Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Riverside Campsite Malham Cove

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > North Yorkshire > Skipton > Riverside Campsite Malham Cove > Reviews

Riverside Campsite Malham Cove
Town Head Farm
Malham
Skipton
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
BD23 4DJ
Tel: 01729 830287
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 89 Reviews
                8/10 from 89 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  89 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mmeach 1 review from this member

 Loved the campsite, its at on a working farm, in a great position and although lots of do's and don'ts they had very clean facilities and we loved it, we stayed when the Malham show was on, its only a short walk to all the local pubs etc.

Jean and Norman try very hard to ensure you enjoy your stay, and we would visit again. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: C Hudson 1 review from this member

 Well, after a ten or more years break from camping, my partner and I decided we would attempt to book at this camp site for the August Bank Holiday, from the Saturday through to the Tuesday morning. On arrival, we were greeted by Mrs. Moon, who kindly instructed us as to where we could pitch, leave the car, and informed us of the facilities that were available. This was a very spur of the moment booking, last minute, so we didn't have a lot of choice, but after the short break, hot showers, clean toilets and food preparation and cleaning areas, as well as the superb location, I cannot recommend this campsite enough. Both Mr. & Mrs. Moon made us feel most welcome, friendly and could not do enough to make sure our stay was a good one. Albeit the weather was changeable, it didn't taint our stay in this great location. If anyone is thinking of camping at Malham Cove, stay here and you won't regret it. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Dubbers 5 reviews from this member

 Wonderful campsite, clean and well kept. There are lots of rules but if you camp regularly then you do most of them anyway:- respect the area, keep noise levels down, try not to damage the ground, etc.

No hook up on site but we knew before we arrived, not very happy with the charges but all sites seemed to have jumped on this band wagon, why charge per person and per vehicle, you have to use a vehicle to get there, where are the good old days when you arrived at a site and the pitch cost 'this much', not how many of you are there, plus a vehicle, plus a tent/camper (more if you have a dog or kids). Just another way to squeeze a couple more quid from you, but it seems to be the new way generally.

All said the site and owners were lovely, Mr Owner is a typical Yorkshire farmer ('nuff said), Mrs Owner is lovely. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Salfordian 1 review from this member

 My wife and I have just returned from this lovely campsite and we thoroughly enjoyed it. The site is in a near-perfect location with breath-talking panoramic views of dales – utterly awe-inspiring. Malham village is a mere 5-minute stroll away - where you will find a couple of pubs, a small shop and a quaint little teashop (The old barn Café) - we ate here and the food was piping hot and delicious.

The campsite is small and basic, but well maintained and, most importantly, the showers are immaculate. This is a must for me. The showers cost £1 for seven minutes and likewise there is an electrical socket for shavers, hair dryer etc. Which is also £1 for seven minutes (£8. 50 an hour). Personally, I feel that £1 for seven minutes electricity is extortionate. Unfortunately there are no hook-up facilities and so they have you by the short n’ cuely's.

There is limited parking permitted next to pitches, so be prepared to have to hand-ball your gear across the field. We had to do this and it was an absolute pain in the neck. The owners don’t miss a trick either – they’re watching everything. I found that…let’s call him Mr. Farmer, was hard work, too. I tried engaging in conversation with him, and all that I got back was a few grunts and the occasional yes or no – evidently he’s wasn't the stimulating conversationalist that I was expecting lol!

There was an abundance of “RULES” plastered all over the place. It reminded me a little bit of the 80’s film: Lost Boys. The bit at Grandpa’s house, when Grandpa says: 'Rules! (Frantically), we got some rules around here' - LMAO! There’s far too to mention, but you get the gist?

With the above said, I would definitely visit again one day – even if it does have far too many RULES! 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: ChrisDunn 2 reviews from this member

 A great little campsite in a great location looking over to Malham Cove. Nice friendly lady running the site from the farm house. Showers and washing facilities were perfectly ok, nice and warm and clean at the end of a long days walking. The fields weren't levelled or particularly smooth but drained well considering how much rain we had. They didn't advertise modern super facilities and pitches so we were happy with what there was. The village is a 5 minute walk with 2 pubs to choose from, one of which is head and shoulders above the other in terms of beer and food!

Will definitely return if in the area again. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jamievo 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed at Town Head over the May bank holiday weekend.

Booking: we did not book in advance, yet the owners were able to accommodate our needs and gave us a good pitch.

Location: unbeatable for Malham Cove. Some gnarly (/fun) roads on the approach to Malham if you're in a minibus or bigger.

Arrival: You pay by knocking on the farmhouse door - sometimes they take a while to answer. Sufficient parking at 3pm but it was full by 8pm.

Facilities: Very nice toilets which are kept very clean. Perhaps too few, though. The showers are nice too but you have to go back to the farmhouse (if they're in) to buy tokens - £1 for 7 minutes (inc warm-up time).

Night: We got back at 10. 30pm and the only audible sound was the river. Silence throughout the night led to a really good night's sleep.

Value: We brought two one-man tents and were charged per person and per tent and per vehicle which came to £10. 50 each for the night. This was pretty steep as we could have stayed in the youth hostel for a couple of quid more - particularly when you consider that showers cost more still. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Taxis Kendal 29 reviews from this member

 We paid £18 for two people, a small tent and a car. A shower is one pound extra. Good views from the campsite, excellent position for walking from the site to Malham Cove (1/2 mile) and Gordale Scar. A quiet road next to the site, with traffic forced by bends to drive slowly. Hot and cold water in the pleasant washrooms and covered washing area. It's a beautifully clean and tidy site, with lots of level parts. Grass about 5 cm length throughout the field. We enjoyed the field to ourselves on a Monday, and were grateful for a latest decamp time of 12. 00.

We had a great time here, recommend this site, and would like to thank the owners.

Oh yes, we enjoyed a pint of Theakstons Old Peculiar at the closest pub about eight minutes walk away. 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Trevor + Jo 132 reviews from this member

 Don't be afraid to give the owner a ring if the weather is fair before Easter. If the ground is dry, the campsite is open.

It's expensive, £9. 00 per adult and £1. 00 for a 7 minute shower token, but the location is superb. It is a clean, tidy and well maintained site with level pitching. Being a working farm you will hear tractors early on in the day. I had the place to myself all week but returned on the last Saturday to find the place full of D. Of E. Kids. I think this is to be encouraged but if it's not your thing you may want to check bookings first.

Two pubs a stroll away, both OK. The butcher in Settle (Drake and Macefield) makes the best pies going and the black pudding and smoked bacon will set you up for the day. The walk round to Janet's Foss, up Gordale Scar and back over to Malham Cove to watch the peregrins makes the best evening stroll going (2 to 3 hrs).

Malham gets very busy at weekends but this is still one of my favourite campsites. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: EBennett 2 reviews from this member

 We loved this simple campsite in a gorgeous setting on a working farm. We found the owners friendly and the facilities were clean - toilets, 2 washing up sinks and two showers (£1 for a shower token). We only had to wait once for a shower.

Cars are only allowed next to your tent when the field is dry which we preferred as it meant it was more spacious and relaxing. Unsurprisingly for August it got busier at the weekend but not overcrowded. This is a quiet campsite (no noise after 11pm) and the vast majority of people observed this.

Malham Cove and Malham village are both a short walk away. We had a delicious meal at the Lister Arms. Lots of lovely walks in the area.

Good farm shop 3 miles away at Airton.

Hopefully we will come back to this lovely campsite soon! 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lesley M 1 review from this member

 Just returned from a weekend away camping in a tent, 2 adults 2 kids 11 and 14, we arrived late to the campsite but the owner was very helpful and showed us where to pitch and let us reverse our car on to the field so we could be a bit nearer to the tent for unpacking. Toilets are kept lovely and clean, nice touches with air fresheners and flowers, £1 for showers, and plenty of hot water for washing your dishes, lovely flat site, gorgeous scenery, pubs within a few minutes walk, plenty of easy walks to local attractions, loads of space for kids to play and the tents are well spaced out, just wish we could have stayed for longer. Just one warning apart from a shop selling sweets and icecreams in the village that's it, so don't forget anything as nearest village Gargrave is approx 6 miles away down country roads. If you fancy going to Skipton for the day, fantastic castle and pork pie shop on the bridge. 


Previous     89 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Riverside Campsite Malham Cove child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Riverside Campsite Malham Cove?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Riverside Campsite Malham Cove dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Skipton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


56482 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement