Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Crows Nest Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Scarborough > Crows Nest Caravan Park Reviews

Crows Nest Caravan Park
Gristhorpe
Filey
Scarborough
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO14 9PS
Tel: 01723 582206
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: Tourers 50 - Tents 200
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 222 Reviews
                7/10 from 222 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing 10 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 10 miles   Golf 1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  222 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Theposhcat 4 reviews from this member

We went at the end of July for a week.

We had a day or so of good weather then it rained most of the week. Unfortunately, because of the tarmac road in front of the pitch we couldn't pull the porch out enough and when the wind starting blowing we had to take it down before it blew down.

The facilities were reasonable, and the entertainment reasonable, it just wasn't the best place we've been, there are better places for the money.

The weather may be tainting my view of course.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Pamandjosh 1 review from this member

Excellent site for all needs. Good for exploring the coastline towns and villages of Scarborough, Filey and in a very peacefully location despite close proximity to main roads. Well stocked shop for any last minute essentials. The on-site fish and chips are of the best quality at a very reasonable price. Will definitely use the site again

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: LokiThorIronmamFury 7 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a weeks break at Crows Nest campsite. The site is well situated between Filey and Scarborough which is very good, its not too far to Bridlington either.

We really liked the site, however there are areas that could be improved. The disabled shower room is cold, the water that comes out of the showed is cold as well, this makes showering in there quite unbearable. It may be OK later in the season when it's warmer but during this past week it was quite awful as the outside temperature was not much past 16 degrees Celsius. The family room wasn't much different. Other than it being cold in there, the facility was clean and we'll maintained.

In the girls main shower/toilet block there was a blocked drain so 2 of the showers flooded, one of which was so hot, you were stood in scolding hot water. There were 2 hair dryers in the girls, one of which was broken. There was 1 in the men's which was also broken. My advice, take your own. Overall, the toilet/showed blocks were clean. Until the site filled up on Friday then they were a real state. That's not the cleaners fault, she was very thorough, that was just down to the other campers.

The site we pitched on was fairly level on one bit but it meant when we pitched we couldn't park the car on it. They could do with being levelled out a little bit.

Our overall thoughts on this campsite are, its really lovely. When out of season. I can imagine during the summer months it would feel cramped and over crowded. The pitches are fairly spacious but once you get a few big tents on the pitches near the loo's, it does feel like you're on top of one another.

The shop on site was well stocked, not too expensive either however, if you use icepacks you're looking at a 20p per ice pack charge to freeze them. This isn't mentioned on the website!

The pool was good but again, in the height of the season I doubt you'd be able to swim in it. The changing room there is a single room with 1 shower and you can't lock the door.

The 10mph speed limit was not adhered to by some of the campers, now I find that a little rude! There were quite a few small children running around. There were several 'please respect your neighbours' notices around, one of which is on your tent tag, this again was ignored by some campers. Manners and respect cost nothing, fellow campers who are rude are off putting! This is not a reflection of the site or the owners, this is just an issue some people have! The site owners and the site were lovely and we couldn't fault them.

It may look like we've had a rubbish time, but we haven't. It's been a really lovely holiday. Stunning views, lovely quiet site (out of season), friendly staff and good facilities.

We are thinking of returning.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Asjp 4 reviews from this member

This was a lovely campsite, brilliantly located, with excellent facilities. The pitches are spacious, and the EHU tent pitches are separated with a little picket fence.

The children's play area is lovely, and the showers and toilets in the top camping area are superb, and free. Only issue is no freezer, so our ice blocks were not much use.

We didn't have chance to sample the evening entertainment, but the pool was nice. Changing rooms were a bit cramped, and as it was busy it was a bit untidy. The new lockers are a good addition and should help with this.

The on-site fish and chip shop is also excellent!

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Nursenurse 4 reviews from this member

Stayed at crows nest at Easter the 2 nod week. Very quiet site at the top near the cliffs, so very windy and exposed to the elements, had a super pitch but the electricity kept going off, went to the chap on reception and found him to have a could not care less attitude, there was some fault with the electric post he did suggest hooking up to another hook up which is what we did as we have a 25 metre mains lead, if you have a 10 metre lead you certainly would have to move pitches should this arise. The views are lovely the campsite it's self is mainly statics and they are certainly on top of each other and squashed in, we were fortunate to be on the top touring site which appears to be a recent addition. There is a shop but hardly ever open lights on but closed sign displayed so not sure of the opening times but looked well stocked. Had fish n chips which one has to when in scarborough from the site fish n chip shop very tasty but expensive. Two days before our departure two cars with young people arrived and pitched 2tents behind our caravan, not a prob but was a night as we could here there music laughing etc to the early hours, dread to think what it's like in the summer months. Probably like Glastonbury. So to things park your van on the lower side of the top touring field away from the higher pitches and the camping tent field and ensure you have a decent length mains lead. Lovely views from the top of site would I stay here again maybe but not in peak season that's for sure, as I'd imagine it would be noisy and the club house would be open also. Plenty of other sites in the area and everyone to make there own opinion but I am pointing out the negative points we experienced staying there recently

