Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Loch Ness Highland Resort

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Highlands > Fort Augustus > Loch Ness Highland Resort Reviews

Loch Ness Highland Resort
Glendoe Road
Fort Augustus
Highlands   (Browse area)
PH32 4BG
Tel: 01320 366257
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: June To November

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 52 Reviews
                8/10 from 52 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  52 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: DaveG60 14 reviews from this member

 Large site close to Fort Augustus. Large clean toilet and shower block. Had meal and drinks in bar which is very convenient although pricey. Some noise from road which runs above the pitches.

Fort Augustus is a tourist honeypot but one can spend a pleasant evening watching boats go through the locks on the Caledonian canal. Lots of eating and drinking places try the RichmondHouse hotel. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Wilbur 4 2 reviews from this member

 This was our first visit for over a year to a site we had enjoyed very much previously. There have been a few improvements since our last visit most notable is the bar and restuarant. We did visit the bar a couple of times but didn't try the food. To our delight the bar is dog friendly.

The staff were really friendly and we felt very welcome.

The site was quite busy but there never seemed to be a queue for the showers etc. Which were always spotless.

We wont be leaving it so long to our next visit. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: NEJane 25 reviews from this member

 I visited this site last week, staying two nights. Normally I would be travelling with my wheelchair dependent husband, however, this trip was with our son. Our first impression was of a well laid out site, with a separate field for motorbikers/cyclists camping in tents. Also provided for them is a shelter, under which to park their motorbikes/cycles - something I've never seen before. In the big field is also a tent area for car travellers, and that is surrounded by hardstands for caravans, motorhomes and campervans. Unfortunately, having handled a wheelchair for many a year, I noted that the hardstands are gravel and that is a nightmare for wheelchair users and carers. On a plus side, each pitch is served by its own fresh water supply. The facilities are good but only three showers in each block - I can imagine the queues in the high season! For some reason, during our visit, every toilet seat in the ladies was loose and two of the handbasins did not drain very well. Also the plug came apart, in the basin I was using, when trying to drain it - a bit more maintenance could be applied, I think. I did note that all facilities have ramped access and that entry to the disabled facilities is gained by producing a Blue Badge. As my husband was not with me, I did not get to see what the facilities were like for the disabled visitor. Something I did not like though was the grey water drain, at the motorhome service point, also being used as the elsan disposal point. This didn't sit comfortably with me and I opted not to empty our loo where I had just drained our grey water tank. The bar/restaurant on site provides sit-in dining as well as a takeaway service. After a full day of walking, the two of us decided it would be treat to sit-in and have our fish and chips, rather than use the takeaway service. However, on checking the restaurant menu, we noted that it was going to cost 5 more each, to sit in (apparently a salad side dish is offered within the extra cost). Needless to say, we weren't prepared to pay an extra tenner to sit in a wooden building, on wooden furniture on a wooden floor when we could walk down the field and sit in the comfort of our cosy little campervan for a lot less, but minus the salad! That grump aside, we liked the site, the location and the easy access to busy Fort Augustus and would certainly recommend it to others. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jackie Ann 1 review from this member

 My husband and I stayed at this campsite last year and loved it so much we came back again this year. The toilets are spotlessly clean and there is constant hot water in the shower. No extra charge for the shower which is great as you doin't need to keep feeding the meter with tokens. The grass is kept short and the camp pitch is as flat and smooth as a bowling green. The club house offers fantastic food and a variety of drinks all at a reasonable cost. The staff are very friendly and helpful as are the locals. Fort Augustus is a 5 min walk from the site and is a lovely village in a fantastic setting. The Caledonian canal runs through Fort Augustus into Loch Ness which is spectacular to watch the boats come through the ladder of 7 locks. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Declan Lawlor 2 reviews from this member

 Our second night of the John O Groats Lands End challenge was spent here. Facilities were absolutely fantastic and the staff were very helpful. Lovely campsite and a beautiful part of Scotland. Thank you for allowing us to stay the night free of charge as we raised nearly 1000 for The Army Benevolent Fund. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Adam + Vee 5 reviews from this member

 Called into this fabulous site for 3 days (7/10th July 2014) on spec and could not have been happier!

