Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Amerden Caravan & Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Berkshire > Maidenhead > Amerden Caravan & Camping Site Reviews

Amerden Caravan & Camping Site
Old Marsh Lane
Dorney Reach
Maidenhead
Berkshire   (Browse area)
SL6 0DZ
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Pitches: 50
Open: Closed For 2019, Reopening 2020

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 161 Reviews
                9/10 from 161 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  161 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Rpwhitelock 3 reviews from this member

Good Points - Spacious pitches, rural setting, washroom facilities, site security.

Things to bear in mind - Very close to M4 and on flight path for Heathrow, so although the setting is rural, it is quite noisy.

Access to site is down very narrow roads, with no passing space - meet a caravan coming the other way and ?

Most important! - A smile from the wardens on arrival wouldn't have gone amiss!

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Rachelpotter 10 reviews from this member

This was our second time at the site, this time in our tourer.

Once again we weren't disappointed and brought friends with us in their tent. We were pitched in a lovely secluded corner which was surrounded by hedge row and trees right by the entrance to the site. The site is situated right by the M4, but we found the noise not to be a nuisance at all as it was constant it just got forgotten about (don't let the location put you off at all. The site has security gates to the entrance.

The toilet block was spotless and never had to queue. On the site their is a washing machine, tumble drier and a cheap vending machine! For campers theirs fridges, freezer and microwave situated in a shed with a lovely sitting area.

We stayed at the site for the easy reach into London. We caught the train from the local station 1. 5 miles from the site direct to London Paddington which took 45 minutes. We paid 25 a night for our pitch for a family of 5 which along with the train fare of 22 for eight people it made it great value compared to us trying to find a hotel in London itself. The site is situated right by the river and a lock which was lovely for boat watching.

The owners were really helpful especially with sorting out our electricity.

Highly recommend this site. Telling everyone about it especially in terms of the location to Windsor, London, Legoland.

Definitely visit again in a few years.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Shane2009 2 reviews from this member

This site is the best anyone could ask for by the river, with everything you could ask for. It feels like you could be anywhere in the world yet if you did want to leave the site there is loads of things to do and see very close, like the water sport lake next door or the wildlife sanctuary in dorney, or you can just kick back and enjoy an easy life in the sun, when it makes an appearance. Great for the whole family. Been there nearly 80% of weekends all through summer as its only a mile away from home, yet gets us all away from the busy life in the house and makes us relax. Ya ok the motorways over the back but I live next to a main road anyway so where's the hardship, turn the telly up and have anther drink. Thanks to the owners, we had a great year looking forward to next year in the new van.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bcleeve 12 reviews from this member

Lovely little site close to the Thames and the Thames Path. Close to a motorway which obviously creates noise but that didn't stop me from having a good night's sleep. Nice, clean toilet and shower block. Amenities include a microwave and fridges/freezers for the use of campers within a 'cabin' which itself could be very useful in bad weather. No shops nearby. Nearest supermarket is C. 1.5 miles away (a long walk; I did it). Might be considered expensive at 12 for a solo backpacker. Would certainly recommend providing you come prepared.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jablunt 1 review from this member

On our way home after a two night stop at this campsite. We found this to be an excellent base to visit legoland and will return next year to use it as a base to visit London as there is a train station close by.

The pitches are mostly open. We had a pitch next to the reception which easily had enough room for a montana lake, awning (if needed), car, table and chairs. We were lucky enough to have use of a wooden picnic table also. A small children's play area was a pitch away so the kids could play whilst we enjoyed a glass of wine.

The whole site was spotless and dotted with fruit trees that provided handy shade or goal posts (when not too busy). The site was fully booked when we were there but at no time did it appear crowded. The washing block was really clean with toilet paper, hand dryers and hair dryer provided. The showers were warm and a bit underpowered in my opinion but probably more economical. The washing area had washing up liquid and an excellent washer at 2. 20 and dryer 20p for 10 mins - really good value. There was also a sweet machine in there with 10p sweets for the kids which was a nice idea. Fridges and a microwave are located in a hut behind the shower block.

There is a constant drone from the motorway however none of our group had any problem sleeping. Watching the low flying planes was more entertainment than annoyance. We had a very noisy family camp next to us on the Sat night and it would have been nice if there was some enforcement of the noise policy.

The wardens were very friendly and happy to go out of there way to provide you with any assistance. The site had locked gates at night and it always felt secure.

Unfortunately the local Sainsburys didn't have a cafe but we found a great cafe called Daves Place in Maidenhead (15 mins drive) which did an excellent Sunday breakfast at a very reasonable price.

Overall I couldn't recommend this site enough as a base for legoland, Windsor or visiting London. Looking forward to our next stay.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Samster 8 reviews from this member

This was our third camping trip in August, but was the longest stay. I spent a long time reviewing this site and decided to go ahead despite the noise from the M4. I knew it wouldn't bother me, but may bother my husband, but the rest of the reviews sounded just what we wanted.

We really loved the site. The Wardens were very friendly and helpful and ran the site very well. I was pleased to see they took site security seriously and questioned a stranger who had come onto the site and at 9pm promptly told the children the playground was shut. We were next to the playground and the noise didn't bother us, but one family of children used our pitch as a shortcut to the playground and kept tripping up on our guy ropes at the front of our tent, which sometimes pulled out our pegs and at one point knocked a king pole over. When they left the remaining nights were not a problem.

A lady fell out of her caravan and broke her arm badly. The Warden was marvellous and dealt with the whole situation properly, as she is a qualified First Aider. I don't know whether all sites are supposed to have a First Aider present, but again when someone was stung by a wasp they sorted that out as well. The lady who broke her arm had only been on the site 10 minutes, so while she was at the hospital the owners and the Wardens set the caravan up for their return and even collected them. It was nice to know if the worst happened you would be well looked after by the site.

They had the most facilities available on site than anywhere else we had stayed. This included a freezer to put our ice creams in and didn't have to eat them as soon as we purchased them. This was quite a saving being able to purchase them from the Supermarket for about 50p each instead of 2. 50 each from a theme park! Sainsburys was just nearby, so we bought our tea from there on our way back to the site most nights. We did see quite a lot of people get pizzas delivered, although never did this ourselves, as we had quite a lot of pizzas over the week in the theme parks.

Maybe because it was August, but the traffic was quite bad on the M25 and M4, so the route planner times were greater than stated. We found if you didn't leave before 9am to get to Legoland, then you got stuck in traffic and it was best to leave earlier than the park closing time. I don't think it mattered where you stayed, as this was a problem for everyone and this site is probably better than most, as it is actually quite near.

There is an older children's playground 5 minutes walk from the site, which is well worth going to and my kids loved it. Also we spent a lovely afternoon walking along the river, stopping at the Harvester for tea and walking back.

Finally I must comment on the noise from the M4. I didn't notice it after a short while being there, but more importantly my husband wasn't bothered about it either and everyone had a good nights sleep. That being said I feel that I couldn't give this site 10/10 because of it, as it was a compromise for my husband who would have preferred it more tranquil when relaxing on an evening. He did manage to relax with a bottle of wine and his Walkman on, which was a happy compromise.

We loved this site and we will definitely be coming back next year for a longer stay.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Barnabys 29 reviews from this member

Just returned from a 3 night stay here.

It's a lovely small well maintained site in a great location with friendly wardens.

I chose this site for it's close proximity to Windsor & legoland and read many reviews all stating the noise from the nearby M4 motorway wasn't too bad and that you got used to it. I & my family found it overpowering and had 3 nights of broken sleep, it is non stop noise.

Pitches are a good size and some are quite private.

I found the TV signal to be poor from both my built in receiver and portable aerial.

Great play area for kids and is very safe & child friendly.

Toilet/shower block is kept very clean with large cubicles the only negative is out of the 3 showers 1 was a trickle and the other two was very low pressure and made worse when someone else used the other shower, they was also only luke warm. I could have had a better shower in my van! it was the same in the ladies.

Good cycle track to Maidenhead down by the canal and a large lock close by to watch the boats going in & out.

If you can stomach constant traffic noise this is a great site but personally for me I would have rather chosen a quieter location and travelled a bit further to Windsor & Legoland.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Kcrozier 9 reviews from this member

Just returned from our 3rd summer at this site, stayed for 2 weeks and still had loads we could have done. We love this site and the new wardens are lovely and worked very hard to keep the site clean and tidy and keep everyone happy. Kids are always happy making new friends and playing as kids should. Great bike rides in the area and some great places to eat, if you need to know anything just ask the lovely wardens. We will hopefully be back next year and would stay all summer if we could, even after 3 visits there is still so much do do in the area and a little bit further afield like Brooklands raceway museum and Mercedes world. The site is very flat and drains well when it rains and has loads of space for the kids to play games.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: David C. 555 15 reviews from this member

Small well maintained level site within walking distance of Maidenhead along Thames Path. Sainsbury`s within short car ride. Toilet Block kept very clean, showers warm/hot, pressure could be higher. Washing Machines + dishwashing area. Children's play area, good security. Price for Caravan + Electric 25 per night. Bray Lock within a couple of minutes walk, no pub within easy walking. Only drawback is M4 road noise which to be fair they do warn about on website, also depending on wind direction aircraft noise, if you wish to visit Windsor Legoland etc a well placed site.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: LlewB 14 reviews from this member

Second time we have visited this camp site. Previously we had made a quick visit to go to nearby Legoland (as a number of people seem to do), but got to spent a bit more time there this time.

We were using it as a base to visit London. We had looked into hotels in the area, but at 25 a night for a serviced pitch and travel on the train (including tube) costing 29 for a family of 4 it out competes any accommodation in the city we could find.

The site itself is very well laid out, even when full they maintain areas for children to play and they subsequently loved it (wanting to get back to their friends every day rather than spend longer seeing the sites).

Toilets are clean, and the small kitchen on site was handy at times having a microwave and loads of freezer space for ice blocks.

We suffered a monsoon while we were there, and although it is a flat site near to the river (well worth a walk) it drained off very quickly.

The motorway noise was constant but not too loud so didn't affect our sleep at all. I guess if you are used to silence I guess it might bother you, but if you live in any kind of urban area it's almost soothing.

Previous     161 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Berkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over 205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3821 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019