Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Cherry Cottage Camping

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (East) > Camelford > Cherry Cottage Camping Reviews

Cherry Cottage Camping
Cherry Cottage
Valley Truckle
Camelford
Cornwall (East)   (Browse area)
PL32 9RT
Tel: 01840 211574
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 04/07/2020 to 31/12/2020
           01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 41 Reviews
                10/10 from 41 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool <1 mile 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents.

Reviews:  41 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

We are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Carroll 3 reviews from this member

 A lovely site, facilities very good. All grass pitches with shrubbery between each pitch which are very generous in size. Location off main road but hardly any road noise. Really good sized pitches.

Owners were one of the most helpful, nicest people we have met. We only stayed for two nights as a stop over but would return again for much longer.

Walk into Camelford only 10 mins with buses to various places. Handy Londis store at petrol station directly across from site.

One down side is only 6amp electric available.

We do not have children but children on site and no silly restrictions. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: IAN COOPER 3 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely little site and great value and I would not hesitate in recommending it and would definitely return.

We were not sure about booking, as the weather had been torential for weeks, but the owners did not want a deposit, so we reserved a pitch. After phoning to double check the ground was not waterlogged, we were really suprised on arrival at how good the grass was. It was only the start of the summer holidays, so had not had much traffic on it, but other campers had been turned away from muddy waterlogged sites, so this was pretty well drained. One drove in over the grass, so it got slightly muddy during the week, but Chris kept rolling it and spreading gravel over this. In any normal summer the ground would be fine.

The pitches are large, mown and separated by small bushes. Trees all round the site sheltered us from most of the wind, but we were still exposed to some windy nights, as the site is not actually in a valley as one may expect but is on quite high ground. Although just off a main road, the camping field is behind the farm house and there was no noise problem

Facilities were in a new small block with one ladies, one mens and one unisex/ disabled loo/shower, and some washing up sinks, which were all smart and always very clean. We never had to wait, although the site was only half full. There was a fridge for shared use, however it's coolbox was the only place to frezze icepacks and it was not up to the job. This is probably my only critiscsm of the site (stopping it getting a 10)and could be easily rectified (and to be fair Chris did say he would put them in his freezer for us).

The location is great for exploring this part of Cornwall. The Londis opposite was perfect for small purchases (including camping gas) and there is a Co Op nearby and for stocking up a large Tescos on the outskirts of Wadebridge.

Trebarwith Strand is the nearby beach and was lovely, but only accesable for about 5 hours, disappearing at high tide, so you need to check the tide times. It is quite a shallow beach, so good for our 4 year old daughter who just wanted to jump waves, try her body board out and investigate the pools. It is cheaper to park if you get there before the tide has gone out. The Port William pub overlooks the bay and has a good selection of food. The staff were great with our daughter, even redoing her dinner, which they had put 'green stuff' on (parsley), so we returned a couple of times.

We also went to Rock which has a much sandyer beech and a quick ferry ride takes you across the estuary to Padstow and its shops. Polzeath offers waves for those who want a bit more surf.

A ride down the camel trail is a must and you can get all sort of bikes and trailers in Wadebridge for any type of rider (even trycyles for those who cant ride).

So many more places we did not get to see this time, so wll go back 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Beepee Camping 3 reviews from this member

 My wife and I had a whole week here with EHU. The site was less than half full probably due to poor weather.

Following persistant rain in previous weeks (and on several days we were there) the ground was quite sodden but the drainage on the camping field was good enough to prevent puddles and mud. (Other than on the entrance which the owners did work on by putting down chippings. )

Trees and bushes around the edge of the field give some protection from wind and gives the site an isolated, rural feel. The toilet and shower facilities were excellent but would be very limited if the site was full. Despite being just off a main A road, the site was quiet with no obvious traffic noise. The site is well laid out with plenty of space in each pitch and space in the middle for children to run around. There is no children's play equipment on site but there is a well maintained play park in Camelford itself.

Overall this site is recommended but be prepared to wait for toilet/showers at busy times. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: AandJ 13 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this lovely site mid July. It was everything that we wanted, small, quiet and very well kept. The facilities were spotless and there was always plenty of hot water. The camping field is well laid out, the pitches are more than generous and the whole field seems nicely drained. The owner is a very pleasant chap for which nothing is too much trouble either.

