Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Reraig Caravan And Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Isle Of Skye > Kyle Of Lochalsh > Reraig Caravan And Camping Site Reviews

Reraig Caravan And Camping Site
Balmacara
Kyle Of Lochalsh
Isle Of Skye   (Browse area)
IV40 8DH
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 35
Open: 01/05/2022 to 30/09/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 48 Reviews
                9/10 from 48 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (14)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  48 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tiggerdav 9 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely site to stay at toilet and showers where clean and tidy, great place to stay to visit the isle of Skye, there is a shop close by within walking distance, we stayed only 1 night passing through and would recommend, very quiet site, owner was very pleasant and accommodating, we would use again if we where in the area. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Toothfairy 9 reviews from this member

 We chose this campsite because it was the only one in Kyle of Lochalsh area. They don't take bookings which was a bit of a concern in case we turned up and they were full and their website didn't really do it justice. I was so amazed when we arrived. It is lovely! Large pitches for caravans and smaller ones for campervans. Spotlessly clean facilities - you do need 10p for the showers but 20p is adequate for a decent hot shower. The owner is very friendly and has been running this for 30 years. The fees are very reasonable - 16. 40 for a caravan and occupants, plus free hook up and available wifi at a reasonable cost. The area is fantastic. Balmacara is an estate with crofts as they used to be. Expect highland cattle in the village streets such as Durinish and Drumbuie. One was propped up against the phone box! They are very docile (thankfully). Close to Skye and Plockton, Kyle.

Good sized Co-op in Kyle and well stocked Spar next door to the campsite. This has got to be one of my favourite campsites of all time and we will definitely return. The only reason I didn't give the facilities a 10/10 is that there is no washing machine but there is a sink and spin dryer. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Eric the Yellow 2 reviews from this member

 This is a beautifully maintained site a few miles from Kyle of Lochalsh. It is small and friendly with lovely clean facilities.

We stayed one night in a motorhome and had a hard standing pitch with electric hook up.

The site was very quiet with a mixture of Motorhomes, touring caravans and tents.

The owner was extremely welcoming and gave us suggestions for suitable bike rides in the area.

There is a small shop and hotel round the corner from the site.

It is an excellent stop when travelling to Skye or Gairloch. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Hilary C 32 reviews from this member

 A nice little site, they don't take bookings so you turn up and take your chance, when we stayed there was plenty of space and you choose your pitch yourself. Toilets/Showers/Wash Up facilities excellent although a little chilly early morning. There is a drive over point for motorhomes to empty grey waste but this is to one side and our drain was in the middle so we couldn't use it. We had an evening meal in the bar of the Balmacara Hotel, fish and chips/burger and chips, very nice food but the bar lacks any personality. Nice walk along the Loch opposite and just a short drive to the Isle of Skye. I didn't see any facilities for children but I wasn't looking for them. 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sophiedog1 16 reviews from this member

 Decided to stay here for 2 nights as a convenient location to explore the surrounding area. The site is well laid out with spacious pitches, arrive on site, select your pitch and pay at wardens house later. Showers use 10p coins and 20p was enough for us to get washed. Pitch fee was only 15. 40/night, so coupled with a couple of showers each only equates to 16. 20 including hook up, terrific value for money.

We visited Eilean Donan castle which was interesting and beautiful and worth entry fee.

Went to Plockton which was disappointing, does not match the pictures that are used for postcards, however we did go on a boat trip to see seals from there which was good (Calums).

Well stocked Coop at Kyle. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: BabsF 35 reviews from this member

 Been here before. Great site. Well set out. Toilets and showers are very clean and very well maintained. (showers 10p meter).

Very quiet and peaceful. Handy for the Skye Bridge. Unfortunately nowhere that is dog-friendly to go in the evening for a meal or drink.

Some lovely walks in the immediate area and the views over to Skye are stunning. Very reasonably priced and good value for money.

There is a really helpful information hut on site. Like the fact that the owners are so discrete.

Will probably return here many times. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Karenmcmillan 10 reviews from this member

 Great wee site. Nice level pitches, which were a good size. Nice clean toilets. Great location, a hotel and a shop at the foot of the drive. A stonesthrow from the water looking down towards the skye bridge.

7 miles from the Kyles of Lochalsh and about 4 miles from the famous Elan Donan castle. Nice walks to do from the site. No tv picture, you really need a satellite but we did, t miss the telly.

For some reason, this site seemed to empty and fill with motorhomes with very few caravans. We extended our stay because we liked it so much. Although no children's' play areas, the site was quite quiet through the day and the kids could play on the grass. We discovered later that the site operates a

No awning policy through July and August so that maybe expains why there were so few caravans. We had a small porch awning which fitted on the gravel site but this might be a problem for others.

We only put that awning up because we thought we were only staying for a few nights and could'nt be bothered putting up our larger awning !Still nice people and immaculate site. No laundry which was a bit of a problem( there are 6 of us)but a spin dryer available free of charge 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Pcandk 2 reviews from this member

 We've just got back from a couple of nights stay at this lovely camp site. Very clean and well cared for, with a warm friendly welcome. Even the signs in the toilets were friendly and there was lots of useful info pinned up in the washing up area.

Beautifully decorated toilets and although you need 10p's for the showers, I comfortably showered with just two and my husband did it with one! (Tip: have everything ready before you turn the shower on, and turn the tap off while you soap).

The site has level gravel standings for caravans and campers with grass beside for leisure and awnings. Due to past problems, the owners currently only accept awnings in July and August, but they don't have an 'attitude' about it like some places we have stayed. Lots of hook-ups, waste disposal and full recycling facilities on site.

This site is well located for exploring the surrounding area, there is a well stocked Spar shop just outside the site and a hotel which serves meals (we didn't eat there but it looked tempting).

The only downside was the midges, but I guess they are pretty much everywhere on the West Coast at this time of year. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Queencurlywurly 5 reviews from this member

 This is a very beautiful little campsite surrounded by trees close to the water. After we arrived with our camper we just looked out for a pitch and then went to the house to pay for the night.

The owner gave us a warm welcome. This site is a very dog friendly site. We only left the site through a side gate and there was a lovely walk up the hill with a nice view to the waters.

The toilet/shower block was very clean and tidy. I personally loved the lowered down sink for children.

Also the campsite has wi-fi connection, which is reasonably priced and will also work on other campsites on the Isle of Skye.

All together this is a really good campsite and I definitely would come back for another stay. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: MHfamily4 7 reviews from this member

 Very tidy & well kept campsite. The toilets were some of the cleanest we seen but I do dislike places that charge for showers (even though 60p covers it). All facilities are ideal like fresh water, waste water, chemical disposal & dish washing.

The town is 5miles one way & the castle 4miles the other & the water is across the road. A shop is 5 mins away as is a nice hotel if you like evening meals or drinks. No booking which suited us touring around. Turn up pick your spot & pay at the house on-site between 17.30-22.00.

We stayed a couple of days but would consider staying longer if there was a kids play area. We paid 14.30 per night which was fine for what was there. 


Previous     48 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Reraig Caravan And Camping Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Reraig Caravan And Camping Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Reraig Caravan And Camping Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Kyle Of Lochalsh      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Isle Of Skye

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save 15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4053 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement