Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Sandwich Leisure Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South East > Kent > Site Reviews

Sandwich Leisure Park
Woodnesborough Rd
Sandwich
Kent   (Browse area)
CT13 0AA
Tel: 01304 612681
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 187
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 126 Reviews
                8/10 from 126 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Dog Walk 

Reviews:  126 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: I8blades 48 reviews from this member

Very clean and tidy site. The toilet/shower block is quite large and modern. The pitches are large and spacious with large hedges separating each group of four. While we were here the site was very quiet on an evening. The railway is nearby but not noticable. There's no shop on site but the town is literally 5 minutes walk away, with the first point of call a large co op. The town it's self is very nice and there are loads of pubs and shops and plenty of take aways. There's also the train station for venturing further afield. We stayed for a couple of nights on our way to Dover and the ferries and it was very enjoyable.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: 34081b-b 2 reviews from this member

We chose to stay at this site after searching the area for somewhere to stay and explore.

Brilliant site and I think it is one of the best we have stayed at for a long while. The facilities were first class. The showers have plenty of hot water and the only downside I would say is the lack of pressure as the feed is gravity feed from the roof space.

All the toilets are clean and serviced morning and night and the water for the toilet flush is rainwater [brownwater] from the roof and stored underground and pumped up to a tank in the roof [separate from the showers]

The pitch we had [hard standing] had an electric 16amp supply with water tap, TV socket and a picnic table with a large grassed area suitable for a large awning if wanted and still space for the kids to play. Talking of kids, there is a site rule forbidding cycling, scooter riding and skateboards.

They have a very nice aviary stocked with parrots, budgies and finches also cats, guinea pigs and chickens.

The site is within walking distance of the town with plenty of pubs and eateries. Nearest pub, The Red Cow or should I say the The Pink Cow with red spots.

A couple of chip shops the favourite being Pappas on the quayside. No Mac's or BK or KFC for miles. Same goes for petrol stations. There is a CO-OP supermarket within 5 minuites walk for all your needs. The site shop has limited stock and newspapers have to be bought at the supermarket.

Having to access the site by traversing the streets of Sandwich is the only downfall the alternative is through a housing estate or narrow winding lanes from the north. Stick to the one-way system of the town it's not that bad, the bus goes along the streets.

Having to access the site by traversing the streets of Sandwich is the only downfall the alternative is through a housing estate or narrow winding lanes from the north. Stick to the one-way system of the town it's not that bad, the bus goes along the streets.

To end the review I would recommend this site to anyone whether it is a touring van or tent. The site staff are very courteous and helpful.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Looseym 3 reviews from this member

Our stay on this site was very last minute. We'd been booked elsewhere but it got flooded. Thankfully they had space for us and were very pleased to see us. The receptionist was very friendly and helpful. The site is secure as only vehicles registered to stay can get past the security barrier. The pitches are great. Really large and clearly separated. We pitched really close to the children's play area. It helped we were the only ones there. It was a great play area and the kids loved it. The facilities were very good and not only do they have washing up area but also an inside camp kitchen with a fridge and freezer and microwave. Great site.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mavisbank 6 reviews from this member

Having just returned from a 2 night stay at this campsite I would say we were really pleased with our choice & would highly recommend it to others.

The staff were friendly and helpful & we could pitch in any number of places.

Our grassy pitch was nicely sheltered by hedges & all had EHU.

We chose to be near the play area for our children's sake, which was great even for older children.

The 'award winning' toilets & showers lived up to their standard, really clean & new looking. A bit of a queue for the ladies showers but found the water nice and hot and the cubicle roomy.

Sandwich town is only 5 mins walk away, with a huge Co-Op on the way.

Deal is about 10 mins drive away, well worth a look around the old town.

All in all a good roomy site, not too busy even in July & lovely and clean.

Would happily return

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bigin 1 review from this member

First visit to Kent

This is a great park

Toilets and showers immaculate

Staff are friendly and very helpful.

Town of sandwich 10 min walk, lovely place lots to see and do

The site is well spaced out very quiet, there is a play area for the kids but no bike riding on site

Lots of pubs to find cafes and takeaways

Ideal base to explore this part of Kent, everything only a few miles away.

Will definitely come back again. 1st class

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Cats820 3 reviews from this member

This was out first visit to the site.

The staff were very friendly and helpful.

Good security.

Showers and toilets were clean with running hot water.

Most of the pitches had electric and running water, free access to fridge, freezer and microwaves.

Yes there is a railway line close by but the trains finished shortly after midnight.

Noise levels were not a problem as most of the visitors respected the quiet hours.

Lots of places to see close by with lots of history. Shops are within a 5 min walk.

Enjoyable walks in the area.

We had a very enjoyable and relaxing weeks stay

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Moconnor 2 reviews from this member

Easy site to find and very well located - short 5 min walk into the village of Sandwich, which is quaint and picturesque, yet has an abundance of cash points, bars, restaurants, a supermarket.

Site clearly laid out, and was given a good corner plot by the nice receptionists. You have to drive through the caravan area to get to the Touring park, and I did think I was glad not to be staying in a caravan, as there were situated very close to each other.

Tent pitches are well-spaced, we went for a serviced pitch with electric hook up and water, and tv aerial (which we didn't use).

The facilities block is very large, for the men there were cubicles for showers (5 - not sure this was enough really?), wash basins and toilets. Was all very clean, but as I said, was more like being in a swimming pool changing rooms than a campsite facilities block. So slightly strange atmosphere. Also, the water pressure for the showers was pretty abysmal, although the water was hot, it just dribbled out.

Felt a bit sorry for those camping on the pitches directly opposite the toilet/shower block, as it was very noisy and lots of kids seemed to hang around there.

Family friendly site = quite noisy in terms of kids playing and riding around on bikes, until night fall.

Didn't hear the trains as in previous reviews.

Site wardens whizz around on karts.

Overall, it's a good site, would iron out the water pressure, but the location and village of Sandwich itself outweigh any minor bad points.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Matt94 27 reviews from this member

We stayed and Sandwich on August bank holiday for 3 nights in our touring caravan

This site is laid out well and flat, the toilet and shower block is very modern,

We paid 90 for the weekend, which is the usual price for a bank holiday weekend but this site has no shop, club or pool, so in this case the price was high.

There was a marquee and on Saturday night with a small bar supplied by a local pub there was also a singer who was very good, but it was freezing in the marquee due to our typical August bank holiday weather, wet, windy and cold.

We found the receptionist very rude and blunt, which was not a nice welcome, but reading other peoples comments she may having been having a bad day.

But overall a clean site but basic and expensive for what you get.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lindaha 5 reviews from this member

Initial impressions were good, big pitches, clean site. Reception was 'okay' in a cant be bothered but we will get around to seeing you sometime soon. The toilets seemed to be the youth club in the evenings with courting teenagers screeching at each other as you passed by them to get in. Didn't mind the train noise, or even the old man who kept shuffling around with his trousers around his ankles ! ?, but the absolutely worst thing ever was a HUGE party of a parent/ teacher group of families who were all still going strong at 3am in the morning, with small children running around the tents with torches and noisy guns, whilst their parents carried on drinking. What a night that was. No policing by any sort of security made for a very long night which ended up with some of them fighting amongst themselves. On a plus point we did have a bit of a giggle at the 'decorated caravans' with all of the fairy lights and ornaments outside.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: E300462 5 reviews from this member

Just returned from 4 night stay at this site. Site is easy to find and arrival and booking in process was easy and welcome.

Site is flat, well laid out with plenty of space between pitches. The are quite a few high hedge pitches which gives you good protection from any bad weather situations.

Toilets are new, clean and modern and campsite is clean and tidy. The site offers a fridge and freezer area and also a microwave for fast food heating etc.

The site is situated next to a railway line which has trains running regularly through the day and evenings. We heard a couple over night pass. There are about 15 pitches hard against the railway line fencing so avoid these if you can.

Site is well placed for the town of Sandwich there is a good co op superstore within 5 min walk from site. Town has good fast food outlets and has a wide range of pubs all within 5/10mins walk from campsite. We went to one recommended by owners for evening meal called the Kings Arms. Its is on the expensive side but the food was excellent.

Overall its a site we will return too in the future

Overall its a site we will go back to.

Previous     126 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Kent   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 19th to 24th Feb, NEC
See the latest ranges of motorhomes, caravans, holiday homes, tents, awnings and accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2625 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019