Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Nun Cote Nook Farm

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Site Reviews

Nun Cote Nook Farm
Marrick
Marrick
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
DL11 7LG
Tel: 01748 884266
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches:
Open:

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 33 Reviews
                9/10 from 33 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <10 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Dog Walk 

Reviews:  33 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ernie1 6 reviews from this member

As we turned up to this remote farm, I must admit I was a little concerned but I was so wrong, This is one of the best campsites we have been to if you like real camping. The children ran through the long grass and played for hours.

There is only one toilet and shower but it doesn't matter, we never really had to queue and while we waited my daughter stroked a pet chicken, so she was happy.

Will definitely go again. Wasn't sure if to put this on here because wanted it to stay just the way it is but the owners so friendly they deserved a good review.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: LesterH 8 reviews from this member

We have been at a lot of beautiful campsites in different European countries but this one beats them all. At least according to our wishes. We want a site without any sound of car traffic except for that of our own car when we arrive and we love a beautiful wide view. This camp-site has it in an excessive way. You only hear the sheep and see the most beautiful Yorkshire Dales landscape.

Yes, the facilities are 'basic' but there is a clean enough toilet and a good shower. It was in July and I was afraid there wouldn't be any place so I called a few weeks in advance to make a reservation. But there have been days we were the only ones in a field of half a hectare.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Joolshicks 1 review from this member

What a fantastic, warm welcome at Nun Cote.

A lush grassy field slopes away from the farmhouse giving beautiful views of the Dales beyond. There is one toilet and one shower with dishwashing facility, both are kept clean. Nothing was too much trouble and they were happy to do our ice pack exchanges.

The site is next to the Coast to Coast Walking Route, and welcomes passers by. Elaine serves wonderful food in her conservatory tea room, on two mornings we had a great cooked breakfast and a couple of packed lunches. Her strawberry cream cake is to die for!

This is a lovely, simple, quiet site to which we will definitely return when we're back in that part of the world.

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Betty95 2 reviews from this member

A friendly family site, greeted by the farmers wife, the farmer helped us to site our caravan. Tea and scones were provided in the conservatory as a welcome!

The grass in the field was quite long as it is only cut in July and used for silage, good for hide and seek and a laugh finding the ball when playing rounders, bit trickier for our friends who were in a tent.

Fantastic views.

This is an excellent site for those who want to experience life on a farm. Waking up to the sound of cockerel's, cows and sheep. Sheep passing through the field been herded by the sheepdogs going up to the barn. We were allowed into the field with sheep, lambs, goats and kids, where our children spent much time feeding the animals.

A favourite site especially with the children.

We stayed for the weekend and this wasn't long enough as the area has so much to offer. We will definitely return.

The only downside to this site is the lack of facilities, 1 toilet (not too bad for adults to wait but a bit harder for children) and 1 shower.

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: JFreeman 1 review from this member

A basic site with one toilet and one shower, but very clean and carefully looked after. There is a small play area and outdoor benches for customers having refreshments at the farmhouse. We booked a cooked breakfast which was delicious. The views of the surrounding area are lovely and uninterrupted. The site is very quiet - a great place for anyone who likes simple camping on a working farm with a friendly welcome. We will be back.

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Marshalldd 20 reviews from this member

Found this site after reading reviews and was not disappointed. Setting and scenery superb as was the welcome by Elaine and all her family.

On arrival you can pitch where you want on the field as long as you leave the middle free for the children to play. The field is open to the elements as we found when we were trying to pitch our tent but assistance soon arrived form some of our fellow campers. After you have pitched Elaine invites you in for a much welcomed cuppa and home made biscuits. By this time our two children had already made friends with the family's children and were enjoying bouncing on their trampoline.

Elaine does a range of food and drink during the day in her conservatory overlooking the valley. You can get a home cooked breakfast, lunch or evening meal. We had a steak and Ale pie which was the nicest we have ever had and the children loved the shepherds pie.

There is only one toilet and shower but for our two day stay this was never an issue as the site was not busy but could be a problem if the site was busy.