Well located for many interesting places, we would definitely stay here again. Oh and very reasonably priced too! 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Catfood 9 reviews from this member

 Had to book last minute as site we had booked was flooded. Normally go to adult only sites but very glad we went to this site, small 15 units but spacious and very clean.

Toilet and shower facilities excellent. As my husband is 6ft 8' tall finds it hard to use most shower blocks, he used the disabled one on site and was very happy.

The children on the campsite were very well behaved and the site was still quiet. The walk into Camelford, takes about 20mins from campsite. The local pub the Masons Arms is a very tradition pub with lovely grub but mind the beams !

The Londis shop across the road does lovely pastys and the fish shop a short walk away is outstanding does not open sundays or mondays.

If you love a bargain and are a bit of a shop a holic then you must go to Trago Mills large shopping outlet about half a hour away by car.

From camelford you are well situated to visit falmouth, padstow, bodmin, etc. St michaels mount and lanhydrock house well worth a visit.

Will be going back to this campsite again next year. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: KatMat 8 reviews from this member

 We have just spent a cracking couple of days at Cherry Cottage campsite, despite the weather doing it's up most to spoil it!

It's fair to say this is the most relaxed, and friendly campsite we have both stayed at so far on our camping travels.

Nothing was to much trouble, the facilities were clean, modern and available 24/7

A lovely touch is the arrival and departure times, basically there aren't any! we could come and go at our pleasure, a refreshing change.

The location is perfect for exploring north Cornwall and beyond, with lots of useful info in the shower blocks.

Top tip is the local fish and chip shop in Camelford 'Peck Fish' well worth a visit, we feasted on Haddock and chips, lovely.

So to sum it up this is a great little campsite, with a lovely feel to it at a superb price, 10 a night is a bargain we felt.

For sure we will return in the future. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Kevsue1 19 reviews from this member

 Our second stay at this lovely site. We stayed for the jubilee weekend and our only disappointment was the weather! The toilets/shower block has now been extended and now has 3 showers and one separate toilet. Only had to queue once for the loo! Everything is immaculate, with a tv to watch whilst doing the washing up. The tv was very popular with the tent campers who watched the jubilee celebrations on it! Walked into camelford this time and had a lovely meal at a pub - I think it was called the masons arms. It takes about ten mins to walk from the campsite. There is a londis at the garage opposite but there is also a coop 5 minutes walk away. There were quite a few families on the site but the pitches are so large it was still very peaceful. However we will not be cycling the camel trail or visiting padstow on a bank holiday weekend again-too crowded ! A gem of a site, we will be back 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Microbus1974 24 reviews from this member

 Not long returned from an excellent stay. Simple straight forward relaxing site, with Clean homely toilets (not many but only queued once in a weeks stay).

Excellent ground for tent pegs, well sheltered too, shop across the road (Londis) although not the cheapest, the co-op was the better option and only a short walk down the road.

Extremely helpful owners with helpful advice on the local area. Just completely Excellent and everything a quiet holiday should be about. Would certainly return. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Dizzyb 1 review from this member

 This was our 1st visit and we shall be sure to visit again. Pitch level, grass like a lawn with planted shrubs making it more private and extremely safe for children.

Showers/toilets first class - piping hot water, spotlessly clean, heated with piped music playing. Owner really pleasant and helpful who met us with a warm welcome, showed us where to pitch and all the facilities on offer - nothing was too much trouble.

On a regular bus route for Bodmin/Boscastle. Site on outskirts of Camelford, the site entrance not too well marked so be on look out for entrance. We had a pleasant walk into town via riverbank 10 - 15 mins or using main road a safe pavement is available.

Camelford has numerous shops, pubs and places to eat and a first class fish and chip shop. This is a gem of a site and worth a 5+++ star rating. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Kevsue1 19 reviews from this member

 Spent a weekend at this lovely campsite. Beautiful field with large pitches. Owners were great, friendly and welcoming.

Toilets and showers spotless and the garage across the road has a londis shop selling everything you need.

We chose this site for it's proximity to the Camel Trail which was great though rick steins fish and chips expensive! Loads of places to go nearby so we will be back.

Felt too guilty to just use the Daily mirror 95p vouchers so paid more than the 3.95 per night we should have paid as it was such a lovely site and they were such nice people 


Previous     41 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Cherry Cottage Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Cherry Cottage Camping?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Cherry Cottage Camping dog friendly?  NO  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Camelford      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (East)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1767 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement