Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Lyndon Top Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Rutland > Oakham > Lyndon Top Caravan Park Reviews

Lyndon Top Caravan Park
Lyndon Road
Rutland Water
Oakham
Rutland   (Browse area)
LE15 8RN
Tel: 015394 31222
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 38 Reviews
                9/10 from 38 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 1 mile   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports 1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  38 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Mags0152 25 reviews from this member

We had a rally here with 20 vans of lady motorhomers. We cannot speak highly enough of the site, Arthur the warden and the area. We had fabulous views of Rutland Water, easy access to water and CDP, loads of space and it was incredibly good value for money. Arthur was helpful and kind making us feel safe and welcome. A pleasant garden centre with a coffee shop is a short walk and pubs in both Manton (1 miles) and Edith Weston (2 miles) serve good food. I particularly liked the feeling of space and freedom and the wonderful views. Moved on to a 'proper' site on our way home where we paid three times as much for a small concrete pitch. OK Lyndon Top has no electric and no toilet block but as most vans are fully equipped to be self sufficient it isn't a problem. We want to go back to Lyndon top.

Please note, I have given the site 10/10 for child friendliness because of the space and the safety. If you are looking for play equipment etc. This isn't that kind of site but space to run around and play is plentiful.

Date of Visit: February 2016 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Ianarchie 3 reviews from this member

Just had an overnight stay in our camper. Wow what a place. Unspoiled and basic camping. Arthur was mega friendly and helpful. Perfect site for cyclists or walkers. Saw lots of buzzards and a couple of Red Kites. 7 a night is an absolute bargain and we will definitely be returning.

Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Shazchar 2 reviews from this member

Fantastic site at only 7 per night you done have to book there is 112 acres to choose from

Great for kids and dogs to have loads of freedom

Lovely walk down to the lake or the osprey centre

Golf club next door either for a game or just a drink and something to eat

No EHU, load of water taps

This will be 1 of our regular sites

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Adville 1 review from this member

Just got back from Lyndon Top stayed for night only as we have a new Motorhome and live local so just getting used to it. Arthur the warden is superb and very helpful. He took us around the site on his little buggy first to see where we would like to pitch up. We were very close to the water with fine weather. The site is very clean but doesn't have a toilet block or electric hook up. Plenty of fresh water points around and Elsan emptying points. Close to two good pubs also. We will be back next weekend for two nights (still getting use to all the gadgets and workings of a motorhome). Best of all only 7 a night.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: COPAUL 9 reviews from this member

Visited the site with the Mustang Owners Club, it is a very well kept site Arthur keeps the grass cut short. Whilst there is no EHU the water points are never far away, you can pitch where you like no need to book just turn up with fantastic views over Rutland Water and a golf club near by where you can get food and drink. Very quiet and relaxing Oakham is a short ride away and you can have boat tips on the water. A Osprey nesting site is close by with brown and white Trout in the lake at just 7 per night it's well worth it

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Hufto53 1 review from this member

This is an absolutely amazing site. The views are fantastic and everyone is so friendly. It is such a tranquil setting. We were upset after being on a site close by and the owners made us so welcome. It is close to the Osprey Centre and the Shore bus which picks up a few minutes walk away takes you all around Rutland Water to Oakham, which is a lovely place with a nice castle and museum and they are free to look round as well. We will definitely go again and would highly recommend it.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: U.corda 2 reviews from this member

We have been here several times during the last 2 years and we have enjoyed every visit as if it was the first. We found this absolute gem of a site, by accident, as we were going to go to another site but decided to go look at this one we had seen sign posted. The warden, Arthur, is most helpful and will tell you all about the local attractions. The grounds are, without exception always clean tidy and well manicured.

Although there is no electricity, that really does not detract from the stunning views and tranquillity the site has to offer.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Kurt the van 6 reviews from this member

Stumbled upon this site whilst actually looking for a nearby one, but soooo glad we did! The people who run it (Maddie & Arthur) couldn't be more friendly and helpful! The site itself is massive but superbly kept and has many private areas (9 separate areas in all) including some over looking Rutland water. Even though it's a large site, the beauty of it is that you feel like you have the place to yourself almost as there's so much room. It's not regimented or stuffy. The facilities are clean, but there's just a couple of toilets and sinks (no shower or hot water) but for 7 per night where you have fantastic views, extremely friendly hosts, who's complaining! Gave us chance to get out the solar shower in the awning! HIGHLY recommend and we will be back. Oh, a tip. When you go to the toilet block behind the barn, take a torch. There are no lights! :)

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Chezza23 2 reviews from this member

After buying a very large tent we wanted to go somewhere and try it out and this place was recommended to us and I'm glad it was because its a lovely place and will definitely be going back again. Upon arrival a man met us and told us to pitch wherever we wanted so we found a pitch facing the water. There were quite a few caravans and tents but with the choice of 4 fields it never felt crowded. There is a toilet block behind the back of the barn but no showers but we only stopped the one night so wasn't a problem. We just wanted a relaxing weekend and we found it, the kids could run around and explore and felt very safe. The ice cream man came round twice a day and fish and chips man on a Saturday night. There is a pub about a mile away.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Pault156 2 reviews from this member

Very surprised, visited because it was listed in cccmag as a temporary holiday site at 8. 50 per night. When we arrived 1st field was crowded but the very friendly man who ran the site appeared from behind the barn and showed us into the next field where we were able to select our own pitch next to water supply and with a view over Rutland water. He then proceeded to give us full details of the area, including nearby pubs and shops etc. The next day he came and took our details and charged the princely sum of 7. 00. No facilities apart from water and chemical toilet disposal. Excellent value

Previous     38 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Where is the nearest shop to Lyndon Top Caravan Park?   There is a shop within 5 miles    View all facilities

Is Lyndon Top Caravan Park dog friendly?   YES    View all facilities


Other Sites Near Oakham      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Rutland

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...





Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet NEC Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 18/02 to 23/02
Birmngham - Caravans, motorhomes, tents, folding caravans and 1000s of accessories all under one roof! ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3554 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020