Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Cotswold Carp Farm

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Gloucestershire > Bourton On The Water > Cotswold Carp Farm Reviews

Cotswold Carp Farm
Rissington Road
Bourton On The Water
Gloucestershire   (Browse area)
GL54 2FH
Tel: 01451 821795
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 10
Open: April To September

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 36 Reviews
                9/10 from 36 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   Cycle Hire 1 mile   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  36 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: RIMMER 176 reviews from this member

A picturesque, grass site with pitches overlooking a well stocked carp lake. Difficult to find but after a few wrong turning took the correct route through the small housing estate. Very quiet at night and plenty of birdlife about. Toilets a touch basic but clean with a modern shower. As mentioned previously the walk along the bridle path leads to the village with everything there including at least four pubs. An hourly bus can be caught from the village which takes you to other Cotswold gems like Moreton-in-the-Marsh and Stow-on-the-Wold. Paid £17. 50/night for two with ehu and a view to die for.

Date of Visit: March 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Mick-rachel 15 reviews from this member

If you are looking to chill and relax then this little gem is for you. We were greeted on arrival by Terry who is a very jolly helpful chap. We couldn't believe the actual size of the pitch, we thought someone else would be pulling up along side of us but no it was all for us. The pitches are all facing the lake which we believe is stocked with carp (not a fisherman I'm afraid)but it was glorious to just chill and watch the birds on the lake and the rabbits enjoying playtime in the sun.

A 10 minute walk will get you to the beautiful village with its abundance of tea rooms and gift shops.

Would we recommend this site - you bet!

Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sally21 5 reviews from this member

What a great little site.

The owner met us on arrival and showed us where to pitch. He's a very friendly, happy, helpful guy.

The site is on the side of some fishing lakes which is stocked with carp and there are lots of ducks, swans and coots on the lake. There were also lots of bunnys running around which were nice to watch. Dogs are welcome as long as they are on a lead and you pick up after them.

The site is flat, quiet and relaxing. There is a toilet and shower block which is spotless. There are 2 toilets for each gender with hot water facilities. The toilets were fully stocked and there was one shower which was free and once again spotless. There are plenty of bins next to the toilet block for recycling.

A ten minute walk gets you into the centre of the village which was lovely to wander around and a co-op just 5 mins drive away.

Would we recommend this site? YES we would and are planning to return again later in the year

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Vivthevivaro 5 reviews from this member

What a lovely site - being a local born I knew about the site but had never stayed before. We used it as a base to take flowers for my mum and grandparents at the cemetery and get around all the family.

The owner was an utter joy of an owner - even though we had to bribe him with a bottle of wine! only joking. He couldn't have been more helpful even finding us an extension for our hook-up.

We will be back. And not telling anyone about this beautiful little 'cotswold gem'

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Yardstick 5 reviews from this member

Picked the right week to visit Bourton on the water. The weather was fantastic. Stayed at the Cotswold Carp Farm, for three nights. A wonderful little site with very friendly owners. So peaceful and quiet apart from the jumping fish and the wildlife.

Was greeted by Terry on arrival, who showed me around. He had reserved me a pitch, just the right size for my tent.

The facilities are perfect for the size of the site. There are two gents and two ladies toilets, and a Free shower, which were spotless at all times. At no time did I have to queue.

The site is situated on the outskirts of Bourton, which is a 15-20 minute walk to the centre of the village.

Well worth a visit to this site and I will be returning for another stay soon. £7 per night well spent.

If you are visiting with children be aware that the lakes are deep.

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Grumpy bear 9 reviews from this member

Just spent a great week-end at this site, found it on this site. On arrival was greeted by the owner who was most helpful and friendly.

The pitch was beside a carp farm stock lake. The owner showed us the toilets which were old but in immaculate condition and spotless. The site was small and very well kept, the other campers come back on a regular basis so this speaks for itself about the site better than any comments I can put on here. The site is only a short walk from the village. The site was quiet and the fishing was good and we will be going back soon

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: AL53HX 18 reviews from this member

If you want a 5 star caravan site with all the amenities, then this site is not for you but, if you love basic things, then this is a hidden gem.

The owner (Terry) cannot be more helpful, there is one toilet block with two toilets per gender, and one shared shower, but waiting is not a great problem as it is a small site.

Bourton on the water is a ten minute stroll, and there are plenty of public footpaths to other villages, with larger towns a comfortable drive away.

Fishing is free to residents and I had two day sessions while the wife took the dog for long walks.

All in all a splendid holiday was had by both of us and, hopefully we will be going back on a regular basis.

The site is dog friendly with the usual rules, it's adult only, and is open from the start of April till the end of September

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Julieblan 1 review from this member

This is a great little site. Owner is really friendly, so too were the other campers we spoke to, who come back year after year. We turned up without booking and luckily there was a pitch available. We originally planned to stop for 2 nights but ended up staying an extra 2 nights as it was really lovely (with rabbits, birds, fish to watch).

There was plenty of room to pitch (with electric hook up if needed) right on the edge of one of the carp ponds.

The toilet block had 1 shower (plenty of hot water) and 4 toilets (2 gents and 2 ladies) and a belfast sink in one corner with drinking water. There were several recycling bins outside the block.

It's within a 10-15 minute walk of Bourton-on-the-Water where there are plenty of pubs (with meal deals and real ale) and shops. There is also a traditional ironmongers in town which stocks camping gas (we ran out during our stay).

Would definitely stay here again.

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Crapple 30 reviews from this member

This is a little gem of a site, we booked for 2 nights, then on arrival decided to spend the last 8 nights (the longest we've ever spent on one site) of our holiday there as it is so lovely and in such a great location. The owner is really friendly and easy going, we had a lovely pitch with electric hook up overlooking one of the lakes. There is one building with 2 male and 2 female toilets and 1 shower, but as this is a small site it is more than adequate, I never had to wait to use the shower. The shower block is always lovely and clean and the shower is excellent, good water pressure, adjustable temperature and no push button. And the shower cubicle is lovely and large as well, one of the best showers I had in our month's holiday. The recycling put most other campsites we've been to to shame, there was a dustbin for every type of recycling item you can think of. There was also chemical toilet disposal and easy access to water for refilling our motor home's tank.

The wildlife on site is wonderful, we had swans, ducks, ducklings, geese and goslings and other birds around our pitch, and really enjoyed watching all the birdlife. My husband fished at one of the lakes on several occasions and had some good catches, it was great being able to fish so close to our motor home (nice and near for delivering coffee and sandwiches to him!).

We have dogs and they absolutely loved the place, there is a huge field full of exciting rabbit holes for them to run around in, so they had a great time.

The site is in a fab location just 5 minutes cycle ride or 15 minutes walk into Bourton on the Water, having spent most of our holiday in the middle of nowhere in north Scotland I really enjoyed having shops nearby! China Town chinese restaurant (recommended by the owner) does excellent take away, we had it several times. The footpath along by the side of the campsite didn't cause any disturbance, but there are houses just behind the footpath and on one night there was a very rowdy party going on in one of the houses til late - this was the only time we were reminded of being near town, for the rest of the time you'd think you were in a really rural location, it was so quiet and peaceful.

We definitely intend to return to this campsite, we loved our stay there and were sorry to leave, I can't find any fault with the site at all.

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: David Hogg 4 reviews from this member

Just spent the May Bank Holiday weekend at this wonderful campsite with a car, a tent and two adults.

The owner was very friendly on the phone and said we could arrive at whatever time suited us, provided it wasn't 11 or 12 at night. Which is fair enough!

On arrival we were shown to our pitch which you could have pitched a dozen large tents on. And it was all for us! However there was only one area really flat enough for a tent, but as the whole pitch is for one tent, the sloping area didn't matter!

The pitch was in one corner of the campsite, and had a lovely view across one of the large fishing ponds. The next campers were a good 100m from us, so the privacy was excellent. Just behind us however was a public footpath. Although with only a handful of ramblers passing a day, it was easy to forget it was actually a footpath.

The whole area was nice and quiet, with the majority of the sounds coming from the local wildlife - in particular the canada geese which seemed to be running a creche on the neighbouring lake! There was lots of bird activity, with robins, blackbirds, ducks, geese, swans and even bats making regular appearances.

The facilities were all in a small block, consisting of 2 gents and 2 ladies loos (although all were identical), and a single shower. The facilities were well looked-after and well-stocked and never seemed overly busy. For any more than 10 pitches though, a few more showers would be needed.

The town centre of Bourton-on-the-Water was about 15 minutes walk away and has more gift shops and tearooms than you can poke a stick at! Definitely worth a visit as its atmosphere is charming. Even with all the tourists that flock to the town in their thousands!

The nearby towns of Lower and Upper Slaughter are also definitely worth a visit and can be walked to in ~45 minutes - truly picturesque little villages. Don't miss the wonderful riverside tearoom at the Old Mill in Lower Slaughter!

Overall a wonderful little campsite, and a peaceful place to escape from all the other visitors to the area – even on one of the busiest Bank Holidays in the year.

Previous     36 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gloucestershire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4733 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019