Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Abbey Wood Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > London > Abbey Wood > Abbey Wood Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Abbey Wood Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Federation Road
Abbey Wood
London   (Browse area)
SE2 0LS
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 185
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 69 Reviews
                9/10 from 69 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  69 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: February 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: MrWhippet 8 reviews from this member

 Brilliant spot for getting into London, the train station is a 5 min walk from the site and takes about half an hour to get into the centre of London. Good for long weekends. Two thirds of the wardens I met were friendly and helpful.

We had a hard standing pitch that was nice and level and the water points were nice and close. I can't comment on the toilet facilities but I am told they were good.

My real problem was the foxes. On the first night, one entered our awning and decided to use it as a toilet! Not a nice thing to wake up to and have to clean up when you are on holiday! As a result our awning stinks despite scrubbing. In reception there are posters saying that the foxes have a shoe fetish and not to leave shoes around otherwise they will get stolen. Whilst this may appear funny on the face of it, I'm afraid we lost our sense of humour with these foxes as we may have to get a new awning because of the smell. Again around our pitch, there was fox excrement.

On complaining, I have to say, the warden I spoke to did not seem concerned and remarked that they are bold and were there before the site was. I'm sure that is the case, but is it fair for customers to have their possessions damaged when repellent is available? The warden concerned also remarked on how expensive awnings are!

I think I wouldn't be as annoyed if the warden was a bit more understanding and obviously the foxes are not at fault but repellent around each pitch may be the answer.

We have suggested the Caravan Club buy some repellent so other people don't have the same thing happen. Just be aware!

Overall this is in an excellent location for exploring London and technically should be excellent value for money but the fox issue may have made it more expensive for us! 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Jos67 2 reviews from this member

 We're Dutch and we liked the site. It feels secure despite being in a big site like London.

With our trailer tent we got a hardstanding pitch, which we didn't like too much, the pegs were difficult to hammer in the ground.

There are more than enough toilet blocks for the number of campers and they are clean.

Little shops are within walking distance and a Morrissons supermarket is a 5 minute car drive away. The site is quiet, most visitors are there for London, so tired from all the walking.

It is a campsite from the caravan club, so it is quiet expensive for non-members, but the cleanliness and safety make up for it.  


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Gilly1 9 reviews from this member

 Just visited for 2 weeks and must agree with other reviews, good location for visiting london.

Good clean facilities, very helpful wardens, good transport links bus and train.

One day travel card was 7. 30 and valid on buses, trains very regular never waited long,

About 30 minutes to charing cross.

Shops are about 5 to 10 minutes walk near rail station, only pub is right by station never used it so can`t say what its like.

Would recommend abbey cafe if you don`t feel like cooking, good breakfast!

Followed caravan club directions and found the route signposted along the way was easy to follow. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Silvercamp pod 11 reviews from this member

 We spent 5 nights here recently, in a tent with 3 children.

Excellent site and one which we will return to. Facilities excellent and very clean, we also used the washer and dryer and whilst pricey did the job they needed to. Also had a key (deposit required) for the toddler bathroom which was a great help. Wardens were friendly and helpful.

I liked the layout of the site and felt the tenters got a good deal here- the main field is centrally located and you're free to use any of the facility blocks. Our children loved the playground, although it really is more suitable for 4- 8 year olds. The field is also car free, parking is available around the perimeter which can make loading/unloading a pain but I think the benefits outweigh this. There are some EHU points although we didn't use these.

We used this site as a base to visit places in London. We used the train one day and this was a very easy walk from the site. It's ideally situated for Greenwich and places to the North/East of London, we went to the Museum of Childhood in Bethnal Green and the Museum of London Docklands for example. There's a well stocked shop and cash machine 5 minutes walk away. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Aust.tourists 69 reviews from this member

 We have just spent 3 nights on this beautiful site. It is a large site close to the bus stop and railway station. Buses are every 10 minutes into Grennwich and regular trains to London.

The site itself is in quite a rough area with no pubs really within walking distance. The site itself is very secure with gates locked at night and an electric fence all round.

Having said that the site itself is beautiful with squirrels and foxes all around. It's like an oasis in the middle of suburbia.

The toilet and shower block are excellent. Plenty of hot water and exceptionally clean. The block itself is also heated. We were visiting our Son in Grennwich and spent the day there.

