Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Sykeside Camping Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

Sykeside Camping Park
Brotherswater
Patterdale (lake District)
Penrith
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA11 0NZ
Tel: 01768 482239
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 111
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 132 Reviews
                8/10 from 132 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (20)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 5 miles   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 10 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  132 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Niknrich 17 reviews from this member

Just back from a couple of days at Sykeside, and we wished we could have stayed longer! We loved this site: the setting is spectacular, surrounded by lovely mountains on three sides. It was very peaceful at night with just the gentle baa-ing of the sheep and owls hooting in the distance.

We were on pitch 13 which was hardstanding, with a huge area on one side for our small pop-up day tent; pitch 14 next to us was the same, so not sure why someone said there was no room. The ground was flat and well-drained and the grass was well-kept.

The site was not completely full but reasonably busy, but we didn't have to queue for showers etc. Yes there's a code on the door but it wasn't difficult to remember and it stops casual walkers etc from using the facilities. The washrooms were clean and warm, and are cleaned three times a day: I even met the cleaner at work at 11pm, making sure it was nice for the next morning! The water comes directly from the fells so can run low at times, but this is easy to work around by showering later in the day. There's no mop in the washrooms because the cleaner told me campers keep stealing it!

We ate breakfast and dinner both days at the Brotherswater Inn on site, which were delicious. Huge portions ideal for hungry walkers! The pub offers WiFi for £1 for an hour, but there is no mobile reception in the valley.

The staff were very friendly and helpful too: even opening the shop for us after it had closed when we arrived, and discovered our milk had soured, so we could make a cup of tea.

We will definitely be returning to this lovely site.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Maddy14 4 reviews from this member

We arrived in glorious weather and the views from every angle are spectacular from this site. The toilet block was very clean and the showers were hot although at times dwindled to a trickle. You need a code to enter which is a faff. Don't know if this is a good or bad thing but you will have no mobile phone signal at all. Wifi is available for a charge in the bar

Downsides: campervan/motor home pitches far too close together and you are not allowed awnings, frankly there isn't room for one anyway

Very expensive comparatively

Very windy road leading up to it which was quite scary with a wide van and would be tricky with a caravan (although more than do able)

Midges. Take a good repellent and a citronella candle. You will need it

Upsides: very friendly staff, they allowed us to stay later on the Sunday so we could walk

Lovely dog friendly pubs, which serve food. Can't comment on that as we didn't eat although it looked great

Access to walking routes are second to none. Take a good OS Map as the paths are fairly difficult to navigate without one and they are very pricy in the shop

Although it was lovely I probably would choose somewhere with roomier pitches although I think if you are in a tent they are spacious

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Grahamandsam 13 reviews from this member

We returned to this site after last visiting about three years ago. Whilst the site is in a beautiful location, the facilities are looking tired and dated and seemingly no money has been spent on updating.

The pitches were muddy and this could be rectified by some extra gravel. The toilet block although cleaned twice daily were muddy- again a simple measure such as a mop and bucket available.

The showers and toilet cubicles now look old and there isn't enough to cope with demand during busy periods.

That said, staff are very friendly and welcoming and given better weather such issues would be overlooked.

Having the pub and bar on site is a big bonus and the view from your pitch is second to none.

We would book again but would hope that some money is invested soon as this site could be a real gem if it had a bit of a makeover.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Cobra2 13 reviews from this member

Pulled up at this site late on a week night in May on my motorcycle. The plus points are. The field is plenty big enough, and the pub is a great addition. The shower toilet block looks dated, but is heated and has everything you need. However campsites that insist on you having codes or keys to get into toilet/shower blocks do not get my approval. Lastly I had paid between £5 and £7 a night on the Isle of Skye and Fort William area for the days prior to visiting this site, and these sites were better than Sykeside. Yet I had to pay £13 to stay one night here. Thats far to expensive.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Trekgirl57 1 review from this member

My husband and I spent 2 nights here at the last weekend in August. The scenery is fantastic. It is in a valley so the wind comes through at night. It certainly did when we were here!. The journey is over the Kirkstone pass so fairly high up. You can choose where to pitch on the field. We went to the lower end of the camp furthest away from the main showers etc. There are no water taps except for the one in the main block. There is a good dishwashing room Some taps were missing but there was washing up liquid available.

They were clean and also the ladies showers and toilets. The toilets are closed for 2 hours each day for cleaning.

The shop is well stocked and we were generally pleased at the prices. £2. 50 for a home made sandwich ( real roast beef!)We were unable to eat in the inn on site as they do not serve food on a Friday or at least they weren`t on that particular Friday We did eat in the inn on the Saturday. Reasonable food and nice atmosphere.

There is a recreation field attached to the site but we did see children playing football etc in the middle of the tents. The bins were extremely full on the Friday Dustmen came to empty them on Saturday morning about 9. 30. One of the drawbacks of having a popular campsite.

Great area for walking. Ok for a few nights but quite expensive.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: JOHN G W 18 reviews from this member

Stayed here for three nights over the bank holiday, the site was absolutely full, we stayed at the top of the site on the 5 pitch C/L. Our pitch was hardstanding and very clean & tidy, we were very close to the facilities. The main campsite was very full & mainly occupied by tents, with a few small motorhomes. On the plus side there is a nice shop on site & there is the main Brotherswater Inn pub & restaurant at the entrance to the site, which serves good food & beer also there is the added plus of an additional bar/restaurant closer to the pitches which is good but a bit more limited with its choice of menu. The scenery around the site is stunning & you are in a great location just at the foot of the Kirkstone pass. On a negative note the toilets and showers are looking very dated and with the site being full there were times when you had to wait and the water was running cold on a regular basis, during busy times they could do with cleaning twice a day. Apart from this it is a very nice site.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kimlette 2 reviews from this member

Beautiful surroundings, as it is surrounded by mountains and a lake with plenty of walks across both. The facilities were fantastic including superb shop with very knowledgeable staff. Lots of toilets and washing areas, including fridges are available for all to use. Downside to the beautiful surroundings was the popularity of the site, even though large groups were not permitted it still became very packed as the evening wore on and with no predetermined pitches it relied upon individuals leaving enough room between their tents and others.

Date of Visit: March 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: VL007 4 reviews from this member

This site was lovely and peaceful in the first week of March - not sure what it would be like in high season! The motorhome pitches seemed to be in pairs around the site, and each pair was quite close to each other. The washroom facilities were fine for this time of the year, however, again not sure how they would cope with a site full of campers. Watch out for the showers which on each occasion we used them, nearly scalded us they were so hot. Also the lights are on a sensor and timer in the washrooms, which meant that by the time we had finished a shower, the lights had gone out, and we had to run out of the cubicle (dripping wet!) to set the sensor off again!

The pub was great, with good beer and great steak! All of the staff were very friendly as well.

Unfortunately the farmer on the adjoining farm was not quite as friendly and obviously doesn't like members of the public on 'his land' - even though it is public right of way. He needs to learn some manners!

We would visit again in low season.

Date of Visit: February 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Ajbibs 17 reviews from this member

First trip in the van in 2013 but not the first time at this site. The site is located in the heart of the Lake District, just south of Glenridding taking motorhomes & tents with caravans being taken on the adjacent CL. Due to its location, the site is more geared toward the walker with numerous walks starting or passing through the site.

The facilities include numerous hard standing pitches with electric hook-up for motorhomes and plenty of space for tents. There are also ample toilets and showers, laundry and dish washing facilities and a chemical disposal point but no play area (but then, youíre in the Lakes so why would you need one). There is a shop on site which is open during the summer months and food is available at the Brotherís Water Inn which forms part of the site (or visa-versa).

Not really much too say about the site, still being early in the season (accompanied by the recent weather?) it was quiet although surprising as to how many people want to camp out in a tent in mid-February. Overall, the facilities are well maintained (canít comment on what theyíll be like when the site is full though) and the location just adds to the experience. If all you want from somewhere is a good base with decent facilities from where to set off on a dayís walk, this has to be worth considering. As a final point, why not finish of a dayís walking with a pint and a meal in the pub.

Will we be back Ė of course, still plenty of walking to do in the Lakes. !

(P. S. Watch out for the badgers, apparently they roam the site at night searching for food but we didnít see any. )

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sharong68 5 reviews from this member

We stayed here for 5 nights and would recommend this site as a base for some amazing walks in The Lakes. We stayed during some real heavy windy rainy weather. The low level pitching ground did get very boggy so it is advisable to pitch at a higher level as possible. The ground is stony so ensure you have appropriate pegs! The ground does drain well though. It was unfortunate that we could not have a pitch with electric hook-up but these are kept for camper vans which seemed a little silly as the place was not full and these could of been used by tents.

The amenities are outstanding with ample showers and toilets, which are very well heated and clean. The shop has decent opening hours and reasonable prices plus a good variety of food and essentials. The laundry room was so useful and efficient. There are two pubs on site (unfortunately one was closed) but the Brotherswater Inn served amazing hearty meals and had a great selection of ales.

The scenery is amazing around the site we did not encounter any problems with the badgers!

Previous     132 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


163 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019