Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Riverside Caravan & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Cambridgeshire > Ely > Riverside Caravan & Camping Park Reviews

Riverside Caravan & Camping Park
21 New River Bank
Littleport
Ely
Cambridgeshire   (Browse area)
CB7 4TA
Tel: 01353 860255  or  07813 523960
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 49
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 118 Reviews
                8/10 from 118 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  118 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Classicdcl 1 review from this member

Great location and a tranquil setting. Flat grass pitches, grounds were immaculate. We stayed over the Easter Bank Holiday and the site appeared full. The electric repeatedly tripped on us - we could reset our own box however on 3 occasions the whole site electrics went down. Other disgruntled campers reported to owner who said it must be due to heaters in vans & awnings being used! There was a sign in the toilet block forbidding this but the weather was down to zero degrees at night so us and others used our heating. The amperage is set way too low for normal camping - if we dared to put a kettle or hair dryer on with the heater still blowing, the electrics tripped. Some campers had permanent pitches and said the electrics do play up from time to time so it wasn't just us being unlucky.

The toilet block was dated but clean, no heater in there so the room got very damp as soon as a shower was used and stayed that way most of the day. The hot water failed on one day, everyone grumbling, was fixed within the day but not ideal during the cold weather.

Short walk into Littleport village, The Crown pub at the far end of the Main Street was very welcoming, we just had a couple of pints of real ale but nice atmosphere. Rumbles take away served MASSIVE portions, the fish was a foot long so was shared between two! Ely 5 miles away, lovely town.

Overall not a bad site if the weather is warm but the tripping electrics were like a step back in time and do need to be sorted out as does reliable hot water.

Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: BaggyKen 1 review from this member

Have stayed at this site twice and it is delightful. It is a small site within stones throw of the river Ouse. The owner is very welcoming and helpful. The camp has a large number of very fat, healthy and friendly chickens which are a delight to watch as they scratch about. TV is not easy to get but I managed it in the end. Satellite should be easy but I did not try it.

Well worth a visit for a peaceful and relaxing visit.

Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Catherineroseslater 1 review from this member

I have just spent 3 days at riverside campsite. It was in a lovely location for long walks along the riverside. And I felt safe leaving my van on site when going out for the day. The shower block was clean and the owners helpful. The train station is just a 20 min walk and we got the train into London one day it saved us taking camper van and having to look for parking places. I would recommend this site and will be returning back soon.

Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Tobyleeds 16 reviews from this member

The grounds of this site are well maintained and pleasant. The toilet block is clean and adequate but the biggest drawback to this site is the busy unclassified road which is between the campsite and the riverbank - the traffic noise started at 05.00 and did not quieten down until midnight - NOT the peaceful tranquil site we were expecting! It was a real 'rat run' with traffic speeding past the site - should have been called roadside not riverside.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Niccity 1 review from this member

Riverside Caravan and Camping park is simply a lovely site. Lavatories, showers and wash up facilities were ample and kept very clean. As a camper in a tent I was particularly impressed by the fridge/freezer facility (this may not be quite so important for camper vans and caravans). The site is level and the ground is easy to pitch a tent in. The site is really well 'manicured', with a lot of care having been taken to ensure there are plenty of small trees, shrubs and plants around to give the place a real garden feel. Watching the chickens roaming free is a delight. The owners have obviously worked very hard to attain this standard and continue to work hard to maintain it. They are friendly and accommodating, too. The other people on-site in vans and caravans were friendly, I mention this because I have experienced snobbery as a tent camper on some mixed unit sites. It is quiet and peaceful other than a little road noise and a bit of armed forces jet plane activity during the day, but this is, of course, outside the control of the site owners.

As for the local area, it may be worth pointing out that the nearby pub, The Swan, is not open on Sunday evening or on Mondays (as far as I could gather). I also think the claim that the food there is reasonably priced is stretching the term 'reasonable' a bit, however the food did look very good. This is, of course, my personal opinion and others may take a differing view.

A short drive away (or moderately long trek) will take you to Ely which is a gem of a city (the smallest in England as far as I'm aware). The cathedral, known as 'The Ship of the Fens' is stunning and any visit to the city without taking it in would be a big mistake. Ely is a great place to while away a day with, in addition to the cathedral, some lovely traditional shops, a vibrant market (check which days) and numerous other attractions.

