Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisements

Reviews of Castel La Bien Assise

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Picardy Nord-Pas-de-Calais > Guines > Castel La Bien Assise Reviews

Castel La Bien Assise
Cd 231
Guines
Picardy Nord-Pas-de-Calais   (Browse area)
62340
Tel: 0033 03 21 35 20 77
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 400
Open: 06/04/ To 26/09

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 106 Reviews
                8/10 from 106 Reviews

Photos (17)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   Tennis On Site 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  106 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilet / shower facilities will be open. Some communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dargy 34 reviews from this member

 Being August and arriving late from the tunnel I had pre-booked for one night. An expensive process as it was peak tarrif and they charge a booking fee as well. However, we were well placed for an early start the following morning which is what we wanted. The site access is good and the pitches generous enough - certainly for a night halt which is what a large number of felow campers use it for. We ate in the restaurant next door which was delicious and although our kids have long fled the coup, we noticed a nice pool and plenty of facilities for youngsters. The loos and washing areas were ok but being a busy August suffered from inattention.

Overall, this site does the trick for an overnighter which is something we shall continue to use it for. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dubz 2 reviews from this member

 3rd time at this site. We love this site very much toilets are very well looked after this year was very wet & muddy but the toilets were still kept clean. Although this site is used for mainly stopovers it's still a great site for longer we usually go for 7 nights mainly due to the price 40 a night with electric we would love to spend longer but it's expensive & what with the ferry prices too. Great location in the small village of guines (fab market on a Friday )the people are very friendly & most speak good English if you struggle with French. Anyway the site close to ferries/tunnel is very welcoming well kept & friendly staff good bar & takeaway small shop for emergencies good pool although could be larger. All in all a very good site & would highly recommend although out of season when slightly cheaper 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Sophia Marco 1 review from this member

 Stayed just one night at La Bien Assise on the way back from Germany. We didn't arrive until late in the evening and left just after 10:00, so didn't spend a great deal of time on the site. Positives - there is a good sized indoor pool and a good playground for the kids. Situation is really convenient for the tunnel. It was just 15 minutes drive to the tunnel from the campsite and convenient supermarkets to stock up at. The campsite was well laid out, with attractive pitches. Negatives - campsite was big and very busy, most people were transiting through the site. Pool only open between 10:00 and 18:00. Shop didn't stock much. Toilets had a shared male and female block and not clean, with no soap or paper. It was the most expensive of all the sites we stayed in over 16 nights and cost me over 50 Euros for a night with two kids. In retrospect I would have been better off camping overnight at the Europort, or in Kent. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Felicity73 15 reviews from this member

 Arrived at this site Saturday night before our ferry back to Dover on Sunday. No complaints at all as very nice, clean site. Set as if woodland camping with trees throughout the site. Nice bar and takeaway. We were sited by the road and thought it may be a problem but the road goes quiet at night.

Very busy with people arriving and leaving. Only 20 minutes from Calais so ideal. We will definitely use this site again. May have to book at peak time though. Also be aware that it is a quite expensive site. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: A11 GEE 14 reviews from this member

 Mixed emotions on this site.

A very easy place to find and well situated for the Ferry ports and tunnel.

Easy access even for large units up to the reception, friendly English speaking staff greeted us on arrival.

We used this a one night stop over to return to the UK, charged 35. 80 Euro ( big shock as 2 days earlier would have been 16 euro with ACSI card) and placed on a out of the way sloping pitch near the road.

Hook-up is stated as being 6a but we were only able to run our fridge until a visit to reception to explain the situation, not sure if they downgrade the ampage here but after getting back to our Van everything seemed fine.

Lots and lots of Statics, Tents and Glamping tents are here but these don't intrude if you are in a Tourer. A wander round the site (which is huge) finds massive grass pitches with plenty of room for an awning and your car, privacy provided by hedges with tall trees everywhere so plenty of shade too.

I counted 3 toilet blocks (not sure if there's more), my wife used one that she said was looking tired with not much hot water in the shower, very cold wet and generally miserable, Mine on the other hand seemed fine, fairly modern warm, clean with plenty of hot water.

The bar is a beautiful place to spend an evening, nice beer lovely food and reasonable in price.

There's also a restaurant that seems a little more 'upmarket' if you know what I mean.

Plenty for kids to do, nice pool, Tennis, Gym and playground if you are spending some time here.

To recap. A beautiful place to stay but be prepared to pay a premium! 

Advertisements

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Algolthedemonstar 1 review from this member

 A very pleasant and attractive looking site within easy reach of Calais. Very good for a rest after a long trip before returning to Britain. Not very close to shops if you have no alternative transport. They have a small shop, where you can order fresh croissants for morning, but not a great selection otherwise. Takeaway open in the evening, which we didn't try because we had supplies, and a restaurant, which was too expensive to try. Hookups are provided, and water is near the pitches. Elsan points are a bit further, but good and clean. Toilet blocks ok, but showers have no door to the outside, so no protection from insects. Staff very polite and helpful, but no-one around in the evening to enforce quiet, which was a bit of a problem. There's a small dog walk area near the gate, but not much offsite for a proper walk. All in all a great stopover, but for us, with a motorhome and large dogs, not where we'd want to be for a week. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: BlackpoolBelle 14 reviews from this member

 Very well set up site (Castels & Camping chain) in nice surroundings and convenient for the tunnel.

Good points:

Some large pitches with hookup, water & drain

Nice bar & restaurant

Good facilities for children

Easy to find & very handy for the tunnel

Good English spoken

Good value with an ACSI card

Less good:

Wifi (charge) is limited to 300MB a day & we exceeded this by simply downloading 2 newspapers - no one told us it cuts you off if you exceed it. We paid for 2 days, had 12 hours & were not offered a refund.

Toilets and shower blocks (bar the heated one) looking tired & need some upgrading.

Showers very wet and difficult to clean due to lack of mats at door and floor mops. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: BlackCountryRich 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed here twice in one week. Firstly after arriving in France via the Tunnel. A quick 20 min journey and we arrived. A welcoming greeting and as our first visit an explanation of what was where on site. Our pitch was slightly sloping between the reception and bar/food area. Ground slightly boggy but after all the rain the day before this was to be expected.

On arrival 6 days later we were escorted to a pitch on the far right of the site. A wonderful spot. The pitch was sop big I was convinced I had taken up 2 spaces!. Water and electric close by. Showers hot and clean on all my visits. I will definitely use again as a starting point for my European adventures 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: GTSwifty 7 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this site as our last overnight stop before catching a ferry from Calais on the Sunday. We chose the site based upon the reviews on this website.

Our welcome at the reception was what I would call 'efficient friendliness' and with admin and payment sorted we were escorted to our pitch by the chap in a golf buggy.

This is certainly a lovely site set in the grounds of a wonderful moated manor house. The landscaping of the site is superb with lovely trees, shrubbery and 'sculpted' bushes together with a very nice pond.

Our pitch was very large but then again, at 25ft, so is our motorhome so we have not experienced any small pitches on our travels. We were on 'fairly' level grass and had electric hook up close by hidden from view in the shrubbery - a nice touch.

This site really does have everything you would expect of a Castels chain member ; bar/snacks, take away food, nice restaurant, swimming pool. However, as we were only on an overnight stay we did not use any of these facilities and cannot therefore comment on them.

The sanitary block close to our pitch had UK style WC's, wash basins in cubicles and showers. All very nice at first site BUT. It had rained prior to our stay and the floor was a terrible state. This was not helped by the lack of a proper entrance mat - a mat resembling a towel was on the floor and it was totally inadequate for the task. It was also not helped by there being only one rake style mop - even municipal sites we have stayed at on this trip had several of these per sanitary block. The shower cubicles were lacking in clothes hooks - only one hook for everything ; a very poor design.

The site is located about 15 minutes walk from small town of Guines and with it's historical associations with Henry VIII and it's interesting independent shops etc. It's worth the walk. There is a Le Clerc supermarket on the edge of Guines - useful for some shopping and fuel. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Rbedwards 11 reviews from this member

 Overnight on the way into France. Very well appointed site. Efficient welcome, taken straight to large pitch, close to toilet block, that was clean and tidy. Busy site, good facilities for the kids, nice bar. Free WiFi in the bar but not working when we were there. Other campers told us that was not unusual!

Quiet at night, easy to find and get to and from ferry.

Lots of variety of units, some fixed. 


Previous     106 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Castel La Bien Assise child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Castel La Bien Assise have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Castel La Bien Assise?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Castel La Bien Assise dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Guines      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Picardy Nord-Pas-de-Calais

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5652 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisements


Advertisements