Our children had a fab time been shown around the farm by Keith ( ELaine's Husband) who introduced them to new born lambs, calves, chickens and goats. There was much excitement when the sheep were been moved to another field and the working sheep dogs gave a marvellous display!

This is a site on a fully working farm so you will be woken by the sounds of sheep and cows early but don,t let this put you off as the view in the morning when you wake up is hard to beat.

All in all the site is well worth a visit if you like a warm welcome with good food and a nice view to look at while you relax!

We will be going back.

Just to note there is no pub in walking distance.

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Whitling2k 2 reviews from this member

We were a bit apprehensive about camping after a few bad experiences, but decided to give Nun Cote Nook campsite a chance - and it was certainly not a mistake.

The campsite is a fully working farm, with chickens and sheep and run by a very friendly, proper Yorkshire family that know how to make a good cup of tea!

The facilities were basic, but clean and reliable, and the bad weather meant we couldn't have our planned BBQ. However, the food served by the family that runs the farm and campsite provided an excellent hearty meal and place to dry-out on a cold wet (summers) night.

The local towns seem very heavily geared towards tourism, but where in the Dales isn't these days?

The campsite feels like a truly rural haven of how the Dales should be!

Highly recommended.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: IainMacD 1 review from this member

Party :

2 Tents,2 cars,4 Adults, 2 children (4/5yrs)

I have just returned from a fantastic visit to this campsite.

I can only confirm comments in the previous positive reviews from 2007/8.

The view of the valley really is outstanding, and the owners couldn’t be more helpful.

Elaine made us welcome with tea and homemade biscuits and our children were invited to use the trampoline, swings and slides in the garden.

We pre-arranged breakfast in the tea-room on the morning of our departure, which was a great idea.

There is a single hot shower and pot washing room that was kept clean, as was the single toilet.

The site does slope away down the field a little but this was not a problem.

It is a working farm with free roaming chickens and livestock in fields nearby, but in my opinion this only added to charm of the location.

We used this site as a base to visit “Forbidden Corner”, Middleham near Leyburn, this was a great day out for kids and adults alike, but you do have to pre book your tickets as numbers are limited.

Aysgarth Falls is also only a short drive, and this was spectacular (due to the heavy rain, there is always a silver lining!)

In summary this was a fantastic little campsite and a world away from larger more commercial sites I have used recently, and would strongly recommend taking a look.

I will certainly be returning in the near future.

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Static Rating:
Reviewer: Simonbirch 2 reviews from this member

I want to say how fantastic Elaine's hospitality and food was. I was walking the Coast-to-Coast and had caught a stomach bug in Reeth which had left me weak and unwell. When I found Nun Cote Nook farm it was like a haven.

Elaine put me up in her static caravan and made me the most delicious meals. The food and drinks are reasonably priced and the location is beautiful (when I arrived there an art group was making the most of the scenery and cups of tea and cake!). After two nights I felt able to make my way on to Richmond from where I returned home.

The site was a Godsend for me.

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Jo0337 1 review from this member

We visited this site the first weekend in May with friends and expected it to be packed. As it turned out we had the whole field to ourselves (apart from the sheep) The nearest shop was in Reeth about 3 miles away. But Elaine sells some light refreshments from her tearoom in the conservatory at the back of the house. She also does evening meals.

Our children loved this site especially all the freedom and open space that the farm gave them. They made friends with the farmers children who took them exploring. The Farmer and his wife Elaine were very welcoming and great with the kids. As it was lambing season they let them help feed the baby lambs. He also took them for rides on his quad bike which they thought was great.

There is only one toilet on the site which was clean and tidy. They were in the process of getting showers installed but these weren't up and running at the time of our visit.

The views over Swaledale are outstanding and I would recommend this site to anyone who just wants to get away from it all and enjoy the peace and tranquility this farm provides. (The sheep wake you up about 6am)

Elaine also welcomed us with tea and homemade scones which were delicious. We got there first !

Previous     33 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in North Yorkshire   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 19th to 24th Feb, NEC
See the latest ranges of motorhomes, caravans, holiday homes, tents, awnings and accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1755 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019