Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Drumroamin Farm Camping & Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Newton Stewart > Drumroamin Farm Camping & Caravan Site Reviews

Drumroamin Farm Camping & Caravan Site
1 South Balfern
Kirkinner
Newton Stewart
Dumfries and Galloway   (Browse area)
DG8 9DB
Tel: 01988 840613  or  07752471456
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 98 Reviews
                10/10 from 98 Reviews

Photos (17)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  98 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sool 16 reviews from this member

We spent 4 nights at Drumroamin Farm and have to concur with all of the positive reviews below.

The owner puts on a very good show. She was there to greet us, and always available for a friendly chat when we needed information or whatever. The location was lovely and peaceful, and a good night's sleep was guaranteed. The pricing structure was deviously fair, and the facilities were immaculate.

Although sparsely populated, the surrounding area provided plenty to see, so long as you were prepared to look for it. In addition to the local towns, we spent a day exploring the Whithorn peninsula, or The Machars as it's known and there is quite a lot of history to be discovered.

Another day was lost touring The Rhinns, including the Mull of Galloway. A visit to the nearby Bladnoch distillery also proved interesting. There are lots of prehistoric and early Christian remains in the area. We particularly loved the Cairn Holy Chambered Cairns, which were located south east of Creetown off the A75.

The low population density means that that food outlets are relatively few a far between, but we found a couple of takeaways in Newton Stewart, along with a Sainsburys supermarket and an Aldi.

Nearer by, the was a small grocers in Kirkinner and a co-op in Wigtown.

There is a pleasant walk from the site that leads to the foreshore where there is a bird sanctuary. Lesley informed us that it was also possible to walk into Wigtown, but we never found the time to discover that route.

We will definitely be returning to this site.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dickson Family 4 reviews from this member

Just spent a lovely bank holiday weekend as this fabulous campsite. It is BY FAR the best campsite we have ever visited - it simply ticks all the boxes and more.

1. Good sized flat pitches with hookup.

2. Spotlessly clean modern shower block with loads of free piping hot water, big changing cubicles and a family shower room.

3. Good sized immaculate dish-washing area with free washing up liquid and laundry facilities.

4. Great for kids: sandpit, wooden swings/play area, basketball hoop, games room with pool table and TV, ponies to pat.

5. Beautiful views.

6. Quiet and relaxing.

7. Plenty to do in the surrounding area.

8. Friendly and accommodating site owners.

9. Very fair pricing.

Will most definitely be back!

Date of Visit: March 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Fazerneil 2 reviews from this member

Stayed here for extended Easter weekend. Two adults, one tired and hose leaking camper and two border terriers.

The camp site is exceptional. Clean, tidy and owners cheerful and helpful.

Showers and basins include hot water and clean. WC's clean at all times.

Washroom also very clean and tidy and included dish washing liquid and cloths etc and drier ideal for 15 minutes just to get towels dry, saves hanging on a line.

Lounge was a nice comfy room. To be honest I would get rid of TV but that's just me :-). And plenty of books and leaflets.

The area is a great place, from Thursday to Monday we went out one day in camper, all the other days we just walked from the site and relaxed just taking in the views. We saw thousands of migrating geese and some deer. RSPB reserve not far and it's a pleasant walk via the lanes into Wigtown, about 4-5 miles (?) each way with nice pub and distillery for a wee dram to fortify you along the route :-))

If we return to the area (we are trying to see as much of UK as possible) then this is first place we will call.

I am guessing 10 out of 10 for children but this is based on children enjoying getting out and about and messing about in the wild.

Thank you for a lovely stay.

Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Kwikfire99 3 reviews from this member

We have just returned from Drumroamin Campsite for an Easter break with our touring caravan. First of all the pitches are the largest we have ever seen and there was ample room for our porch awning and car. The site is very well maintained and the shower block/toilets are spotless.

The TV reception was faultless and we had no problems during our stay. The games room with tv is an added bonus and our children enjoyed spending time in there. They also enjoyed using the playpark and they played there safely each evening. We also used the laundry facilities which is great for anyone with kids! Drumroamin also have 2 static vans for rent, we had a look round these and would consider coming back to use these with family.

The site was very peaceful and we enjoyed our relaxing break. We only wish it was closer to our home so that we could visit more regularly! We would definitely recommend this site 100% and are looking forward to coming back sometime. The owner is extremely welcoming and helpful - thanks for the Easter eggs!

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Paulboyles 5 reviews from this member

If its peace and quiet you are after, this is the place to be. Large spacious flat pitches with beautiful views across the estuary. The owners are so helpful and take great pride in the up keep of the campsite. Toilets and showers are spotless with plenty of hot running water. The small games room has a pool table as well as many books and brochures of the local area. Lots to do in the area if you are an outdoor person. Definitely one of our favourite campsites. Will be back very soon.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jonhayes 12 reviews from this member

Excellent camping experience. The location is really good with a vista of the Galloway hills that is close to unbeatable. The pitches are generous and you are encouraged to select your own.

The facilities were spotless - carefully designed and meticulously maintained by Lesley and Ralph. The feezer for ice-blocks was good - with the added bonus of free ice-cubes.

Lesley was extremely helpful for local cycling and walks and even supplied maps. Will definitely return and would not hesitate to recommend.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: IRISHDAVE 2 reviews from this member

First of all Lesley (the site owner) was a lovely host, upon our arrival she took time to help us with a situation involving our bikes and the lock which secured them together on the back of the car, we'd lost the key!

She fished out a box of keys and spent time trying a variety of keys to save us cutting the lock off. Long story short, we found a spare key in our boot!

Nice big open level pitches, lovely views, handy for Whigtown and the local mountain bike route which allowed my wife and I with our 4 year old to get the bikes out.

The shower blocks were spotless, the games/TV was excellent.

Kids play area had plenty to keep our 4 year old amused too.

All in all I would definitely return and have no problem recommending this site.

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Hedgehugger 7 reviews from this member

I'd certainly go back to Drumroamin; I was very happy with what it offered. Other recent reviewers have listed all the facilities this site offers, which are many and indeed spotless. The inevitable clumps of grass clippings walked into the washrooms first thing in the dewy morning vanished as if by magic; the place was wonderfully well kept.

The mostly single-track tarmac lane from the main road has one right-angle turn past an old steading; bear in mind the last 200m are on gravel. Perfectly firm, should not pose a problem. The site is level and open; trees have been planted, but are young still. If you need shade for your comfort, you might like to take an awning, sun umbrella etc. Down the centre is a newly planted green and copper beech hedge, which will look very attractive when it grows.

Pitch size is generous, as is hook-up provision, water taps, bins etc. Recycling bins for glass and cans are by the house. The site would be great for children - plenty of safe space to play. There are many interesting places to visit without travelling too far. Garlieston's the nearest beach. Kirkinner has a general store, Garlieston has two, and Wigtown has several including a Co-op, and there's a little market on Saturdays. A butcher comes to the site on Tuesdays. The all-round open aspect makes it a great spot for star-gazing.

Back down the lane and just across the main road from the site is a wood, which was awash with bluebells when I visited, and provides good (nice and shady when it's hot) dog-walking territory.

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Vanterrier 29 reviews from this member

What a fantastic site, facilities are absolutely spotless and heated, you could eat your dinner off the floor.

Very friendly owners, level and well kept grassy pitches of a generous size. Views were fantastic. Easy Access to site

A great walk from site Wigtown via a local pub (Bladnoc Inn) which does great food at reasonable prices.

Site was nice and quiet when we were there but would be perfect for young families.

Dog friendly with plenty of space for walks.

Water was easy to load in our Camper and the Elsan disposal is nicely out of the way. I would like to see an area to drop grey waste though. I discussed this with the owner and she was very helpful about where to offload my grey waste and was interested to hear options for where to locate a point and what it would look like. A future development I think.

I would say this is the best site we have been on overall. Top marks and well done.

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dgs/xekaz 5 reviews from this member

As with other recent reviews, we would also award Drumroamin Farm Camping and Caravan Site 10 out of 10. Firstly, we were met by the very friendly and helpful Lesley (Co-owner) who, after providing a warm welcome, gave us a tour of the facilities and even provided us with a loan of an OS Map of the area and some additional information leaflets.

The on-site facilities such as toilets, showers and dishwashing areas were immaculate at all times of the day and night. There was also free hot water and free washing-up liquid, dishcloth and sponge, as well as hair driers and an iron / ironing board. Coin operated laundry facilities and the free use of a freezer (for ice blocks) were also available here (although not used by us). Next door, there is a lounge / games room with T. V. And a small information / book library, where you can borrow and/or swap books. Again, this area was spotless at all times.

The pitches were large and could accommodate most size of tents very comfortably and without restricting your neighbours. The grass was short, well drained, as was the surrounding area, which was again very well kept and maintained ideal for pitching a tent.

This campsite is quite rural and about 2 miles (or 6-10 min. Drive) to the village of Kirkinner, where you can buy some bread and milk and some small groceries, etc. However, the campsite is surrounded with lovely scenery and is ideal if you like to relax and get away from it all, explore the South of Scotland; or if like us, you like walking, then you are very close to the Galloway Hills and surrounding forest walks. Equally, if you enjoy cycling or watching wildlife / birds, again this is an ideal location for you.

Overall, we had a very enjoyable couple of nights stay at a nice and reasonably priced campsite. We can also confirm that the access road to the campsite is a tarmac road, with plenty of passing places. One note of caution is to follow the directions provided on the Drumroamin Farm Camping and Caravan website and not your satnav, once you pass Kirkinner. Happy camping!

Previous     98 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dumfries and Galloway

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over 205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


814 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019