Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Holme Farm Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > North Yorkshire > Settle > Holme Farm Campsite > Reviews

Holme Farm Campsite
Horton In Ribblesdale
Settle
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
BD24 0HD
Tel: 01729 860281
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 96 Reviews
                7/10 from 96 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  96 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Stephenson 3 reviews from this member

 I found that the toilets where absolutely disgusting. There was about 80 tents on the camp site and the men's toilets only had 1 shower and had bits of carpet lying on the floor which smelt awful it was dirty to say the least, also their was only 2 toilets so you had to queue to to get to 1. Their was 3 small sinks but they were so close together that only 1 person at a time could use it and they only had a cold water tap so know hot water and had dead fly's lying round them.

There is know excuse for having dirty toilet facilities. That's what you pay your money for decent hygiene in the toilets.  


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Johnb2 3 reviews from this member

 Lovely quiet campsite. Very basic but very friendly. During our 3 night stay we met Andy a local camper who helps out round the site who couldn't be more helpful and friendly. Showers were lovely and hot and brilliant location for walking 3 peaks. We had 2 meals at the local pubs, both walking distance which was very handy for a good drink. Both pubs were good value and offered proper home cooked food. Ribblehead viaduct was as pretty as postcards depict. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Shawy64 7 reviews from this member

 The only word I can use to sum up this site is 'shambles'

We arrived 8. 30pm and were greeted by an inebriated man who didn't seem pleased to see us. We had pre booked electric hook up but what a joke. It consisted of half a dozen extension leads all connected to one another with a plastic bag covering the cases! It took ages to get electricity then as soon as someone else plugged in everyone else's went, it was a joke. And a health hazard!

There was just 1 shower for ladies and 1 for men so we never got to have one! considering this site is mainly used by walkers, many of whom have done the 3 peaks, a shower is a basic necessity.

The site was boggy so cars churned up the grass making the site very muddy. We had to help push a car off the grass!

This is a superb location, just a minutes walk from the start of the 3 peaks so could potentially be a first class site but sadly the owners must feel they can get business without making any attempt to try.

If you're willing to rough it for a couple of nights and don't mind queuing for a shower for an hour then go for it.

This is a beautiful setting but my advice for the owners is to get your act together, make it a site to remember for the right reasons! 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Elliot94 3 reviews from this member

 We did an expedition here and found the campsite to be more than fit for purpose. Two pubs nearby (although we found the golden lion to be cheapest - turn right out of the campsite). Toilets are basic and from other peoples comments the shower, while costing £1, is hot and lasts a long time. This campsite is very fit for purpose for a DofE group especially for the price and its location so close to the 3 peaks :) 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Chorleyboy1961 1 review from this member

 Great basic campsite, very welcoming owner, lovely cut grass, location spot on, value, ten out of ten, if you want marble floors in the toilets etc, I suggest this campsite is not for you, maybe try the Ritz for that.

Real ale a bit expensive in the 2 local pubs, in fact its more than the Guiness, Stella and Strongbow. At £3. 40 a pint, not sure it should be that expensive.

Public Toilets down the road, turn left out of the camp, if you feel that might be more private than the camp toilets.

Great walk by the River Ribble to Helwith Bridge, a couple of miles to a good pub if you want cheaper beer and pie and peas for £2. 50.

Cannot wait to stay again, though the weather was great which helps.

Mobile shop serves all basic food stuffs, parked most of day near Golden Lion, and does good sandwiches etc.

Settle is about 6 miles away if you need supermarkets, takeaways etc, nice town. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Neshobe 1 review from this member

 Perfect location for Pen-y-ghent as you start less than a couple of minutes walk away.

The facilities continue to be basic, but they are clean. They just give the impression of being cruddy. The shower may cost £1, but it's powerful and hot and goes on forever! I've never been here when it's been full, but it could put a lot of pressure on the cramped urinal, three sinks, two loos and shower (Please note, this is the bloke's facilities I'm addressing here. I've never been in the Ladies).

Three people couldn't use the three sinks at the same time and if the sinks are being used you can't get to the urinal. And if one person is using the urinal no-one else can. And if you're using the urinal when someone comes to use the sink all hell breaks loose. But somehow it works. 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gaz Gough 1 review from this member

 It is without-a-doubt the best “Value” site I have ever had the pleasure to stay at. I and a friend stayed: 2 nights, with 2 tents, 3 dogs’, and a space at the “off road” site parking, all for £11:50 per night! You can’t go wrong for that kind of money.

Yes, it is basic, you get running water, clean toilets and one shared hot shower, but what more do you need

We had a great time doing the Yorkshire 3 Peaks (it’s about 100m from the start/finish point) and only about 100m from the pub, staying with Chris at the site was one of the highlights of the weekend.

Chris is a “Salty Old Dog” who has real character and charm, he is willing to help and assist with any issues that arise on or off site.

All in all a great site for a great price and I would personally highly recommend this site to anyone who is looking for a basic site, great value, friendly staff. 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Spunktrumpet 1 review from this member

 Just back from our stay at Holme farm after walking the 3 peaks route. 3 tents for 2 nights £2 per person £2 per tent £2. 50 per car (all per day).

The site is large and clean and surprisingly busy, so I'd imagine it becomes rammed in summer.

The facility's aren't glamorous but are clean and near to the tents.

The village has 2 good pubs and a cafe, can't say much else apart from I'd thoroughly recommend. 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Keithydee 21 reviews from this member

 This is a a fairly small site with pre-marked pitches, the ground is good and in the main level.

For 2 adults and 1 child it was £10 / night including tent (small 2 man) and all day parking,

The owner is helpful and has a large tent on site with a piano and chandelier, he stated that he has visiting musicians on occasion.

Horton is a 2 pub town, very busy at the weekend due to the 3 peaks walk nearby, if you want to eat out, book a table.

We enjoyed our stay, it was out of season and fairly quiet, however when the warmer weather comes I would suggest the pitches look very close together and I would probably go elsewhere.

The toilets were OK, quiet clean but in need of upgrading. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Stargazerhill 3 reviews from this member

 The campsite is small and is next to the main road, there are enough pitches and these are clearly marked out by paths being mowed through the grass. The owner stays in a marquee which acts as his reception and he is approachable and friendly, there is a pub within a minutes walk and is located near to the penine way footpath.

On the downside the owner entertains in his marquee late into the night making it difficult to have an early nights sleep as he is quite loud and the toilet facilities are very poor. For gents only one sit down toilet, a urinal you have to squeeze round to use and a very grubby shower which is very overpriced at £1 for a set time period which I decided not to use. 


Previous     96 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Holme Farm Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Holme Farm Campsite?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Holme Farm Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Settle      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


47255 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement