Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Huntingdon Boat Haven & Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > East Anglia England > Cambridgeshire > Godmanchester > Huntingdon Boat Haven & Caravan Park > Reviews

Huntingdon Boat Haven & Caravan Park
The Avenue
Godmanchester
Cambridgeshire   (Browse area)
PE29 2AF
Tel: 01480 411977
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 30
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 54 Reviews
                7/10 from 54 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  54 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Veterancamper 1 review from this member

 We stayed for three nights in July. This would be a great camp site for those using a caravan or caravan, who are shielded to a degree from the noise.

However, if you are in a tent, you will find the incessant roar from traffic on the A14 too much to bear. And I mean incessant: it is loud, because the road is very close, crossing a bridge at this point, and it goes on all day and all night relentlessly.

We would have looked for a different site, but we had to pay up front.

The showers and loos are clean and hot water is plentiful. Tokens cost 25p and provide 5 minutes' worth of shower. 


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Rosecol 10 reviews from this member

 After reading reviews booked into the site for 2 nights, shown to flat pitch by owners, overlooking the river. It is very picturesque. We walked to Godmanchester which is very close and enjoyed wandering, admiring the buildings, the park is lovely with a footpath following the river.

Would I stay here again - I would have to say no.

The road noise goes on all night, rubbish bags were left out and attacked by birds leaving a mess, you have to buy a token for the shower which is fine if the showers were any good, both in Gents and Ladies very low water pressure and not very hot. 


Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Janx 118 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely little site, the owners showed us to our pitch and then left us to it. The river runs right round and there is always something to see be it boats or wildlife.

The toilets are dated but perfectly clean and adequate, showers by token, plenty of space in cubicle.

Easy walk into Huntingdon for a few shops pubs etc. Also Godmanchester but not a lot there although there is a nice park with surrounding waiks.

As said on other reviews the road noise could be an issue but after the first night/day we got ammuned to it and it didn't bother us.

We would return to this site if we wanted to visit this area again. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mrbrooks1969 1 review from this member

 Easy location just of A14

Family run business

Good welcome

Value for money

Good fishing

Good dog walking

Nice little bakery just up road

Cost cutter just up road

Boat hire

Great town

Good pubs

Little bit road noise

Overall very good weekend

Thanks & Regards

Mr Brooks 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Caravan79 17 reviews from this member

 Just got back from a lovely weekend. We were shown to our pitch by the owner and told where everything was. Our pitch was overlooking the river and we had plenty of room.

We didn't need to use our car at all as you can walk into town one way or if you turn right you can walk into Godmanchester which has a lovely park a few shops and a couple of pubs/restaurants and a really good chip shop opposite the park right next door to the dog friendly pub.

The site itself has a nicely kept dog walking area, showers and toilets were kept very clean at all times. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Shirldick 3 reviews from this member

 Visited over the easter weekend and after booking in we were shown where everything was and then shown to our pitch by the lady owner and advised which way to pitch for the best view. We had a lovely pitch over looking the canal and fields. There is only room for about 7 tents so can be quite cosy when full which it was the weekend we stayed. The cost was 20 a night for a 6 berth tent & 2. 50 hook up charge. The boat yard is right in the middle of the site and they were just putting them back in the water. The camp is great for walking into Huntington & Godmanchester where you will find plenty of places to eat and the dogs were welcome too.

The bad bits was the noice from the A14 which was right next door to the camp so not much sleep for us. The toilet facilities, 2 toilets & showers in each, were very old, dated & cold and you also have to buy tokens for the showers which were 25p each. The washing up room was even worse as full of cobweds and very dirty where it needed a good clean. The toilet block is quite a walk from the tent pitches through the carpark, boat yard and at the side of the owners house.

There was also no wifi on our visit.

Maybe not the place to stay if you want some peace. 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Remus927 25 reviews from this member

 We liked this site. It's small, by the river, has lots of boats moored and overlooks the biggest watermeadow in Britain (which is accessed from either Godmanchester or Huntingdon). Huntingdon & Godmanchester are only minutes away on foot. Toilets are a little tired but otherwise perfectly clean and serviceable - 25p token needed for a shower, this gives you about 5 minutes of hot water. Despite being a small site there was no problem siting our m/h which is 8. 5 metres long. We paid 17 per night which isn't bad for 2 adults and a dog and includes electricity. There is one downside to this site - NOISE - the A14 runs close by and is busy all day and far into the night. The noise didn't bother us as we sort of 'tuned it out' but if you think you may have a problem with the noise I don't recommend you stay here (or why not try it for one night and see how you get on?). We will definitely be re-visiting this site. 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Beccyandsteve 26 reviews from this member

 This caravan site is also a small marina.

The location is quaint. Right on the river with views onto the river and marina. There are picnic tables down by the river along with park benches.

However the proximity to the A14. You feel like you can almost reach out and touch it, but more importantly the noise is awful. I don't consider myself to be a light sleeper but I didn't get a wink of sleep (and I'm in a motorhome - not a tent!) it probably depends on the wind direction as to how bad it is.

There are a mixture of hard standings and grass pitches. I considered our hard standing to be a little tired, but it was fine.

The shower blocks were tired, but adequate. The showers take tokens (which the owners didn't mention) luckily I noticed in time! 25p token gives you 5 mins which is more than enough.

Huntingdon and Godmanchester are easy walking distance.

I can't get beyond the road noise, so I don't recommend this site, but other reviewers seem unconcerned by it. So all I can say is be aware of this before booking. 


Date of Visit: March 2012 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Camcroft 2 reviews from this member

 As previously mentioned this site is situated right next to the river. We have an inflatable kayak and launch it from the sites marina in the summer months.

The traffic noise isnt really a problem for us we have a folding camper so it helps us to watch tv or listen to music without disturbing others.

I would highly recommend this site whatever unit you are in.

Huntingdon is in walking distance of the site or Godmanchester in the opposite direction nice walks along side the river and boats can be hired at a few places along the river shops are also in the town 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lilyvan 17 reviews from this member

 Firstly must say I loved this site we were right down near the river and turned the caravan to overlook the river and boats going by. There were lovely seats and picnic tables set out just down the hill from us on the riverside. Best setting we had ever been on with our caravan and best view. Owner always busy and very helpful and friendly.

The bad points especially if you are in a tent would be the A14 noise it did not bother us a we are used to road noise anyway. Also although the toilets were clean the showers were not and also a lot of cobwebs and no water in the bucket with the mop all weekend. You do need tokens for the shower 25p each so remember to ask for them when booking in as I would not want you to be in the shower ready and then have to come out again! There are a lot of seasonal caravans on site and house boats on one side of the site.

There is a dog walk, washing up area and disabled toilet. It is only a few minutes walk to either Godmanchester a pretty village with a lot of old houses, public footpaths, pubs and some shops or Huntingdon a busy market town. We will definitely go again as it is local to us. 


Previous     54 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Huntingdon Boat Haven & Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Huntingdon Boat Haven & Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Huntingdon Boat Haven & Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Godmanchester      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cambridgeshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


54936 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement