Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Huntingdon Boat Haven & Caravan Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Cambridgeshire > Site Reviews

Huntingdon Boat Haven & Caravan Park
The Avenue
Godmanchester
Huntingdon
Cambridgeshire   (Browse area)
PE29 2AF
Tel: 01480 411977
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 30
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 37 Reviews
                7/10 from 37 Reviews

Photos (3)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  37 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: 21wetstuff 1 review from this member

Our first time here, easy to find just off the A14. No queues just a nice size site and not overcrowded, with pleasantly relaxing atmosphere including fantastic river views.

Polite and welcoming owners with clean toilets / showers and tidy facilities. With a slipway to launch the inflatable! 5 min walk to Huntingdon with high street shops, restaurants etc. We'll definitely be returning soon.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jules134 4 reviews from this member

This site is situated in a beautiful area with lots of shops near by. Some lovely walks through the nearby country park and along the waterways which my kids loved.

Site itself is very clean and well maintained. There is no playground for the children and little room to kick a football around luckily for us it was quiet so had a little bit more room to explore.

The toilets are clean and plenty of them, two showers for each sex and again they were well maintained and last long enough using a token to have a decent shower. The owners were polite and helpful and informed us that they had to leave the site for the day so we could retrieve ice packs and get shower tokens.

The only thing that spoilt it was the noise from the A14, the traffic going over the fly over echoed down the camp site and never stops all night. The plus to this is you cant hear anyone else in the tents near to you! Unfortunately this has stopped us from returning this year and have booked elsewhere.

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Royston rovers 1 review from this member

Had a fantastic 3 night stay at Huntingdon Boat Haven. Very friendly and helpful owners. We were on the caravan field and had electric hook up. Best thought out shower cubicles I've encountered so far - plenty of room to change, lots of hooks to hang clothes and towels on and a chair too!
Toilets and showers were clean and never too busy. Site as a whole was well maintained, as was the dog-walk field adjacent to the site. Beautiful location overlooking the river and meadows. Easy walks into both Huntingdon and Godmanchester and good reasonably priced food at the nearby pub (Black Bull?).
I had worried that the traffic noise from the A14 would disturb us, but actually we didn't notice it after a while - it was a constant background noise which masked any noise from other campers. Would recommend a visit to Houghton Mill which is nearby - very interesting. All in all a very good weekend.

Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ruggerman 21 reviews from this member

Great little site, mainly for couples as no facilities on site but plenty close by. Toilet block kept clean & tidy. The tent area would be wonderful in Sunny weather as it overlooks the river, shame it wasn't during our visit.
Black Bull lived up to previous reviews and only a couple of minutes to walk! loads of places to visit nearby. Only word of warning - take earplugs A14 is unbelievable for traffic. Would be happy to return or recommend it to friends

Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lis11 2 reviews from this member

Nice quiet site very friendly owners. Showers and toilets kept clean and tidy handwash and soft loo roll are provided. 5 min walk to the nearest pub Black Bull which does lovely home cooked meals which are very reasonably priced.
The site is only a few minutes walk away from Huntingdon town centre which has a variety of shops eating places and pubs. The Three Tuns in Huntingdon town centre is the only one we tried we were made to feel very welcome and for those of you who can't live without it, (like my husband!) the three tuns also has sky sports!

I would definitely recommend this campsite. The only downsides are the traffic noise from the A14 and the toilet / shower block is a fair walk from the tent field. All in all a lovely friendly site set in beautiful surroundings

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Hmv4u 34 reviews from this member

Stayed here for 4 nights on the way to Norfolk, nice spot over looking the river but I'd suggest earplugs for the traffic noise if a light sleeper. Marina is lovely and a walk into Godmanchester is nice. Funny enough I thought the toilet block could do with some TLC but perhaps its had it since then! otherwise first rate.

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Howtons 1 review from this member

We have just returned from a weekend break spent at this lovely, peaceful campsite. The site is in a very nice location, right on the River Ouse and it was pleasant to watch the boats go by whilst drinking your morning coffee. The site is small, but that added to the attraction as far as I'm concerned. As it was small it had a friendly community spirit - with most of our fellow campers being happy to pass the time of day with you - there was the odd exception, but you can't please them all can you!

The campsite itself is very well kept and the facilities were excellent. I never had to queue for a shower or a loo and everything was provided - down to nice liquid handsoap in the loos, washing up liquid, sponges and plentiful hot water in the washing up area. The showers are operated by tokens which cost 25p a go - didn't have a problem with that as the shower was lovely, hot and lasted for 5 minutes, ample! There were a few nice touches I thought too - piped music in the toilet / shower block, hairdryer and proper loo roll. On top of all this it was very clean and well maintained.

The site does have electric hook-up facilities, but we don't bother with electric when camping - we think it's nice to do without tellies for a spell and it does the kids (and us!) good. Nice also to spend time enjoying the outdoors, talking and enjoying each other's company for a change. We have very busy lives and it's great to escape the rat race for a while - this was definitely the place to do that!

There were only two small downsides for us. First of all the location. This has been mentioned by all the other reviewers - the campsite is more or less on top of the very busy A14. It was noisy but it was amazing how quickly we got used to the sound of the road (sort of became normal background noise) and it didn't stop us sleeping well or relaxing totally for a couple of days. Secondly, we had two 9 year old boys with us and there was absolutely nowhere for them to kick a football about or have a bit of a run around. But the campsite is small and we knew that before we got there. They busied themselves drawing etc, so it was fine.

We ate out at the Black Bull up the road on our first evening as we only just managed to pitch our tents before the heavens opened. It took about 5 mins to walk there, so very convenient. Very nice meal and family friendly too. The meals were a bit slow coming, but we forgave the wait when we got our freshly cooked dinner. It was a rare treat to have proper hand cut, chunky chips and fresh vegetables. All reasonably priced too.

We hired a boat from a boatyard in Huntingdon (easy to walk to) on our 1st day - this was absolutely brilliant and I would highly recommend it. It only cost 18 for an hour's cruising (although they did take a deposit of 100, which was fully refunded when we brought their boat back in one piece). It is such a nice area and looked even prettier from the river.

We would have absolutely no hesitation in recommending this campsite to anyone and will definitely be returning again in the future.

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Sartheteach 5 reviews from this member

What a fab site! We were greeted by a very friendly and relaxed site which was very peaceful. There was a bit of road noise but it wasnt bad at all. We usually stay on adult only sites as we like peace and I was a bit worried when we booked but it was lovely - we managed to sleep until 10.30!
Weve booked for next weekend it was so enjoyable. Huntingdon is great and only a short walk away - we highly recommend it

Date of Visit: April 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Kontiki98 1 review from this member

A lovely spot for a relaxing weekend. Made to feel extremely welcome and great to sit by the river with our bottle of wine. Traffic noise but bearable. Easy walk to Huntingdon with shops and eating spots. Visited the Peterborough Motorhome show and came home with empty pockets as we've traded in our Kontiki.

Thanks very much

Date of Visit: March 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Annamarie.wade 2 reviews from this member

What a joy to stay at such a well kept and clean campsite.

This is an ideal place to visit if you are a family with young children.

It was a little noisy from the nearby road, but this was obviously unavoidable.

Would definitely visit again in the future.

Previous     37 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cambridgeshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an Outwell Sleeping Package worth over 399 Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to 175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2260 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


Play the UKCampsite.co.uk
Easter Hunt


Easter Hunt

Follow the clues, find the answer, and win a fantastic Easter prize - a TV / DVD Combo worth 399!