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Abernc 7 reviews from this member

Visited this site over the Easter weekend. We booked a super pitch which was big enough to pitch the van and a full awning and still had a grassy area next to the awning to sit outside. The pitch for the van is on stones so rock pegs needed. The superpitches have electric, water, drain for grey waste and TV aerial points. We paid for wifi but we couldn't receive it so got our money back. The superpitches are at the top of the site near the cliff top so a bit more exposed to the elements but close to the dog park and kids play park. The toilet block is huge and easily accommodates all the tents and vans on that part of the site. They are clean and the showers have hot water although it's a push button. The swimming pool is small but ok and we didn't visit the clubhouse so can't comment. The shop is well stocked with the essentials. The site is within easy access to Scarborough and Filey but on busy weekends I'd recommend getting the park and ride into Scarborough as it uses a bus lane so is much quicker. The only negative to the site is the tractor going past every morning at 8am to empty the bins on the tent field, I prefer to lie in when on holiday! Just a quick observation on the standard pitches, they were very small and close together. We would visit again and book on a superpitch again.

Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Polly15 2 reviews from this member

This is a great site, ideal for what we required. Good price too.

We stayed here for a weekend September 2014.

Flat pitch with electric and water on the pitch, no having to carry water miles.

Showers were clean and hot.

The Bar was really friendly and so were the other people staying on the park.

The Fish and Chips are outstanding.

We will definitely be back later this year.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Damian73 4 reviews from this member

Great little site. Friendly welcome, very hospitable.

Plusses:

Very clean, especially the toilets and pool.

Enjoyable (mostly) family entertainment.

Well stocked shop.

Great value fish and chip shop.

2 very good bars.

Within easy reach of Scarborough, Filey and Bridlington.

Minuses:

2. 00 per day to use the pool on a day pass.

Pretty expensive wi-fi connection rates.

You really DO have to abseil precariously to the beach at the bottom of the cliffs!

We would go again now we know where the safe to access beaches are. Lovely place.

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Phil palmer 1 4 reviews from this member

We arrived after 12pm, staff very friendly staff. We were told where to pitch, we went non electric so in the top field, managed to get near the fence with a lovely view of the north sea. And a view of Scarborough especially at night!.

Toilet blocks were very clean as well as the whole site, very generous shower cubicles. The on site shop is well stocked, never used the pool or the bar so cannot comment

Near to the fence overlooking the sea are some spectacular walks to Cayton bay and Filey,

Plenty to see and visit in the area.

To be honest cannot wait to go back again!

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Paulette Hancock 10 reviews from this member

We arrived August Bank Holiday for 9 nights and was very busy, but had a smooth check in, although I made sure that I had the cash available as there was no way at all that I was going to pay a 2. 00 debit card.

Shop very well stocked and the bar seemed nice. Pool is clean and I think charging 2. 00 a person maybe a bit much.

Fish and chip shop was very nice and well priced.

We had a touring caravan and small awning, and have never seen such small pitches. If we didn't have a motormover, than we would have really struggled. There wasn't much space to sit outside the van. We were right beside the shower/toilet block and they were very clean, but the problem was that with it being bank holiday, the bottom field was full with campers and these were the ones that they used. I did feel sorry for them as there was always queues, which also could make it quite loud around our van. I would have thought that on bank holiday weekends that they would bring some extra facilities in for the bottom field, cause it was a long walk.

We walked upto the top and decided to walk to cayton Bay as the sign said that it was only a mile away and that scarborough was 6 miles. Beware it is a scary walk and it is no way 1 mile as when we got there it advised us that Scarborough was now only 3 and a half miles away (in which we did, as there wasn't a lot in Cayton Bay).

Brilliant car boot on Leverston on a Sunday morning. Bus stop right outside and many places easily reached by car.

Dog park wasn't very good as the fence wasn't very secure, and the ball kept rolling out.

Previous     222 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Scarborough      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth 100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4015 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019