Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Little Roadway Farm

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Devon (North) > Woolacombe > Little Roadway Farm > Reviews

Little Roadway Farm
Georgeham Rd
Woolacombe
Devon (North)   (Browse area)
EX34 7HL
Tel: 01271 870313
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 150
Open: 01/03/2024 to 30/11/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 58 Reviews
                7/10 from 58 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool <1 mile 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  58 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Aztecgold 1 review from this member

 Fantastic location and fields very good.

Showers have terrible drainage (be prepared to stand in a few inches of water) go for the shower in the left corner in the ladies.

Shop had minimal stock so don't forget to stock up else where, lots of options near by.

Don't leave your washing up too late, we had to do it by torch light as the lights in the washing area went out.

Has an area for washing your wetsuits which is useful.

Strick about groups and noise was not an issue during our stay.

Weather not always what it seemed else where, strangely rained a lot at the site despite been glorious sunshine when you reach your destination for the day. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Orenerr 2 reviews from this member

 Just got back from here and on the whole not a bad site but certain areas could do with huge improvements. The site itself was clean and litter free and dispite some other reviews we saw no dog muck. Some of the site slopes but from where we were in blue field was ok and the veiw was lush.

The toilets need a huge improvement if the camp had been full there would be problems. There is two toilet blocks one with showers and one without. There is 5 showers in total and the water collects at feet and runs though all showers.

You definitely have to wear shoes in them and dispite the toilets closing for 2hours for cleaning more often than not they were filthy (not helped by some of the weather.

The second toilet block (next to the first) has three toilets in and is like a out house with perspex roof not very well lit and for the last couple of days there was no soap in them, there is no hot water in it and there is also no hand drying facility either, not even paper towels. Should add that no matter what time of day the showers where always hot.

The washing up area is quite good and is covered but need to take a bowl as would take ages to fill sink due to the taps being push taps.

The playground is quite good for the kids.

The shop is well stocked and they sell a good range of stuff although some is a little expensive 2. 15p for litre of lemonade, 70p for pint of milk.

The best thing about the site is that they do have a very good takeaway and the prices are reasonable. They do very nice cheesy chips and a great breakfast in a box which consists of sausage, bacon, 2 hash browns, toast, beans, mushrooms and tomato for 4. 20 great for those mornings when its raining.

The site was quiet at night but does need some extra lighting mainly if you were in the top field.

We also had problems with the electric as every time we used the kettle the electric would flick off also other appliances made it flick off we did report it and was told that the kettle was to high a amp. Having spoke to a couple of other on the same field we were not the only ones having this problem.

Surrounding area =great tesco in illfracombe. To go to the beach you just go down the road opposite the camp site be aware of the parking for the beach though one day we used the top car park and paid 3 next day the same car park cost 6 if you use the top carpark you walk down to the beach sometimes in deep sand and its a hard slog going back up.

Use the bottom carpark its all flat to go on the beach and although its 7 its easier to park and less chance of your car getting hit by neighbouring cars. Dogs can go on woolacombe beach. On the beach if you go in the sea be aware of the rip tides, I was caught in one and I was only chest high in the sea, although when the waves are there they are over your head. You can walk down to the beach but the road is very steep and bendy.

If you like walks morte hoe is fantastic and has great coastal walks. For the kids, in nearby combe martin there is dinosaur land which was a great day out and lots of fun but be warned after the admission ticket not all things are free.

The earthquake train, lightshow you have to pay a pound. Its is not sutible for wheelchairs as the slopes are so steep but have a great range of animals.

On the whole I think I would go back but not sure for a week. If we planned to go to north devon again for a week I would look elsewhere toilets being the main reason.

Also despite website which gives you the impression the animals is on site I never saw any although a member of our group did when he walked the dog. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Meadowend 2 reviews from this member

 Just got back from a five day break here, my thoughts are the showers and toilets need drastic updating. The shop is well stocked but only open for a short time each day which means you have to remember to keep yourselves stocked up.

Noise levels on the campsite when busy need to be sorted out, as there were still shouting and screaming gone eleven at night could be a problem if you have little ones trying to sleep.

Good play area in field but a bit silly putting fire bell on play area fence. I know we've had rain a lot this summer but entrance to green field turned into a off road testing track which you had to walk through to get to shop/toilets.

We left a day early after a sleepless night of music and kids running round shouting late into the night. Overall we feel the site was an after thought, the farm was the main business, shame really because its in a great central area for croyde/woolacombe beaches. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Munkey 2 reviews from this member

 We had the warmest week of the summer here. Although the weather was dry, the toilets were always very muddy, not helped by the terrible drainage in the ladies showers. When I mentioned it to the owners they just said they don't normally get complaints, they're always complimented on their cleanliness.

I loved the fact it was a small site and the kids were safe to play at the park.

The take away breakfast was a fab idea and very good value for money.

Woollacombe is a beautiful place, great for kids and adults alike.

I would return when they improve their shower facilities. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Luva bacon butty 3 reviews from this member

 Shop is usually shut, The showers and toilets next to shop have hot water but it can struggle to stay hot for long when taking a shower so be quick. The toilet block opposite the shop is very basic cold water only. There is a covered area to wash dishes.

The campsite is on noticeable slope and very exposed to the weather. Evidence of this is in rubbish bin area where the remains of broken tents can be seen.

So on sure fire hot sunny still days this makes an okay low budget simple site here you expect no more than simple services in well worn tiny toilets/showers that have seen better days.

The very narrow road to the beach is very steep. Makes more sense to take the car than walk it. Not walkable with small children unless you carry them.

When raining the shop is closed. If you have doubts that it will good weather. Or if you start seeing the wind get up. 30mph and starts raining my advice is pack up and leave. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Beetlebum 7 reviews from this member

 Stayed here over the jubilee weekend and hoped to stay longer but left early due to weather warnings. This site is in a good location near to woolacombe, generous pitch size on a slightly sloping field. Well stocked shop on site for essentials.

Great fenced off area with play park for the kids which they enjoyed going to and making friends. They also liked visiting the horses, goats pigs.

I have to agree with previous reviewers on the showers/toilets, they were shut once a day for cleaning but after that I don't think they were checked again until the next day. Floors were very muddy and slippy and just needed a quick mop over and maybe some slip mats coming in and out of the block. As this was at half term the site was quite busy and with the weather not being the best would have benefited from a little more attention.

There may be a 11:00 keep quiet time, but it was up to us to ask neighbours to keep the bad language and noise down as there are no wardens or owners around to enforce this. We also encountered dog mess so a torch was necessary when walking through the field in the dark!

We still enjoyed our holiday in spite of the negatives but will probably try other sites in the area before visiting again. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hpcampers 2 reviews from this member

 Having read the reviews of this campsite, we looked forward to our stay! Unfortunately we were rather disappointed.

We had to cut our stay in Devon short due to the weather, no-ones fault, we are campers and accept this, however due to the wet wet weather we would have expected the toilets and showers to have been cleaned more than they were, especially the floors! The toilet block was closed daily for two hours and cleaned, and cleaned well!

However it would have benefited from hourly checks due to the amount of use on this busy bank holiday, plus terrible weather.

There was also an issue with dog mess not being picked up by their owners! 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lyndrew 1 review from this member

 Our whole family loved this site, Woolacombe, Ilfracombe and surrounding areas.

Little Roadway Farm is a lovely, clean, well equipped and family friendly site. Will definitely be going there again next year. Our children loved the playground and made lots of friends. Theres lots of room for cricket etc as all the tents/caravans are pitched around the outskirts of the fields.

The staff are very helpful and friendly and the site is nice and quiet by 10pm every night.

Theres a Tesco and Lidl in Ilfracombe and lots of other shops too in Woolacombe.

Woolacombe beach is gorgeous and sandy and great for body boarding. Ilfracombe tunnel beaches are smaller and more sheltered.

The only problem we found was that the parking for the beach in Woolacombe was very expensive at 7 per day it soon mounts up by the end of a week or two. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sarah atkinson 1 review from this member

 Just go home from our visit to little roadway, weve had a great ten days that even the weather couldn't spoil. A visit to putsborough beach is a must and the seaside cafe is a really good spot to watch the surfing at the end of the day. The campsite is a delight at the top of woolacoombe hill. A clean well kept site, on site shop with a good variety of food and camping supplies. The owner are friendly and very help full and the early morning mochas hit the right spot, thier take away food is also good value for money. A great area to visit with lots to see and great sun sets, cant wait to come back next year thankyou.

Ps my son had great fun feeding the pigs each morning 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lisahancock 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for a few nights at the beginning of August. A simple site, clean and well kept in a great position being close to both Croyde Bay and Woolacombe, a short drive away to both.

A fantastic play area for children in the centre of one of the fields with pitches around it (both EHU and non-EHU) all pitches were spacious. You could see the children playing from all pitches in the field which was a bonus.

The staff were very friendly and managed to find us a EHU pitch even though we hadn't booked.

Toilets and showers were clean and the shop was well stocked with food available morning and evening.

No noise after 11 and no groups so ideal for our family with two children under 5. 


Previous     58 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Little Roadway Farm child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Little Roadway Farm?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Little Roadway Farm dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Woolacombe      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (North)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2543 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement