Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Greenhills Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Bakewell > Greenhills Holiday Park Reviews

Greenhills Holiday Park
Crow Hill Lane
Ashford In The Water
Bakewell
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE45 1PX
Tel: 01629 813467
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 170
Open: February To November

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 260 Reviews
                8/10 from 260 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (16)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   Tennis 1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  260 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Soggous 11 reviews from this member

We have camped at Greenhills for 3 years in a row, in August 2010, 2011, and 2012. Each visit has been excellent. We always go with a large group, in 2010 we went with my sister and her family (4 adults, 4 children), in 2011 and 2012 we went with The Family (10 adults and 4 children). Greenhills are really good at accommodating large parties, you can request favourite pitches when booking, or ask for two pitches together if that's what you need. Just ask and more often than not you will get.

You cannot pitch your tent until after 1 pm, so after locating the campsite we all headed into Bakewell for an excellent lunch at The Castle Inn. No need to worry about the children being hungry while pitching the tent later!

You book into the site at reception, and are greeted by very friendly staff who enjoy a laugh and a joke! They will walk you down to your pitch, show you the facilities, and answer any questions you might have.

One of the great things about Greenhills is the children's playground (1 for toddlers, 1 for older children, and a ball game field). My children disappear there within minutes of arriving at the site! They also love the campsite shop, which is full of everything you might need, and a lot of things you don't (eg, sweets and pocket money toys for the kids).

There are plenty of showers and toilets (only queued once in 3 years for a shower!), and the radio in the toilet block plays throughout the night (in case you get lonely). Washing up facilities are good, and there is a freezer if you need to refreeze ice packs. There is also a small bar, which serves all the drinks you might want and has children's entertainment during high season (check with the site directly if this is important to you because it might not always be on).

Local places of interest include the Monsal Trail, a 9-mile walk that follows the course of an old railway line. It is flat and wide, perfect for young children whose legs can't manage hills quite yet. The very helpful staff at Greenhills gave me written directions to Hassop Station, and advised that it was the best place to start a walk from because it had toilets and an ice cream shop (most important!). We had a lovely hour walk and managed 2 miles, which with 14 people to keep together was actually quite good! My husband's cousin and I also ran along the Monsal trail one morning, through Ashford in the Water up to Monsal Head, then along the trail to Bakewell and back. 9 miles in total. (If that's your thing!)

Bakewell is a few miles' walk down the hill (about 30 minutes), and is manageable with young children (age 5 and older). The walk back is a bit trickier since it is uphill! You might need to resort to bribery. In the town there are plenty of pubs and restaurants, lots of shops, the river, and playgrounds.

Other places we have visited while staying at Greenhills include Ashford in the Water (you can paddle in the river), Buxton (Poole's Cavern and Go Ape), Peak Village Outlet at Rowsley (between Bakewell and Matlock), and Matlock itself.

All in all, a fantastic campsite.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lyn C 9 reviews from this member

Lovely site with some beautiful views of Derbyshire, and within walking distance to beautiful Bakewell. We arrived the weekend before Bank Holiday, so not sure if I'd like to be there then as pitches seemed to be quite close to each other. We were shown to our pitch by a helpful young lad but I must admit I was disappointed with it. We were in a dip and shadowed by trees so didn't get much of the sun. I suppose I should have asked to be moved, but the site was busy and the staff seemed to have enough on their plate, so didn't want to be a nuisance. As we don't have a 4x4 we struggled to get the car up the slope after unloading, so we were already worried about how we were going to get everything back into the car when it was time to leave!

The showers & toilets were cleaned regularly but the showers were hit & miss with hot water. I seemed to be constantly pressing the button for the water flow.

Food isn't available on site but you can order Indian & Pizza to be delivered to the site, so eating a curry in the tent was a novelty!

Would definitely visit this site again but would request a different pitch.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Smooth 13 reviews from this member

A nice location very near to bakewell and lovely walking ares. A nice site with its own little bar/shop the toilets and showers are clean and tidy. Very nice people who make you very welcome. But due to the extortunate prices we wont be back. It is even expensive for campers using tents. For 28 per night i would have expected a super pitch not to have to fetch my own water. From a very disappointed camper

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Smiths33 1 review from this member

We camped at the Greenhills holiday park for a couple of nights with our two children last weekend. The staff were very friendly and showed us around and escorted us to the our plot. The kids playground was very good and the kids (and myself included) enjoyed the sports field.

The on site bar was ideal for a relax while the kids played in the adjacent playground.

The toilet and shower block was clean if a little cramped in the showers. The shop was well stocked but had restricted opening hours.

The location of the site was perfect for the local village of Ashford on the water and also Bakewell which was only a 5 minute driver away. The Peacock was a nice pub for food.

A must see is Chatsworth House. This place is fabulous and caters for all family needs, from the kids playground, gardens, the open fields and the Cascade waterfall all brilliant.

Will be returning again after our France trip!

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Beardsley 6 reviews from this member

The location of the site is excellent as it is within walking distance of Ashford on the Water with a nice pub and a couple of shops, and also a very short drive to Bakewell. We ended up cycling to both locations and as long as you stick to the pavements is relatively safe.

The pitches are supposed to be 8x8m however where we were located (pitch 18 in 'Orchard View') half of that was taken up by the access to the adjacent pitch for their car so there was no where to park our car and we were squashed in to a small space if we wished to sit outside. We complained about this and asked to move however we were advised that the site is full and the people next door (with a larger pitch) would be staying longer. This turned out to be a lie, as the left a day before we did, and left a bitter taste on our mouths as we were crammed next to a large group of multiple families who set up their combined catering facilities within 2 metres of our tent door.

Once full, it is a very busy site and a bit of a car park. However the atmosphere is very good. The bar next to the children's playground is a boon, meaning you can watch over them while having a beer (3. 50), this adds to the relaxation of the holiday.

The biggest annoyance however is the shower facilities. They are very small cubicles, with no means of keeping anything dry other than a coat hook. There is no family room so you have to shower young children under unregulated temperatures on their own in cramped conditions. I found this pretty stressful and ended up going to Bakewell swimming pool to ensure we could wash their hair.

Great for older kids, but if you have younger ones and no facilities of your own then only go for a short stay, and demand to know where your pitch is!

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Norrisg 31 reviews from this member

First time in a tent at this site and despite it being pretty close to capacity we thought it stood up well.

The pitches are big enough and mostly level ish, the toilets were in good condition considering the volume of people.

Its a great site for larger groups who can take up an end of a paddock for example. Bar prices are very steep and no cheaper in Ashford either - take yer own!

Everyone seemed to make no noise after 11 and despite some screaming kids and car alarms it was a quiet night. But this is camping and it was a very busy time. By Sunday it was empty, midweek preferable!

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Pomroy 1 review from this member

Just got back. Bit concerned by some comments. We found the site to be good, staff helpful, pitches good size, bar on site good for a evening drink. Bakewell was a 20 minute walk into town and 25 minutes back, last bit up hill. Short walk to bus stops, If you turn left (right to Bakewell ) a 10 minute walk takes you a lovely village, two nice pub serving food. To sum it up: lovely site. Good for folks wishing to park up and use public transport. We will use this site again.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Garfields 1 review from this member

We would give this site 10/10 as its got good facilities ie clean toilets and showers and the site is tidy however please note this site accepts large groups of schools. On the last three days of our holiday a grammar school turned up to camp in one of the lower fields. Which we wouldn't have minded only that they left the toilets and showers in a disgusting mess it was hard to find a clean toilet to use and luckily I found the one and only reasonably clean shower out four that I felt okay to use. There was toilet paper trailed all over the floor, clothes left around the sinks, talcum powder all over the shower floor I could go on. There is a sign on the toilet/shower block door that clearly states D of E groups should use the portacabin toilet and shower facilities but they totally ignored this. My Husband said the mens blocks were equally as bad. I cannot believe that these children were left unsupervised around the site as they were hanging around everywhere including the laundry room they clearly had nothing to do and were bored. I very much doubt we will return simply for the fact that this site accepts large groups of schools. We don't feel this is the campsites fault but the supervisors of the school groups should have had more control over the children and made sure they were using the correct facilities. The plus points is it is in a good location to Bakewell, and the views from the site are beautiful.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lozenge 3 reviews from this member

This was our first camping trip and we were really pleased with this lovely site.

The loos and showers were immaculate at all times, and the kids loved the playground and space to play.

The shop was well stocked and all staff we encountered were really friendly and helpful.

We were on a field with electric hookup for tents and had plenty of space to pitch and park alongside with space still for the children to play.

There was good pot washing facilities too.

There were additional toilet blocks for the D of E students but frankly these were as good as or better than most sites we've subsequently visited.

The surrounding area is stunning and Bakewell is nearby.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Diamond lynz 1 review from this member

This is quite a large site with some areas dedicated to statics, as well as a touring caravan are, a mixed tent and caravan area and several lovely flat sections for tents. These are arranged in levels which has obviously been well planned out. Pegging down was easy too.

Yes, I agree the roads in and out are narrow but no problem getting in or out really.

The kids enjoyed the small play park and my older son played football on a dedicated ball field even if if did slope to the back and sides!

The shop sold basic essentials.

The toilet block was clean and a mop and bucket with disinfectant was there to mop out the shower once you had finished. Queuing wasn't a problem even at half term. Toilets were clean although no baby change facility.

The pub was a bit disappointing. We thought about having a meal but it was so small and tables were full and menu choice was very limited so we went into Bakewell and had a lovely meal there.

The location was good and I would recommend this site and we would return!

Previous     260 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Bakewell      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth 100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6820 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019