Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Manor Farm Caravan And Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > East Anglia England > Norfolk > Cromer > Manor Farm Caravan And Camping Site > Reviews

Manor Farm Caravan And Camping Site
East Runton
Cromer
Norfolk   (Browse area)
NR27 9PR
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: -
Open: 01/04/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 434 Reviews
                9/10 from 434 Reviews

Photos (23)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  434 in total, now showing 291 to 300                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27   28   29   30   31   32   33   34   35   36   37   38   39   40   41   42   43   44  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Thebaron404 1 review from this member

 Excellent Site!

We camped on the Dog friendly site and accidentally found the best pitch on the site, I'm not sure I should give it away but to give you a clue it's nearly 180 degrees of sea view and up a bit higher than the rest of the site.

The facilities are excellent. There were two large freezers for ice blocks. No q's for showers at any times, there are loads of them so not really surprising.

The site went quite at 11pm. There were some groups but all well behaved.

Cromer full of amenities inc a Morrisons. But bear in mind that if your used to the delights/horrors of 24h shopping then you'll need to remember that all but Budgens close's after 8pm. And Sundays are apparently still sunday in north norfolk. (Supermarkets closed by 4pm)

The Beaches are clean albeit a bit flat. Not many that are Dog friendly.

If you want to eat out then Cromer offers many good family eateries, more fish and chip shops then you can throw a stick at.

Holt though for us offered the best food options. The Kings Head and it's Sister Pub somewhere across the road were both excellent and reasonable. A meal at the friendly Kings head Drinks and Wine came for 4 adults came at approx 20 pounds per person. Kids inc our friends 2 year old were made to feel very welcome.

Overall one of the best sites we been to. What makes it even better is being members of the CCC this was our backup site, but after being greeted on the phone by a very rude lady at the CCC Cromer, we ditched that site and came here. Even the CCC's own magazine recommends it. We'll be back

Drive from reception to sites, interesting to say the least if you have a wide car or meet anything coming the other way.

If there was one criticism it would be the water heating systems. Couldn't cope with the demand at peaks times. Not cold though, just not as hot as at other times. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sue26 3 reviews from this member

 My husband and I stayed here for three nights at the beginning of the month.

Good points:

It was only an easy, flat, fifteen minute walk to Cromer, where there are plenty of things to do and see

There was a nice view of the sea

The site was quiet and in a nice location

The shower and toilet facilities were clean and free!

The site had a play area

Bad points:

There was no one around when we arrived, so after waiting for twenty minutes, we drove over to the field and pitched with no direction and paid (but hadn't thought to leave a sign).

The site only had two sinks for washing up, so long queues next to the bins, which were overflowing and surrounded by wasps

The freezers for the ice packs didn't seem to freeze them-ours were in there for two nights and still only partially frozen

There were no recycling facilities

Overall, we had a pleasant stay 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lisajh 1 review from this member

 We have just returned from Manor Farm. We did not want to leave as it was so nice! The gallery pictures do not do the site justice. We had a lovely view of the sea from our tent and as it was carnival week watched the Red Arrows and the firework display from there. The warden and cleaner worked hard, even late at night, to keep the shower and toilet blocks clean and were very friendly. The site is close to Cromer town and the beach. We were on Molls Meadow where the toilet facilities were new this year and very good. The free use of freezers for ice blocks was a really nice touch. (Other camps seem to 'hire' blocks out for a charge)Because the site is on a hill it can be windy, but there are plenty of pitches in sheltered spots and view makes the wind well worth it. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Baggers66 1 review from this member

 We stayed here for a 2 week visit in 2009 for what would be our first camping holiday. We arrived to a very welcoming reception. The gentleman there was very helpful. We stayed in Molls Meadow where we had amazing views from our pitch. We always had hot water for showering and no problems with queues for the washing up sinks. (all in the timing). It was nice and quiet and we are looking to go back again this year. The facilities were clean and tidy and the staff on site were extremely friendly. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: JayZed73 1 review from this member

 Spent a weekend at Manor Farm, and can only find good things to say about it. It was a hot summer weekend so the site was busy, but there was still plenty of room. The site is spread over two or three fields for tents and one for caravans. Most of the pitches have sea views.

Shower blocks were clean - on this busy weekend there was a bit of queuing for showers and washing-up sinks, but I shouldn't think that would be a problem at less busy times. Lots of families camping there, and it's a good place for kids, with a nice playground and lots of space to run around.

The campsite overlooks the sea and it's a 20-minute walk into the seaside town of Cromer or the smaller village of East Runton, both of which have nice beaches. Cromer has plenty of shops (and great fish & chips!). 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Abbs Family 3 reviews from this member

 We've visited this campsite several times over the last five years and will be going again over the bank holiday.We can't wait!

Our two teenagers frequently ask when we're going back to Manor Farm and always talk about the fun they've had. There's a playground and plenty of grassy areas for them to play on, not to mention the wooded area by the unserviced pitches in the main field where camp building is a must! This is a family friendly site where children will make new friends instantly.

The toilets are clean and fresh and have plug sockets for the essential hair straightners! In our experience they've always had hot water too, even in peak times. Also plenty of sinks for washing up. Town is a 20 minute walk away down the main road where you can find a great beach for crabbing and relaxing. There is a Co-op a ten minute walk away or a 2 minute drive for all the essentials.

In all honesty we've never really sampled the restaurants in Cromer except the fish and chips as we normally cook back at the tent but we've been into Sheringham for a bite to eat several times and The Lobster is a must!

The campsite is quiet, sheltered in many spots and a gem! A few areas are sloped but this just adds to the true camping feel. In August two years ago, there was a field of sunflowers nearby which added a spot of colour to what was a wet week. We moved after that first week to an 'upmarket' campsite and regretted it the moment we arrived, it didn't have the relaxed feel or the spacious feel of Manor Farm. It's been hard to beat! 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: GAVINANDELAINE 9 reviews from this member

 We stayed in Gurneys Plantation. The pitch was nice with sea views, the pitches were well spaced out. We did walk through the camping field and thought it looked really crowded and everyone squeezed in. The toilets were a little old fashioned but clean, the showers were always hot and free.

There is a footpath to Cromer which has the usually seaside tat shops supermarkets and fish and chip shops and the traffic durring the day is unbelievably bad. The town is dead at night with very little in the way of pubs and food, although I can recommend the Dayla Spice curry house. Another footpath leads from the site to Runton with lovely wide beach and 2 pubs and local shops.

We caught the train from Cromer to Norwich which I wouild recommended and the train is good value at 6.30 off peak return for an adult.

We had lots of lovely bike rides in the surround countryside, but found that this area of Norfolk is not as flat as people say! There are plenty of quiet lanes and villages to explore.

Overall, the camp-site was fine but I felt not as good as people have said on this forum and Cromer is a real let down. Would I go back, to the campsite probably yes, but not a whole week here. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: A+RD 2 reviews from this member

 The site was perfect for what we needed. We spent 6 nights here and had brilliant weather. The showers were clean and other facilities were good. We were left alone during our time at the site (which was full to capacity). We managed to get a good pitch in the Malpit Field and had plenty of privacy. The site is a 10 minute walk to the nearest supermarket and about 20 minutes to the centre of Cromer.

Really enjoyed the stay and look forward to using this site again next time we are in Norfolk. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Carry On Camper 1 review from this member

 Just returned from successful family camping week here, based in the dog-friendly field, Moll's Meadow. Helpful (and visible) staff, brand new facilities block in our field (but others not quite as nice), ideally located for Cromer and Sheringham, plus Norwich and the bootiful North Norfolk coastline (Wells etc.) very driveable. Plenty of room for the kids to play - they had a ball. Seems unfair to pick faults but if I did it would be it is a large site, pitches can be quite sloping, there's a teen campsite next door which you can hear noise (not too much though) from and also a railway line. But, all-in-all a thumbs up for Manor Farm, I would definitely go back! 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gilders 1 review from this member

 Booked some months in advance, sending our 10 deposit, and called to see if we could arrive one day early. After check in at the not so welcoming or friendly office we were wished luck in finding a spot to pitch as they were very busy! There was one pitch luckily and had we arrived 2 hrs later then we'd have struggled.

The site itself, made up of several fields is large and besides the serviced sites there is no structure as to where you pitch in the field, apart from a '6 meter away' rule, which as we witnessed, can lead to some people being rather disrespectful to other campers. We were there for a 6 days a didn't see management going around the site checking things or enforcing the rules of the site

The facilities are adequate but when full struggled to cope. We used the facilities in the 'caravan' field, which was nowhere near as busy.

The washing up facilities are far from adequate, be prepared to queue.

I would say is if you're arriving get there early afternoon 3pm ish, existing campers don't have to leave before 6pm which can mean that space is scarce if you arrive earlier.

As far as location is concerned, it's great for exploring the surrounding towns and villages.

We have 2 small children and the best day out was a day spent exploring around Baconsthorpe Castle. This is simply a ruin in the middle of nowhere, but there are a number of walks around (one that leads to a nearby pub) which are pure delight. We walked through corn fields, around small village churches and small woods and had a great time. If we saw 20 people throughout the day, then that was being generous. Take a picnic and the grounds of the castle and the surrounding moat make for a great adventure. True Swallows and Amazons!

Blakeney Point is also a must if you have little ones, seeing the seals that have taken up residnece ther are a joy to see. However, on a nice day, be prepared for crowds and busy boat trips (look for the Orange Boats - Beans Trips I think it was) - if you can book ahead!

The beach at West Runton is nice and makes for good crabbing when the tide is out. Parking by the beach is 2 per day which is also good value. There are basic toilets and a little cafe in situ to help keep the children happy with ice creams.

We had a great time all in all 


Previous     434 Reviews in total, now showing 291 to 300      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Manor Farm Caravan And Camping Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Manor Farm Caravan And Camping Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Manor Farm Caravan And Camping Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Cromer      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Norfolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


46713 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement