Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of The Anchor Inn

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Staffordshire > Stafford > The Anchor Inn Reviews

The Anchor Inn
Peggs Lane
Old Lea
High Offley
Stafford
Staffordshire   (Browse area)
ST20 0NG
Tel: 01785 284569
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 30
Open: 01/03/2020 to 31/10/2020
           01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 30 Reviews
                8/10 from 30 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Canalside Pitches   Public Transport   Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  30 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10         Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Bamso 1 review from this member

 I have been to the Anchor Inn at High Offley to see for myself the conditions on this site. Olive the owner, she is 75? years of age she and her daughter Elaine run the pub together. It is approximately 100 years old. There are 5 CL pitches and numerous electric pitches around the grounds plus camping spots. Eccleshaw village is 5 miles away for shopping. The pub itself is not your modern type with no music blaring out so you cannot hear yourself speak however they do have some of the 'boat people' who visit the pub by canal which runs past the anchor who play their own instruments for a good old singsong on summer nights. Swallows skim across your pitch collecting flies to feed their chicks how often do you see that? Loos are adequate ,no showers though,` give it a go. I loved it and will be going again. Watch out for the narrow roads. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Rusty05 4 reviews from this member

 Just got back from Anchor Inn and having read the reviews before we went we were rather disappointed as it was rather unkempt. We were informed that the cl part was full so we had to go on the over spill field and climb over a fence and across some rough ground to plug our electric in. The toilets where something out of a Dickens novel, dark and damp with green algie on the walls and birds nesting above your head. In the middle of the field was a large mound of earth which blocked any view we might have had. With no showers and the price was £12.00 inc awning but the book says £9.50 + £1.00 so beware. Probably the majority go for the real ale in the pub which only opens on certain days, but having said that there were some lovely walks away from the site. 


Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: JuliePooley 8 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a three night break here. Lovely lawned field next to the pub and canal. Sadly for us the pub was still only open for the winter hours, ie Friday, Satuday and Sunday, however, the new opening hours commence this weekend! Very old fashioned pub serving traditional ale. Beer garden over looking the canal with numerous barges.
Ideal for bird spotters as there was an abudance of birds in the hedgerows. We were visited daily by a pair of ducks seeking any left over bread! Situated down a narrow lane (with passing places) it is a very tranquil site.
Electric hook up. Recycling facilities on site for glass, plastic, newspapers and cardboard. There were toilets available - situated in old out-houses and frequented by numerous spiders! However there was water and toilet tissue, and to be honest when you've got your own facilities in your caravan you don't really need to use these? We will definitely be returning during the summer months. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Gianandlinda 1 review from this member

 Lovely campsite with a great little pub which has a very pretty beer garden. Live music in the evenings. Beautiful walks along the canal. No showers but adequate toilet facilities which had added attraction of a swallows nest where you could sit and watch the parent birds feed their young. I would recommend this site to anyone. Hook ups available and good rubbish and water facilities. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sue Bohanna + Malco 6 reviews from this member

 Just come back from the Anchor Inn. Absolutely loved it! Have read the other reviews, some criticising the loos in particular. Well, the loos are old, and I can only comment on the ladies because I don't go in gents loos! The ladies loos are painted in cheerful colours and are not modern, but neither were they dirty. There was a nest of Housemartins in the eaves which overlooks the toilet cubicles. From the inside of the cubicle I got a good view and a couple of lovely photos of the five or six little chicks waiting for their mum to come in with some tasty insects. It was lovely to see them, a rare sight in the clinical and sanitised world some of us prefer to live in these days. The thing is that if this pub, which is a well preserved relic of the past, were to install a modern toilet block, then it would detract from the atmosphere of the place. The people who keep re-visiting this site I have no doubt do so because it is the way it is. It does not advertise itself as having modern conveniences, and people who go there usually have all these in their vans or motorhomes anyway. We did use the toilets, which are not just the site toilets, but also the pub toilets, so people from the canal barges use them too. We are caravan club members but the CL field was fully booked and we came with non-caravan club members and so used the bottom field. The scenery down there was breathtaking, much more so than the CL field in fact. The staff were great. My other half is a real ale buff, (CAMRA member and former officer) so he was in beer heaven, Wadworth 6X on tap! Our only complaint? The weather! But in the spirit of camping, this did not stop us getting the BBQ out, and we had a fabulous weekend. We would recommend this site to anyone who loves olde worlde little pubs with real beer, a traditional atmostphere, no potted music, beautiful scenery, nice walks etc. If you want state of the art modern facilities, this is not the place for you perhaps. The access roads are narrow, and you would need good directions to find it, but it is worth finding!

We were charged £9.50 pn + £1 for our awning. We had 2 dogs and were not charged for these. We had electric hook up in with this price.

If you accept that there is no shower block, that the sink is not enclosed and private, and that you would have to rely on your own facilities to a degree, and you are okay with this, then you can't afford not to visit this place! Happy camping! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Dinkum 7 reviews from this member

 Stayed for a couple of nights but being self contained we did not use the site facilities. We did however try a pint in the pub which only opened about 9pm. The locals are mostly older hippy types and very friendly.
We both walked and cycled comfortably along the canal towpath the couple of miles to Norbury Junction. The pub here did good pub grub and excellent beer. There is also a cafe tearoom and a chandlery. Lovely and quiet on site. We watched the swifts swooping all over the smaller of the two camping fields.
The canalside had many squirrels and we saw a heron take fish from the canal in a cutting. Recommended for a self contained quiet break. 


Date of Visit: April 2006 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Safeway56 3 reviews from this member

 The first time I stayed at The Anchor was about 15 years ago in a narrowboat we used to have. It was and still is the weirdest pub I've ever stayed at. I stood at the bar (around four feet long) waiting to order a drink when a very old lady, who seemed to be about 80 years old, emerged from a trapdoor from the cellar carrying a jug of ale which she decanted into pint pots. The pub consists of two very small rooms furnished by items which seem to have been knocked up in scrap timber. I was so gobsmacked by the place I asked permission to bring my grandson in to take a look. I told him that this is what pubs used to be like 200 years ago. He was fascinated by the place. The toilets (outside of course) are like the black hole of Calcutta, literally BLACK and very stinky. I've been back since quite a few times in my camper van, although the missus won't go anywhere near the *facilities*  The attraction for a miser like myself is it's CHEAP. Only a few quid with hook up thrown in. 


Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Buzz93uk 1 review from this member

 Just arrived back from a lovely weekend away, the site is very nice, quiet, clean and well kept grass.  Owners are very friendly. 
Situated right on the side of the canal and everyone seemed very friendly, although the road is very narrow to get to it, it is well worth it.
Cannot comment on the toilet block as we have no need to use them.  Have also booked to go back to take the grandchild as there is an open field which is safe for the children to play. 


Date of Visit: May 2006 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Melaniecp 2 reviews from this member

 Just got back from the Anchor inn today, he site on arrival seemed to be everything we wanted. But after we pitched our trailer tent and went to the toilet block I was horrified, I wasn't alone on my visit to the toilet and worryingly my boyfriend was in the trailer tent. Looking down on me was a bird by his nest as well as spiders eggs the size of footballs. It was dark and damp and I was to be honest terrified. I didn't go back to the toilet again on my overnight stay there. I've been to quite a few camping sites so dirty toilets don't surprise me but this was to say the least shocking, it should never be advertised has a toilet block because no way would any one want to use them. I told my boyfriend who then went to the gents which were as bad, the urinals were painted black with a yellow tinted moss growing out of them. To be honest it was such a shame has the site and ground was very tidy. 


Reviewer: jayney 1 review from this member

 August 2004
The campsite is is beautiful countryside in the middle of nowhere and there are a few bendy single lane country roads to use to access it, in fact it's situated on one. The site is small but friendly with a pub on the site run by the site owner. It seemed a very quiet site and more of an adult site. It's basic though and has an building with 2 ladies and gents loo's with no heating and no shower and there is a washbasin that is almost outside and not clean and nowhere to place your toiletries. If all you need is peace and quite, beautiful countryside with basic facilities then it's the site for you.  


Previous     30 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30     Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is The Anchor Inn child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Anchor Inn?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is The Anchor Inn dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Stafford      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Staffordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...







Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1479 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £160 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth up to £865

Get an email reminder on 1st December