Went to the Maritime Museum, Obsevatory and the Queens House. It is a perfect site for visiting London and really good value. The wardens were very friendly and helpful.

The information room was filled with useful information. Whilst we did not go into London it is a great location if you do want to visit London. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: November 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Chewie 30 reviews from this member

 Even Bob Crow and his militant tube drivers couldn't ruin our wonderful first visit to this site. The site itself is the best CC site we have been on, the only gripe being the closure of 2 of the 3 shower blocks; but with only 70 or so pitches in use it made sense but did mean a longer walk than we had hoped for.

The information office was brilliant and really helped us plan our days out in London, the wardens were incredibly polite and helpful; despite their ongoing struggle to clear the site of the vast amount of autumn leaves that covered everything!

The station is close by and I'd definitely recommend you leave the car on site and buy the excellent day tickets, go onto London and you'll never be bored.

We loved it there and are now planning a 2 week stay next year.

One thing I'd recommend is going this time of the year; taking the final boat tour from Westminster to Greenwich and the dark evenings mean you'll be treated to seeing the city lit up on your return journey, a rare treat that took our breath away. 


Date of Visit: October 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Heard1 2 reviews from this member

 Great location,lovely flat pitches in most places, facilities clean. Plenty of wildlife to watch - squirrels, foxes and parakeets. Easy trip into London on the train just a 10 min walk to the station. Plenty of shops around for supplies or takeaways.

Staff very welcoming and helpful.Site very secure. If you stay in the autumn as we did, try to avoid parking under the sweet chestnuts, they make a loud noise on the top of the van when they fall. Follow their directions if towing as if you come most direct way there are very tight turns. We will return next time we fancy a weekend in London. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lillybeez 3 reviews from this member

 Loved this site it was really good! Showers clean under floor heating - very very clean as was the baby toddler bath!

Site was very well tended and lovely and grassy! Make sure you don't leave food in your awning or tents as we watched teenage squirrels rampaging the tents stealing bread etc!

Staff very friendly and helpful loads of tourist leaflets available in the info hut

10 min walk from train station was great for getting straight int London even with 2 children - one with pushchair!

Co-op walking distance with everything you'll need!

Thoroughly enjoyed will be going back to see xmas lights! 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Yvonnepadley 15 reviews from this member

 This site is a real gem the location is excellent, with good transportation links into the centre of London. The site is really well maintained and possibly has the best toilet and shower facilities that I have found yet, (this is my first season of touring).

The site feels very secure with high fencing and two entrance barriers. The site is closed between 10pm and 6am access by foot only through a secure gate, during these times cars must park in the car park.

I would also like to recommend the breakfast from Abbey Wood Cafe near to the station as they are excellent and really good value. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tycroes_Two 16 reviews from this member

 Excellent site, but one we will probably avoid in future.

First impressions are of a United Nations Refugee Camp: with roof-height electrified fencing surrounding the site, a parallel 'no-man's land' and a further inner barbed wire fence plus tank-proof electrified gates and two further barriers. The place is impregnable!

We pre-booked and arrived at noon on the day before August Bank holiday weekend. We were told to find a pitch - but NOT to use any pitch marked by cones. And so we started several circuits of the site.

The looping one-way system means you have to continuously exit and re-enter through the security barriers as you negotiate each fully occupied section. There was nothing! In the end we dumped the outfit and walked back to the office where a Warden told us how they were all laughing as we went fruitlessly back and forth. We asked which pitch was still available. And were told to take one of the coned-off ones previously denied to us!

Having pitched our 'van we walked off the site to exercise our two dogs - past numerous anti-dog notices. Following directions we took a dismal walk past some depressing blocks of flats, crossing a busy road and squeezing through a tiny gap in the crash barriers to enter Abbey Wood.

Back at the club site we walked the perimeter to see where the facilities were. Only to be pounced on by a warden for 'exercising' our dogs on the site.

The site is beautifully landscaped and the facilities perfect. The majority of the pitches were taken by foreign visitors rather than club members. The location is perfect if you want a great base for exploring London, but it is easily the most dog-hostile Club Site we have visited. After five days of walking four times a day through the blocks of flats and across the road to exercise the dogs in Abbey Wood. We'd had enough. 


Previous     69 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Abbey Wood Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Abbey Wood Caravan And Motorhome Club Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Abbey Wood Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Abbey Wood      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in London

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 13/01 to 16/01
Largest selection of caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes in the North of England ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3101 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement