Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Crystal Palace Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > London > Crystal Palace > Crystal Palace Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Crystal Palace Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Crystal Palace Parade
Crystal Palace
London   (Browse area)
SE19 1UF
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 89
Open: 01/01 To 16/12

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 53 Reviews
                9/10 from 53 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  53 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Moose60 2 reviews from this member

 First timer on a CC site, very impressed from the moment we arrived and check in was very efficient.

Hard standing pitch very clean but rock pegs needed for awning, these were availiable at reception. Shower & toilet facilities excellent & spotlessly clean.

Children enjoyed riding scooters, sadly no defined play area.

Great transport links into centre of London 6 for a travel card, found it easier to get of the Bus & use the Tube from Brixton.

Will definitely return 


Date of Visit: January 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Chilephilly 19 reviews from this member

 We have just come back from a smashing week at Crystal Palace. The site itself was lovely - spacious gravel pitches, plenty of water points and bins, loos and sinks that were scrupulously clean. (Would have liked more recycling facilities.) The staff were very friendly, and couldn't have been more helpful when I managed to snap our breakaway cable!

The surrounding area is nice - some nice cafes and a Tesco's nearby in Anerly Road (tip - get the bus up the hill home!). You can get bus passes in the newsagents opposite the bus terminus, again, the staff were very friendly and helpful. There was some traffic and aircraft noise, but this is only to be expected from a city site. Beware of squirrels - one furry friend found its way into our awning, chewed a hole in our plastic storage box and ate our bread!

Would have appreciated a kid's play area, but Crystal Palace Park is on the doorstep. Great site, great stay - we'll definitely be back. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Nathtin 6 reviews from this member

 We stayed on this site for august bank holiday, and we paid 54 for two nights for 2 adults and two children including electric. The site is impeccable, the showers are clean, powerful and hot! The wardens, Roz and terry were like the rest of their staff, polite and extremely helpful. We did come come back to the site on a 10.30pm night bus, and actually found it ok, even with two young children, and the area's that the bus does go through were, in my opinion, not dodgy at all, as previously stated.

The park itself is only a five minute walk away. It contains Egyptian sphinx and dinosaurs, so well worth a visit, but we ran out of time to explore it all.

I have raved on about this site continually since I came back. We will return for a longer stay next time. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Rexel 17 reviews from this member

 The last review pretty well sums up our experience too. Only points to add is that there is no dog walk or play area on site. Crystal Palace park is a 2 or 3 minute walk away from site and is a beautiful large park.
A small play area on site would be a real bonus. This is a a gem of a site, beautifully maintained and in such a handy spot for sightseeing in London. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Chapman -Jones 20 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for two nights to sightsee in London. A fairly easy run from the end of the M4 to the site although it was very busy and seemed to take ages. We arrived at 7.30pm to a very warm and friendly welcome. They do keep the gates open after 8pm on Friday nights, because of the traffic.

We pitched on the grass at the top near the barrier and it was lovely under the trees. The shower block was beautiful and warm, with piped music and plants. It was always clean and we never had to queue - definitely the best facilities we've used. Facilities for rubbish, grey water etc were also well thought through.

It's a good 10 minute walk to the newsagent but worth it for the 5 a day travelcard which is ok for buses, rail and tube (zones 1 & 2). Our 10 year old travelled free. The no.3 takes you right into Oxford Circus but it takes about 45 minutes and goes through some dodgy areas - not sure I'd want to take the night bus back.

We're planning to come back for a couple of nights during Wimbledon week and take the train from Crystal Palace. For 16 a night for EHU and 2 adults/2 children, it's a great alternative to expensive hotels. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: December 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sumps53 37 reviews from this member

 We used this site from 23 to 27 December. Check-in was smooth, swift and very friendly. All pitches are on hardstandings and pretty level. The toilet block, as you would expect from a CC site, was faultless. Warm and welcoming even on a very chilly December day.

The site was surprisingly quiet and there were grey squirrels in abundance. We were using the site as an annexe for my brother's house, nearby, so literally only slept and showered there. It would be an ideal base for exploring London, though, and I would definitely return.

There are warnings about Power Movers being affected by the radio waves but ours was unaffected.

Dog Walking was adjacent in the Park - worth a stroll round for interest's sake. There is a useful garage just across the road selling basics (inc milk and papers)and a Sainsburys within a couple of minutes drive. 


Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Daifire 7 reviews from this member

 Lovely site, stayed for just two nights to sight see in London. Very helpful, friendly site staff. No3, bus stop 5 mins walk down road, bus pass 3.50 for all day travel anywhere round London. Available in the newsagents. Site was lovely and clean and well laid out, toilets clean with plenty of hot water and plenty of room to change in the shower cubical.

Lovely eating places in area.

Needed sat nav to get out of London wouldn't have made it just by reading a map. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Kevin hawkins 3 reviews from this member

 We enjoyed our stay on this site. It was an ideal site for visiting London.

Try to get there before 8pm - site closes gates but on the plus side you can camp in the late arrival area, this has electric hook up and water.

Toilets clean with plenty of hot water but only cleaned once a day in the morning so not as clean at night.

Only one toilet block for all the caravans so well used and you may have to wait when site is full. Disabled facilities.

Shops a good half hour walk towards Crystal Palace but there is a garage just across the road, not cheap but stocks bread, milk etc.

Supermarket about 5 miles away towards Sydenham.

Bus no 3 stops across the road from caravan site, just after the garage and across the main road. The bus takes you right into the centre of London but may be better going by train from Crystal Palace if you want to get there quicker.

Tent users very poorly catered for. No electricity, near a main road (but behind a wall) only 3 toilets and 3 showers and 2 sinks.

We found reception staff helpful.

Site is well kept but most of pitches on small stones - rock tent pegs needed for awnings.

Some noise from the main road and aircraft - but acceptable. Security good on site and always felt safe. Barriers fitted which could only be operated with a code.

Site is 7 per night cheaper if a Caravan Club member, so worth joining if stopping for 5 nights or more. You can join online or on site on arrival.

Local interest. The old Crystal Palace ruins - turn left out of gates, down path, nice walk. Also have a look at the state of the National Sports Training Centre in the same park and you will see why we rarely win anything!

We would use this site again for visiting London. It was good to note that this site is used by many nationalities. Booking advisable as site soon gets full.

Excellent television reception (the BBC main mast is next door)! 


Date of Visit: March 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: JB01 5 reviews from this member

 Lovely secluded site, could be anywhere in the country, didn't feel like we were in London, usual club facilities and standards. Very helpful wardens. A fantastic base to visit London. Such a pretty site, we were right down the bottom and I expect it is beautiful in summer.

No childrens playground but we didn't miss it as we were out every day.

We were there over Easter 08, it was windy, cloudy, stormy and snowy but we spent every day in the city, leaving early and getting back late. The wind can make a bit of noise whistling around the transmitter, and it was really windy when we were there. The transmitter makes a great reference point from the top of the London Eye.

The bus was so easy to use, much less hassle than the train, which we only used on the first day then gave up as it was delayed. Bus lanes and red routes make an amazing difference to journey times!

The car was used once in four days for a trip to the supermarket, the garage over the road from the site is really expensive, I bought nothing but milk from there.

I would definitely go there again, but might avoid towing through Wandsworth in rush hour next time! 


Date of Visit: December 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Purplehat 30 reviews from this member

 If you want to see all that London has to offer, this is the most convenient site. Bus tickets are no longer sold on site, you get them at Crystal Palace Bus station which is about 7 min. Walk away. No 3 bus takes you all the way to Oxford Street with convenient stops. N3 bus runs all through the night at approx. 30 min. Intervals. Large supermarkets 5 mins drive away. Good and very varied award winning restaurants but parking in CP is a nightmare. Can be a bit noisy, police sirens etc. But we were usually too tired to worry about it. Well ordered site, many motorhomes but surprisingly easy to tow the van in if you use the turning by the Dulwich Museum which is also worth a visit. 


Previous     53 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Crystal Palace Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Crystal Palace Caravan And Motorhome Club Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Crystal Palace Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Crystal Palace      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in London

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1243 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement