heated.

Pub just a few yards away and the town just a 5 minute drive away.

Nice little walk down the lane to take the dogs with a little river running through it.

Lovely areas to visit walking or driving. Go you wont be disappointed.

Nice site. Would go again

Previous     43 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2871 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019