This site is well worth a visit in my opinion.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Chippy Ben 1 review from this member

I spent a week at Riverside and really enjoyed my time there. The surrounding area is quiet and there is lots to explore if you have a bike like me. The site has everything you need including fresh eggs from the resident chickens. I felt that my equipment was safe when I left to go exploring for the day. This is important for me as there isn't much you can do about people stealing from you if you only have a tiny lock for your tent door. The facilities were modern and clean and the price was reasonable. I will definitely be returning soon. (With a fishing rod). The only downside was the black dog on site was called Mishky swishky wishsky, which is a long name for a dog.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Radley1 3 reviews from this member

A nice site, owners very helpful, good location to visit the sightd of Cambridgeshire, a little crowded.

The toilet block very clean and tidy although a little dated. Never had to wait for a shower, which was nice and hot!

Lovely pub with good food across the road in a little town, which has shops for alll your essentials

There is also a lovley walk along the river bank, lots of widelife, birds, fish, swans to see.

Will recommend and return

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: StaffordKnot 37 reviews from this member

We have just had four lovely night’s stay at this site.

The site is quite small but pleasantly set out with numerous trees and bushes dotted about with well kept grass.

There are a number of static caravans on site but away from the main camping and caravan area. The pitches are well spaced out with regular hook ups points.

The toilet block is clean and tidy with free showers; wash up area and ELSAN point. There is also a good information shed.

We used our free view and received all the channels; mobile phone (02) was fine. There is WIFI if you need it at £5. 00 per day.

The site is situated next to quite a busy ‘B’ road which did create some road noise particularly in the early morning. Across the road from the site is the beautiful Great River Ouse, which provides plenty of lovely walks, one being to the ‘Swan on the River’ pub/restaurant just 3 or 4 minutes walk away.

We visited the pub on two occasions; the first for Sunday lunch and another for an evening meal – 2 courses for £11. 95. On both visits the food was excellent and the staff very friendly. Littleport itself is pleasant enough; not a lot there but there is a Co-op, bank and bakery together with an Indian restaurant and other take away outlets.

During our stay we visited Oxburgh Hall, a NT property about 25 minutes drive and is well worth a visit. We also took an open top bus through Cambridge which was a fun way to see the city and American War Cemetery. Newmarket is also worth a trip too and a visit to the National Stud (pre-book) is worth while.

The site owners were very pleasant and have obviously worked hard to get the site to the standard it is and I would recommend this site without hesitation.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Daniella Nudd 15 reviews from this member

Stayed at Riverside for 2 nights. Paid on arrival and the owner took us to our pitch. Tents are pitched alongside caravans and static caravans however really good pitch sizes. You didn't feel you were on top of one another. You can hear the traffic on the road however as with all sites you get used to it. Facilities excellent, including a fridge and freezer, very handy for re freezing ice blocks and if you don't use elec hook up. Two showers in ladies block, free to use. Plenty of toilets and always stocked up with toilet roll etc. Outside of campsite, the Swan on the Lake pub/restaurant is a 5 min stroll along the riverside. We ate there and would recommend. Drinks prizes a bit steep but worth it for the views by the lake and relaxed environment. We walked into Ely again along the river. Its 5 miles away. We got a taxi back which was £12 (slightly steep!) All in all a great site, well equipped and well looked after. In village of Littleport there is a coop, choice of takeaways and a cob shop so plenty of choice.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: MinnieWinnie 5 reviews from this member

This is probably one of the best sites we have been on. The owners Vanessa and Steve are very friendly and knowledgeable about the area. It is good that it is an adults only site. Facilities are some of the best we have used, toilets and showers always clean and tidy. Site is well laid out, its a very quiet site, but directly over the road is the river with lots of walks and fishing, as previously said the traffic although not heavy did speed along the road at times so bear this in mind when going in and out the side. Pub minutes away. We caught the train to Ely on a Sunday took about 8 minutes on the train and cost £7. 20 return for two adults, the dog went free, bit of a walk to the station but it is very scenic along the river. Steve returned my husband fishing stand which he had left at the river. Will definitely be returning to the site again. Very good value for money. Good location to get to various places. Well stocked information shed with something in for everyone, book, dvd's, local information etc.

Previous     118 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cambridgeshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2124 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019