Originally only going to stay a couple of days, we stayed on a further night and would quite happily have stayed longer had it been possible.

The site staff were genuinely friendly (especially the elderly gentleman (Tom) who zooms around on his golf buggy ensuring everything is hunky dory for your stay. At over 80 years of age, he is AMAZINGLY sprightly!

The large toilet block was very clean & tidy with oodles of hot water, powerful showers and it would appear they are tended to on a regular basis throughout the day.

The site is level, dry and ideal for touring caravans, motorhomes or tenting alike & in one of the most idyllic places we have visited in our many years of touring in The Highlands!

The grass was immaculately trimmed and, to be honest, there was nothing to have a moan about.

A bonus for the biking fraternity is a large open shed to park their bike in of an evening should the weather be inclement. There is also an area for drying your wet clothes in the shed! There's a hostel building for non-campers also.

Another big bonus for us was the on-site bar and restaurant for a 'wee dram' on the short walk into town for the evening.

Being such a short walk (less than 3 minutes) into town is ideal & all you will need is there for you in the various shops.

The Caledonian Canal goes clean through the town and is a lovely place to while away a couple of hours on a sunny evening, watching the boats, some of which can be huge, climb the locks. We even witnessed a Viking Longboat come up through the canal locks, spectacular.

Fort Augustus is a very cosmopolitan little town, having visitors from the world over while we were there, mooring their boats for the evening and having a stroll through town or a light refreshment in one of the many Inns or Hotels.

All in all, I would say this site in particular, but even the location is a must for a stay on your travels through The Highlands of Scotland.

Top marks all round. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Frapo 5 reviews from this member

 A large site with many hsp''s separated by grass all around a large field. There is a restaurant on site but we have not been there. The facilities are more than adequate. It' s very close, a 5minutes walk, to the interesting cascade locks of Fort Augustus. There are shops and restaurants, one restaurant is located at the boards of Loch Ness, where it flows into the Caledonian Canal, just before the locks. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tanya999 6 reviews from this member

 Very nice site, man at reception friendly and welcoming. Requested pitch which had TV reception, seemingly 1/2 the pitches don't get TV. Very large pitches, with electric and water supplied (no lugging water bottles). Site is beautifully kept. Toilet block is ok, no major complaints, although the shower cubicles are large, it's difficult to get dressed without your clothes getting wet. It's a very large site and wasn't too busy when we were there but I suspect there would be queues for the 3 showers in high season. Water was hot, although you couldn't regulate the temperature. There appeared to just be 2 industrial bins close to the toilets. I think it would be helpful if there were extra bins placed around the site. There is a lovely new club house, well behaved dogs are welcome. Would definitely return. I think wifi was available sometimes. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nick McP 9 reviews from this member

 I have stayed at this site for the last 4 years when we tour on our motorbikes around Scotland. I therefore get to see a lot of other campsites and this one is probably one of the best. It has a bar and restaurant that open at 5pm each night, toilet facilities are very good, always clean and more importantly warm. This is a godsend after a sometimes cold and wet bike ride. Staff are helpful and friendly, I particularly like the older gentleman who patrols the place on his golf buggy. The views may not be great, especially after staying in Durness, but it has everything you would need for a couple of nights of hassle free camping.

For bikers, we used the site as a base in 2013, staying for 3 nights then riding to Skye or Inverness, both outstanding roads for bikes. 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Albatech 1 review from this member

 Fantastic site in an excellent location, the facilities are superb, the shower block is probably the best on any campsite in Scotland.

The camping field is great, flat, soft and quietly sheltered with easy access to the village amenities, when the on site bar and lounge opens this site will be very busy so book ahead and maybe see you there, I will definitely be going back 


Previous     52 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Loch Ness Highland Resort child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Loch Ness Highland Resort?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Loch Ness Highland Resort dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Fort Augustus      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Highlands

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2148 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement