Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Alfriston Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > South East England > East Sussex > Alfriston > Alfriston Camping Park > Reviews

Alfriston Camping Park
Pleasant Rise Farm
Alfriston
East Sussex   (Browse area)
BN26 5TN
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 60
Open: 29/03/2024 to 27/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 107 Reviews
                8/10 from 107 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  107 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Karenh46 2 reviews from this member

 We planned to stay at this site last weekend of July 2014. We arrived earlyish (or so we thought) at 2pm on Friday. The field was already full around all the edges and we were directed to the left side of the field which supposedly was families only. And we were told to pitch in the middle.

They told us that they were expecting 2 large groups but that these would be pitched at the other end of the field.

Its a lovely spot and would have been a great campsite IF the had not crammed as many tents as could fit into the field. By 11pm on Friday night people were still arriving and pitching their tents. It felt a bit like we were pitched in someone's back garden. There was literally no open grass anywhere near our tent. Or anywhere that I could see. It felt more like a squatter camp than a campsite!

And as it was so packed, it was so noisy. At 1. 30am I asked one set of neighbors to keep the noise down. At 2. 30am a much louder group of neighbors (a 50th celebration I think) with 30+ people were still chatting and laughing. Its not much fun to walk around asking people to quieten down so I didn't, but it was miserable.

At 6. 30am the first dogs started barking and this went on for a while too.

I'm really not a humbug but when I camp I do so to enjoy the peaceful countryside, the stars, sound of the wind, the dawn chorus. This site over this weekend was the least peaceful place I have been to.

We left the site on Saturday and had a lovely day at the Seven Sisters Nature reserve (which is very close by) but when we came back at 5pm and our neighbours were drinking and already rowdy we decided to pack up and leave. Much rather drive back home (2+ hours) than face another rotten night's sleep.

What a shame. The location is lovely, Alfriston is a lovely cute village just down the road, the beach is closeby, the facilities are fine, the campsite owners seemed nice (if a little overwhelmed with the numbers) and there were some great woods for the kids to go and play in.

But until this site can manage the number of guests and learn to manage their bookings better and turn people away to avoid overcrowding, I would say avoid this site if you want a relaxing weekend. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Shakey isle of dogs 1 review from this member

 This is our favourite campsite.

When the owner Roy Savage suddenly and tragically passed away late last year, we were unsure what the future would hold for this little corner of East Sussex. Along with the perfect setting, nestled in a valley in the heart of the South Downs, adjacent to the pretty unspoilt village of Alfriston, Roy's unregimented, laid back attitude made this place idyllic.

Having visited in May, our fears proved to be unfounded!

Roy's son is proving to be a real chip off the old block. Already the men's showers have been revamped to a high standard, with the promise of many more improvements to follow. Cut in half oil drums for use as campfires have been enhanced to keep them off the grass which prevents scorching. These are supplied free of charge and there are always plenty of chopped logs which are delivered to your pitch and are keenly priced!

I know Frank is keen to emulate his Dad and make this campsite a success in honour of him. In a very short time he has come a long way and is being ably assisted by Augusto.

Good luck. Keep up the good work.

This campsite deserves support.

Paul and Renee, 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Salli 1 review from this member

 Great to read all the positive reviews about this site and agree with them, it's a very natural, friendly and unspoilt site which I really keen to support again.

Lovely location and not commercial, very natural and chilled out for groups and families in most lovely part of the world.  


Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Clive Smith 1 review from this member

 Having used the adjacent Caravan CL Site for the past 23 years we too knew Roy Savage and his family very well and miss his presence as much as anyone. This site is far from closed ! Thanks to his Son who has stepped up to the mantle along with some help from his friends, has spent every spare moment of his time ripping out all of the old bathroom facilities next to the tennis courts ready for this season. Rome wasn't built in a day and I am sure that they will build on his success next winter. This lad is a tribute to his late father and his mother and deserves every bit of support that he can get in making this beautiful location going concern for the future. So please come and visit the site and give him a big pat on the back! Dad would have been proud. Clive & Grete 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: WINNJAZ@HOTMAIL 2 reviews from this member

 I love this site, its small but just right for a small village and Alfriston is so pretty with a couple of lovely old pubs, quaint cafes, ice cream shop and a few local shops to help with basic essentials. Have a lovely walk down by the river. Have stayed many times and always enjoyed the hospitality that Roy gave us and sadly no longer with us and glad to say his family are running it, thank you!

The prices to stay are pretty average 8 p/p and 5 ish per child!the facilities are fine and expected for a small site. Hot shower and toilets cleaned and kept well. You have local attractions with Drusillas zoo, very nice and something for everyone. Middle farm for cider lovers, good cheeses and home made foods, including a small farm open at a cost but very nice. Seaford beach is not far up the hill only 3 miles away and has some lovely cafes! Cuckmere is one of my favourite beauty spots, you can park and walk through the valley to the beach only 30 mins and have a lovely meal at the cuckmere inn pub and sit in the gardens and enjoy the view. Look forward to staying again in 4 weeks for my birthday and thank you. Noises you can expect there, birds, cows, horses, dogs and people. Its the country and a camp-site, no brick walls just thin material separating you from the next tent so expect laughter, fun etc. If you can not sleep well in the open then re-think your holiday but apart from that we can't wait for our next visit in 4 weeks ! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Andywa119 2 reviews from this member

 I am not sure this site is still open. Sadly the owner passed away late 2013. I called by this weekend (8th March 2014) and the site was completely empty and looked closed. Even out of season it was used a lot by hardy campers and scouting/schools. No response from an email either. The owner had created a great site with a very special atmosphere. I will miss the site and Roy. 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Paulinsk 2 reviews from this member

 Large field, but I wouldn't say it's 'flat' as a previous reviewer stated. It dips in the middle quite a bit. And the wind funnels down into the valley from the Downs, so take a windbreak. Despite this I really liked it there. Very good value. The grass was good quality and short, so easy to pitch/pack up. Alfriston village is a little gem. Plus the SDW is just down the road also. Yes the facilities are a bit basic, but adequate. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Bigbaby2011 5 reviews from this member

 I have visited this campsite many times over recent years and I just wanted to say how sad I am to hear about the camp site owner Roy passing away last month. He was a wonderful man who always made us feel very welcome. I have nothing but praise for his site and I wish frank and family well in this difficult time. Just looking at the other reviews on here makes you realise how much other folk appreciate his campsite and style too! Much respect Roy! sarah 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: The Family Camp 2 reviews from this member

 For the third or fourth year? in a row we have just returned from a long weekend of camping, having booked the private field for large parties back in November of last year.

32 of us descended to the campsite, where Roy always makes us feel welcome and even with the rather wet Saturday evening, we still all had a fabulous time! The beautiful scenery and fields for the kids to play and cycle in, the roaring camp fire at night and the signal free valley, allowed all us adults to relax and kick back and the kids to waterfight to their hearts content. Yet again I have booked for next year, as nothing ticks all our boxes like here. And with the prospector hot showers down near us as well, rather than the walk to the main ones, we are looking forward to returning even more. Thanks to Roy and Frank and the gang for looking after us so well.

See you in 2014! 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Smiffinch 24 reviews from this member

 We visited this site for the first time in July. We know the area well as we have relatives nearby, but as it is getting more difficult to fit our large family in their house, we decided to camp nearby.

It was a very very hot weekend (one of the hottest of the year) so campfires weren't really necessary, but we had one anyway!

It is a really beautiful site in a lovely location and the owners are very welcoming and relaxed. I love the fact that you can just turn up and pay in cash. However, this did mean that it got very busy on the Saturday night, people just pitched where they liked and it was a bit noisy and crowded. There are not enough facilities to cope with that many people, and the toilets are rather basic, but by Sunday lunchtime they had all gone.

Unlike many other sites with campfires, the rates are very reasonable and the owner gave us a discount for having so many children! I am very sad to hear that he has recently passed away, I do hope the campsite will continue to run next summer as we will definitely be back. 


Previous     107 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Alfriston Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Alfriston Camping Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Alfriston Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Alfriston      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in East Sussex

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


54074 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement