Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Standedge Caravan And Campsite (the Carriage House)

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > West Yorkshire > Marsden > Standedge Caravan And Campsite (the Carriage House) Reviews

Standedge Caravan And Campsite (the Carriage House)
Manchester Road
Standedge
Marsden
West Yorkshire   (Browse area)
HD7 6NL
Tel: 01484 844419
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 10 hardstand for caravan plus camping
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 41 Reviews
                8/10 from 41 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  41 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: BabsF 35 reviews from this member

 Small site situated on ground behind pub. Rather cramped but pleasant. Quite a bit of noise from main road.

The toilets and showers aren't the cleanest and the toilet rolls could do with replacing more often. There was no charge for dogs and they are allowed in the conservatory area of the pub where you can get a very good Sunday dinner.

Great area for walking but transport needed for anything else as there is nothing in the immediate area. Ok for a one or two night stay.

No facilities for washing or drying of clothes which is not good in such a good area for walking where the weather is so unpredictable. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Webbymanchester 2 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a weekend on this site and cannot rate it highly enough. As others have said it is out on the tops and therefore the weather can be unforgiving but the pub on site is lovely and welcoming and the food looks good although we didn't eat there.

Basic children's playground but our son loved it and put off a lot of time there. Toilets are absolutely spotless and 50p for hot water goes a very long way. Easily fills the bath or a 15 minute power shower. Only 15 a night too.

We will definitely be going back!  


Date of Visit: February 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Ken- 2 reviews from this member

 Just arrived back from a weekend at this site, very clean and well laid out, facilities are spotless in a newly built shower block (appears to be a new extension, not sure how long it has been up though), there is a play area for kids but didn't take much notice what was on it.

Site is just off the main road but traffic didn't bother us at all and never heard any during the night, there is a good walk up the hill but don't try and cut across heading straight for the hill, go down the road and there is a path that goes up, if you try and cut across it is very boggy.

The pub is good, children allowed in, nice food, mainly Turkish but they do English as well, we had the Izgara(sp) and it was very good, good choice of beers and a great night out on a Saturday with the karaoke.

Thee is a bus stop right outside of the site, I didn't see any stop there over the weekend though so not sure when they run and where too.

We will be visiting this site again over the summer.

15 a night with electric, good value 


Date of Visit: October 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Brianconwy 11 reviews from this member

 We have just spent two nights here and can endorse what others have said. Nice pitches and really nice facilities that were really clean. Food in the pub was really good and we enjoyed the roaring log fire.

As has been mentioned the site is very exposed to the elements and we had very strong winds that had the caravan rocking. We weren't disturbed by the road noise at all. It was a bargain at 15 a night.

There are heritage trail walks in the area around the campsite. The ground was very boggy due to the time of year but in the drier summer season these walks would be interesting and enjoyable. 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jay C 5 reviews from this member

 We visited in early September and totally enjoyed ourselves. As mentioned in other reviews the weather we encountered was a real mixture but it didn't stop our enjoyment of our surroundings.

The views were outstanding and at times breathtaking, don't let the mixture of wind, sunshine, rain and mist put you off because it made our stay atmospheric. The pub and owners were very friendly and helpful.

The food was excellent and it was nice to have alternatives such as the Turkish platter. As real ale drinkers we enjoyed the choice of beers and as my husband is a cider connoisseur he loved the selection they had.

The facilities were clean and warm, the 50p charge for the shower lasted about 15 minutes. I used the shower room they had and my only niggle is that it didn't have a hook near the shower to put my wash bag on etc, there were hooks but they were on the other side of the room above the toilet! As I am visually impaired it was a minor irritation but nothing that would stop me visiting again.

As mentioned before the pub is on a main road and there is some noise but nothing that is too obtrusive. The children's play area was great for our 3 year old. Dogs were welcomed, but only in the pub in certain areas at quiet times.

We stayed in our tourer but my parents stayed in a room. The room was magnificent and could rival any fancy hotel any day, we had breakfast in the pub on one morning which was lovely and was a reasonable price.

The cost for the caravan was 15 a night all year round. I won't hesitate in returning. Marsden and Uppermill are a must to visit but make sure you get out the car and explore as the little pathways and lanes lead you to some lovely picturesque places. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Starr 6 reviews from this member

 Two friends and I have just spent 2 nights at this site. There are very few campsites in this area so we didn't really have any other options (we prefer small, quiet sites so wouldn't usually go for one in the grounds of a pub) but we were pretty pleased with it.

The site is round the back of the pub (pub customers park and go in at the front so there were no issues with noise as people came and went) and had 8 or 9 gravel spaces for motorhomes/caravans with grass in between them, and the tent area is a patch of grass at the end of the site with electric hookup, a water tap and a picnic table. The tent area was pretty small - there were 4 small tents and one very large one there and you wouldn't have wanted many more than that.

The toilet block was the cleanest campsite toilet block I've ever seen. There were 3 shower rooms with a sink and toilet in each, and one of them also had a bath! Showers were 50p, we didn't use them so I can't comment on how long that would last, but they were proper power showers like you'd have in your house so I imagine they were pretty good. There were no queues at all, in fact I never even saw anyone else in there! There was also a sink for washing up which always had hot water.

The site is right next to the A62, but although there are cars going up & down during the day, we didn't really hear any noise from the road at night. There was a constant noise from the back of the pub (maybe an extractor fan or something?) but that didn't particularly bother us. The site is quite exposed and was very windy and rainy while we were there.

As most of the people there were in caravans and motorhomes, we didn't hear them at all, but the tent area is quite small and I can imagine it would be quite unpleasant if anyone was being noisy as you're fairly close to other tents. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Iron maiden 8 reviews from this member

 Great little site. If a little exposed to the moors. The owners were really friendly and helpful. Offered information about the area which was great.

The shower and toilet block was very clean and tidy. 50p to use the showers but I had plenty of time to wash my hair (which is long and thick) and they were nice and hot.

The pub is very nice and the food looked lovely. Karaoke on Saturday night is a must and a great laugh

Only one slight grip and that is that on a couple of occasions when I went to use the pot sink there wasn't any hot water.

Would go back 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Tracylee 1 review from this member

 1st time to try out our surfvan, after chilling in the van for a while Lee had a nice hot bath and I had a hot shower then we got ready to party. We started in the restaurant where we had a Turkish spicy lamb starter which was freshly barbequed and delicious, after a lovely main course of steak and salmon we then retired to the bar area where the karaoke was in full swing. Most of the locals were camping as well so it made the whole experience really enjoyable and we plan to return soon and try the Turkish meat dish for 2 for 22 which made our mouths water! Facilities were excellent, food even better, entertainment great but our singing leaves a lot to be desired! 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Brownskins 1 review from this member

 When we arrived at the campsite we were pleased, close to road, but beautiful location, moorlands all around. The chef directed us to our pitch which was fine. We set up and went for lunch in The Carriage House. This was lovely, the best lunch we have had in a long time, me and my wife had the hot and spicy kebab, my daughter the soup of the day, and on special request, my 3 year old had tuna mayo on white bread, the food and location was great. Good selection of beers and cider.

Great children's play area with gates. The field used to be ashfelt / carpark as it was difficult to get tent pegs into the hardstanding areas and it looks like they have turfed over the areas intended for tents. Great shower blocks and washing up areas - very clean.

Getting to the negatives - it must be very difficult to control the guests but a party of around 10 mixed 30-40 year olds pitched behind us, and it is fair to say were unpleasant, they had their stereo playing until 2-30am and their language was not what you would want your children to hear! I would have liked to have confronted them but they were too drunk and the children were asleep!

Be prepared it is very windy as the site is on open moorland, it was very amusing in the morning to find the next door revellers without half their tent! 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bill rangecroft 7 reviews from this member

 We have just spent four brilliant days at this site, to visit the whit friday marches, we encountered just about every kind of weather, sun, wind (gale force) fog and rain.

That apart we could not speak too highly of the site and the owners (bev & simon) The toilets were great, clean with plenty of hot water. My son and family arrived two days after us, with a tent which they had never tried before, it was a disaster as the tent ripped in the gale force winds. They then tried to book a room but they were full at the pub, however simon very kindly lent them a tent of his own and the problem was resolved. Thanks to everyone for their help. 


Previous     41 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Standedge Caravan And Campsite (the Carriage House) child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Standedge Caravan And Campsite (the Carriage House)?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Standedge Caravan And Campsite (the Carriage House) dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Marsden      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in West Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest W Midlands and Wales 03/07 to 04/07
Exciting family entertainment with weekend camping ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4252 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement